Notice of Final Rejection
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Referring to claim 1, applicant argues that Oh or Oh and Nakamura either individually or in combination fails to disclose or suggest at least a forementioned features recited in claims 1, 10, and 13. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s arguments.
With respect to claims 1, 13 applicant is not agreeing that office action asserted limitations : receiving time information and controlling a correlated color temperature based on the time information. Examiner respectfully disagrees to applicants arguments. Applicant argues that Oh does not discloses receiving time information but discloses receiving a user selection of a scenario and controlling lighting based on the selected scenario (Remarks page 9 paragraph 5). Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remarks. Oh clearly states control module 120 out puts the signals based on a scenario selection which depends on the time information such as individual task time conversation time break time rational thinking time creative thinking time, memorizing time and the like and there by differently created. Hence, Oh anticipated the limitation based on receiving the time information. Hence, applicants arguments are not persuasive with respect to independent claims 1, 13.
Applicant repeats the same for claim 13 that transmission terminal transmits time information to the light emitting device but Oh does not disclose receiving time information. Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remarks. Examiner respectfully submits that the light emitting system according to Fig 1-6 and switching module 130 transmit the received signals based on time information by user inputs. It is inherent and table 1 indicates clearly how the operation takes between the control module to switching module to light emitting system. Hence, Oh anticipates the claim 13 limitations. Hence, applicant’s arguments with respects to claim 13 are not persuasive.
Referring to claim 10 applicant argues that examiner has not disclose a communication unit configured to communicate externally through both a first communication mode and a second communication mode different from the first communication mode to receive driving signal as claimed. Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s remarks. Fig 1 clearly indicates first communication mode 111 and second communication mode 141 which are different and receives different control signals from the control module. Hence, Fig 1 of Oh anticipates the limitations of claim 10. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Since applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 10, 13 are not persuasive, depending claims also rejected accordingly. Applicant has not made any specific arguments with respect to depending claims 2-9, 11, 12, 14-18, 20. Hence, claims 1-18 and 20 are not allowable in view of Oh and further in view of Nakamura.
Since the claimed language reads on the Prior Art and examiner is continuing with the final rejection and it has updated with more explanation. However, examiner is objecting claim 19, and claim 19 is incorporated in to the independent claims 1, 10 and 13, claims 1-20 may be allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US9485843 B2 by Oh et al ( Oh).
Referring to claim 1, Oh Fig 1-6 teaches : A light emitting device (Fig 1 and item 110 lighting module: abstract) comprising:
a light emitter for generating light (See Fig 1 item 112 and col 5 lines 47 -49);
a communication unit (item 111 + item 141) that communicates externally through a first communication mode (first communication mode item 111 and col 5 lines 47 -49) to receive time information (see col 4 lines 24 to 29 : Control module chooses the time information from the pre-determined time information See Table 1) and communicates externally through a second communication mode (item 141 different from the first communication mode (See item 141 col 8 lines 36 to 42) ; and
a controller (item 120 col 3 lines 20-22) for controlling a correlated color temperature of the light of the light emitter based on the time information (See col 3 lines 27 to 36 and Table 1 where time intervals of each operation is on color temperature index has been shown and how they have been executed).
Referring to claim 2, Oh teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the communication unit (Fig 1 item 111 first communication mode) transmits the time information received using the first communication mode externally through the second communication mode. (See Fig 1 item 141 second communication unit communicates externally: col 8 item 36 to 42).
Referring to claim 3, Oh teaches the light emitting device of claim 2, wherein the communication unit (Fig 1 item 111) communicates with another light emitting device (see item 112) using the second communication mode (See item 141) and transmits the time information (See col 8 lines 39 to 45) received using the first communication mode to the another light emitting device (col 7 lines 3 to 10 suggests another lighting group 510 and second communication unit 141 network information to the control module).
Referring to claim 4, Oh teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the first communication mode is a Wi-Fi mode. (col 3 lines 55 to 62 where a wireless communication has been suggested).
Referring to claim 5, Oh teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the second communication mode is a Bluetooth mode. (Col 3 lines 55 to 60 Col 5 lines 26 28 suggests communication mode /control module 120 can be Bluetooth).
Referring to claim 6, Oh teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the light emitter is configured to generate light having a correlated color temperature of 2700K to 6500K. (See col 3 lines 32 to 36 and Table 1 in col 4).
Referring to claim 7, Oh teaches the light emitting device of claim 1, wherein time-correlated color temperature correlation information, which is color temperature data for time data, is input in advance in the controller, and the controller controls the correlated color temperature of the light generated by the light emitter based on the time-correlated color temperature correlation information. (See Table 1 and claim 1 abstract teaches all these items).
Referring to claim 8, Oh teaches the light emitting device of claim 7, wherein the controller (Fig 1-3 and col 4 lines 14 to 29 and selects time data corresponding to the time information from the time-correlated color temperature correlation information, selects color temperature data corresponding to the selected time data, and controls the light emitter based on the selected color temperature data. (See Table 1 and claim 1 abstract teaches all these items).
Referring to claim 9, Oh teaches the light emitting device of claim 7, wherein the time data includes a plurality of time data values, the color temperature data includes a plurality of correlated color temperature data values, and the time-correlated color temperature correlation information includes a correspondence relationship between the plurality of time data values and the plurality of correlated color temperature data values See Fig 1-3, Table 1, 2, abstract and col 4 lines 16 to 32).
Referring to claim 10 Oh teaches, A light emitting device (Fig 1 item 110) comprising: a light emitter for generating light (item 112);
a communication unit (item 111+item141) that communicates externally through a first communication mode (item 111) and communicates externally through a second communication mode (item 141) different from the first communication mode (item 111) to receive a driving signal (abstract Col 3 lines 14-36 and col 8 lines 14-40) ; and
a controller (item 120) that drives the light emitter to emit light (112) when the driving signal is received ( col 3 lines 14-22 Col 8 lines 36-45 and Table 1)..
Referring to claim 11, Oh teaches the light emitting device of claim 10, wherein the communication unit transmits the driving signal received using the second communication mode externally through the second communication mode (See Fig 1 item 111, 141 second communication unit communicates externally: col 8 item 36 to 42).
Referring to claim 12, Oh teaches the light emitting device of claim 11, wherein the communication unit communicates with another light emitting device using the second communication mode to transmit the driving signal to the another light emitting device (See Table 1 and 58 to 67).
Referring to claim 13, Oh Fig 1-6 teaches: A light emitting system (Fig 1 and col 3 lines 9-19) comprising: a light emitting device (item 110 col 3 lines 12 to 19) that generates light; and
a transmission terminal (item 130 transmits the communication signals) that communicates with the light emitting device (item 110) to transmit time information to the light emitting device (switching module 130 transmit the operating signals Col 3 lines 51 to 54), wherein the light emitting device (item 110) includes:
a light emitter for generating light (an LED 112 col 3 lines 18-19);
a communication unit (Fig 1 item 111 + item 141 combination) that communicates with the transmission terminal using a first communication mode (item 111) to receive the time information (receives the time information from the control unit 120) and communicates externally through a second communication mode (item 141) different from the first communication mode (Fig 1 it is self-evident and also, See col 3 lines 27 to 45) ; and
a controller (Fig 1 item 120) for controlling a correlated color temperature of the light of the light emitter (112) based on the time information. (Col 4 lines 26-31).
Referring to claim 14, Oh teaches the light emitting system of claim 13, wherein the light emitting device (Fig 2, 3) is provided in plurality (col 4 lines 64-67), and the communication units (See Fig 1 item 111, 1141) of the plurality of light emitting devices communicate with each other using the second communication mode. (See col 8 lines 39-42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US9485843 B2 by Oh et al ( Oh) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US20150189722 A1 by Nakamura.
Referring to claim 15, Oh teaches the light emitting system of claim 13, but silent on wherein the light emitting device is provided in plurality, and the plurality of light emitting devices include: one master light emitting device that receives the time information transmitted from the transmission terminal; and a plurality of slave light emitting devices that receive the time information transmitted from the master light emitting device.
However, Nakamura Fig 1 teaches wherein the light emitting device (item 11 master device containing lighting devices 21, 22 paragraph [0025])is provided in plurality, and the plurality of light emitting devices (item 21, 22) include:
one master light emitting device (item 21, 22) that receives the time information transmitted from the transmission terminal; and a plurality of slave light emitting devices (item 12a, 12b 12n paragraph [0026]) that receive the time information transmitted from the master light emitting device. (See paragraph [0051]).
Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate Nakamura teachings in to Oh Fig 1 and divide the plurality of lighting devices in to master and slave lighting devices configuration and control their timings via master to slave in order to meet the user's requirement of controlling the color temperatures efficiently.
Referring to claim 16, Oh 's reference as modified by Nakamura teaches the light emitting system of claim 15, Nakamura further teaches wherein the communication unit (Fig 1 item 23 control section paper [0027]) of the master light emitting device (item 11) transmits a driving signal received from an external using the second communication (item 33 communication section) mode to the plurality of slave light emitting devices using the second communication mode (see paragraph [0029]).
Referring to claim 17, Oh 's reference as modified by Nakamura teaches the light emitting system of claim 15, wherein the plurality of light emitting devices further include a first sub-light emitting device that receives the time information transmitted from the master light emitting device and transmits the time information to some of the plurality of slave light emitting devices. (See paragraphs [0025] -[0029] and paragraph [0051]). Hence it is obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art.
Referring to claim 18, Oh 's reference as modified by Nakamura teaches the light emitting system of claim 17, wherein the plurality of slave light emitting devices are grouped into a plurality of groups, and wherein the plurality of groups include: a first group including some of the plurality of slave light emitting devices; and a second group including another some of the plurality of slave light emitting devices, wherein the plurality of slave light emitting devices included in the first group receive the time information from the master light emitting device, and wherein the plurality of slave light emitting devices included in the second group receive the time information from the first sub-light emitting device. (See paragraphs [0025] -[0029] and paragraph [0051]). Hence it is obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art.
Referring to claim 20, Oh 's reference as modified by Nakamura teaches the light emitting system of claim 18, Nakamura further teaches wherein the plurality of light emitting devices further comprising a second sub-light emitting device that receives the time information transmitted from the first sub-light emitting device, wherein the plurality of groups further include a third group including still another some of the plurality of slave light emitting devices, and wherein the plurality of slave light emitting devices included in the third group receive the time information transmitted from the second sub-light emitting device. (See Fig 1 and 11 master lighting device having plurality of lights and slave lighting devices 12 a to 12 n groups being controlled over time inform.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1-18 and 20 are rejected.
Claim 19 is objected.
The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/ 08/07/2026
SRINIVAS . SATHIRAJU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2845