Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al.(US 20250107087 A1, hereafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses:
A semiconductor device(Fig. 9) comprising:
a peripheral circuit(Fig. 9 [S2]);
a first gate structure(Fig. 9 [130L]) disposed over the peripheral circuit(Fig. 9 [S2]);
a second gate structure(Fig. 9 [130U]) disposed over the first gate structure;
a dielectric bonding structure(Fig. 9 See figure below) disposed between the first gate structure(Fig. 9 [130L]) and the second gate structure(Fig. 9 [130U]);
a first contact via(Fig. 9 See figure below) extending through the first gate structure(Fig. 9 [130L]) and extending into the dielectric bonding structure(Fig. 9 See figure below);
a second contact via(Fig. 9 See figure below) extending through the second gate structure(Fig. 9 [130U]) and connected to the first contact via(Fig. 9 See figure below); and
a peripheral circuit bonding structure(Fig. 9 [198/298]) electrically connecting the first contact via(Fig. 9 See figure below) and the peripheral circuit(Fig. 9 [S2]) to each other.
Regarding Claim 4, Lee further discloses:
The first gate structure(Fig. 9 [130L]) includes a first staircase structure(Fig. 9 See figure below),
The second gate structure(Fig. 9 [130U]) includes a second staircase structure(Fig. 9 See figure below),
The first contact via(Fig. 9 See figure below) extends through the first staircase structure(Fig. 9 See figure below) and extends into the dielectric bonding layer(Fig. 9 See figure below), and
The second contact via(Fig. 9 See figure below) extends through the second staircase structure(Fig. 9 See figure below) and is connected to the first contact via(Fig. 9 See figure below).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses:
The peripheral circuit(Fig. 9 [S2]) bonding structure(Fig. 9 [198/298]) includes a first peripheral circuit bonding pad(Fig. 9 [298]) and a second peripheral circuit bonding pad(Fig. 9 [198]) disposed on the first peripheral circuit bonding pad(Fig. 9 [298]).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses:
a first stack(Fig. 9 See figure below) disposed at a level corresponding to the first gate structure(Fig. 9 [130L]);
a second stack(Fig. 9 See figure below) disposed at a level corresponding to the second gate structure(Fig. 9 [130U]);
a first contact plug(Fig. 9 [SH], See figure below) extending through the first stack(Fig. 9 See figure below) and extending into the dielectric bonding structure(Fig. 9 See figure below); and
a second contact plug(Fig. 9 [SH], See figure below) extending through the second stack(Fig. 9 See figure below) and connected to the first contact plug(Fig. 9 [SH], See figure below).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee further discloses:
A plug connection portion(Fig. 9 See figure below) where the first contact plug(Fig. 9 See figure below) and the second contact plug(Fig. 9 See figure below) are connected to each other is disposed on the dielectric bonding structure(Fig. 9 See figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-9, 13-21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Xiao et al.(US 20200176443 A1, hereafter Xiao).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses a first source structure(Fig. 9 [101]) disposed on a first gate structure(Fig. 9 [130L]) and first channel structures(Fig. 9 [CHf]) extending into the first source structure(Fig. 9 [101]) through the first gate structure(Fig.9 [130L]).
Lee does not teach or disclose a second source structure between the first source structure and the second gate structure, and
Second channel structures extending into the second source structure through the second gate structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiao discloses:
a second source structure(Fig. 2A [238]) between the first source structure(Fig. 2A [236]) and the second gate structure(Fig. 2A [232B]), and
Second channel structures(Fig. 2A [244A]) extending into the second source structure(Fig. 2A [238]) through the second gate structure(Fig. 2A [232A]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Lee along the lines of Xiao. One might have been motivated to provide an additional source and channel structure in order to increase the memory capacity of the device by providing additional memory structures. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in Lee’s device with additional memory stacks above their first.
Regarding Claim 3,
Lee does not teach or disclose the dielectric bonding structure extends between the first source structure and the second source structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiao discloses a dielectric bonding structure(“one or more ILD layers”, See paragraph 0066) extending between the first source structure(Fig.2A [236]) and the second source structure(Fig. 2A [238]).
Regarding Claim 5,
Lee discloses the first gate structure(Fig. 9 [130L]) includes first conductive layers, the second gate structure(Fig. 9 [130U]) includes second conductive layers(Fig. 9 See figure below),
The first contact via(Fig. 9 See figure below) is connected to at least one of the first conductive layers(Fig. 9 See figure below).
Lee does not teach or disclose the second contact via is connected to at least one of the second conductive layers.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiao discloses a second contact via(Fig. 2A [148]) connected to at least one second conductive layer(Fig. 2A [134]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Lee along the lines of Xiao. One might have been motivated to provide a connection between the second contact via and the second conductive layers to provide a means by which to read or write a second memory device using the same word line. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Lee’s device with an additional memory stack that mirrors the word line inputs of the first.
Regarding Claim 6,
Lee does not teach or disclose a first conductive layer connected to the first contact via is an uppermost first conductive layer of the first staircase structure among the first conductive layers, and
The second conductive layer connected to the second contact via is an uppermost second conductive layer of the second staircase structure among the second conductive layers.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiao discloses a pair of staircase structures(Fig. 2A [166/146]) wherein a first contact contacts an uppermost conductive layer of a first staircase(Fig. 2A [146]) and a second contact contacts an uppermost conductive layer of a second staircase(Fig. 2A [166]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Lee along the lines of Xiao. One might have been motivated to provide a connection between the second contact via and an uppermost second conductive layer to provide a means by which to read or write a second memory device using the same word line. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Lee’s device with an additional memory stack that mirrors the word line inputs of the first.
Regarding Claim 7,
Lee does not teach or disclose a via connection portion where the first contact via and the second contact via are connected to each other is disposed over a dielectric bonding structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiao discloses a via connection portion(Fig. 2A [260/212]) where the first contact via(Fig. 2A [248]) and the second contact via(Fig. 2A [220]) is disposed over a dielectric bonding structure(Fig. 2A [210/258]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Lee along the lines of Xiao. One might have been motivated to include a via connection portion in order to join multiple memory stacks to each other. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in Lee’s device with additional memory stacks above their first.
Regarding Claim 8,
Lee does not teach or disclose the dielectric bonding structure includes a first dielectric bonding layer and a second dielectric bonding layer disposed on the first dielectric bonding layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiao disclose a dielectric bonding structure(Fig. 2A [210/258]) including a first dielectric bonding layer(Fig. 2A [210]) and a second dielectric bonding layer(Fig. 2A [258]) disposed on the first dielectric bonding layer(Fig. 2A [210]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Lee along the lines of Xiao. One might have been motivated to include a dielectric bonding structure as including a first and second dielectric bonding layer to join multiple memory stacks to each other. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in Lee’s device with additional memory stacks above their first.
Regarding Claim 9,
Lee does not teach or disclose the dielectric bonding structure includes a first dielectric bonding layer and a second dielectric bonding layer disposed on the first dielectric bonding layer which are directly bonded to each other.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiao disclose a dielectric bonding structure(Fig. 2A [210/258]) including a first dielectric bonding layer(Fig. 2A [210]) and a second dielectric bonding layer(Fig. 2A [258]) disposed on the first dielectric bonding layer(Fig. 2A [210]) which are directly bonded to each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Lee along the lines of Xiao. One might have been motivated to include a dielectric bonding structure as including a first and second dielectric bonding layer bonded to each other to join multiple memory stacks to each other. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in Lee’s device with additional memory stacks above their first.
Regarding Claim 13,
Lee does not teach or disclose a source bonding structure disposed between the first gate structure and the second gate structure;
first channel structures extending into the source bonding structure through the first gate structure; and
second channel structures extending into the source bonding structure through the second gate structure.
In the same field of endeavor,
Xiao discloses a source bonding structure(Fig. 2A [234]) disposed between the first gate structure(Fig. 2A [232A]) and the second gate structure(Fig. 2A [232B])
first channel structures(Fig. 2A [244A]) extending into the source bonding structure(Fig. 2A [234]) through the first gate structure(Fig. 2A [232A]); and
second channel structures(Fig. 2A [244B]) extending into the source bonding structure(Fig. 2A [234]) through the second gate structure(Fig. 2A [232B]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Lee along the lines of Xiao. One might have been motivated to provide a source bonding structure to increase the memory capacity of the device by providing additional memory structures. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in Lee’s device with additional memory stacks above their first.
Regarding Claim 14,
Lee does not teach or disclose the dielectric bonding structure is disposed at a level corresponding to the source bonding structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiao discloses a dielectric bonding structure(Paragraph 0066, See “one or more ILD layers”) disposed at a level corresponding to the source bonding structure(Fig. 2A [234]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Lee along the lines of Xiao. One might have been motivated to provide a dielectric bonding structure at the level of the source bonding structure to separate two source regions such that different signals can be routed to different parts of the memory device. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in Lee’s device with additional memory stacks above their first.
Regarding Claim 15,
Lee does not teach or disclose the dielectric bonding structure includes a first dielectric bonding pattern and a second dielectric bonding pattern disposed on the first dielectric bonding pattern.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiao discloses a dielectric bonding structure(Paragraph 0066, See “one or more ILD layers”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to arrive at the claimed limitation by applying the teaching of Xiao to the device disclosed by Lee. As Xiao’s dielectric bonding structure might comprise a plurality of layers, that includes two layers bonded to each other. One might have arrived at this limitation by experimentation with various known ILD structures. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in Lee’s device with additional memory stacks above their first, with a dielectric bonding structure comprising two or more layers.
Regarding Claim 16,
Lee does not teach or disclose the dielectric bonding structure includes the first dielectric bonding pattern and the second dielectric bonding pattern are directly bonded to each other.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiao discloses a dielectric bonding structure(Paragraph 0066, See “one or more ILD layers”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to arrive at the claimed limitation by applying the teaching of Xiao to the device disclosed by Lee. As Xiao’s dielectric bonding structure might comprise a plurality of layers, that includes two layers bonded to each other. One might have arrived at this limitation by experimentation with various known ILD structures. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in Lee’s device with additional memory stacks above their first, with a dielectric bonding structure comprising two or more layers.
Regarding Claim 17,
Lee does not teach or disclose a via connection portion.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiao discloses a via connection portion(Fig. 2B [263]) and a first contact via(Fig. 2A [240]) and a second contact via(Fig. 2A [242]) which are both connected to a source structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to arrive at the claimed limitation by applying the teaching of Xiao to the device disclosed by Lee. As Xiao shows one embodiment wherein the NAND memory strings(Fig. 2B [244A/244B]) are connected to a common junction, one of ordinary skill in the art would be led to a device such as the one in Fig. 2A of Xiao wherein the two source contact vias are connected to each other, unifying the signals between their respective memory stacks. Performing his modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Lee’s device with an additional memory stack that mirrors the word line inputs of the first.
Regarding Claim 18,
Lee does not teach or disclose the source bonding structure includes a first source bonding pattern and a second source bonding pattern disposed on the first source bonding pattern.
In the same field of endeavor Xiao discloses the source bonding structure(Fig. 2A [234]) including a first source bonding pattern(Fig. 2A [236]) and a second source bonding pattern(Fig. 2A [238]) disposed on the first source bonding pattern(Fig. 2A [236]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to modify the device disclosed by Lee along the lines of Xiao. One might have been motivated to provide a source bonding structure to increase the memory capacity of the device by providing additional memory structures. Performing this modification would have generated a predictable result in Lee’s device with additional memory stacks above their first.
Regarding Claim 19,
Lee does not teach or disclose the first source bonding pattern and the second source bonding pattern are directly bonded to each other.
In the same field of endeavor, Xiao discloses a via connection portion(Fig. 2B [263]) and a first contact via(Fig. 2A [240]) and a second contact via(Fig. 2A [242]) which are both connected to a source structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application at hand was filed to arrive at the claimed limitation by applying the teaching of Xiao to the device disclosed by Lee. As Xiao shows one embodiment wherein the NAND memory strings(Fig. 2B [244A/244B]) are connected to a common junction, one of ordinary skill in the art would be led to a device such as the one in Fig. 2A of Xiao wherein the two source contact vias are bonded to each other, unifying the signals between their respective memory stacks. Performing his modification would have generated a predictable result in the creation of Lee’s device with an additional memory stack that mirrors the word line inputs of the first.
Regarding Claim 20, Lee further discloses:
a first stack(Fig. 9 See figure below) disposed at a level corresponding to the first gate structure(Fig. 9 [130L]);
a second stack(Fig. 9 See figure below) disposed at a level corresponding to the second gate structure(Fig. 9 [130U]);
a first contact plug(Fig. 9 [SH], See figure below) extending through the first stack(Fig. 9 See figure below) and extending into the dielectric bonding structure(Fig. 9 See figure below); and
a second contact plug(Fig. 9 [SH], See figure below) extending through the second stack(Fig. 9 See figure below) and connected to the first contact plug(Fig. 9 [SH], See figure below).
Regarding Claim 21, Lee further discloses:
A plug connection portion(Fig. 9 See figure below) where the first contact plug(Fig. 9 See figure below) and the second contact plug(Fig. 9 See figure below) are connected to each other is disposed on the dielectric bonding structure(Fig. 9 See figure below).
Above: Fig. 9 of Lee with respective components denoted by examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu et al.(US 20250349701 A1) discloses a dielectric bonding structure with a source bonding structure therein. Lee et al.(US 20250107086 A1) discloses a memory device with a specific contact via and channel structure. Jeon(US 20240414915 A1) discloses a 3D memory structure. Xiao(US 20200194452 A1) discloses a memory structure with multiple staircases stacked on top of each other.
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/MARSHALL MU-NUO HATFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2897