DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 7/6/2026. Claims 1-12 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
The rejections pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph have been withdrawn in light of the amendments filed.
Specification
The MPEP states in part that (a) Papers that are to become a part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application, or a reexamination or supplemental examination proceeding.
(1) All papers, other than drawings, that are submitted on paper or by facsimile transmission, and are to become a part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application or reexamination or supplemental examination proceeding, must be on sheets of paper that are the same size, not permanently bound together, and:
(i) Flexible, strong, smooth, non-shiny, durable, and white;
(ii) Either 21.0 cm by 29.7 cm (DIN size A4) or 21.6 cm by 27.9 cm (8 1/2 by 11 inches), with each sheet including a top margin of at least 2.0 cm (3/4 inch), a left side margin of at least 2.5 cm (1 inch), a right side margin of at least 2.0 cm (3/4 inch), and a bottom margin of at least 2.0 cm (3/4 inch). MPEP 608.01
The application papers are objected to because the claims have track changes lines in the left margin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirk et al. (DE102013021360A1) in view of Butorac et al. (US2010/0024455).
Regarding Claim 1, Dirk teaches refrigeration cycle device [figs 1 & 3] comprising:
a compressor [7] configured to compress and discharge a refrigerant [0036];
a radiator [9] configured to radiate heat of the refrigerant discharged from the compressor [0036];
a first decompression unit [12] configured to decompress the refrigerant having passed through the radiator [0025];
a first evaporator [10] that exchanges heat between the refrigerant decompressed by the first decompression unit and ventilation air to be supplied to a space to be air conditioned, to evaporate the refrigerant [0025; fig 1];
a second decompression unit [22] that is disposed in parallel with the first decompression unit on a downstream side of the radiator to decompress the refrigerant having passed through the radiator [0036];
a second evaporator [20] that exchanges heat between the refrigerant decompressed by the second decompression unit and a heat medium that absorbs heat from at least one of a heat generating device or an external space, and evaporates the refrigerant [0025; fig 1]; and
a refrigerant joining portion [16] provided on a refrigerant suction side of the compressor, to join the refrigerant having passed through the first evaporator and the refrigerant having passed through the second evaporator [0036; See fig 1];
a first physical quantity detection unit [M3, T3, P3] disposed between the first evaporator [10] and the refrigerant joining portion [16] to detect a first physical quantity having a correlation with a degree of superheating of the refrigerant flowing between the first evaporator and the refrigerant joining portion [0025; fig 1]: and
a second physical quantity detection unit [M2, T2, P2] disposed between the refrigerant joining portion and the compressor to detect a second physical quantity having a correlation with the degree of superheating of the refrigerant flowing between the refrigerant joining portion and the compressor [0025; fig 1],
wherein the first decompression unit [12] includes a mechanical expansion valve including a temperature sensing unit corresponding to the first physical quantity detection unit, or an electric variable throttle whose operation is controlled by a control signal output from a control unit [see 0025] based on the first physical quantity detected by the first physical quantity detection unit [0025; where the decompression unit is an electronically controllable expansion valve and where the limitation is recited in the alternative], and
wherein the second decompression unit [22] includes a mechanical expansion valve including a temperature sensing unit corresponding to the second physical quantity detection unit, or an electric variable throttle whose operation is controlled by a control signal output from a control unit based on the second physical quantity detected by the second physical quantity detection unit [0025; where the decompression unit is an electronically controllable expansion valve and where the limitation is recited in the alternative].
Dirk teaches at 0035 that temperature at T2 adjusts superheating of refrigerant upstream of the compressor and thus one skilled in the art would conclude that superheat Dirk contemplates controlling superheat at an evaporator upstream of the compressor based upon a suction parameter. See also 0025 where expansion element 25 is controlled based on parameters from measuring point M1. One skilled in the art would recognize that valve 12 and measuring point M3 are similarly arranged and therefore a similar control can be achieved. Lastly, Dirk teaches that various controls of the system are implemented to prevent suction of liquid refrigerant. See 0030.
However, Dirk does not explicitly teach wherein the first decompression unit is configured to regulate a degree of superheating of the refrigerant between the first evaporator and the refrigerant joining portion to a first target degree of superheating based on the first physical quantity detected by the first physical quantity detection unit, and
wherein the second decompression unit is configured to regulate a degree of superheating of the refrigerant between the refrigerant joining portion and the compressor to a second target degree of superheating based on the second physical quantity detected by the second physical quantity detection unit, and
wherein the second target degree of superheating is set so that the gas refrigerant with the degree of superheating is sucked into the compressor in order to avoid liquid back to the compressor.
However, Butorac teaches a vapor compression refrigeration system [0001] wherein a first decompression unit [104] is configured to regulate a degree of superheating of the refrigerant between a first evaporator [105] and the refrigerant joining portion to a first target degree of superheating based on the first physical quantity detected by the first physical quantity detection unit [at least using controller 110; 0067-0073; see specifically 0073; where adjustment of the valve 104 can be made using a parameter from sensor 115] , and
wherein the second decompression unit [104] is configured to regulate a degree of superheating of the refrigerant between the refrigerant joining portion and the compressor to a second target degree of superheating based on the second physical quantity detected by the second physical quantity detection unit [0067-0073; fig 1; Drawing 1; where controls are carried out by a combination of controllers 110, 116; see 0041-0043; fig 1], and
wherein the second target degree of superheating is set so that the gas refrigerant with the degree of superheating is sucked into the compressor in order to avoid liquid back to the compressor [0064] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a control that protects the compressor by preventing liquid working fluid from entering the compressor [0064].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Dirk to have wherein the first decompression unit is configured to regulate a degree of superheating of the refrigerant between the first evaporator and the refrigerant joining portion to a first target degree of superheating based on the first physical quantity detected by the first physical quantity detection unit, and
wherein the second decompression unit is configured to regulate a degree of superheating of the refrigerant between the refrigerant joining portion and the compressor to a second target degree of superheating based on the second physical quantity detected by the second physical quantity detection unit, and
wherein the second target degree of superheating is set so that the gas refrigerant with the degree of superheating is sucked into the compressor in order to avoid liquid back to the compressor in view of the teachings of Butorac where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a control that protects the compressor by preventing liquid working fluid from entering the compressor.
Drawing I
Regarding claim 2, Dirk, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Dirk teaches an internal heat exchanger [60] that includes a high-pressure flow path portion through which the refrigerant flowing upstream of at least one of the first decompression unit [32] or the second decompression unit [22] passes, and a low-pressure flow path portion through which the refrigerant flowing downstream of at least one of the first evaporator or the second evaporator passes, and exchanges heat between the refrigerant passing through the high-pressure flow path portion and the refrigerant passing through the low-pressure flow path portion [0037; fig 3];
wherein the low-pressure flow path portion is arranged in a refrigerant path from one of the first physical quantity detection unit or the second evaporator to the second physical quantity detection unit [0025; fig 3].
Regarding Claim 3, Dirk, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 above and Dirk teaches wherein the low-pressure flow path portion is arranged in a refrigerant path from the first physical quantity detection unit [M8, T8, P8] to the second physical quantity detection unit [M2, T2, P2; 0025; 0037; see fig 3].
Regarding Claim 4, Dirk, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 above and Dirk teaches wherein the first physical quantity detection unit [M8, T8, P8] is arranged immediately behind a refrigerant outlet port of the first evaporator [30; 0025; fig 3].
Regarding Claim 7, Dirk, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above and Dirk teaches a third decompression unit [32] disposed in parallel with the first decompression unit [12] on a downstream side of the radiator, to decompress the refrigerant having passed through the radiator [0025; 0036]; and
a third evaporator [30] that exchanges heat between the refrigerant decompressed by the third decompression unit and a cooling medium [via line 34] that cools an another space different from the space to be air conditioned, and evaporates the refrigerant [0036; 0039; fig 1], and a third physical quantity detection unit [at M8, T8, P8] disposed between the third evaporator and the refrigerant joining portion to detect the third physical quantity [0025; fig 1]; wherein
the third evaporator [30] is arranged between the third decompression unit [32] and the refrigerant joining portion [16; 0025; 0036; 0039; fig 1] and wherein the third decompression unit [32] includes a mechanical expansion valve including a temperature sensing unit corresponding to the third physical quantity detection unit, or an electric variable throttle whose operation is controlled by a control signal output from a control unit based on the third physical quantity detected by the third physical quantity detection unit [0025; where the decompression unit is an electronically controllable expansion valve and where the limitation is recited in the alternative].
Dirk does not teach where the third decompression unit regulates a degree of superheating of the refrigerant between the third evaporator and the refrigerant joining portion to approach a third target degree of superheating based on a third physical quantity detected by the third physical quantity detection unit.
However, Butorac teaches a vapor compression refrigeration system [0001] wherein where the third decompression unit [Drawing I] regulates a degree of superheating of the refrigerant between the third evaporator [Drawing I] and the refrigerant joining portion [Drawing I] to approach a third target degree of superheating based on a third physical quantity detected by the third physical quantity detection unit [0067-0073; fig 1; Drawing 1; where controls are carried out by a combination of controllers 110, 116; see 0041-0043; 0064; fig 1] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a control that protects the compressor by preventing liquid working fluid from entering the compressor [0064].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Dirk to have where the third decompression unit regulates a degree of superheating of the refrigerant between the third evaporator and the refrigerant joining portion to approach a third target degree of superheating based on a third physical quantity detected by the third physical quantity detection unit in view of the teachings of Butorac where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a control that protects the compressor by preventing liquid working fluid from entering the compressor.
Regarding Claim 8, Dirk, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 7 above and Dirk teaches an internal heat exchanger [60] that includes a high-pressure flow path portion through which the refrigerant flowing from upstream of at least one of the first decompression unit [32], the second decompression unit [22], or the third decompression unit [12] passes, and a low-pressure flow path portion through which the refrigerant flowing downstream of at least one of the first evaporator [30], the second evaporator [20], or the third evaporator passes [10], and exchanges heat between the refrigerant passing through the high-pressure flow path portion and the refrigerant passing through the low-pressure flow path portion [0037; figs 1 & 3];
wherein the low-pressure flow path portion is disposed in a refrigerant path from one of the first physical quantity detection unit [at M3], the second evaporator or the third physical quantity detection unit [M8] to the second physical quantity detection unit [M2, T2, P2; 0025; figs 1 & 3].
Regarding Claim 9, Dirk, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 8 above and Dirk teaches wherein the first physical quantity detection unit [M8, T8, P8] is disposed immediately behind a refrigerant outlet port of the first evaporator [30; 0025; fig 3], and the third physical quantity detection unit [M3, T3, P3] is disposed immediately behind a refrigerant outlet port of the third evaporator [10; 0025; fig 3].
Regarding Claim 10, Dirk, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 8 above and Dirk teaches wherein the third evaporator [10] is disposed at a position farther from the compressor [7] than the first evaporator [30; see fig 3], the refrigeration cycle device further comprising a mode switching unit [at least a part of the evaluation and control unit] configured to switch to a single endothermic mode in which (i) one evaporator of the first evaporator or the second evaporator exerts a refrigerant heat-absorbing action, and (ii) an another evaporator other than the one evaporator among the first evaporator, the second evaporator and the third evaporator does not exert the refrigerant heat-absorbing action [0007; 0038; see fig 2], and wherein the low-pressure flow path portion is disposed in a refrigerant path from the first physical quantity detection unit [M8, T8, P8] to the second physical quantity detection unit [M2, T2, P2] or in a refrigerant path from the second evaporator [20] to the second physical quantity detection unit [M2, T2, P2; 0025; fig 3].
Claim(s) 5, 6, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dirk et al. (DE102013021360A1) in view of Butorac et al. (US2010/0024455) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cui et al. (CN109668348A).
Regarding Claim 5, Dirk, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 above but does not explicitly teach a pressure regulating unit disposed on a downstream side of the first evaporator to regulate an evaporation pressure of the refrigerant in the first evaporator, wherein the pressure regulating unit is disposed on a downstream side of a detection point of the first physical quantity.
However, Cui teaches a heat pump [0001] having a pressure regulating unit [12] disposed on a downstream side of an evaporator [8] to regulate an evaporation pressure of the refrigerant in the evaporator, wherein the pressure regulating unit is disposed on a downstream side of a detection point [at 17, 18] of a first physical quantity [0030; where the suction valve can be applied to the first heat exchanger disclosed in Dirk] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a control that prevents the compressor from operating under high suction pressure [0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Dirk to have a pressure regulating unit disposed on a downstream side of the first evaporator to regulate an evaporation pressure of the refrigerant in the first evaporator, wherein the pressure regulating unit is disposed on a downstream side of a detection point of the first physical quantity in view of the teachings of Cui where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a control that prevents the compressor from operating under high suction pressure.
Regarding Claim 6, Dirk, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 3 above but does not teach a pressure regulating unit disposed on a downstream side of the first evaporator to regulate an evaporation pressure of the refrigerant in the first evaporator, wherein the low-pressure flow path portion is provided on the downstream side of the first evaporator, and the pressure regulating unit is disposed in a refrigerant path from the first physical quantity detection unit to the low-pressure flow path portion.
However, Cui teaches a heat pump [0001] having a pressure regulating unit [12] disposed on a downstream side of an evaporator [8] to regulates an evaporation pressure of the refrigerant in the evaporator [0030], wherein a low-pressure flow path portion is provided on the downstream side of the evaporator [at least a flow path between the evaporator and the suction side of the compressor], and the pressure regulating unit is disposed in a refrigerant path from a first physical quantity detection unit [17, 18] to the low-pressure flow path portion [0030; where the suction valve can be applied to the first heat exchanger disclosed in Dirk] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a control that prevents the compressor from operating under high suction pressure [0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Dirk to have a pressure regulating unit disposed on a downstream side of the first evaporator to regulate an evaporation pressure of the refrigerant in the first evaporator, wherein the low-pressure flow path portion is provided on the downstream side of the first evaporator, and the pressure regulating unit is disposed in a refrigerant path from the first physical quantity detection unit to the low-pressure flow path portion in view of the teachings of Cui where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a control that prevents the compressor from operating under high suction pressure.
Regarding Claim 11, Dirk, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 8 above but does not teach a pressure regulating unit that is disposed on a downstream side of at least one of the first evaporator or the third evaporator and regulates an evaporation pressure of the refrigerant in at least one of the first evaporator or the third evaporator, wherein the pressure regulating unit is disposed on a downstream side of at least one of the first physical quantity detection unit or the third physical quantity detection unit.
However, Cui teaches a heat pump [0001] having a pressure regulating unit [12] disposed on a downstream side of an evaporator [8] and regulates an evaporation pressure of the refrigerant in the evaporator, wherein the pressure regulating unit is disposed on a downstream side of a detection point [at 17, 18] of a first physical quantity [0030; where the suction valve can be applied to any of the respective heat exchangers disclosed in Dirk] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. provide a control that prevents the compressor from operating under high suction pressure [0034].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Dirk to have a pressure regulating unit that is disposed on a downstream side of at least one of the first evaporator or the third evaporator and regulates an evaporation pressure of the refrigerant in at least one of the first evaporator or the third evaporator, wherein the pressure regulating unit is disposed on a downstream side of at least one of the first physical quantity detection unit or the third physical quantity detection unit in view of the teachings of Cui where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. provide a control that prevents the compressor from operating under high suction pressure.
Regarding Claim 12, Dirk, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 11 above and Cui teaches wherein the pressure regulating unit [12] is disposed in a refrigerant path from at least one of the first physical quantity detection unit or the third physical quantity detection unit to the low-pressure flow path portion [0030; where the suction valve can be applied to any of the respective heat exchangers disclosed in Dirk].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LARRY L FURDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763