CTNF 18/825,826 CTNF 79713 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wolfrath US 2022/0366052 . As per claim 1. Wolfrath teaches A processor comprising: one or more circuits to: receive one or more policy parameters for a key policy associated with access to a key; [0088] (teaches a key policy stored with key) Wolfrath teaches receive a request to access the key from a user, the request including at least one of a region identification for a region associated with the key, an entry in a key table for the region, and a user identification; [0091][0092][0093][0100] (teaches a request to a logical partition, identification of the key and submitting a consumer id) Wolfrath teaches determine, based at least on the key policy and the request, that the user is permitted to access the key; and provide, responsive to the request and to the determination, the key to the user. [0088][0093] (teaches restricting who/what has access to keys based on policy) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 5, 6, 7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfrath US 2022/0366052 in view of Henry US 2009/0293132 As per claim 2. The processor of claim 1, Henry teaches wherein the one or more circuits are further to: determine the key policy associated with the key is a read-once policy; and delete the key from the key table after providing the key to the user. [0035] (teaches reading the key once and deleting) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Henry with the prior art before the effective filing date of the current invention because it improves security. As per claim 5. The processor of claim 1, Wolfrath teaches where the one or more circuits are further to: receive a second request for the key from a second user; determine the second user is authorized to access the key; and provide, to the second user, the key. [0088][0093] (teaches restricting who/what has access to keys based on policy) As per claim 6. The processor of claim 1, where the one or more circuits are further to: Wolfrath teaches receive a second request to store a second key within the key table; determine a free memory region within the key table for the second key; assign the free memory region for storage of the second key; link the free memory region to a locked policy region; and receive the second key for storage in the free memory region. [0088][0089][0091][0093] (teaches authenticating and writing a key to the keystore) As per claim 7. The processor of claim 1, Henry teaches wherein a security engine executes on behalf of the user and is communicatively coupled to the key table via a private bus. [0060] (teaches a private bus) As per claim 9. The processor of claim 1, Wolfrath teaches wherein the processor is comprised in at least one of: a system for performing simulation operations; a system for performing simulation operations to test or validate autonomous machine applications; a system for performing digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for rendering graphical output; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system for generating or presenting virtual reality (VR) content; a system for generating or presenting augmented reality (AR) content; a system for generating or presenting mixed reality (MR) content; a system incorporating one or more Virtual Machines (VMs); a system for performing operations for a conversational AI application; a system for performing operations for a generative AI application; a system for performing operations using a language model; a system for performing one or more generative content operations using a large language model (LLM); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; a system for performing hardware testing using simulation; a system for performing one or more generative content operations using a language model; a system for synthetic data generation; a collaborative content creation platform for 3D assets; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources [0031] (VMs) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10, 11, 12, 16, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfrath US 2022/0366052 in view of Jacqiun US 2023/0129610 . As per claim 10. Wolfrath teaches A computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving a request to configure a region for key distribution; determining an available region location; receiving one or more policy parameters for the region location; allocating, for the region location and in accordance with the one or more policy parameters, a logical region associated with a memory location; [0088] (teaches a key policy stored with key) [0091][0092][0093][0100] (teaches a request to a logical partition, identification of the key and submitting a consumer id) [0088][0093] (teaches restricting who/what has access to keys based on policy) Jacquin teaches locking the region location from further editing; and storing a key in the logical region. [0065][0066][0073] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Jacquin with the prior art because it increases security. As per claim 11. The computer-implemented method of claim 10, Wolfrath teaches wherein the region location is mapped to a memory address location of the logical region. [0091][0092][0093][0100] (teaches a request to a logical partition, memory addresses) As per claim 12. The computer-implemented method of claim 10, Wolfrath teaches wherein the one or more policy parameters includes at least one of a key owner, a key user, or a use case. [0033][0088] (policy which lists parameters including key user) As per claim 16. Wolfrath teaches A processor comprising: one or more circuits to: allocate, a logical region associated with a memory location associated with a policy region; lock, the policy region from further editing; store a received key within the logical region; receive a request for the received key; determine a requestor is authorized to access the received key; and provide the key within the logical region, to the requestor. [0091][0092][0093][0100] (teaches a request to a logical partition, identification of the key and submitting a consumer id) [0088][0093] (teaches restricting who/what has access to keys based on policy) Wolfrath teaches authentication and permissions but does not explicitly teach “policy locking”. Jacquin teaches locking a memory region of policy to prevent editing [0065][0066][0073] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Jacquin with the prior art because it increases security. As per claim 17. The processor of claim 16, Wolfrath teaches wherein the policy region is a next available policy regions in a series of policy regions. . [0091][0092][0093][0100] (teaches a request to a logical partition, memory addresses) As per claim 20. The processor of claim 16, Jacquin teaches wherein the policy region is stored in a policy table accessible by a plurality of region managers and the plurality of region managers are unable to access the policy region after the policy region is locked. [0065][0066][0073] (region locked policy) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 13-15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfrath US 2022/0366052 in view of Jacqiun US 2023/0129610 in view of Henry US 2009/0293132 As per claim 13. The computer-implemented method of claim 12, Henry teaches wherein the use case includes at least one of a self region, a key transfer region, a read-once region, a common manifest region, or a clone-on-the-fly region. [0035] (teaches reading the key once and deleting) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Henry with the prior art before the effective filing date of the current invention because it improves security. As per claim 14. The computer-implemented method of claim 10, Henry teaches wherein the memory location is an on-device memory location. [0067][0068] (on chip cache) As per claim 15. The computer-implemented method of claim 10, Henry teaches wherein the request is provided using an isolated bus. [0060] (teaches a private bus) As per claim 19. The processor of claim 16, Henry teaches wherein the logical region is defined as a read-once region, and the one or more circuits are further to: delete the key from the logical region after providing the key responsive to an authorized request. [0035] (teaches reading the key once and deleting) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfrath US 2022/0366052 in view of Henry US 2009/0293132 in view of Shah US 2023/0093992 As per claim 3. The processor of claim 1, Shah teaches wherein the key shares a common manifest with other keys associated with the key table. [0024] [0026] [0029] (teaches a trusted key manifest for key distribution and secure communications). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Shah with the prior art because it improves security and key distribution. As per claim 4. The processor of claim 3, Shah teaches wherein the key is stored without the common manifest, and the one or more circuits are further to: attach the common manifest to the key responsive to the request. [0039][0040] (teaches providing the manifest in response to the request) As per claim 8. The processor of claim 1, wherein Shah teaches the one or more circuits are further to: update a user field associated with a key manifest for the key responsive to the request. [0025][0039][0040] (adding updating ECUs that can access the key) 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfrath US 2022/0366052 in view of Jacqiun US 2023/0129610 in view of Shah US 2023/0093992 As per claim 18. The processor of claim 16, Shah teaches wherein the logical region is defined as a common manifest region, and the one or more circuits are further to: store a common manifest for each key in the logical region; store each key separate from the common manifest; and attached the common manifest to a requested key prior to transmission of the requested key. [0032][0039][0040] (teaches providing the manifest in response to the request and key storage) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to use the teaching of Shah with the prior art because it improves security and key distribution. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER BROWN whose telephone number is (571)272-3833. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Luu Pham can be reached at (571) 270-5002. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/825,826 Page 2 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/825,826 Page 3 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/825,826 Page 4 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/825,826 Page 5 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/825,826 Page 6 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/825,826 Page 7 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/825,826 Page 8 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/825,826 Page 9 Art Unit: 2439 Application/Control Number: 18/825,826 Page 10 Art Unit: 2439