DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This first non-final action is in response to Applicant’s original filing of 09/04/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“A turning control device for a self-moving machine, comprising:
an acquisition module, configured for acquiring…;
a determination module, configured for determining…;
and a control module, configured for controlling,…” in claim 14. Claims 15-16 further limit claim 14 with reference to the turning control device and comprising control module.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
In reference to Applicant’s specification, ¶ [0129] recites “…the application further provides a self-moving machine, which includes … a controller, wherein … the controller is used for controlling the moving machine to turn, the controller is able to run a turning control program of the self-moving machine, and the turning control program of the self-moving machine is configured to further realize the steps of the turning control method for a self-moving machine described above.” Therefore the Examiner interprets the “turning control device” with comprising modules to be embodied in the controller recited in Applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7, 10-11, 13-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kodama (US 20230320246 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kodama discloses a turning control method for a self-moving machine (see at least abstract), comprising:
acquiring a whole area where the self-moving machine moves (see at least ¶ [0071-0074] disclosing a mobile communication terminal and in-vehicle control unit communicating field information and a target route for a tractor traveling through a field);
determining an initial turning point based on the whole area (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a direction change route process, including generating a right forward-movement route on which the tractor moves forward to the right from an end position of the start-side turning route);
controlling, when the self-moving machine reaches the initial turning point, the self-moving machine to move back to a target turning point (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a direction change route process, including moving backward from an end position of the right forward-movement route);
and controlling the self-moving machine to turn at the target turning point according to a preset turning path to reach a target point in the whole area (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a direction change route process, including generating an end-side turning route on which the tractor turns 90 degrees to the right from an end position of the left backward-movement route).
Regarding claim 14, Kodama discloses a turning control device for a self-moving machine (see at least abstract and ¶ [0071] disclosing a target route generator for a tractor), comprising:
an acquisition module, configured for acquiring a whole area where the self-moving machine moves (see at least ¶ [0071-0074] disclosing a mobile communication terminal and in-vehicle control unit communicating field information and a target route for a tractor traveling through a field);
a determination module, configured for determining an initial turning point based on the whole area (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a direction change route process, including generating a right forward-movement route on which the tractor moves forward to the right from an end position of the start-side turning route);
and a control module, configured for controlling, when the self-moving machine reaches the initial turning point, the self-moving machine to move back to a target turning point (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a direction change route process, including moving backward from an end position of the right forward-movement route);
wherein the control module is further configured for controlling the self-moving machine to turn at the target turning point according to a preset turning path to reach a target point in the whole area (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a direction change route process, including generating an end-side turning route on which the tractor turns 90 degrees to the right from an end position of the left backward-movement route).
Regarding claim 17, Kodama discloses a self-moving machine, comprising a head, a body, a moving machine and a controller (see at least ¶ [0038] and [0040] disclosing an autonomous tractor coupled to mowing equipment, [0041] disclosing an automatic traveling unit equipped to the tractor, and [0044] disclosing an in-vehicle control unit), wherein the head is detachably connected to the body (see at least ¶ [0038] and [0040] disclosing an autonomous tractor coupled to mowing equipment), the moving machine and the controller are arranged on the body (see at least ¶ [0041] and [0044] disclosing an automatic traveling unit and an in-vehicle control unit equipped to the tractor), the controller is used for controlling the moving machine to turn (see at least abstract ¶ [0071] disclosing a target route generator for a tractor), the controller is able to run a turning control program of the self-moving machine (see at least abstract ¶ [0071] disclosing a target route generator for a tractor that generates and stores a target route for the tractor to follow), and the turning control program of the self-moving machine is configured to further realize the following steps:
acquiring a whole area where the self-moving machine moves (see at least ¶ [0071-0074] disclosing a mobile communication terminal and in-vehicle control unit communicating field information and a target route for a tractor traveling through a field);
determining an initial turning point based on the whole area (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a direction change route process, including generating a right forward-movement route on which the tractor moves forward to the right from an end position of the start-side turning route);
controlling, when the self-moving machine reaches the initial turning point, the self-moving machine to move back to a target turning point (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a direction change route process, including moving backward from an end position of the right forward-movement route);
and controlling the self-moving machine to turn at the target turning point according to a preset turning path to reach a target point in the whole area (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a direction change route process, including generating an end-side turning route on which the tractor turns 90 degrees to the right from an end position of the left backward-movement route).
Regarding claim 6, Kodama discloses acquiring a current linear speed and a current progress of the self-moving machine (see at least ¶ [0053], [0058], and [0080] disclosing a vehicle speed automatic control process that tracks the tractor’s current speed and controls the tractor’s speed according to the generated target route);
adjusting the current linear speed to a target linear speed (see at least ¶ [0080] disclosing a vehicle speed automatic control process that controls the tractor’s speed according to the generated target route);
calculating an angular speed of the self-moving machine based on the current progress of the self-moving machine and the target linear speed (see at least ¶ [0059], [0062-0064], and [0170] disclosing the tractor using a turning brake mode where the tractor decelerates to a target speed when approaching and entering a turning route);
and controlling, according to the target linear speed and the angular speed of the self-moving machine, the self-moving machine to turn at the target point according to the preset turning path (see at least ¶ [0080] disclosing a vehicle speed automatic control process that controls the tractor’s speed according to the generated target route including turning routes).
Regarding claim 7, Kodama discloses calculating, when the self-moving machine is turning, a radius of turning circle based on the current progress of the self-moving machine (see at least ¶ [0062-0064] and [0148-0149] disclosing the tractor using a turning brake mode where the tractor decelerates to a target speed when approaching and entering a turning route, such that it decreases to the target route generator’s determined turning radius);
and calculating the angular speed of the self-moving machine based on the radius of turning circle and the target linear speed (see at least ¶ [0062-0064] and [0148-0149] disclosing the tractor using a turning brake mode where the tractor decelerates to a target speed when approaching and entering a turning route, such that it decreases to the target route generator’s determined turning radius).
Regarding claim 10, Kodama discloses calculating speeds of left and right wheels based on the target linear speed and the angular speed of the self-moving machine (see at least ¶ [0051-0052], [060-0061], and [0081] disclosing a shift unit controller that determines how much speed is provided to right and left front wheels and right and left rear wheels while following a target route);
and controlling, according to the speeds of the left and right wheels, the self-moving machine to turn at the target turning point according to the preset turning path (see at least ¶ [0051-0052], [060-0061], and [0081] disclosing a shift unit controller that determines how much speed is provided to right and left front wheels and right and left rear wheels while following a target route).
Regarding claim 11, Kodama discloses acquiring, when the self-moving machine reaches the initial turning point, a path distance among moving paths in the whole area where the self-moving machine moves (see at least ¶ [0107-0109] and [0141] disclosing the target route generator setting predetermined distances between start, relay, and end positions of a direction change area);
calculating a second backward distance based on the path distance (see at least ¶ [0160-0163] and Figs. 19A-20C disclosing a setting predetermined distance (Lth) that the tractor moves backward through);
and controlling the self-moving machine to move back to the second backward distance to reach the target turning point (see at least ¶ [0160-0163] and Figs. 19A-20C disclosing a setting predetermined distance (Lth) that the tractor moves backward through to reach an end position for a part of the route path).
Regarding claim 13, Kodama discloses dividing the whole area to obtain data of a plurality of moving paths (see at least ¶ [0099] and [0103-0104] and Fig. 5 disclosing dividing the field into a margin area and a workable area where a plurality of parallel and direction change routes are connected);
acquiring, when the self-moving machine moves, boundary point data based on the whole area (see at least ¶ [0095-0096] and [0102] and Fig. 5 disclosing the work area being defined by shape specifying lines (SL), boundary lines (BL), and corner points (Cp1 to Cp4));
and determining an initial turning point based on the data of the plurality of moving paths and the boundary point data (see at least ¶ [0098-0099] and [0112-0119] and Fig. 5 disclosing a start position and end position of the traveling route, as well as end positions of the direction change routes within the overall traveling route).
Regarding claim 18, Kodama discloses the self-moving machine is a crawler-type mower (see at least ¶ [0038] and [0040] disclosing an autonomous tractor coupled to mowing equipment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama (US 20230320246 A1) in view of Hua et al. (CN 111152784 B; related to reference disclosed in IDS filed 11/21/2024).
Regarding claims 2, 15, and 19, Kodama discloses acquiring a coordinate of a current position point, the initial turning point, the target turning point and a position coordinate of the target point when the self-moving machine is turning (see at least ¶ [0066] and [0103-0119] disclosing a positioning unit of the tractor to measure the position and orientation of the tractor and a target route generator that places starting, relay, and end positions (p1 to p9) along the target route);
calculating an inclination angle of the self-moving machine based on the coordinate of the current position point and a position coordinate of the initial turning point (see at least ¶ [0062-0063], [0072], and [0081] disclosing a steering angle sensor used to provide angle measurements to steering automatic control processing that controls the tractor’s front wheels to travel along the target route);
calculating a preset turning path based on the current progress of the self-moving machine, the initial turning point, the target turning point and the position coordinate of the target point (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a target route generator issuing routes in a direction change route process, including generating a right forward-movement route on which the tractor moves forward to the right from an end position of the start-side turning route);
and controlling the self-moving machine to turn at the target turning point according to the preset turning path to reach the target point in the whole area (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a direction change route process, including generating a right forward-movement route on which the tractor moves forward to the right from an end position of the start-side turning route).
Kodama does not explicitly disclose calculating a current progress of the self-moving machine by using dichotomy based on the inclination angle of the self-moving machine.
However, Hua suggests calculating a current progress of the self-moving machine by using dichotomy based on the inclination angle of the self-moving machine (see at least page 2 of the machine translation, starting with “2)Based on the second-order Bezier curve…” disclosing using second-order Bezier curves to define local path planning for a valet parking method, including parameterizing the curve depending on if the vehicle is starting or finishing its travel through the curve (x∈[0,1], y∈[0,1], whether the 0 or 1 input suggests the recited “dichotomy”)).
While Hua is directed toward smart cars and directing them through valet parking whereas Kodama is directed toward tractors operating in a field, both inventions are concerned with controlling their respective vehicles in performing turns while being aware of their surroundings to accurately reach a desired location at the end of their turn. Hua merely parameterizes the turns using Bezier curves and are not dependent on being implemented into a smart car. Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the Bezier curve parameterization of Hua into the tractor turning system of Kodama with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward controlling vehicles to perform turns while maintaining an awareness of their surroundings. This would help the tractor more accurately follow its generated direction change route and arrive its desired end position.
Regarding claims 3, 16, and 20, Kodama discloses calculating path point data when turning based on the current progress of the self-moving machine, the initial turning point, the target turning point and the position coordinate of the target point (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a target route generator issuing routes in a direction change route process, including generating a right forward-movement route on which the tractor moves forward to the right from an end position of the start-side turning route);
and connecting all the path point data to form the preset turning path (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a target route generator issuing routes in a direction change route process, including generating a right forward-movement route on which the tractor moves forward to the right from an end position of the start-side turning route).
Regarding claim 4, Kodama does not explicitly disclose the path point data is expressed as: B (t)= (1-t)2*P1+2 (1-t)t*P2+t2*P3; wherein t represents the current progress of the self-moving machine, and P1, P2 and P3 represent the initial turning point, the target turning point and the position coordinate of the target point.
However, Hua suggests the path point data is expressed as: B (t)= (1-t)2*P1+2 (1-t)t*P2+t2*P3; wherein t represents the current progress of the self-moving machine, and P1, P2 and P3 represent the initial turning point, the target turning point and the position coordinate of the target point (see at least page 2 of the machine translation, starting with “2)Based on the second-order Bezier curve…” disclosing using second-order Bezier curves to define local path planning for a valet parking method).
While Hua is directed toward smart cars and directing them through valet parking whereas Kodama is directed toward tractors operating in a field, both inventions are concerned with controlling their respective vehicles in performing turns while being aware of their surroundings to accurately reach a desired location at the end of their turn. Hua merely parameterizes the turns using Bezier curves and are not dependent on being implemented into a smart car. Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the Bezier curve parameterization of Hua into the tractor turning system of Kodama with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward controlling vehicles to perform turns while maintaining an awareness of their surroundings. This would help the tractor more accurately follow its generated direction change route and arrive its desired end position.
Regarding claim 5, Kodama discloses controlling the self-moving machine to turn at the target turning point according to the preset turning path to reach a first path point (see at least ¶ [0112-0119] disclosing a target route generator issuing routes in a direction change route process, including generating a right forward-movement route on which the tractor moves forward to the right from an end position of the start-side turning route);
calculating a distance between the first path point and the target point (see at least ¶ [0107-0109] and [0141] disclosing the target route generator setting predetermined distances between start, relay, and end positions of a direction change area);
acquiring a path distance among moving paths in the whole area where the self-moving machine moves (see at least ¶ [0107-0109] and [0141] disclosing the target route generator setting predetermined distances between start, relay, and end positions of a direction change area);
calculating a first backward distance based on the “distance between the first path point and the target point” and the “path distance” (see at least ¶ [0160-0163] and Figs. 19A-20C disclosing a setting predetermined distance (Lth) that the tractor moves backward through);
controlling the self-moving machine to move back to a second path point according to the first backward distance (see at least ¶ [0160-0163] and Figs. 19A-20C disclosing a setting predetermined distance (Lth) that the tractor moves backward through to reach an end position for a part of the route path);
and controlling the self-moving machine to turn at the second path point according to the preset turning path to reach the target point in the whole area (see at least ¶ [0160-0163] and Figs. 19A-20C disclosing a setting predetermined distance (Lth) that the tractor moves backward through to reach an end position for a part of the route path).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama (US 20230320246 A1) in view of Liu et al. (WO 2017190503 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kodama discloses calculating the angular speed of the self-moving machine based on the target linear speed and the radius of turning circle (see at least ¶ [0062-0064] and [0148-0149] disclosing the tractor using a turning brake mode where the tractor decelerates to a target speed when approaching and entering a turning route, such that it decreases to the target route generator’s determined turning radius).
Kodama does not explicitly disclose calculating, based on the current progress of the self-moving machine, position values of the self-moving machine reaching a first position point and a second position point during turning and a radian relative to the current position point of the self-moving machine during turning;
and calculating the radius of turning circle based on the radian and the position values of the first position point and the second position point.
However, Liu teaches a radian calculation module that calculates a first included angle formed by a vehicle traveling from an initial turning position to a current turning position according to a preset running trajectory drawing error rate. The radian is a curve of the curvature of the vehicle traveling from the turning initial position to the current turning position, which is a current turning radius of the vehicle and a second rotation speed of the vehicle around an axis of a world coordinate system. The error rate is calculated according to a preset driving trajectory, and error accumulation caused by inaccurate positioning of the vehicle over a long period of time is reduced by calculating an initial total angle corresponding to the initial position of the turning at the current turning position of the vehicle (see at least pages 2 and 5-7 of the machine translation).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the radian calculation and trajectory error rate of Liu into the tractor turning system of Kodama with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward accurately tracking and positioning a vehicle while it travels through a curve. While the vehicle of Liu is not specifically an autonomous vehicle, the geometric principles and calculations used to verify its position as it travels through a preset driving trajectory turn are complementary to the parameters used to guide the autonomous operations of Kodama’s tractor and would improve its identified positioning to successfully travel its determined turning route.
Regarding claim 9, Kodama discloses acquiring a current body orientation, a current body position and a target position of the self-moving machine when turning (see at least ¶ [0066] and [0076] disclosing a positioning unit the measures the position and orientation of the tractor while traveling the target route).
Kodama does not explicitly disclose calculating an included angle between straight lines where the body orientation and the target position are located based on the current body orientation and the target position to obtain an angular difference;
calculating a difference between the current body position and the target position to obtain a position deviation;
and calculating the angular speed of the self-moving machine based on the target linear speed, the radius of turning circle, the angular difference and the position deviation.
However, Liu teaches a radian calculation module that calculates a first included angle formed by a vehicle traveling from an initial turning position to a current turning position according to a preset running trajectory drawing error rate. The radian is a curve of the curvature of the vehicle traveling from the turning initial position to the current turning position, which is a current turning radius of the vehicle and a second rotation speed of the vehicle around an axis of a world coordinate system. The error rate is calculated according to a preset driving trajectory, and error accumulation caused by inaccurate positioning of the vehicle over a long period of time is reduced by calculating an initial total angle corresponding to the initial position of the turning at the current turning position of the vehicle (see at least pages 2 and 5-7 of the machine translation).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the radian calculation and trajectory error rate of Liu into the tractor turning system of Kodama with a reasonable expectation of success because both inventions are directed toward accurately tracking and positioning a vehicle while it travels through a curve. While the vehicle of Liu is not specifically an autonomous vehicle, the geometric principles and calculations used to verify its position as it travels through a preset driving trajectory turn are complementary to the parameters used to guide the autonomous operations of Kodama’s tractor and would improve its identified positioning to successfully travel its determined turning route.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama (US 20230320246 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kodama does not explicitly disclose the second backward distance is half of the path distance.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to require the second backward distance is half of the path distance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,265 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/J.C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669