DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/5/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,114,552. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because applicant merely seeks to broaden the claims by removing the third OLED stack.
1. A device comprising: a first organic light emitting diode (OLED) stack, the first OLED stack comprising:
a first electrode
a first charge generation layer
a first organic emissive layer disposed between the first electrode and the first charge generation layer and within a first threshold distance of the first electrode or the first charge generation layer, the first organic emissive layer comprising a first organic emissive material, wherein the first threshold distance is the distance at which a total non-radiative decay rate constant of the first organic emissive material is equal to a total radiative decay rate constant of the first organic emissive material
a second OLED stack, the second OLED stack comprising:
the first charge generation layer
a second electrode
a second organic emissive layer disposed between the first charge generation layer and the second electrode
wherein the first organic emissive layer is disposed over the second organic emissive layer
A device comprising: a first organic light emitting diode (OLED) stack, the first OLED stack comprising:
a first electrode
a first charge generation layer
a first organic emissive layer disposed between the first electrode and the first charge generation layer and within a first threshold distance of the first electrode or the first charge generation layer, the first organic emissive layer comprising a first organic emissive material, wherein the first threshold distance is the distance at which a total non-radiative decay rate constant of the first organic emissive material is equal to a total radiative decay rate constant of the first organic emissive material
a second OLED stack, the second OLED stack comprising:
the first charge generation layer
a second charge generation layer
a second organic emissive layer disposed between the first charge generation layer and the second charge generation layer
a third OLED stack, the third OLED stack comprising:
the second charge generation layer
a second electrode
a third organic emissive layer disposed between the second charge generation layer and the second electrode
wherein the first organic emissive layer is disposed over the second organic emissive layer
wherein the second organic emissive layer is disposed over the third organic emissive layer
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,653,543. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because applicant merely seeks to broaden the claims by not specifying which LED stack is non-plasmonic or plasmonic.
1. A device comprising: a first organic light emitting diode (OLED) stack, the first OLED stack comprising:
a first electrode
a first charge generation layer
a first organic emissive layer disposed between the first electrode and the first charge generation layer and within a first threshold distance of the first electrode or the first charge generation layer, the first organic emissive layer comprising a first organic emissive material, wherein the first threshold distance is the distance at which a total non-radiative decay rate constant of the first organic emissive material is equal to a total radiative decay rate constant of the first organic emissive material
a second OLED stack, the second OLED stack comprising:
the first charge generation layer
a second electrode
a second organic emissive layer disposed between the first charge generation layer and the second electrode
wherein the first organic emissive layer is disposed over the second organic emissive layer
1.A device comprising: a first non-plasmonic organic light emitting diode (OLED) stack, the first non-plasmonic OLED stack comprising:
a first electrode
a first charge generation layer
a first organic emissive layer disposed between the first electrode and the first charge generation layer
a second non-plasmonic OLED stack disposed over the first non-plasmonic OLED stack, the second non-plasmonic OLED stack comprising: a second electrode
a second charge generation layer
a second organic emissive layer disposed between the second electrode and the second charge generation layer
a plasmonic OLED stack, disposed between the first and second non-plasmonic OLED stacks, the plasmonic OLED stack comprising: the first charge generation layer
the second charge generation layer
a third organic emissive layer disposed between the first charge generation layer and the second charge generation layer and within a threshold distance of the first charge generation layer or the second charge generation layer, wherein the threshold distance is the distance at which a total non-radiative decay rate constant of the second organic emissive material is equal to a total radiative decay rate constant of the second organic emissive material
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,056,540. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because applicant merely seeks to broaden the claims by attributing the threshold distances of the enhancement layers to the third organic emissive layer relative to the first and second charge generation layers, rather than the first and second organic emissive layers and not specifying which LED stack is non-plasmonic or plasmonic.
1. A device comprising: a first organic light emitting diode (OLED) stack, the first OLED stack comprising:
a first electrode
a first charge generation layer
a first organic emissive layer disposed between the first electrode and the first charge generation layer and within a first threshold distance of the first electrode or the first charge generation layer, the first organic emissive layer comprising a first organic emissive material, wherein the first threshold distance is the distance at which a total non-radiative decay rate constant of the first organic emissive material is equal to a total radiative decay rate constant of the first organic emissive material
a second OLED stack, the second OLED stack comprising:
the first charge generation layer
a second electrode
a second organic emissive layer disposed between the first charge generation layer and the second electrode
wherein the first organic emissive layer is disposed over the second organic emissive layer
1. A device comprising: a first plasmonic organic light emitting diode (OLED) stack, the first plasmonic OLED stack comprising:
a first electrode
a first charge generation layer
a first organic emissive layer disposed between the first electrode and the first charge generation layer and within a threshold distance of the first electrode, the first organic emissive layer comprising a first organic emissive material, wherein the threshold distance is the distance at which a total non-radiative decay rate constant of the first organic emissive material is equal to a total radiative decay rate constant of the first organic emissive material
a second plasmonic OLED stack, disposed in a stack with the first plasmonic OLED stack, the second plasmonic OLED stack comprising:
the first charge generation layer
a second charge generation layer
a second organic emissive layer comprising a second organic emissive material, disposed between the first charge generation layer and the second charge generation layer and within a threshold distance of the first charge generation layer or the second charge generation layer, wherein the threshold distance is the distance at which a total non-radiative decay rate constant of the second organic emissive material is equal to a total radiative decay rate constant of the second organic emissive material
a first non-plasmonic OLED stack disposed in a stack with the first and second plasmonic OLED stacks, the first non-plasmonic OLED stack comprising: the second charge generation layer
a second electrode
a third organic emissive layer disposed between the second charge generation layer and the second electrode
wherein: the first non-plasmonic OLED is disposed over the second electrode, the second plasmonic OLED is disposed over the first non-plasmonic OLED, and the first plasmonic OLED is disposed over the second plasmonic OLED
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the first and second plasmonic OLEDs" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the first plasmonic OLED" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-13, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest et al. (US Publication No. 2011/0248249) in view of Thompson et al. (US Publication No. 2017/0133631).
Regarding claim 1, Forrest discloses a device comprising a first organic light emitting stack comprising:
a first electrode (120)
a first charge generation layer (150)
and a first organic emissive layer (140) disposed over the first electrode (120) and the first charge generation layer (150), the first organic emissive layer comprising a first organic emissive material (paragraph 14)
a second organic light emitting stack (140), disposed in a stack with the first organic light emitting stack, the second organic light emitting stack comprising (Figure 1): a second organic emissive layer comprising a second organic emissive material (paragraph 14)
Forrest does not specifically disclose a first enhancement layer comprising a plasmonic material exhibiting surface plasmon resonance that non-radiatively couples to the second organic emissive material and transfers excited state energy from the emissive material to non-radiative mode of surface plasmon polaritons wherein the first enhancement layer is provided no more than a threshold distance away from the second organic emissive layer wherein the second organic emissive material has a total non-radiative decay rate constant and a total radiative decay rate constant due to the presence of the first enhancement layer, and the threshold distance is the distance at which the total non-radiative decay rate constant is equal to the total radiative decay rate constant. However, Thompson discloses an enhancement layer with these features so that the total non-radiative decay and total radiate decay constants are equal for the first and second organic emissive material (paragraph 19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the OLED stack of Forrest to include the enhancement layer, as taught by Thompson, since it can improve operation and durability of the LED (paragraph 172).
Regarding claim 3, Forrest discloses the first organic emissive material is a blue emissive material (paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 4, Forrest discloses the second organic emissive layer is within a second threshold distance of the first charge generation layer or the second electrode, the second organic emissive layer comprising a second organic emissive material, wherein the second threshold distance is the distance at which a total non-radiative decay rate constant of the second organic emissive material is equal to a total radiative decay rate constant of the second organic emissive material (paragraph 19).
Regarding claim 5, Forrest discloses the second and first organic emissive materials are the same emissive materials (paragraph 68).
Regarding claim 6, Thompson discloses the second organic emissive material comprises a blue emissive material (paragraph 12). As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Forrest in view of Thompson.
Regarding claim 7, Thompson discloses a first outcoupling layer (708) disposed in a stack with the first electrode and the second electrode. As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Forrest in view of Thompson.
Regarding claim 8, Thompson discloses a second outcoupling layer disposed in a stack with the first and second electrode (paragraphs 19-21). As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Forrest in view of Thompson.
Regarding claim 9, Thompson discloses the first outcoupling layer (708) comprises a structure selected from the group consisting of: a grating; a corrugated layer; a nanopatch antenna; a nanoparticle outcoupling structure; and a through-hole array (paragraph 100). As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Forrest in view of Thompson.
Regarding claim 10, Thompson discloses the first outcoupling layer (708) comprises a structure selected from the group consisting of: a grating; a corrugated layer; a nanopatch antenna; a nanoparticle outcoupling structure; and a through-hole array (paragraph 100). As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Forrest in view of Thompson.
Regarding claim 11, Thompson discloses the first organic emissive layer and the second organic emissive layer comprises a plurality of emissive materials (paragraph 14). As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Forrest in view of Thompson.
Regarding claim 12, Forrest discloses the first organic emissive layer and the second organic emissive layer comprises a plurality of emissive materials (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Forrest discloses the second organic emissive material is selected from the group consisting of: a phosphorescent emissive material, a fluorescent emissive material, a delayed fluorescent emissive material, or a thermally-activated delayed fluorescence (TADF) emissive material (paragraph 133).
Regarding claim 15, Forrest discloses the first and second OLEDs are disposed over a first side of the substrate (Figures 1 and 10).
Regarding claim 19, Thompson discloses the device is configured to emit light primarily through the substrate (paragraph 61; Figure 1). As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Forrest in view of Thompson.
Regarding claim 20, Thompson discloses the device is at least one type selected from the group consisting of: a flat panel display, a curved display, a computer monitor, a medical monitor, a television, a billboard, a light for interior or exterior illumination and/or signaling, a heads-up display, a fully or partially transparent display, a flexible display, a rollable display, a foldable display, a stretchable display, a laser printer, a telephone, a cell phone, tablet, a phablet, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a wearable device, a laptop computer, a digital camera, a camcorder, a viewfinder, a micro-display that is less than 2 inches diagonal, a 3-D display, a virtual reality or augmented reality display, a vehicle, a video walls comprising multiple displays tiled together, a theater or stadium screen, and a sign (paragraph 53). As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Forrest in view of Thompson.
Claims 2, 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Forrest et al. (US Publication No. 2011/0248249) in view of Thompson et al. (US Publication No. 2017/0133631), and further in view of Forrest et al. (US Patent No. 6,091,195).
Regarding claim 2, Forrest/Thompson discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Forrest/Thompson does not disclose a down-conversion layer, an up conversion layer, and a radiation pattern modifying element disposed in a stack with the first and second organic light emitting stacks. However, Forrest (‘195) discloses the use of a down-conversion layer, and up conversion layer, and a radiation pattern modifying element in a stack (col. 4, lines 30-39, col. 4, lines 40-67, col. 6, lines 23-35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the stack of Forrest/Thompson to include an up conversion, down-conversion layer, and radiation pattern modifying element as taught by Forrest (‘195), since it can convert high frequency light to different colors with high efficiency (col. 4, lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 14, Forrest (‘195) discloses a plurality of color filters, each being of a different color (col. 4, lines 40-67).
Regarding claim 16, Forrest (‘195) discloses a radiation pattern modifying element (37) disposed in a stack with the first organic light emitting stack (col. 6, lines 23-35).
Regarding claim 17, Forrest (‘195) the device comprises a plurality of sub-pixels, and different types of radiation pattern modifying elements are disposed over different colors of sub-pixels (col. 6, lines 23-35).
Regarding claim 18, Forrest/Thompson discloses the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 15 above. Forrest/Thompson does not disclose a down-conversion layer, an up conversion layer, and a radiation pattern modifying element disposed in a stack with the first and second organic light emitting stacks. However, Forrest (‘195) discloses the use of a down-conversion layer , and up conversion layer, and a radiation pattern modifying element in a stack (col. 4, lines 30-39, col. 4, lines 40-67, col. 6, lines 23-35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the stack of Forrest/Thompson to include an up conversion, down-conversion layer, and radiation pattern modifying element as taught by Forrest (‘195), since it can convert high frequency light to different colors with high efficiency (col. 4, lines 1-8).
Conclusion
/N.R.P/ 9/8/2026Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897