DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the vertical transistor" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pillarisetty et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0058798 A1), hereafter referred to as Pillarisetty, in view of Matsubayashi (US Pub. No. 2012/0228688 A1).
As to claim 1, Pillarisetty discloses a semiconductor device (fig 3A-B), comprising:
vertical transistors (100), one or more of the vertical transistors comprising:
a channel region (103) comprising an oxide semiconductor material ([0023]) located between a source region (102) and a drain region (104);
a dielectric material (108) on sidewalls of the channel region (103); and
an electrode (106) adjacent to the dielectric material (108),
a pitch of the vertical transistors within a range of from about 10 nm to about 40 nm ([0046], [0152]).
Pillarisetty does not explicitly disclose that the vertical transistors are arranged adjacent to a control logic region.
Nonetheless, Matsubayashi discloses vertical transistors (fig 4, 205) arranged adjacent to a control logic region (203).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the vertical transistors of Pillarisetty adjacent to the control logic region taught in Matsubayashi since this will improve control operation of the memory cell.
As to claim 2, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty further discloses wherein the pitch of the vertical transistors is between about 20 nm and about 25 nm ([0152]).
As to claim 3, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty further discloses wherein the pitch of the one or more of the vertical transistors is between about 15 nm and about 25 nm ([0152]).
As to claim 4, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty further discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor material comprises indium gallium zinc oxide ([0023]).
As to claim 5, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty further discloses wherein a height of the channel region is between about 40 nm and about 100 nm ([0029]).
As to claim 6, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty further discloses wherein an angle of sidewalls of the one or more of the vertical transistors is between about 80° and about 90° (fig 3A-B, sidewalls of 100).
As to claim 7, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty further discloses wherein the vertical transistors are substantially free of polymer material ([0023]; no polymer is taught to be included in the transistor components).
As to claim 8, Pillarisetty discloses a semiconductor device (figs 3A-B), comprising:
vertical transistors (100), the vertical transistors comprising:
a channel region (103) comprising an oxide semiconductor material ([0023]) located vertically between a source region (102) and a drain region (104), the oxide semiconductor material comprising an indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO) material ([0023]);
a dielectric material (108) adjacent to the channel region (103); and
an electrode (106) adjacent to the dielectric material (108),
a pitch of the vertical transistors in a first direction within a range from about 10 nm to about 40 nm ([0046]; [0152]) and a pitch of the vertical transistors in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction within a range from about 20 nm to about 50 nm ([0046]; [0152]).
Pillarisetty does not explicitly disclose that the vertical transistors are arranged adjacent to a control logic region.
Nonetheless, Matsubayashi discloses vertical transistors (fig 4, 205) arranged adjacent to a control logic region (203).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the vertical transistors of Pillarisetty adjacent to the control logic region taught in Matsubayashi since this will improve control operation of the memory cell.
As to claim 10, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 8 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty does not disclose wherein the vertical transistors are between the control logic region and a capacitor region.
Nonetheless, Matsubayashi discloses wherein the vertical transistors (fig 4, 205) are between the control logic region (203) and a capacitor region (207).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the vertical transistors of Pillarisetty between the control logic region and capacitor region as taught by Matsubayashi since this will provide improved control and operation of a DRAM cell.
As to claim 11, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 8 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty further discloses wherein the dielectric material (108) adjacent to the channel region (103) comprises an oxide material on sidewalls of the channel region ([0067]).
As to claim 12, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 8 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty further discloses a word line laterally adjacent to the channel region ([0027]).
Claim(s) 9 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi and further in view of Nomura et al. “Thin-film transistor fabricated in single crystalline transparent oxide semiconductor”, Science Vol. 300, May 23, 2003; provided by Applicant on IDS received 9/5/2024), hereafter referred to as Nomura.
As to claim 9, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 8 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi do not disclose wherein the oxide semiconductor material comprises an In:Ga:ZnO ratio of 1:1:1:4, an In2O3:Ga2O3:ZnO ratio of 2:2:1, or InGa3(ZnO)5.
Nonetheless, Nomura discloses wherein an oxide semiconductor material comprises an In:Ga:ZnO ratio of 1:1:1:4, an In2O3:Ga2O3:ZnO ratio of 2:2:1, or InGa3(ZnO)5 (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to use the specific IGZO composition taught by Nomura as the IGZO disclosed by Pillarisetty since this will provide a sufficient on-to-off current ratio and field-effect mobility for the channel of the FET.
As to claim 15, Pillarisetty discloses an electronic device (fig 3A-B), comprising
a transistor region (100), the transistor region comprising one or more vertical transistors (100) comprising:
a vertical channel (103) comprising an oxide semiconductor material ([0023]) located vertically between a source region (102) and a drain region (104) of the one or more vertical transistors (100), the oxide semiconductor material comprising InGaZO ([0023]);
a dielectric material (108) adjacent to the vertical channel (103); and
an electrode (106) adjacent to the dielectric material (108),
a pitch in a first direction of the one or more vertical transistors within a range from about 10 nm to about 40 nm and a pitch in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction of the vertical transistors within a range from about 20 nm to about 50 nm ([0046]; [0152]).
Pillarisetty does not explicitly disclose that the vertical transistors are electrically connected to a control logic region.
Nonetheless, Matsubayashi discloses vertical transistors (fig 4, 205) electrically connected to a control logic region (203).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the vertical transistors of Pillarisetty adjacent to the control logic region taught in Matsubayashi since this will improve control operation of the memory cell.
Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi do not disclose wherein the oxide semiconductor material comprises an InGa3(ZnO)5.
Nonetheless, Nomura discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor material comprises an InGa3(ZnO)5 (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to use the specific IGZO composition taught by Nomura as the IGZO disclosed by Pillarisetty since this will provide a sufficient on-to-off current ratio and field-effect mobility for the channel of the FET.
As to claim 16, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi and Nomura disclose the semiconductor device of claim 15 (paragraphs above).
Matsubayashi further discloses wherein the transistor region is vertically adjacent to the control logic region (fig 4).
As to claim 17, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi and Nomura disclose the semiconductor device of claim 15 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty further discloses wherein sidewalls of the one or more vertical transistors are substantially perpendicular (fig 3A-B).
As to claim 18, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi and Nomura disclose the semiconductor device of claim 15 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty further discloses wherein a height of the vertical channel is between about 40 nm and about 80 nm ([0029]) and a width of the one or more vertical transistors ranges between about 5 nm and about 40 nm ([0029]).
As to claim 19, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi and Nomura disclose the semiconductor device of claim 15 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty further discloses wherein a distance between adjacent vertical transistors of the one or more vertical transistors ranges between about 20 nm and about 100 nm ([0046]).
As to claim 20, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi and Nomura disclose the semiconductor device of claim 15 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty further discloses a conductive word line electrically connecting each vertical transistor of a row of vertical transistors to each other ([0027]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi and further in view of Sandhu (US Pub. No. 2013/0069052 A1).
As to claim 13, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 8 (paragraphs above).
Pillarisetty does not explicitly disclose that the IGZO in the channel region exhibits an off-state current leakage of about 1 x 10-24 A and an on-to-off current ratio of about 1,000,000,000 to 1.
Nonetheless Sandhu discloses that IGZO in a channel region exhibits an off-state current leakage of about 1 x 10-24 A and an on-to-off current ratio of about 1,000,000,000 to 1 ([0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention that IGZO in a channel region of Pillarisetty exhibits the current ratio and leakage as taught by Sandhu since these channel structures are used in the same FET structure.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi and further in view of Huang (US Pub. No. 2010/0052029 A1).
As to claim 14, Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi disclose the semiconductor device of claim 8 (paragraphs above).
Matsubayashi further discloses wherein the drain region of the vertical transistor is individually in electrical communication with an electrode of a capacitor vertically overlying the vertical transistor ([0046]).
Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi do not disclose the capacitor having a larger vertical dimension than a lateral dimension thereof.
Nonetheless, Huang discloses a similar structure with a vertical transistor (fig 1, 12) vertically below a capacitor (18), the capacitor having a larger vertical dimension than a lateral dimension thereof (fig 1, 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to replace the capacitor of Pillarisetty in view of Matsubayashi with the trench capacitor taught by Huang since this will improve the utilization of space of the chip and reduce memory cell size in horizontal dimensions.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2018/0076093 A1 fig 20 discloses the limitations of claim 1 except for the oxide semiconductor limitation.
Conclusion
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 9/1/2026