DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/5/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 4, 5, 12, 14, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “including a same material with the hole functional layer” in line 3. The examiner believes the applicant intended “including a same material as the hole functional layer” to establish a comparison between the elements.
Claim 4 recites “including a same material with the light emitting layer” in line 3. The examiner believes the applicant intended “including a same material as the light emitting layer” to establish a comparison between the elements.
Claim 5 recites “including a same material with the light emitting layer” in line 2 and 3. The examiner believes the applicant intended “including a same material as the light emitting layer” to establish a comparison between the elements.
Claim 12 recites “including a same material with the light emitting layer” in line 2 and 3. The examiner believes the applicant intended “including a same material as the light emitting layer” to establish a comparison between the elements.
Claim 14 recites “including a same material with the charge generation layer” in line 3. The examiner believes the applicant intended “including a same material as the charge generation layer” to establish a comparison between the elements.
Claim 15 recites “including a same material with the charge generation layer” in line 3. The examiner believes the applicant intended “including a same material as the charge generation layer” to establish a comparison between the elements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 7, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a second dummy layer” in lines 1 and 2. There is no precedent first dummy layer, therefore it is ambiguous how many dummy layers are present.
Claim 5 recites “a second dummy layer” in lines 1 and 2. There is no precedent first dummy layer, therefore it is ambiguous how many dummy layers are present.
Claim 14 recites “a second dummy layer” in lines 1 and 2. There is no precedent first dummy layer, therefore it is ambiguous how many dummy layers are present.
Claim 15 recites “a second dummy layer” in lines 1 and 2. There is no precedent first dummy layer, therefore it is ambiguous how many dummy layers are present.
Claim 7 recites “an air gap” in line 2 and “an auxiliary filler filling the air gap” in line 4. Therefore the claim is unclear as to whether or not an air gap is present, because a gap that is filled with a material other than air is not an air gap. For the purpose of examination, the examiner will assume that the filler filling the air gap is air.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized and struck through claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong (US 2022/0209206) in view of Lim (US 2021/0043705)
Regarding claim 1.
Gong teaches:
A light emitting display device comprising: a substrate (fig 2:100; [para 0039]) including a first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]) and a second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]);
a planarization layer (fig 2:300; [para 0038]) disposed on an entire surface of the substrate (fig 2:100; [para 0039]);
a trench (fig 3:T; [para 0034]) depressed into the planarization layer (fig 2:300; [para 0038]) with a first depth, the trench (fig 3:T; [para 0034]) including a first sidewall near the first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]), a second sidewall near the second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]) and a bottom side connecting bottom ends of the first sidewall and the second sidewall (fig 2);
a first pixel electrode (fig 2:410; [para 0038]) disposed at the first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]) on the planarization layer (fig 2:300; [para 0038]);
a second pixel electrode (fig 2:410; [para 0038]) disposed at the second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]) on the planarization layer (fig 2:300; [para 0038]);
a hole functional layer (fig 2:422; [para 0052]) disposed on the first pixel electrode (fig 2:410; [para 0038]) and the second pixel electrode (fig 2:410; [para 0038]), and extended from a top side of the trench to a second depth smaller than the first depth on the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the trench (fig 3:T; [para 0034]);
[gap] (fig 2:G; [para 0059]) disposed from the bottom side to a third depth smaller than the second depth;
a light emitting layer (fig 2:423; [para 0053]) disposed on the hole functional layer (fig 2:422; [para 0052]), and extended from the top side of the trench (fig 3:T; [para 0034]) to an upper surface of the [gap] (fig 2:G; [para 0059]) on the first sidewall and the second sidewall;
an electron functional layer (fig 2:423; [para 0053]) disposed on the light emitting layer (fig 2:423; [para 0053], 423 explicitly comprises an electron layer stacked on a light emitting layer), and connected from the first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]) to the second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]);
and a common electrode (fig 2:430; [para 0038]) disposed on the electron functional layer (fig 2:423; [para 0053]), and connected from the first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]) to the second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]).
Gong does not teach a filler in the trench.
Lim teaches:
A light emitting display device comprising: a substrate (fig 4:111; [para 0039]) including a first pixel (fig 4:P1; [para 0051]) and a second pixel (fig 4:P2; [para 0051]);
a planarization layer (fig 4:115; [para 0053]) disposed on an entire surface of the substrate (fig 4:111; [para 0039]);
a trench (fig 4:T; [para 0053]) depressed into the planarization layer (fig 4:115; [para 0053])with a first depth, a hole functional layer (fig 4:130a,131a; [para 0087,0089]) disposed on the first pixel electrode (fig 4:121; [para 0063]) and the second pixel electrode (fig 4:122; [para 0063]), and extended from a top side of the trench (fig 4:T; [para 0053]) to a second depth smaller than the first depth on the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the trench (fig 4:T; [para 0053]);
a filler (fig 4:160; [para 0053]) disposed from the bottom side to a third depth smaller than the second depth;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a filler in the trench in order that a current may more stably be prevented from leaking among the adjacent subpixels through the charge generating layers (paragraph 117)
Regarding claim 2.
Gong in view of Lim teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 1, further
Lim teaches:
a first dummy layer (fig 4:134; [para 0086]) disposed between the bottom side of the trench (fig 4:T; [para 0053]) and the filler (fig 4:160; [para 0053]), and including a same material with the hole functional layer ([para 0075]), wherein the hole functional layer (fig 4,5:130a,131a; [para 0087,0089]) is disconnected ([para 0086]) from the first dummy layer (fig 4:134; [para 0086]) at a lower portion of the trench (fig 4:T; [para 0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for dummy material to form at the bottom of the trench as excess from the surface deposition steps.
Regarding claim 3.
Gong in view of Lim teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 1, further
Lim teaches:
the filler (fig 4:160; [para 0053]) contacts some of the hole functional layer (fig 4:130a,131a; [para 0087,0089]) at the first sidewall and the second sidewall.
Regarding claim 6.
Gong in view of Lim teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 1, further
Lim teaches:
the hole functional layer (fig 4,7:130a,131a,HTL,HIL; [para 0087,0089]) is disconnected from the first pixel electrode (fig 4,5,6:121; [para 0063])to the second pixel electrode (fig 4,5,6:122; [para 0063])between the first sidewall and the second sidewall, and wherein the hole functional layer (fig 4,7:130a,131a,HTL,HIL; [para 0087,0089])is physically disconnected from the electron functional layer (fig 4,7:130a,131a,ETL1; [para 0087,0089])by the filler (fig 4,6:160; [para 0116]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the filler to physically separate the layers in order that a current may more stably be prevented from leaking among the adjacent subpixels through the charge generating layers (paragraph 117)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong (US 2022/0209206) in view of Lim (US 2021/0043705)
Regarding claim 8.
Gong teaches:
A light emitting display device comprising: a substrate (fig 2:100; [para 0039]) including a first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]) and a second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]);
a planarization layer (fig 2:300; [para 0038]) disposed on an entire surface of the substrate (fig 2:100; [para 0039]);
a trench (fig 3:T; [para 0034]) depressed into the planarization layer (fig 2:300; [para 0038]) with a first depth, the trench (fig 3:T; [para 0034]) including a first sidewall near the first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]), a second sidewall near the second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]) and a bottom side connecting bottom ends of the first sidewall and the second sidewall;
a first pixel electrode (fig 2:410; [para 0038]) disposed at the first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]) on the planarization layer (fig 2:300; [para 0038]);
a second pixel electrode (fig 2:410; [para 0038]) disposed at the second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]) on the planarization layer (fig 2:300; [para 0038]);
a light emitting layer (fig 2:423; [para 0053]) disposed on the first pixel electrode (fig 2:410; [para 0038]) and the second pixel electrode (fig 2:410; [para 0038]), and extended from a top side of the trench (fig 3:T; [para 0034]) to a second depth smaller than the first depth on the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the trench (fig 3:T; [para 0034]);
[gap] (fig 2:G; [para 0059])disposed from the bottom side to a third depth smaller than the second depth;
an electron functional layer (fig 2:423; [para 0053], explicitly part of the light emitting stack) disposed on the light emitting layer (fig 2:423; [para 0053], 423 explicitly comprises an electron layer stacked on a light emitting layer), and connected from the first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]) to the second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]);
and a common electrode (fig 2:430; [para 0038]) disposed on the electron functional layer (fig 2:423; [para 0053]), and connected from the first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]) to the second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]).
Gong does not teach a filler in the trench.
Lim teaches:
A light emitting display device comprising: a substrate (fig 4:111; [para 0039]) including a first pixel (fig 4:P1; [para 0051]) and a second pixel (fig 4:P2; [para 0051]);
a planarization layer (fig 4:115; [para 0053]) disposed on an entire surface of the substrate (fig 4:111; [para 0039]);
a trench (fig 4:T; [para 0053]) depressed into the planarization layer (fig 4:115; [para 0053])with a first depth,the trench (fig 4:T; [para 0053]) including a first sidewall near the first pixel (fig 4:P1; [para 0051]), a second sidewall near the second pixel (fig 4:P2; [para 0051]) and a bottom side connecting bottom ends of the first sidewall and the second sidewall; a light emitting layer (fig 4,5:131c,130c; [para 0116])and extended from a top side of the trench (fig 4:T; [para 0053]) to a second depth smaller than the first depth on the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the trench (fig 4:T; [para 0053]);
a filler (fig 4:160; [para 0053]) disposed from the bottom side to a third depth smaller than the second depth
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a filler in the trench in order that a current may more stably be prevented from leaking among the adjacent subpixels through the charge generating layers (paragraph 117)
Claim(s) 11, 12, 13, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong (US 2022/0209206) in view of Lim (US 2021/0043705)
Regarding claim 11.
Gong teaches:
A light emitting display device comprising: a substrate (fig 2:100; [para 0039]) including a first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]) and a second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]);
a planarization layer (fig 2:300; [para 0038]) disposed on an entire surface of the substrate (fig 2:100; [para 0039]);
a trench (fig 3:T; [para 0034]) depressed into the planarization layer (fig 2:300; [para 0038]) with a first depth, the trench (fig 3:T; [para 0034]) including a first sidewall near the first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]), a second sidewall near the second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]) and a bottom side connecting bottom ends of the first sidewall and the second sidewall;
a first pixel electrode (fig 2:410; [para 0038]) disposed at the first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]) on the planarization layer (fig 2:300; [para 0038]);
a second pixel electrode (fig 2:410; [para 0038])disposed at the second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]) on the planarization layer (fig 2:300; [para 0038]);
a first light emitting layer (fig 2:421; [para 0053])disposed on the first pixel electrode (fig 2:410; [para 0038]) and the second pixel electrode (fig 2:410; [para 0038]), and extended from a top side of the trench (fig 3:T; [para 0034]) to a second depth smaller than the first depth on the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the trench (fig 3:T; [para 0034]);
(fig 2:G; [para 0059]) disposed from the bottom side to a third depth smaller than the second depth;
a charge generation layer (fig 2:422; [para 0053]) disposed on the first light emitting layer (fig 2:421; [para 0053]), extending from the top side of the trench (fig 3:T; [para 0034]) to an upper surface of the[gap] (fig 2:G; [para 0059]) on the first sidewall and the second sidewall;
a second light emitting layer (fig 2:423; [para 0053])disposed on the charge generation layer (fig 2:422; [para 0053]), and connected from the first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]) to the second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]);
an electron functional layer (fig 2:423; [para 0053], explicitly part of the light emitting stack) disposed on the second light emitting layer (fig 2:423; [para 0053]), and connected from the first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]) to the second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]);
and a common electrode (fig 2:430; [para 0038]) disposed on the electron functional layer (fig 2:423; [para 0053]), and connected from the first pixel (fig 2:P1; [para 0033]) to the second pixel (fig 2:P2; [para 0033]).
Gong does not teach a filler in the trench.
Lim teaches:
A light emitting display device comprising: a substrate (fig 4:111; [para 0039]) including a first pixel (fig 4:P1; [para 0051]) and a second pixel (fig 4:P2; [para 0051]);
a planarization layer (fig 4:115; [para 0053]) disposed on an entire surface of the substrate (fig 4:111; [para 0039]);
a trench (fig 4:T; [para 0053]) depressed into the planarization layer (fig 4:115; [para 0053])with a first depth, the trench (fig 4:T; [para 0053]) including a first sidewall near the first pixel (fig 4:P1; [para 0051]), a second sidewall near the second pixel (fig 4:P1; [para 0051]) and a bottom side connecting bottom ends of the first sidewall and the second sidewall;
a first light emitting layer (fig 4,5:131a; [para 00530116])disposed on the first pixel electrode (fig 4:121; [para 0063]) and the second pixel electrode (fig 4:122; [para 0063]), and extended from a top side of the trench (fig 3:T; [para 0053]) to a second depth smaller than the first depth on the first sidewall and the second sidewall of the trench (fig 3:T; [para 0053]);
a filler (fig 4:160; [para 0116]) disposed from the bottom side to a third depth smaller than the second depth;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a filler in the trench in order that a current may more stably be prevented from leaking among the adjacent subpixels through the charge generating layers (paragraph 117)
Regarding claim 12.
Gong in view of Lim teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 11, further
Lim teaches:
a first dummy layer (fig 4:134; [para 0086]) disposed between the bottom side and the filler (fig 4:160; [para 0053]), and including a same material with the first light emitting layer ([para 0075]), wherein the first light emitting layer (fig 4,5:131a; [para 00530116]) is disconnected from the first dummy layer (fig 4:134; [para 0086]) at a lower portion of the trench (fig 4:T; [para 0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for dummy material to form at the bottom of the trench as excess from the surface deposition steps.
Regarding claim 13.
Gong in view of Lim teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 11, further
Lim teaches:
the filler (fig 4:160; [para 0116]) contacts some of the first light emitting layer (fig 4,6:131a; [para 0075]) at the first sidewall and the second sidewall.
Regarding claim 16.
Gong in view of Lim teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 11, further
Lim teaches:
comprising a hole functional layer (fig 4,5:131a,130a,HTL,HIL; [para 0089]) disposed under the first light emitting layer (fig 4,5:131a,130a,EML1; [para 0089])
Regarding claim 17.
Gong in view of Lim teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 16, further
Lim teaches:
the first light emitting layer (fig 4,5,6:130a,131a,EML1; [para 0087,0089])and the hole functional layer (fig 4,5,6:130a,131a,HTL,HIL; [para 0087,0089])are disconnected from the first pixel electrode (fig 4,5,6:121; [para 0063])to the second pixel electrode (fig 4,5,6:122; [para 0063])between the first sidewall and the second sidewall, and wherein the hole functional layer (fig 4,5,6:130a,131a,HTL,HIL; [para 0087,0089])is physically disconnected from the electron functional layer (fig 4,5,6:131a,130a,ETL1; [para 0087,0089]) by the filler (fig 4,6:160; [para 0116])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the filler to physically separate the layers in order that a current may more stably be prevented from leaking among the adjacent subpixels through the charge generating layers (paragraph 117)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 18, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4, 5, 7, 14, and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, in combination with other elements of the claim, the prior art does not teach the light emitting display device comprising a second dummy layer disposed on a central portion of the upper surface of the filler, and including a same material with the light emitting layer, wherein the light emitting layer is extended from the top of the trench to the upper surface of the filler at the first sidewall and the second sidewall, and is physically disconnected from the second dummy layer.
Regarding claim 5, in combination with other elements of the claim, the prior art does not teach the light emitting display device comprising a second dummy layer disposed on a central upper surface of the filler, and including a same material with the light emitting layer, wherein the light emitting layer is physically connected to the second dummy layer at edge corners of the upper surface of the filler, and is electrically disconnected from the second dummy layer.
Regarding claim 7, in combination with other elements of the claim, the prior art does not teach the light emitting display device comprising an air gap disposed between the electron functional layer disposed on the first sidewall and the second sidewall and the filler; and an auxiliary filler filling the air gap.
Regarding claim 9, in combination with other elements of the claim, the prior art does not teach the light emitting display device comprising an air gap disposed between the electron functional layer disposed on the first sidewall and the second sidewall and the filler; and a hole functional layer under the light emitting layer.
Regarding claim 14, in combination with other elements of the claim, the prior art does not teach the light emitting display device comprising a second dummy layer disposed on a central portion of the upper surface of the filler, and including a same material with the charge generation layer, wherein the charge generation layer is extended from the top of the trench to the upper surface of the filler at the first sidewall and the second sidewall, and is physically disconnected from the second dummy layer.
Regarding claim 15, in combination with other elements of the claim, the prior art does not teach the light emitting display device comprising a second dummy layer disposed on a central portion of the upper surface of the filler, and including a same material with the charge generation layer, wherein the charge generation layer is physically connected to the second dummy layer at edge corners of the upper surface of the filler, and is electrically disconnected from the second dummy layer.
Regarding claim 18, in combination with other elements of the claim, the prior art does not teach the light emitting display device comprising an air gap surrounded by the second light emitting layer, the electron functional layer and the filler; and an auxiliary filler filling the air gap.
Regarding claim 19, in combination with other elements of the claim, the prior art does not teach the light emitting display device comprising an auxiliary filler filled up to a depth smaller than the third depth, and contacting the charge generation layer inside the trench; and an air gap surrounded by the second light emitting layer, the electron functional layer and the filler.
Regarding claim 20, in combination with other elements of the claim, the prior art does not teach the light emitting display device comprising an auxiliary filler filled up to a depth smaller than the third depth, and contacting the charge generation layer inside the trench; and an upper filler filled an upper space of the trench, the upper space corresponding to a space from the second light emitting layer on the auxiliary filler to the top side of the trench, wherein the electron functional layer is disposed on the second light emitting layer and the upper filler.
Conclusion
/D.J.G/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817