DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 5/01/26 in which claims 1-15 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Chauhan clearly teaches wherein teaches “The credential manager 136 may provide the mobility manager 132 data indicating a logical and/or physical location of the streaming device 102 and a request to determine if there are any devices that are near that logical and/or physical location. For example, the credential manager 136 may provide a request to the mobility manager 132 to determine whether there are any subscriber devices or other devices that are connected to the same home network with the IP address included in the request. In this case, if a subscriber device or another device is on the same home network as the streaming device 102, then the mobility manager 132 may determine that the subscriber device or other device is near, or in the vicinity of, the streaming device 102. As another example, the credential manager 136 may provide a request to the mobility manager 132 to determine whether there are any subscriber devices or other devices that are within a threshold distance (e.g., fifteen meters) of the GPS location of the streaming device 102. In this case, if a GPS location of a subscriber device is within the threshold distance of the GPS location of the streaming device 102, then the subscriber device is near the streaming device 102” (See paragraph [0018]). One with ordinary skill in the art can confidently conclude that Chauhan clearly teaches wherein media streaming to the confirmed streaming device is allowed to continue even as the mobile device moves to other locations away from the fixed position media player since the streaming device is at a distance from the subscriber devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-7 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being assigned by U.S. Publication No. 2022/0014915 to Chauhan.
a. As per claim 1, Chauhan teaches an automated process to be performed by a streaming server that communicates with a mobile media player device via a network, the automated process comprising: authenticating, by the streaming server, a fixed position media player device operating at a fixed location to correspond with a streaming account (See paragraph [0013], the user authentication request 124 may include a user identifier for the user 104 and/or other user identifiers for the other users in the household of the user 104. The user authentication request 124 may include data identifying a physical and/or logical location of the streaming device 102); subsequently receiving, by the streaming server, authentication data associated with the streaming account from the mobile media player device via the network (See paragraph [0011] ); receiving, by the streaming server via the network, authentication data and location data from the mobile media player, wherein the location data is indicative of a location of the mobile media player device (See paragraph [0018, 0020], ); and selectively designating the mobile media player device as a confirmed streaming device based upon (i) verifying that the authentication data is associated with the streaming account and (ii) determining that the location data received from the mobile media player device meets a threshold co-location criterion with the fixed location of the fixed position media player device (See paragraph [0020-0023]), wherein media streaming to the confirmed streaming device is allowed to continue even as the mobile device moves to other locations away from the fixed position media player (See paragraph [0018]).
b. As per claim 11, Chauhan teaches a data processing system that communicates with a mobile media player device via a network, the data processing system comprising:
an interface to the network (See paragraph [0012]); a processor (See paragraph [0037]);
and a non-transitory data storage having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the data processing system to perform an automated process comprising: initially authenticating, by the streaming server, a fixed position media player device operating at a fixed location to correspond with a streaming account (See paragraph [0013], the user authentication request 124 may include a user identifier for the user 104 and/or other user identifiers for the other users in the household of the user 104. The user authentication request 124 may include data identifying a physical and/or logical location of the streaming device 102); subsequently receiving, by the streaming server, authentication data associated with the streaming account from the mobile media player device via the network (See paragraph [0011]); receiving, by the streaming server via the network, authentication data and location data from the mobile media player, wherein the location data is indicative of a location of the mobile media player device (See paragraph [0018 and 0020]); and selectively designating to the mobile media player device as a confirmed streaming device based upon (i) verifying that the authentication data is associated with the streaming account and (ii) determining that the location data received from the mobile media player device meets a threshold co-location criterion with the fixed location of the fixed position media player device (See paragraph [0020-0023]), wherein media streaming to the confirmed streaming device is allowed to continue even as the mobile device moves to other locations away from the fixed position media player (See paragraph [0018]).
c. As per claims 2 and 12, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chauhan teaches wherein the location data received from the mobile media player device further indicates a colocation time between the mobile media player device that has been designated as a confirmed streaming device and a third media device (See paragraph [0046 and 0082], more than one subscriber device).
d. As per claims 3 and 13, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chauhan teaches further comprising selectively enabling media streaming to the third media player device at a different location from the fixed-location media player device (See paragraph [0018]) based upon (i) determining that media streaming to the mobile media player device is confirmed based upon the threshold co-location criterion with the fixed-location media player device (See paragraph [0018 and 0031], the credential manager 136 may provide a request to the mobility manager 132 to determine whether there are any subscriber devices or other devices that are within a threshold distance (e.g., fifteen meters) of the GPS location of the streaming device 102. In this case, if a GPS location of a subscriber device is within the threshold distance of the GPS location of the streaming device 102, then the subscriber device is near the streaming device 102; ) ii) verifying that second authentication data received from the third media player device is associated with the streaming account (See paragraph [0037]); and (iii) determining that the colocation time between the mobile media player device and the third media player device meets a second co-location criterion (See paragraph [0030-0031 and 0046]).
e. As per claims 4 and 14, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chauhan teaches further disabling media streaming to the mobile device after a pre-determined period of time if the threshold co-location criterion is no longer met. (See paragraph [0018]).
f. As per claims 5 and 15, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chauhan teaches wherein the pre-determined period of time is about four weeks.(See paragraph [0084]).
g. As per claim 6, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chauhan teaches wherein the fixed location media player device is configured to provide media content to a television set (See paragraph [0012]).
h. As per claim 7, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chauhan teaches wherein the fixed location media player device is a smart television (See paragraph [0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2022/0014915 to Chauhan in view of U.S. Publication No. 2014/0168071 to Ahmed et al.
a. As per claim 8, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chauhan fails to explicitly teach further comprising selectively disabling the media streaming to the mobile media player device after a pre-determined period of time if the location data does not meet the threshold co-location criterion even when the authentication data associated with the streaming account is verified.
Ahmed et al teaches further comprising selectively disabling the media streaming to the mobile media player device if the location data does not meet the threshold co-location criterion even when the authentication data associated with the streaming account is verified (See paragraph [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Ahmed et al in the claimed invention of Chauhan et al in order to provide and maintain a secure connection among the multiple devices.
b. As per claim 10, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chauhan fails to explicitly teach wherein the location data is based upon an internet protocol (IP) address of a local area network (LAN) used by the fixed position and mobile media player devices.
Ahmed et al teaches wherein the location data is based upon an internet protocol (IP) address of a local area network (LAN) used by the fixed position and mobile media player devices (See paragraph [0098, 0130]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Ahmed et al in the claimed invention of Chauhan et al in order to provide and deliver contents and services to users.
7. Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2022/0014915 to Chauhan in view of U.S. Publication No. 2016/0119438 to Abramson et al.
a. As per claim 16, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chauhan fails to teach disabling media streaming to the mobile device after a pre-determined period of time if the threshold co-location criterion is no longer met.
Abramson et al teaches disabling media streaming to the mobile device after a pre-determined period of time if the threshold co-location criterion is no longer met (See paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Abramson et al in the claimed invention of Chauhan in order to determine a change in presence when the electronic device is within a predetermined proximity of the display device according to data transmitted from the electronic device to the server (See paragraph [0004]).
b. As per claim 17, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chauhan fails to teach wherein the pre-determined period of time is about four weeks (See paragraph [0014], The reverification process may occur at periodic intervals such as every month or every week).
c. As per claim 18, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chauhan fails to teach wherein the co-location criteria comprises a threshold amount of time that the fixed position media player and the mobile media player reside on the same network over a period of time prior to the designating.
Abramson et al teaches wherein the co-location criteria comprises a threshold amount of time that the fixed position media player and the mobile media player reside on the same network over a period of time prior to the designating (See paragraph [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Abramson et al in the claimed invention of Chauhan in order to determine a change in presence when the electronic device is within a predetermined proximity of the display device according to data transmitted from the electronic device to the server (See paragraph [0004]).
d. As per claim 19, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chauhan fails to teach wherein the media streaming to the mobile media player device is disabled after a pre-determined period of time if the location data does not meet the threshold co-location criterion even if the authentication data associated with the streaming account is verified.
Abramson et al teaches wherein the media streaming to the mobile media player device is disabled after a pre-determined period of time if the location data does not meet the threshold co-location criterion even if the authentication data associated with the streaming account is verified (See paragraph [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Abramson et al in the claimed invention of Chauhan in order to determine a change in presence when the electronic device is within a predetermined proximity of the display device according to data transmitted from the electronic device to the server (See paragraph [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim 20 is allowed.
9. Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444