DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/04/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (claims 1-9 and 13-16) in the reply filed on 04/02/2026 is acknowledged. However, claims 17-18 and 21-22 are broader claims than the elected claims. Therefore, these claims have been examined with the elected claims.
Claims 10-12 and 19-20 are still withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 13-18 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwasaki et al. (US 2024/0099153 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Iwasaki teaches a storage device comprising:
a plurality of memory cells (Fig. 1, memory cells MC) each including:
a first conductive layer (Fig. 2, upper electrode 30),
a second conductive layer (Fig. 2, lower electrode 10),
a third conductive layer (Fig. 2, intermediate electrode 20) between the first and second conductive layers,
a switching layer (Fig. 2, switching later 50) between the first and third conductive layers, and
a variable resistance (Fig. 2, variable resistance 40) layer between the second and third conductive layers, wherein
the switching layer includes at least one first region and at least one second region, the first region includes at least:
a first element selected from a group consisting of zirconium, yttrium, tantalum, lanthanum, cerium, titanium, hafnium, magnesium, and aluminum (Fig. 2, first area 51, see ¶0044), and
a second element selected from a group consisting of oxygen, sulfur, and selenium (Fig. 2, first area 51, see ¶0045),
the second region (Fig. 2, first area 53) includes at least:
the first element, a third element selected from a group consisting of sulfur, selenium, and tellurium, an atomic number of the third element being greater than an atomic number of the second element, and a fourth element selected from a group consisting of sulfur, selenium, and tellurium (¶0059 and ¶0060), and
an atomic concentration of a fifth element in the second region is higher than an atomic concentration of the fifth element in the first region, the fifth element being selected from a group consisting of zinc, tin, gallium, indium, bismuth, magnesium, and calcium (¶0068, the atomic concentration of the additive metal element in area 53 is higher than area 51, ¶0068).
Regarding claim 2, Iwasaki further teaches the storage device according to claim 1, wherein the atomic concentration of the fifth element in the first region is zero (the atomic concentration for the additive metal is less than 1%, where zero is less than 1%, see ¶0103).
Regarding claim 3, Iwasaki further teaches the storage device according to claim 1, wherein the first and second regions are alternately disposed along a first direction from the first conductive layer toward the second conductive layer (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Iwasaki further teaches the storage device according to claim 1, wherein the first element is zirconium (¶0059).
Regarding claim 5, Iwasaki further teaches the storage device according to claim 1, wherein the fourth element is tellurium, and the fifth element is zinc (¶0059).
Regarding claim 6, Iwasaki further teaches the storage device according to claim 1, wherein the first region includes a compound of the first and second elements (¶0044 t0 ¶0045), and
the second region includes a compound of the first and third elements and a compound of the fourth and fifth elements (¶0059 to ¶0065).
Regarding claim 7, Iwasaki further teaches the storage device according to claim 1, wherein the variable resistance layer includes a magnetic tunnel junction (Fig. 3, 40 is MTJ, see ¶0034).
Regarding claim 8, Iwasaki further teaches the storage device according to claim 1, wherein a resistance value of the variable resistance layer changes when a predetermined voltage is applied thereto, and a current that flows through the switching layer changes non-linearly when a voltage greater than or equal to a threshold voltage is applied thereto (Fig. 4, non-linearly current when voltage greater than or equal to Vth is applied, see ¶0084).
Regarding claim 9, Iwasaki further teaches the storage device according to claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of first wires; and a plurality of second wires that intersect with the first wires, wherein the memory cells are provided at intersections of the first and second wires (Fig. 2, lines 103 and 102).
Regarding claims 13-16, the claims have similar limitations as claim 1-9 except the claims recite “a band gap of the second material is narrower than a band gap of the first material.” However, Iwasaki teaches using the same materials for the first and second material as described in claim 1. Therefore, the materials will shows the same characteristics for the band gap.
Regarding claims 17-18, the claims have similar limitations as claims 1-9 except the claims are written in a broader format. Therefore, the claims are rejected under the same grounds of rejection.
Regarding claims 21-22, the claims have similar limitations as claims 13-16 except the claims are written in a broader format. Therefore, the claims are rejected under the same grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/Khamdan N. Alrobaie/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824