DETAILED ACTION
1. This is in response to communication filed on 9/09/24 in which claims 1-15 are pending.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,101365. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim the same media player device authentication technique that monitor the locations of media player devices to determine a pattern of device co-location with a primary device.
U.S. Patent No. 12,101365
U.S. Application No. 18/824785
1. An automated process to be performed by a streaming server that communicates with a first media device via a network, the automated process comprising:
receiving, by the streaming server from the first media player device via the network, authentication data associated with a first streaming account;
receiving, by the streaming server from the first media player device via the network, location data indicative of co-location between the first media player device and a second media player device; and selectively enabling media streaming to the first media player device based upon
(i) verifying the authentication data associated with the first streaming account and (ii) determining that the location data meets a threshold co-location criterion, wherein the threshold co-location criteria relates to an amount of time that the first and second media players are located in physical proximity to each other over a designated period of time,
and wherein the threshold co-location criterion is based upon a ratio of a first period of time that the first and second media player devices are co-located to a second period of time that the first and second media player devices are not co-located.
1. An automated process to be performed by a streaming server that communicates with a mobile media player device via a network, the automated process comprising:
authenticating, by the streaming server, a fixed position media player device operating at a fixed location to correspond with a streaming account;
subsequently receiving, by the streaming server, authentication data associated with the streaming account from the mobile media player device via the network;
receiving, by the streaming server via the network, authentication data and location data from the mobile media player, wherein the location data is indicative of a location of the mobile media player device; and selectively enabling media streaming to the mobile media player device based upon
(i) verifying that the authentication data is associated with the streaming account and (ii) determining that the location data received from the mobile media player device meets a threshold co-location criterion with the fixed location of the fixed position media player device.
9. The automated process of claim 1 wherein the threshold co-location criterion is based upon a ratio of a first period of time that the fixed position and mobile media player devices are co-located to a second period of time that the fixed position and mobile media player devices are not co-located.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of claims 1 and 9 of this present application in order to obtain the independent claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,1013.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-7 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being assigned by U.S. Publication No. 2022/0014915 to Chauhan.
a. As per claim 1, Chauhan teaches an automated process to be performed by a streaming server that communicates with a mobile media player device via a network, the automated process comprising: authenticating, by the streaming server, a fixed position media player device operating at a fixed location to correspond with a streaming account (See paragraph [0013], the user authentication request 124 may include a user identifier for the user 104 and/or other user identifiers for the other users in the household of the user 104. The user authentication request 124 may include data identifying a physical and/or logical location of the streaming device 102); subsequently receiving, by the streaming server, authentication data associated with the streaming account from the mobile media player device via the network (See paragraph [0011] ); receiving, by the streaming server via the network, authentication data and location data from the mobile media player, wherein the location data is indicative of a location of the mobile media player device (See paragraph [0018, 0020], ); and selectively enabling media streaming to the mobile media player device based upon (i) verifying that the authentication data is associated with the streaming account and (ii) determining that the location data received from the mobile media player device meets a threshold co-location criterion with the fixed location of the fixed position media player device (See paragraph [0020-0023]).
b. As per claim 11, Chauhan teaches a data processing system that communicates with a mobile media player device via a network, the data processing system comprising:
an interface to the network (See paragraph [0012]); a processor (See paragraph [0037]);
and a non-transitory data storage having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the data processing system to perform an automated process comprising: initially authenticating, by the streaming server, a fixed position media player device operating at a fixed location to correspond with a streaming account (See paragraph [0013], the user authentication request 124 may include a user identifier for the user 104 and/or other user identifiers for the other users in the household of the user 104. The user authentication request 124 may include data identifying a physical and/or logical location of the streaming device 102); subsequently receiving, by the streaming server, authentication data associated with the streaming account from the mobile media player device via the network (See paragraph [0011]); receiving, by the streaming server via the network, authentication data and location data from the mobile media player, wherein the location data is indicative of a location of the mobile media player device (See paragraph [0018 and 0020]); and selectively enabling media streaming to the mobile media player device based upon (i) verifying that the authentication data is associated with the streaming account and (ii) determining that the location data received from the mobile media player device meets a threshold co-location criterion with the fixed location of the fixed position media player device (See paragraph [0020-0023]).
c. As per claims 2 and 12, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chauhan teaches wherein the location data received from the mobile media player device further indicates a colocation time between the mobile media player device and a third media device (See paragraph [0046 and 0082], more than one subscriber device).
d. As per claims 3 and 13, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chauhan teaches further comprising selectively enabling media streaming to the third media player device based upon (i) determining that media streaming to the mobile media player device is enabled based upon the threshold co-location criterion with the fixed-location media player device (See paragraph [0018 and 0031], the credential manager 136 may provide a request to the mobility manager 132 to determine whether there are any subscriber devices or other devices that are within a threshold distance (e.g., fifteen meters) of the GPS location of the streaming device 102. In this case, if a GPS location of a subscriber device is within the threshold distance of the GPS location of the streaming device 102, then the subscriber device is near the streaming device 102; ) ii) verifying that second authentication data received from the third media player device is associated with the streaming account (See paragraph [0037]); and (iii) determining that the colocation time between the mobile media player device and the third media player device meets a second co-location criterion (See paragraph [0030-0031 and 0046]).
e. As per claims 4 and 14, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chauhan teaches further wherein the third media device is not co-located with the fixed position media player device (See paragraph [0018]).
f. As per claims 5 and 15, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chauhan teaches wherein the third media device is configured to provide media streaming content to a television set at a location other than the fixed position (See paragraph [0084]).
g. As per claim 6, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chauhan teaches wherein the fixed location media player device is configured to provide media content to a television set (See paragraph [0012]).
h. As per claim 7, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. Furthermore, Chauhan teaches wherein the fixed location media player device is a smart television (See paragraph [0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2022/0014915 to Chauhan in view of U.S. Publication No. 2014/0168071 to Ahmed et al.
a. As per claim 8, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chauhan fails to explicitly teach further comprising selectively disabling the media streaming to the mobile media player device if the location data does not meet the threshold co-location criterion even when the authentication data associated with the streaming account is verified.
Ahmed et al teaches further comprising selectively disabling the media streaming to the mobile media player device if the location data does not meet the threshold co-location criterion even when the authentication data associated with the streaming account is verified (See paragraph [0103]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Ahmed et al in the claimed invention of Chauhan et al in order to provide and maintain a secure connection among the multiple devices.
b. As per claim 10, Chauhan teaches the claimed invention as described above. However, Chauhan fails to explicitly teach wherein the location data is based upon an internet protocol (IP) address of a local area network (LAN) used by the fixed position and mobile media player devices.
Ahmed et al teaches wherein the location data is based upon an internet protocol (IP) address of a local area network (LAN) used by the fixed position and mobile media player devices (See paragraph [0098, 0130]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teaching of Ahmed et al in the claimed invention of Chauhan et al in order to provide and deliver contents and services to users.
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2008/0141313 to Kato et al teaches Authentication Bootstrap by Network Support.
U.S. Publication No. 2014/0032635 to Pimmel et al teaches Method and Device for Establishing A Content Mirroring Session.
U.S. Publication No. 2015/0089222 to White et al teaches Securely Connecting Control Device to Target Device.
/DJENANE M BAYARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444