DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tan in US 12,008,200 (hereinafter Tan).
Regarding claim 1, Tan discloses a display device(Tan’s Fig. 1A and col. 4 lines 1-2) comprising:
a display layer (Tan’s Fig. 1A: see 110); and
a sensor layer on the display layer (Tan’s Fig. 1A: see 106) and having a sensing region (Tan’s Figs. 1B-1C and col 4 line 6: touch panel 106) including a first sensing region and a second sensing region adjacent to the first sensing region (Tan’s Fig. 1B: top and bottom of region 106),
wherein the sensor layer comprises:
a plurality of first transmission electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 21-24: see TX located in the top half, inclusive of the top eight supplied eight top codes in Fig. 4B), each extending in a first direction (Tan’s Fig. 1B: horizontal), spaced apart in a second direction crossing the first direction (Tan’s Fig. 1B: vertical), and located in the first sensing region (Tan’s Fig. 1B: top of 106); and
a plurality of second transmission electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 21-24: see TX located in the bottom half, inclusive of bottom eight supplied eight bottom codes in Fig. 4B), each extending in the first direction (Tan’s Fig. 1B: horizontal), spaced apart in the second direction (Tan’s Fig. 1B: vertical), and located in the second sensing region (Tan’s Fig. 1B: bottom of 106),
a first one of the plurality of first transmission electrodes (Tan’s Figs. 1B and 4B: the second electrode in the top half which is supplied with Code 2) is configured to receive a first transmission signal (Tan’s Fig. 4B and col. 6 lines 42-49: see code 2 to TX) having a first waveform (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see 1) in a first sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B below: see Code 2 during F3 [third from left] with waveform 1) and having a second waveform (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see -1) that is inverse in phase to the first waveform (Tan’s col. 7 lines 31-34) in a second sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B below: see Code 2 during F3 [fifth from right] with waveform -1),
a second one of the first transmission electrodes adjacent to the first one of the plurality of first transmission electrodes (Tan’s Figs. 1B and 4B: the third electrode in the top half which is supplied with Code 3) is configured to receive a second transmission signal having the second waveform that is inverse in phase to the first waveform in the first sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B below: see Code 3 during F2 with waveform -1) and having the first waveform in the second sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B below: see Code 3 during F3 with waveform 1),
a third one of the first transmission electrodes adjacent to the second one of the plurality of first transmission electrodes (Tan’s Figs. 1B and 4B: the fourth electrode in the top half which is supplied with Code 4) is configured to receive a third transmission signal having the second waveform in the first sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B below: see Code 4 during F2 with waveform -1) and having the second waveform in the second sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B below: see Code 4 during F3 with waveform -1),
a fourth one of the first transmission electrodes adjacent to the third one of the plurality of first transmission electrodes (Tan’s Figs. 1B and 4B: the fifth electrode in the top half which is supplied with Code 5) is configured to receive a fourth transmission signal having the second waveform in the first sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B below: see Code 5 during F2 with waveform -1) and having the second waveform in the second sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B below: see Code 5 during F3 with waveform -1),
one of the plurality of second transmission electrodes (Tan’s Figs. 1B and 4B: the 10th electrode in the bottom half which is supplied with Code 10) is configured to receive a fifth transmission signal having the second waveform in the first sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B below: see Code 10 during F2 with waveform -1) and having the first waveform in the second sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B below: see Code 10 during F3 with waveform 1),
another one adjacent to the one of the plurality of second transmission electrodes (Tan’s Figs. 1B and 4B: the 11th electrode in the bottom half which is supplied with Code 11) is configured to receive a sixth transmission signal having the first waveform in the first sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B below: see Code 11 during F2 with waveform 1) and having the second waveform in the second sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B below: see Code 11 during F3 with waveform -1), and
the first to fourth transmission signals are provided concurrently (Tan’s Fig. 4B and col. 6 lines 42-45: simultaneously transmit excitation signals).
Regarding claim 12, Tan disclose a display device (Tan’s Fig. 1A and col. 4 lines 1-2) comprising:
a display layer (Tan’s Fig. 1A: see 110); and
a sensor layer on the display layer (Tan’s Fig. 1A: see 106), having a sensing region (Tan’s Figs. 1B-1C and col 4 line 6: touch panel 106) including a first sensing region and a second sensing region adjacent to the first sensing region (Tan’s Fig. 1B: top and bottom of region 106), and configured to work on a first sensing frame (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see annotated figure above, where the first sensing frame is F1 [second from left]) and a second sensing frame continuous with the first sensing frame (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see annotated figure above, where the second sensing frame is F2 [third from left]), wherein the sensor layer comprises:
a plurality of first transmission electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 21-24: see TX located in the top half), each extending in a first direction (Tan’s Fig. 1B: horizontal), spaced apart in a second direction crossing the first direction (Tan’s Fig. 1B: vertical), and located in the first sensing region (Tan’s Fig. 1B: top of 106); and
a plurality of second transmission electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 21-24: see TX located in the bottom half), each extending in the first direction (Tan’s Fig. 1B: horizontal), spaced apart in the second direction (Tan’s Fig. 1B: vertical), and located in the second sensing region (Tan’s Fig. 1B: bottom of 106),
each of first transmission electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B: see each TX located in the top half) adjacent to each other among the plurality of first transmission electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B: see each TX located in the top half) is configured to receive a corresponding one of a plurality of first transmission signals (Tan’s Fig. 4B and col. 6 lines 42-49: codes to TX, such as Code 1 to Code 8 to the top eight TX in Tan’s Fig. 1B),
each of second transmission electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B: see each TX located in the bottom half) adjacent to each other among the plurality of second transmission electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B: see each TX located in the bottom half) is configured to receive a corresponding one of a plurality of second transmission signals (Tan’s Fig. 4B and col. 6 lines 42-49: codes to TX, such as Code 9 to Code 16 to the bottom eight TX in Tan’s Fig. 1B),
one of the plurality of first transmission signals (Tan’s Fig. 4B: Code 3) has a first waveform (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see 1) during the first sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B: see Code 3 during F1 [second from left] with waveform 1) and at least three of remaining ones of the plurality of first transmission signals (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see codes 1, 7 and 8) have a second waveform different from the first waveform (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see -1) during the first sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B: see codes 1, 7 and 8 during F1 with waveform -1),
one of the plurality of second transmission signals (Tan’s Fig. 4B: Code 11) has the second waveform (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see -1) during the first sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B: see code 11 during F1 with waveform -1) and at least three of remaining ones of the plurality of second transmission signals (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see codes 9, 12 and 13) have the first waveform (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see 1) during the first sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B: see codes 9, 12 and 13 during F1 with waveform 1),
another one adjacent to the one of the plurality of first transmission signals (Tan’s Fig. 4B: Code 2 [adjacent to Code 3]) has the first waveform (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see 1) during the second sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B: see Code 2 during F2 [third from left] with waveform 1) and at least three of remaining ones of the plurality of first transmission signals (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see codes 4, 6 and 7) have the second waveform (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see -1) during the second sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B: see codes 4, 6 and 7 during F2 with waveform -1),
another one adjacent to the one of the plurality of second transmission signals (Tan’s Fig. 4B: Code 10 [adjacent to Code 11]) has the second (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see -1) during the second sensing frame (see annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B: see code 10 during F2 with waveform -1) and at least three of remaining ones of the plurality of second transmission signals (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see codes 9, 11 and 12) have the first waveform (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see 1) during the second sensing frame (annotated Tan’s Fig. 4B: see codes 9, 11 and 12 during F2 with waveform 1).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Tan disclose wherein the second sensing region is spaced apart from the first sensing region in the second direction (Tan’s Fig. 1B: see top portion of 106 spaced apart from the bottom portion of 106 in the vertical).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Tan disclose wherein the sensor layer comprises:
a plurality of first receiving electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 21-22: see Rx 142 in the left portion of 106), each extending in the second direction (Tan’s Fig. 1B: vertical), spaced apart in the first direction (Tan’s Fig. 1B), and located in the first sensing region (Tan’s Fig. 1B: top of 106); and
a plurality of second receiving electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 21-22: see Rx 142 in the right portion of 106), each extending in the second direction (Tan’s Fig. 1B: vertical), spaced apart in the first direction (Tan’s Fig. 1B: horizontal), and located in the second sensing region (Tan’s Fig. 1B: bottom of 106).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Tan disclose wherein the plurality of first receiving electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 21-22: see Rx 142 in the left portion of 106) are electrically insulated (Tan’s Fig. 1B: as shown there is no connection between adjacent electrodes 142, and inherently electrically insulated in order to generate a mutual capacitance or a self-capacitance from each electrode 142 e per col. 6 lines 17-30) from the plurality of second receiving electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 21-22: see Rx 142 in the right portion of 106).
Regarding claim 5, Tan disclose wherein the plurality of first receiving electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 21-22: see Rx 142 in the left portion of 106) are configured to output a first receiving signal (Tan’s col. 6 lines 29-30: output signal) in response to the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal (Tan’s Fig. 6 and col. 10 lines 4-40: each Rx 142 receives output signal 618 which are triggered by the excitation signals 620-630 from Tx, these signals 620-630 include Code 2 and Code 3 in Fig. 4B), and
the plurality of second receiving electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 21-22: see Rx 142 in the right portion of 106) are configured to output a second receiving signal (Tan’s col. 6 lines 29-30: output signal) in response to the third transmission signal and the fourth transmission (Tan’s Fig. 6 and col. 10 lines 4-40: each Rx 142 receives output signal 618 which are triggered by the excitation signals 620-630 from Tx, these signals 620-630 include Code 4 and Code 5 in Fig. 4B).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Tan disclose further comprising a readout circuit (Tan’s Figs. 5-6 and col. 10 lines 6-8: circuits 506 and 510) driving the sensor layer (Tan’s Fig. 6 and col. 10 lines 6-8), wherein the readout circuit comprises a first readout circuit (Tan’s Figs. 5-6: see output of 506 inclusive of wiring to top electrodes 140 and inclusive of 510) electrically connected to the plurality of first transmission electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 6: see top half electrodes 140) and a second readout circuit (Tan’s Figs. 5-6: see output of 506 inclusive of wiring to bottom electrodes 140 and inclusive of 510) electrically connected to the plurality of second transmission electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 6: see bottom half electrodes 140).
Regarding claim 7, Tan disclose wherein the first readout circuit (Tan’s Figs. 5-6: see output of 506 inclusive of wiring to top electrodes 140 and inclusive of 510) is configured to provide the first transmission signal (Tan’s Fig. 4B: code 2) and the second transmission signal (Tan’s Fig. 4B: code 3) to the plurality of first transmission electrodes (Tan’s Figs. 4B, 6: the output of 506 to top electrodes 140 provides codes 2 and 3 to the second and third transmission electrodes 140) and the second readout circuit (Tan’s Figs. 5-6: see output of 506 inclusive of wiring to bottom electrodes 140 and inclusive of 510) is configured to provide the third transmission signal (Tan’s Fig. 4B: code 4) and the fourth transmission signal (Tan’s Fig. 4B: code 5) to the plurality of second transmission electrodes (Tan’s Figs. 4B, 6: the output of 506 to bottom electrodes 140 provides codes 4 and 5 to the fourth and fifth transmission electrodes 140 located in the bottom portion of 106).
Regarding claim 8, Tan disclose wherein the first readout circuit (Tan’s Figs. 5-6: see output of 506 inclusive of wiring to top electrodes 140 and inclusive of 510) is configured to receive the first receiving signal (Tan’s Fig. 6 and col. 10 lines 4-40: each Rx 142 receives output signal 618 which are triggered by the excitation signals 620-630 from Tx, these signals 620-630 include Code 2 and Code 3 in Fig. 4B) from the plurality of first receiving electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 21-22: see Rx 142 in the left portion of 106), and the second readout circuit (Tan’s Figs. 5-6: see output of 506 inclusive of wiring to bottom electrodes 140 and inclusive of 510) is configured to receive the second receiving signal (Tan’s Fig. 6 and col. 10 lines 4-40: each Rx 142 receives output signal 618 which are triggered by the excitation signals 620-630 from Tx, these signals 620-630 include Code 4 and Code 5 in Fig. 4B) from the plurality of second receiving electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 21-22: see Rx 142 in the right portion of 106).
Regarding claim 9, Tan disclose wherein an active region is defined in the display layer (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 26-28: TX and RX span the entirety of 100 [display]), the first sensing region overlaps a portion of the active region (Tan’s Fig. 1B: the top portion of 106 overlaps the top portion of 100), and the second sensing region overlaps a remaining portion of the active region (Tan’s Fig. 1B: the bottom portion of 106 overlaps the bottom portion of 100).
Regarding claim 11, Tan disclose the fifth transmission signal (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see Code 10), the sixth transmission signal (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see Code 11), a seventh transmission signal (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see code 12), and an eight transmission signal (Tan’s Fig. 4B: see code 13) are each concurrently provided to four adjacent second transmission electrodes (Tan’s Figs. 1B and 4B: the 9th to 13th electrodes in the bottom half are supplied with Codes 9 to 13) among the plurality of second transmission electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 21-24: see TX located in the bottom half, inclusive of bottom eight supplied eight bottom codes in Fig. 4B),
fifth to eight transmission signals are provided concurrently with the first to fourth transmission signal (Tan’s Fig. 4B and col. 6 lines 42-45: simultaneously transmit excitation signals).
Regarding claim 17, Tan disclose wherein the first readout circuit (Tan’s Figs. 5-6: see output of 506 inclusive of wiring to top electrodes 140 and inclusive of 510) is configured to provide the first transmission signal to the plurality of first transmission electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 4B and col. 6 lines 42-49: codes to TX, such as Code 1 to Code 8 to the top eight TX in Tan’s Fig. 1B), and the second readout circuit (Tan’s Figs. 5-6: see output of 506 inclusive of wiring to bottom electrodes 140 and inclusive of 510) is configured to provide the second transmission signal to the plurality of second transmission electrodes (Tan’s Fig. 4B and col. 6 lines 42-49: codes to TX, such as Code 9 to Code 16 to the bottom eight TX in Tan’s Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 18, Tan disclose wherein a display region is defined in the display layer (Tan’s Fig. 1B and col. 5 lines 26-28: TX and RX span the entirety of 100 [display]), the first sensing region overlaps a portion of the display region (Tan’s Fig. 1B: the top portion of 106 overlaps the top portion of 100), and the second sensing region overlaps a remaining portion of the display region (Tan’s Fig. 1B: the bottom portion of 106 overlaps the bottom portion of 100).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amended claims were rejected in view of previously cited reference to Tan but quoting Fig. 4B.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Liliana Cerullo whose telephone number is (571)270-5882. The examiner can normally be reached 8AM to 3PM MT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Amr Awad can be reached at 571-272-7764. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LILIANA CERULLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621