DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MASNAGHETTI et al. (TW 202028750 A).
Regarding claim 1, MASNAGHETTI discloses a reflectance confocal scanning electron microscope (figs. 1 and 5-6) comprising:
a first column device (fig. 1, 102 to 108) configured to allow an electron beam to be incident on a sample (110) ; and
a second column device (120) configured to de-scan (via 124) the electron beam after it is reflected (ISE, BSE) (reflected/backscattered electrons) from the sample to confocally detect (via 126, 128, 130, 140 and/or 142) (figs. 1g-1h) electrons emitted from the sample (110) .
(fig. 6C; primary electron beam (IP) 104; sample 110; reflected/backscattered e-beam (ISE, BSE); de-scan coil 124; confocal/pinhole (after lens 126); detector EA)
(figs. 1c and 6B; detector 132, confocal/pinhole 130, detector 142)
(figs. 1c and 1g-1h; 114 solid line, 116 dotted line).
Regarding claim 11, MASNAGHETTI discloses a reflectance confocal scanning electron microscope (figs. 1 and 5-6) comprising:
an objective lens (126, and/or 140) configured to focus electrons scattered (ISE, BSE) from a sample (110); and
a spatial filter (pinhole 130 in 128 in 120) configured to confocally filter (via 126, 140, and/or pinhole 130 in 128 in 120) (figs. 1g-1h) an electron beam focused through the objective lens (126, and/or 140).
(fig. 6C; primary electron beam (IP) 104; sample 110; reflected/backscattered e-beam (ISE, BSE); de-scan coil 124; confocal/pinhole (after lens 126); detector EA)
(figs. 1c and 6B; detector 132, confocal/pinhole 130, detector 142)
(figs. 1c and 1g-1h; 114 solid line, 116 dotted line)
(Note per applicant’s spec, para. [0042 Note spatial filter 123 (e.g., a pinhole)]).
Regarding claim 16, MASNAGHETTI discloses a reflectance confocal scanning electron microscope (figs. 1 and 5-6) and comprising:
a first column device (fig. 1, 102 to 108) configured to allow an electron beam to be incident on a sample (110) ; and
a second column device (120) comprising a detector (128, and/or 142) that is configured to detect the electron beam after it is reflected (ISE, BSE) (reflected/backscattered electrons) from the sample (110),
wherein the electron beam scans (abstract) the sample as it is incident on the sample, and
wherein the electron beam passes through a pinhole (130 in 128 in 120) toward the detector as a de-scanned (via 124) electron beam (pg. 6).
(fig. 6C; primary electron beam (IP) 104; sample 110; reflected/backscattered e-beam (ISE, BSE); de-scan coil 124; confocal/pinhole (after lens 126); detector EA)
(figs. 1c and 6B; detector 132, confocal/pinhole 130, detector 142)
(figs. 1c and 1g-1h; 114 solid line, 116 dotted line)
Regarding claim 2, MASNAGHETTI discloses that the first column device (fig. 1, 102 to 108) comprises: an electron source (102) configured to generate the electron beam; and an objective lens (108) configured to focus the electron beam on the sample (110).
Regarding claim 6, MASNAGHETTI discloses that the second column device (120) comprises:
an objective lens (126, and/or 140) configured to focus the electron beam after it is reflected from the sample (110) ;
a pinhole (130 in 128 in 120) configured to confocally filter the electron beam after it is focused through the objective lens (126); and
a detector (via 128, and/or 142) configured to detect the electron beam after it passes through the pinhole (130 in 128 in 120).
Regarding claim 8, MASNAGHETTI discloses that the second column device (120) further comprises an energy filter (138) configured to accelerate the electron beam after it passes through the pinhole (130 in 128 in 120) .
Regarding claim 9, MASNAGHETTI discloses that a resolution or a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) is based on (inherent, to some extent, due to the beam passing through 130) a size of the pinhole (130 in 128 in 120) .
Regarding claim 10, MASNAGHETTI discloses that the second column device (120) is configured to acquire a two-dimensional image (via 142) of the sample (110) through the confocal detection (via 128, and/or 142) of the electrons emitted from the sample.
Regarding claim 12, MASNAGHETTI discloses that the electrons scatter (ISE, BSE) from the sample in response to scanning the sample (110) (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, MASNAGHETTI discloses that the electron beam comprises the electrons (104), the reflectance confocal scanning electron microscope further comprising:
a de-scanning coil (124 in 120) configured to de-scan the electron beam (ISE, BSE) that is focused through the objective lens (126 and/or 140); and
a detector (142) configured to detect the electron beam after it passes through the spatial filter (pinhole 130 in 128 in 120).
(Note per applicant’s spec, para. [0042 Note spatial filter 123 (e.g., a pinhole)]).
Regarding claim 14, MASNAGHETTI discloses that the de-scanning coil (124) is configured to perform a de-scanning control (via controller 121, of 124) operation changing a flow direction of the electron beam (figs. 1g-1h, see 114, 116).
. Regarding claim 15, MASNAGHETTI discloses that a focal length of the objective lens (126, and/or 140) is adjustable (figs. 1g-1h; show focus of 126 changed for different operation modes) (via controller 121) (pgs. 10-11)
Regarding claim 17, MASNAGHETTI discloses that the first column device (fig. 1, 102 to 108) comprises:
a scanning coil (in 105, not illustrated) (pg. 5) configured to scan the electron beam onto the sample (110); and
a first objective lens (108) configured to focus the electron beam onto the sample after a direction of the electron beam has been changed by the scanning coil (in 105) (pg. 5 Note any electro-optical elements known in the art that are suitable for focusing and/or directing the electron beam; Note electro-optical elements is inclusive of in any order).
Regarding claim 19, MASNAGHETTI discloses that the second column device (120) is configured to perform confocal filtering (figs. 1c and 1g-1h; 114 solid line, 116 dotted line) through a focal length control adjusting a focal length of an objective lens (126, and/or 140) (figs. 1g-1h; show focus of 126 changed for different operation modes) (via controller 121) (pgs. 10-11) and a de-scanning control (of 124) changing a flow direction of the electron beam .
Regarding claim 20, MASNAGHETTI discloses that the second column device (120) further comprises an energy filter (138) (pg. 8) configured to energy-filter the electron beam after it passes through the pinhole (130 in 128 in 120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MASNAGHETTI et al. (TW 202028750 A) in view of de JONGE (US 20090078868 A1).
Regarding claim 3, MASNAGHETTI discloses that wherein the first column device (fig. 1, 102 to 108) further comprises:
an anode (in 105) (pg. 5) configured to accelerate the electron beam after it is generated by the electron source (102);
a condensing lens (106) configured to condense the electron beam after it is accelerated through the anode (in 105) (pg. 5); and
an
wherein a probe size for the sample (110) is based on a size of the aperture (in 105) (pg. 5) and a magnification (of 106, 108 at least) of the reflectance confocal scanning electron microscope
(pg. 5 Note any electro-optical elements known in the art that are suitable for focusing and/or directing the electron beam; Note electro-optical elements is inclusive of anodes for accelerating/directing).
Regarding claim 4, MASNAGHETTI discloses that the first column device (fig. 1, 102 to 108) further comprises a scanning coil (in 105) (pg. 5) configured to change a direction of the electron beam after it passes through the focusing and/or directing the electron beam).
But MASNAGHETTI fails to disclose an aperture configured to pass the electron beam after it is condensed through the condensing lens.
de JONGE, however, discloses a confocal SEM which has a primary beam column (fig. 3; 12), for irradiating a sample (at 18 with 14), that includes a condenser lens (36), aperture (38), aberration corrector (40), scan coils (41), and an objective lens (42) [0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of MASNAGHETTI, with beam components of aberration corrector, aperture and scanner coils, as taught by de JONGE, to use as electro-optical elements known in the art that are suitable for focusing and/or directing an electron beam for imaging a sample [0032].
Regarding claim 5, MASNAGHETTI discloses wherein the objective lens (108) further comprises a
(pg. 5 Note any electro-optical elements known in the art that are suitable for focusing and/or directing the electron beam).
But MASNAGHETTI fails to disclose a stigmator or an aberration corrector.
de JONGE, however, discloses a confocal SEM which has a primary beam column (fig. 3; 12), for irradiating a sample (at 18 with 14), that includes a condenser lens (36), aperture (38), aberration corrector 40, scan coils 41, and an objective lens 42 [0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of MASNAGHETTI, with beam components of aberration corrector, aperture and scanner coils, as taught by de JONGE, to use as electro-optical elements known in the art that are suitable for focusing and/or directing an electron beam for imaging a sample [0032].
2. Claim(s) 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over MASNAGHETTI et al. (TW 202028750 A) in view of TAKEGUCHI et al. (JP 2008270056 A).
Regarding claim 7, MASNAGHETTI discloses wherein the second column device (120) further comprises a de-scanning coil (124) configured to de-scan (via 124) the electron beam
Regarding claim 18, MASNAGHETTI discloses wherein the second column device (120) comprises:
a second objective lens (126, and/or 140) configured to focus the electron beam after it is reflected from the sample (110); and
a de-scanning coil (124) configured to de-scan the electron beam
But MASNAGHETTI fails to disclose a de-scanning coil configured to de-scan the electron beam after it is focused through the objective lens and before it passes through the pinhole
TAKEGUCHI, however, discloses a confocal SEM (figs. 1) with a second column device (imaging lens, descan coils, aperture) further comprises a de-scanning coil (fig. 1, descan coils) configured to de-scan the electron beam after it is focused through the objective lens (fig. 1, imaging lens) and before it passes through the pinhole (fig. 2, aperture before detector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of MASNAGHETTI, with descanning via a descan coil after focusing via an objective lens, as taught by TAKEGUCHI, to use as a substitution of one known beam column component arrangement (i.e. descan coil post objective lens and before pinhole) for another to obtain predictable beam focusing and imaging results.
Conclusion
/ANDREW SMYTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878