DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species I (claim 1-4, 7, and 8) in the reply filed on 10/30/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 6, and 9-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/30/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 thru 4, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In line 4 of claim 1, the applicant states “a semiconductor layer disposed in the stacked
body”; however, it appears (see, for example, FIG. 1A) the semiconductor layer 32 is outside of the stacked body 20, which includes the plurality of word lines 40, and plurality of insulating layers 21 as stated in paragraph [0010] of the application. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
In lines 14-15 of claim 1, the applicant states “an insulating portion disposed in an end portion on a side of the third insulating film of the insulating layer,”; however, it appears (see, for example, FIG. 1A) that the third insulating film 41 is not “of the insulating layer” since the insulating layer 21 is separated from the third insulating layer 41 by the plurality of insulating portions 21a. Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 thru 3, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Surthi et al. US 2021/0343736 A1. Surthi discloses (see, for example, FIG. 1A-1B) a semiconductor memory device 100 comprising: a stacked body 105 in which an electrode layer 115/130 and an insulating layer 110 are alternately stacked in a first direction; a semiconductor layer 150 disposed in the stacked body along the first direction; a first insulating film 145 disposed between the stacked body 105 and the semiconductor layer 150 along the first direction; a charge storage film 140 disposed between the stacked body 105 and the first insulating film 110 along the first direction; a second insulating film 135 disposed between the stacked body 105 and the charge storage film 140 along the first direction; a third insulating film 125 disposed between the insulating layer 110 and the second insulating film 135; and an insulating portion 120 disposed in an end portion on a side of the third insulating film 125 of the insulating layer 110, the insulating portion 120 overlapping the electrode layer 115/130 as viewed in the first direction, wherein a density of the insulating portion 120 differs from a density of the insulating layer 110. In paragraph [0048], Surthi discloses the insulating portion 120 includes materials such as silicon carbonitride, silicon oxycarbide, or a combination thereof, and in paragraph [0040], Surthi discloses the insulating layer 110 includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, etc.
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, paragraph [0044] wherein Surthi discloses the
electrode layer 115/130 comprises a fourth insulating film 130 that includes a first portion disposed along the first direction and a second portion disposed along a second direction crossing the first direction, and a conductor 115 surrounded by the fourth insulating film 130, and the first portion and the insulating portion 120 overlap with each other as viewed in the first direction.
Regarding claim 3, see, for example, paragraph [0048] and [0040] wherein Surthi
discloses the density of the insulating portion 120 being higher than the density of the insulating layer 110. In paragraph [0048], Surthi discloses the insulating portion 120 includes silicon carbonitride, etc. and in paragraph [0040], Surthi discloses the insulating layer 110 includes silicon oxide, etc. wherein silicon carbonitride has a higher density than silicon oxide.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, paragraph [0044] wherein Surthi discloses the
fourth insulating film 130 contains a metal oxide.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Surthi et al. US 2021/0343736 A1. Surthi does not disclose the density of the insulating portion being higher than a density of the third insulating film. However, Surthi discloses (see, for example, paragraph [0030]) the insulating portion 120 being an etch stop material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the density of the insulating portion being higher than a density of the third insulating film in order to better protect insulating layer and minimize damage to the third insulating layer from possible over-etching, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 7, Surthi does not disclose the charge storage film comprises, in a
second direction crossing the first direction, a portion opposing the insulating layer and a portion opposing the electrode layer, a thickness of the portion opposing the electrode layer being greater than a thickness of the portion opposing the insulating layer. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have disclose the charge storage film comprises, in a second direction crossing the first direction, a portion opposing the insulating layer and a portion opposing the electrode layer, a thickness of the portion opposing the electrode layer being greater than a thickness of the portion opposing the insulating layer in order to have an adequate thickness across the electrode layer to store electrons and prevent data leakage while still protecting the insulating layer, and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective value involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
November 7, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815