DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objection/s to the Specification
The incorporation of essential material in the specification by reference to an unpublished U.S. application, foreign application or patent, or to a publication is improper. Applicant is required to amend the disclosure to include the material incorporated by reference, if the material is relied upon to overcome any objection, rejection, or other requirement imposed by the Office. The amendment must be accompanied by a statement executed by the applicant, or a practitioner representing the applicant, stating that the material being inserted is the material previously incorporated by reference and that the amendment contains no new matter. 37 CFR 1.57(g).
The title of the invention, “DISPLAY DEVICE,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,111,465 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patented claims 1 and 4 claim all limitations claimed by the pending claims 1, 2, 4, and 5 as followed.
Pending claims
Patented claims
1. An optical system, comprising a visible light emitted by a display and having a first polarization state; and an infrared light cut-off film configured to substantially transmit the visible light from the display and to substantially block an incident infrared light having substantially the first polarization state from being incident on the display.
1. A display device, characterized in that the display device comprises: a display portion emitting a visible light of a linearly polarized wave having display information; an infrared light cut-off portion transmitting the visible light from the display portion and reducing an incident amount of an infrared light to the display portion; and a reflecting portion reflecting the visible light transmitted through the infrared light cut-off portion, wherein the infrared light cut-off portion comprises an infrared light cut-off layer, the infrared light cut-off layer has a slow axis, and the slow axis is generally parallel to a vibration direction of the linearly polarized wave.
2. The optical system of claim 1, wherein the infrared light cut-off film comprises a multi-layer optical film.
4. The display device according to claim 1, wherein the infrared light cut-off portion further comprises an ultra-violet light cut-off layer reducing a transmittance of an ultra-violet light, and the infrared light cut-off layer and the ultra-violet light cut-off layer both have transmissivity in a visible light region.
4. An optical system, comprising a display configured to emit visible light having a first polarization state; and an infrared light cut-off film configured to substantially transmit the visible light from the display and to reduce infrared light incident on the display, wherein the infrared light cut-off film has a slow axis that is generally parallel to the first polarization state.
5. The optical system of claim 4, wherein the infrared light cut-off film reduces the infrared light incident on the display by at least one of reflection and absorption.
1. A display device, characterized in that the display device comprises: a display portion emitting a visible light of a linearly polarized wave having display information; an infrared light cut-off portion transmitting the visible light from the display portion and reducing an incident amount of an infrared light to the display portion; and a reflecting portion reflecting the visible light transmitted through the infrared light cut-off portion, wherein the infrared light cut-off portion comprises an infrared light cut-off layer, the infrared light cut-off layer has a slow axis, and the slow axis is generally parallel to a vibration direction of the linearly polarized wave.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takase (US 20190265470 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takase teaches an optical system (Fig. 1-8), comprising a visible light emitted by a display (110) and having a first polarization state ([0023], [0031]); and an infrared light cut-off film (130/150) configured to substantially transmit the visible light from the display (110) and to substantially block an incident infrared light having substantially the first polarization state from being incident on the display (110; [0032], [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Takase further teaches the infrared light cut-off film (130/150) comprises a multi-layer optical film ([0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Takase further teaches the infrared light cut-off film (130/150) comprises infrared-absorbing material ([0032], [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Takase further teaches an optical system (Fig. 1-8), comprising a display (110) configured to emit visible light having a first polarization state; and an infrared light cut-off film (130/150) configured to substantially transmit the visible light from the display (110) and to reduce infrared light incident on the display (110), wherein the infrared light cut-off film (130/150) has a slow axis (Ax) that is generally parallel to the first polarization state ([0023], [0040], [0063]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Takase further teaches the infrared light cut-off film (130/150) reduces the infrared light incident on the display (110) by at least one of reflection and absorption ([0032], [0046]).
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent documents, US 20210096365 A1, US 20200201037 A1, US 20200189363 A1, DE 102018213061 A1, DE 102018213061 A1, US 20190346676 A1, US 20160357096 A1, and US 20140177040 A1, disclose system for blocking sunlight from entering a HUD in vehicles.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882