DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190339568 A1 (Pan; Po-Hung).
Per claim 1, Pan teaches an optical device [500], comprising a substrate [520] with a front surface [520T], a back surface [520R] and a circumferential side surface [area corresponding to 150 up to the side surface of the substrate] free of light absorbent material [the portion form the seal to the substrate side surface], wherein at least one portion of an edge of the front surface has a texturization [embedded pattern 580], wherein recesses of the texturization are filled with a light-absorbent material [shielding layer 510], and wherein the circumferential side surface is free of light-absorbent material [see figure 1A and figure 5, shielding layer 510 is form within the surface of the substrate towards the edge of the display], the at least one portion of the edge of the front surface having the texturization with recesses filled with the light-absorbent material provides a front edge surface [the top surface is the front surface and the edge region include the portion with embedded material 510].
Per claim 2, Pan teaches the optical device of claim 1, wherein the recesses of the texturization extend from the front surface into the substrate [see figure 5 enlarged portion].
Per claim 4, Pan teaches the optical device any of claim 1, wherein the front edge surface which is at the same level as an adjacent non-edge surface of the front surface [the front surface of the substrate at the non-edge portion is at the same level as the edge portion from the seal to the side surface of the substrate].
Per claim 6, Pan teaches the optical device of claim 1, wherein the optical device is selected from the group consisting of: a waveguide, a wave guide combiner, a flat optical device, a substrate having optical structures, a cover glass, a lens and a metasurface lens [the device is a substrate of a display which is an optical device].
Per claim 8, Pan teaches the optical device of claim 1, wherein the substrate is made of transparent material comprising one or more constituents selected from the group consisting of silicon (Si), silicon dioxide (SiO2), fused silica, quartz, silicon carbide (SiC), germanium (Ge), silicon germanium (SiGe), indium phosphide (InP), gallium arsenide (GaAs), gallium nitride (GaN), sapphire, lithium tantalate (LiTaO3), lithium niobate (LiNbO3), or combinations thereof [see paragraph 0025: “The material of the top substrate 120 may be glass, quartz, or the like.”]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 10-12, 14-22, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190339568 A1 (Pan; Po-Hung).
Per claims 3, 5, and 24, Pan teaches the optical device of claim 1 or 2 but lacks at least one portion of an edge of the back surface has a texturization, and wherein the recesses of the texturization extend from the back surface into the substrate and are filled with a light-absorbent material. However, official notice is hereby taken that it would have been common knowledge to form recesses of the texturization to extend from the back surface into the substrate and are filled with a light-absorbent material to improve the adhesion strength of the sealant and reduce light leakage. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 10, Pan teaches a method of manufacturing a plurality of optical devices, comprising: - defining individual edges of the plurality of optical devices on a substrate surface [580]; - texturizing at least one portion of the individual edges by removing material from the substrate surface [see paragraph 0040: “he top substrate 520 may be patterned by, for example, dry or wet etching.”]; - filling recesses of the at least one texturized portion with a light-absorbent material [510], but lacks - cutting the plurality of optical devices out of the substrate. However, official notice is hereby taken that it would have been common knowledge to cut the plurality of optical devices out of the substrate to reduce manufacturing costs. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 11, Pan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein filling the recesses of the at least one texturized portion with the light-absorbent material comprises pushing the light-absorbent material into the recesses of the at least one texturized portion [see paragraph 0034: “a wet process such as an inkjet printing process may be performed to form the patterned light shielding layer”].
Per claim 12, Pan teaches the method of claim 10 or 11, but lacks filling the recesses of the at least one texturized portion with the light-absorbent material comprises using a screen-printing method. However, official notice is hereby taken that it would have been common knowledge to filling the recesses of the at least one texturized portion with the light-absorbent material comprises using a screen-printing method to reduce manufacturing costs. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 14, Pan teaches the method of claim 10, but lacks the step of removing material from the substrate surface comprises using one or more techniques selected from the group consisting of: wet etching, dry etching and laser ablation. However, official notice is hereby taken that it would have been common knowledge to remove material from the substrate surface comprises using one or more techniques selected from the group consisting of: wet etching, dry etching and laser ablation to simplify manufacturing. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 15, Pan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein texturizing comprises creating one or more of a random texture, a targeted random texture, a randomized grating, an oriented grating, or a microstructure [see figure 5, an oriented grating is shown]
Per claims 16, 17, and 22, Pan teaches the method of claim 10, but the at least one portion of the individual edges has a band width W of 1.0 mm <W< 3.0 mm, or 1.5 mm <W< 2.5 mm, and wherein the at least one portion of the individual edges comprises a first portion having a first width W1 and a second portion having a second width W2, wherein the first width W1 is smaller than the second width W2. However, official notice is hereby taken that it would have been common knowledge to form one portion of the individual edges has a band width W of 1.0 mm <W< 3.0 mm or 1.5 mm <W< 2.5 mm, and wherein the at least one portion of the individual edges comprises a first portion having a first width W1 and a second portion having a second width W2, wherein the first width W1 is smaller than the second width W2. Reduced unviewable edges and decreased the bezel would have been an expected benefit. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 18, Pan teaches the method of claim 10, but lacks curing the light-absorbent material, particularly prior to cutting the plurality of optical devices out of the substrate. However, official notice is hereby taken that it would have been common knowledge cure the light-absorbent material, prior to cutting the plurality of optical devices out of the substrate to simplify manufacturing. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 19, Pan teaches the method of any of claim[[s]] 10 to 18, wherein the optical devices are selected from the group consisting of: a waveguide, a wave guide combiner, a flat optical device, a substrate having optical structures, a cover glass, a lens and a metasurface lens [the device is a substrate of a display which is an optical device].
Per claim 20, Pan teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the substrate is made of transparent material comprising one or more constituents selected from the group consisting of silicon (Si), silicon dioxide (SiO2), fused silica, quartz, silicon carbide (SiC), germanium (Ge), silicon germanium (SiGe), indium phosphide (InP), gallium arsenide (GaAs), gallium nitride (GaN), sapphire, lithium tantalate (LiTaO3), lithium niobate (LiNbO3), or combinations thereof [see paragraph 0025: “The material of the top substrate 120 may be glass, quartz, or the like.”]
Per claim 21, Pan teaches the method of claim 15, but lack the texturizing comprising a plurality of micro pyramids. However, official notice is hereby taken that it would have been common knowledge form the texture with a plurality of micro pyramids to simplify manufacturing. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Per claim 25, Pan teaches the optical device of claim 24 but lacks the back surface of the substrate is an exposed surface that is free of an overlying layer. However, official notice is hereby taken that it would have been common knowledge to form the back surface of the substrate to expose surface to be free of an overlying layer to reduce cell thickness. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190339568 A1 (Pan; Po-Hung), as applied to claims 3, 5, 10-12, 14-22, and 24-25 above, and further in view of US 20090115942 A1.
Per claim 23, Pan teaches the optical device of claim 1, but lacks the front surface of the substrate is an exposed surface that is free of an overlying layer. However, 942 teaches a substrate with a top surface free of overlying layers and a lower surface with textured area. An expected benefit of combining 942 with Pan would have been simplified manufacturing. Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine 942 with Pan.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Per claim 13, the prior art teaches the method of claim 10. In combination with the limitations above, the prior art does not teach a refractive index of the light-absorbent material substantially matches a refractive index of the substrate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 10-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
/JAMES A DUDEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871