DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the filing of 9/5/24. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs (2018/0271287) in view of Alsberg (2021/0095878.)
Claim 1, 19: Jacobs discloses a client device (par. 253, a remote chair controller 3500 may include a display (e.g., a liquid crystal display, a LED display, a vacuum fluorescent display, an OLED display, etc.) and/or may be a smart device (e.g., a tablet computer, a cellular phone, etc.)) comprising:
an identifier input unit configured to determine first furnishing unit identifier data conveyed by a first identifier conveyance unit of a first furnishing unit (Fig. 2: chairs) in proximity to the client device (par. 257, the display 3600 may communicate seat identity to the patron, theatre staff, etc. Alternately, or additionally, the display 3600 may communicate to the patron and aid the patron/staff in locating their/a seat and, thus, function as an “electronic usher.”), wherein the first furnishing unit includes a plurality of experience facilitation elements (par. 257, chair motion, hearing impaired functionality, chair heating/cooling, chair massage, etc.);
at least one processor (par. 108, Any given telephone 127 may include a processor, a memory having at least on set of computer-readable instructions stored thereon and associated with managing powered reclining chairs and venue operations, a network adapter, a display and a keyboard); and
at least one memory storing operational instructions (par. 108, Any given telephone 127 may include a processor, a memory having at least on set of computer-readable instructions stored thereon and associated with managing powered reclining chairs and venue operations, a network adapter, a display and a keyboard) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the client device to:
display experience option data for the first furnishing unit via an interactive user interface based on the first furnishing unit identifier data; generate first experience selection data based on user input to the interactive user interface corresponding to each of the plurality of experience facilitation elements of the first furnishing unit; store the first experience selection data corresponding to the first furnishing unit in the at least one memory (Par. 253, A remote chair controller 3500 may include a display (e.g., a liquid crystal display, a LED display, a vacuum fluorescent display, an OLED display, etc.) and/or may be a smart device (e.g., a tablet computer, a cellular phone, etc.) Par. 257, Such a device 3500 may enable associated chair functions, as paid for by the patron, when the device 3500 is adjacent/paired to the associated chair. Different service tiers (e.g., chair motion, hearing impaired functionality, chair heating/cooling, chair massage, etc.)
transmit, responsive to the single user interaction with the interactive user interface, the first experience selection data to the first furnishing unit, wherein the plurality of experience facilitation elements of the first furnishing unit are each controlled based on the first experience selection data (Par. 253, A remote chair controller 3500 may include a display (e.g., a liquid crystal display, a LED display, a vacuum fluorescent display, an OLED display, etc.) and/or may be a smart device (e.g., a tablet computer, a cellular phone, etc.).
Par. 257, Such a device 3500 may enable associated chair functions, as paid for by the patron, when the device 3500 is adjacent/paired to the associated chair. Different service tiers (e.g., chair motion, hearing impaired functionality, chair heating/cooling, chair massage, etc.)
However, Jacobs does not explicitly disclose:
display, via the interactive user interface, an option to transmit the first experience selection data to the first furnishing unit via a single user interaction with the interactive user interface.
Alsberg discloses a similar device for setting climate control, including:
display, via the interactive user interface, an option to transmit the first experience selection data to the first furnishing unit via a single user interaction with the interactive user interface (Fig. 3-4, ‘Use this setting?’ ‘Yes.’ Par. 31, the thermostat displays an “Apply to Current Zone” option and an “Apply to All Zones” options in lieu of a confirmation option (e.g., the “Yes” button 6 and 9 of FIG. 3 and FIG. 4), allowing the user to determine whether their selected program applies to only the current zone or to all zones without increasing the number of user inputs required. In other embodiments, the thermostat may further display a confirmation button for the user to confirm their selection.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jacobs with Alsberg so as to allow a user to review their selections before confirming the changes.
Claim 2, 20: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 1, wherein the experience option data indicates a plurality of options that includes two or more of: at least one option for configuring heating intensity by at least one heating element of one of the first furnishing unit; at least one option for configuring heating location by at least one heating element of one of the first furnishing unit; at least one option for configuring cooling by at least one cooling element of one of the first furnishing unit; at least one option for configuring volume of at least one speaker of one of the first furnishing unit; at least one option for configuring music played by of at least one speaker of one of the first furnishing unit; at least one option for configuring entertainment content displayed by at least one display of one of the first furnishing unit; and at least one option for configuring lighting by at least one lighting element of one of the first furnishing unit (Jacobs Par. 257, Such a device 3500 may enable associated chair functions, as paid for by the patron, when the device 3500 is adjacent/paired to the associated chair. Different service tiers (e.g., chair motion, hearing impaired functionality, chair heating/cooling, chair massage, etc.)
Claim 3: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 2, wherein the experience selection data indicates selection of at least one of the plurality of options for each of the plurality of experience facilitation elements of the first furnishing unit (Alsberg Fig. 3: 5, Reduce the temperature; par. 31.)
Claim 4: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 1, wherein the first furnishing unit is a seating unit and one of the plurality of experience facilitation elements includes at least one heating element, wherein one of the plurality of experience facilitation elements includes at least one lighting element, and wherein the experience selection data includes commands to turn on the at least one heating element and to turn on the at least one lighting element (Jacobs par. 275, Any given user interface may include manual controls for the light sources, chair recline/upright controls, a chair heater control, a chair massage control, etc.)
Claim 5: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 1, wherein the first furnishing unit is a seating unit and one of the plurality of experience facilitation elements includes at least one heating element, wherein one of the plurality of experience facilitation elements includes at least one lighting element, and wherein the experience selection data includes commands to turn off the at least one heating element and to turn off the at least one lighting element (Jacobs par. 275, Any given user interface may include manual controls for the light sources, chair recline/upright controls, a chair heater control, a chair massage control, etc.)
Claim 6: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 1, wherein the interactive user interface is a touch screen interface and wherein the single user interaction with the interactive user interface corresponds to a single touch of the touch screen (Jacobs par. 200, associated device (e.g., a smart phone, a personal data assistant, a lap top computer, etc.) having a touch screen.)
Claim 7: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 1, wherein the client device is in proximity to the first furnishing unit during a first temporal period, wherein the identifier input unit determines first furnishing unit identifier data conveyed by the -first identifier conveyance unit of the first furnishing unit in proximity to the client device during the first temporal period (Jacobs par. 257, The patron may be given a device (e.g., device 3500 of FIG. 35) that may provide an indication, such as lights or vibrate when the device is adjacent to the patron's seat. The patron may be given a device 3500 that may provide an indication, such as a light or in the seat such as light up the display 3600 or partially open when the device 3500 is adjacent to the patron's seat.)
Claim 8: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 7, wherein the client device is in proximity to a second furnishing unit during a second temporal period after the first temporal period, wherein the identifier input unit determines second furnishing unit identifier data conveyed by a second identifier conveyance unit of the second furnishing unit in proximity to the client device during the second temporal period (Jacobs reusing the 3500 device with another patron at a later time. par. 257, Such a device 3500 may enable associated chair functions, as paid for by the patron, when the device 3500 is adjacent/paired to the associated chair. Different service tiers (e.g., chair motion, hearing impaired functionality, chair heating/cooling, chair massage, etc.) may be provided based on payment. Par. 257, The patron may be given a device (e.g., device 3500 of FIG. 35) that may provide an indication, such as lights or vibrate when the device is adjacent to the patron's seat. The patron may be given a device 3500 that may provide an indication, such as a light or in the seat such as light up the display 3600 or partially open when the device 3500 is adjacent to the patron's seat.)
Claim 9: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 8, wherein the operational instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the client device to: display experience option data for the second furnishing unit via the interactive user interface based on the second furnishing unit identifier data; generate second experience selection data based on user input to the interactive user interface corresponding to each of the plurality of experience facilitation elements of the second furnishing unit; store the second experience selection data corresponding to the second furnishing unit in the at least one memory; display, via the interactive user interface, an option to transmit the second experience selection data to the second furnishing unit via another single user interaction with the interactive user interface; and transmit, responsive to the another single user interaction with the interactive user interface, the experience selection data to the second furnishing unit, wherein the plurality of experience facilitation elements of the second furnishing unit are each controlled based on the second experience selection data (Jacobs reusing the 3500 device with another patron at a later time. Par. 257, Such a device 3500 may enable associated chair functions, as paid for by the patron, when the device 3500 is adjacent/paired to the associated chair. Different service tiers (e.g., chair motion, hearing impaired functionality, chair heating/cooling, chair massage, etc.) may be provided based on payment.)
Claim 10: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 8, wherein the operational instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the client device to: display experience option data for the second furnishing unit via the interactive user interface based on the second furnishing unit identifier data; generate second experience selection data based on user input to the interactive user interface corresponding to each of the plurality of experience facilitation elements of the second furnishing unit; store the second experience selection data corresponding to the second furnishing unit in the at least one memory; and transmit, responsive to the single user interaction with the interactive user interface, the second experience selection data to the second furnishing unit, wherein the plurality of experience facilitation elements of the second furnishing unit are each controlled based on the second experience selection data (Jacobs reusing the 3500 device with another patron at a later time. Par. 257, Such a device 3500 may enable associated chair functions, as paid for by the patron, when the device 3500 is adjacent/paired to the associated chair. Different service tiers (e.g., chair motion, hearing impaired functionality, chair heating/cooling, chair massage, etc.) may be provided based on payment.)
Claim 11: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 8, wherein the first furnishing unit and the second furnishing unit each have a peak electrical current draw that is less than 2.5 Amps (Jacobs par. 294, a specific example, a chair actuator may draw approximately 0.8 Amperes at 110V.sub.ac (approximately 88 Watts) when the chair actuator is energized.)
Claim 12: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 1, wherein the first furnishing unit is configured for outdoor use, wherein the furnishing unit are located at an outdoor location, wherein the client device generates the experience selection data while a corresponding user is at the outdoor location, and wherein at least one of the plurality of experience facilitation elements of the first furnishing unit counters at least one environmental condition at the outdoor location. (Jacobs Par. 257, Such a device 3500 may enable associated chair functions, as paid for by the patron, when the device 3500 is adjacent/paired to the associated chair. Different service tiers (e.g., chair motion, hearing impaired functionality, chair heating/cooling, chair massage, etc.) may be provided based on payment.)
Claim 13: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 12, wherein the at least one environmental condition includes darkness (Jacobs par. 275, Any given user interface may include manual controls for the light sources, chair recline/upright controls, a chair heater control, a chair massage control, etc.)
Claim 14: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 12, wherein the at least one environmental condition includes a cold ambient temperature (Jacobs Par. 257, Such a device 3500 may enable associated chair functions, as paid for by the patron, when the device 3500 is adjacent/paired to the associated chair. Different service tiers (e.g., chair motion, hearing impaired functionality, chair heating/cooling, chair massage, etc.) may be provided based on payment.)
Claim 15: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 12, wherein the at least one environmental condition includes a hot ambient temperature (Jacobs Par. 257, Such a device 3500 may enable associated chair functions, as paid for by the patron, when the device 3500 is adjacent/paired to the associated chair. Different service tiers (e.g., chair motion, hearing impaired functionality, chair heating/cooling, chair massage, etc.) may be provided based on payment.)
Claim 17: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 1, wherein the first identifier conveyance unit includes a Near-Field Communications (NFC) tag, and wherein the client device determines the first furnishing unit identifier data based on implementing an NFC reader (Jacobs par. 9, a near field communications input / output.)
Claim 18: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 1, wherein the first furnishing unit includes at least one proximity-based communications transceiver, and wherein the first experience selection data is received via the proximity-based communications transceiver from the client device via proximity-based communications with the client device (Jacobs par. 9, a near field communications input / output.)
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Jacobs (2018/0271287) in view of Alsberg (2021/0095878) and in further view of Desch (2015/0157791.)
Claim 16: Jacobs and Alsberg disclose the client device of claim 1. However, Jacobs does not explicitly disclose: wherein the first identifier conveyance units is implemented via visual identifier data visibly displayed upon at least one surface of the first furnishing unit, wherein the client device determines the first furnishing unit identifier data based on a camera of the client device capturing the visual identifier data, and wherein the first furnishing unit identifier data is in accordance with a data format corresponding to a quick response (QR) code.
Desch discloses a similar device for using a camera on a QR code, including:
wherein the first identifier conveyance units is implemented via visual identifier data visibly displayed upon at least one surface of the first furnishing unit, wherein the client device determines the first furnishing unit identifier data based on a camera of the client device capturing the visual identifier data, and wherein the first furnishing unit identifier data is in accordance with a data format corresponding to a quick response (QR) code (Par. 516, The processors 3500 and/or 3600 may use the images from the camera 8127 to: read QR codes on the syringe to identify the syringe.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jacobs with Desch so as to conveniently confirm an identity of a physical product and obtain further information about it.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Perkins (2021/0244221) Fig. 21A, adjusting temp with a client device.
/Andrey Belousov/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2172
6/10/26