Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9, 11, 13-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0367801 A1 to Rajamani et al., hereinafter, “Rajamani” in view of US 2020/0065604 A1 to Liang et al., hereinafter, “Liang”.
Claim 1. Rajamani teaches A method, comprising: [0016] a method for sharing a meeting summary
performing, while text content shared from a remote device during a video conference is output for display at a computing device, [0004] plurality of participants of the meeting may generate meeting data during a course of the meeting
[0025] audio content (may be generated by the plurality of participants as the plurality of participants speak during the meeting), video content (may include video feed of the plurality of participants), meeting notes (may be input by the plurality of participants during the meeting), presentation content, screen sharing content, file sharing content and/or any other content shared during the meeting
[0027] the computing device 104a may generate the meeting data during the meeting. Similarly, other computing devices 104b and 104c may also generate the meeting data during the meeting
optical character recognition to configure the text content for copying; [0046] the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to generate, in real time, a transcript based on the meeting data…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may perform optical character recognition (OCR) on the video content to generate the transcript…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to perform OCR on the content shared via the screen sharing feature to generate the transcript…During the meeting, the meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to generate multiple transcripts based on the meeting data received during the meeting. Examiner interprets “the generated transcript” to be text copied.
[0065] generates the meeting data 404 that includes text obtained from presentation content (by performing OCR). Examiner interprets “text obtained” to be for copy.
Rajamani fails to explicitly teach determining formatting information for the text content. Liang, in the field of analyzing displayed content, teaches determining formatting information for the text content; [0060] if the content 210 is text, the segmentor 230 can suggest copying the text, sharing the text with another application on the electronic device 200… the segmentor 230 can identify a specialized format of text such as a calendar entry
[0065] Based on the detected formatting associated with text, the segmentor 230 can identify text that is to remain together…
and copying, according to the formatting information, [0060] if the content 210 is text, the segmentor 230 can suggest copying the text,
[0068] the segmentor 230 can suggest the selected text to be copied, translated, searched via a web browser, shared with another program or with another electronic device, or the like.
the text content to a destination associated with the computing device. [0060] if the content 210 is text, the segmentor 230 can suggest copying the text, sharing the text with another application on the electronic device 200
[0068] the segmentor 230 can suggest the selected text to be copied, translated, searched via a web browser, shared with another program or with another electronic device, or the like.
Rajamani is in the field of analyzing data from a video conference. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajamani with the teachings of Liang [0002] to allow a user can interact with various types of information and content provided on a display of the electronic device.
Claim 2. Rajamani teaches wherein performing the optical character recognition to configure the text content for copying comprises: [0046] the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may perform optical character recognition (OCR) on the video content to generate the transcript…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to perform OCR on the content shared via the screen sharing feature to generate the transcript.
performing the optical character recognition based on a user instruction to copy the text content, [0091] the participant may provide the input to share content being displayed on the display device of the computing device 104a. To this end, the second meeting data monitoring unit 1008 may be configured to perform OCR on the content displayed on the display device of the computing device 104a to generate the transcript.
wherein the user instruction is received while the text content is output for display at the computing device. [0091] the participant may provide the input to share content being displayed… perform OCR on the content displayed on the display device of the computing device 104a to generate the transcript
Claim 4. Rajamani teaches wherein determining the formatting information for the text content comprises: extracting, from the text content, metadata indicating one or more of an arrangement or an appearance of the text content. [0027] the request may include meeting metadata associated with the meeting that is to be scheduled. In an exemplary embodiment, the meeting metadata may include, but not limited to, an agenda of the meeting, one or more topics to be discussed during the meeting, a time duration of the meeting, a schedule of the meeting, meeting notes carried forward from previous meetings, and/or the like
Claim 5. Liang teaches wherein the formatting information corresponds to one or more of a margin, an indentation, a font, a line break, a paragraph break, or a bullet point. [0055] formatting that is associated with the text indicates that certain words remain together such as a date, a time, a phone number, an address, an email address, a uniform resource locator (URL) such as a web address, a measurement (that includes a number and a unit of measure)
Claim 7. Rajamani teaches wherein the optical character recognition is performed while the computing device is connected to the video conference. [0045] the first processor 202 may receive the meeting data from each of the computing devices 104 in real time.
[0046] the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to generate, in real time, a transcript based on the meeting data…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may perform optical character recognition (OCR) on the video content to generate the transcript…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to perform OCR on the content shared via the screen sharing feature to generate the transcript…During the meeting, the meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to generate multiple transcripts based on the meeting data received during the meeting.
Claim 8. Rajamani teaches wherein the optical character recognition is performed while a recording of the video conference is output for display at the computing device. [0045] the first processor 202 may receive the meeting data from each of the computing devices 104 in real time.
[0046] the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to generate, in real time, a transcript based on the meeting data…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may perform optical character recognition (OCR) on the video content to generate the transcript…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to perform OCR on the content shared via the screen sharing feature to generate the transcript…During the meeting, the meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to generate multiple transcripts based on the meeting data received during the meeting.
Claim 9. Rajamani teaches wherein the optical character recognition is performed based on a user instruction received via a client application associated with the video conference. [0065] the computing device 104b generates the meeting data 404 that includes text obtained from presentation content (by performing OCR) he central server 102 may receive a request, from a computing device 104a, to generate the meeting session for a meeting.
Claim 11. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 1. See the above analysis and rationale.
Rajamani is in the field of analyzing data from a video conference. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajamani with the teachings of Liang [0002] to allow a user can interact with various types of information and content provided on a display of the electronic device.
Claim 13. Liang teaches wherein the formatting information is determined by extracting, from the text content, information associated with one or more of a margin, an indentation, a font, a line break, a paragraph break, or a bullet point. [0055] formatting that is associated with the text indicates that certain words remain together such as a date, a time, a phone number, an address, an email address, a uniform resource locator (URL) such as a web address, a measurement (that includes a number and a unit of measure)
Claim 14. Rajamani teaches wherein the optical character recognition is performed while the computing device is connected to the video conference or while a recording of the video conference is output for display at the computing device. [0045] the first processor 202 may receive the meeting data from each of the computing devices 104 in real time.
[0046] the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to generate, in real time, a transcript based on the meeting data…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may perform optical character recognition (OCR) on the video content to generate the transcript…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to perform OCR on the content shared via the screen sharing feature to generate the transcript…During the meeting, the meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to generate multiple transcripts based on the meeting data received during the meeting.
Claim 15. Reviewed and analyzed in the same way as claim 1. See the above analysis and rationale.
Rajamani is in the field of analyzing data from a video conference. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajamani with the teachings of Liang [0002] to allow a user can interact with various types of information and content provided on a display of the electronic device.
Claim 16. Rajamani teaches wherein the optical character recognition is performed based on a user instruction to copy the text content. [0046] the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may perform optical character recognition (OCR) on the video content to generate the transcript…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to perform OCR on the content shared via the screen sharing feature to generate the transcript. Examiner interprets “the generated transcript” to be text copied.
[0065] generates the meeting data 404 that includes text obtained from presentation content (by performing OCR). Examiner interprets “text obtained” to be for copy.
Claim 18. Rajamani teaches wherein the formatting information corresponds to metadata indicative of one or more of an arrangement or an appearance of the text content. [0027] the request may include meeting metadata associated with the meeting that is to be scheduled. In an exemplary embodiment, the meeting metadata may include, but not limited to, an agenda of the meeting, one or more topics to be discussed during the meeting, a time duration of the meeting, a schedule of the meeting, meeting notes carried forward from previous meetings, and/or the like
Claim 19. Rajamani teaches wherein the optical character recognition is performed by a client application associated with the video conference. [0046] the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to generate, in real time, a transcript based on the meeting data…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may perform optical character recognition (OCR) on the video content to generate the transcript…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to perform OCR on the content shared via the screen sharing feature to generate the transcript… During the meeting, the meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to generate multiple transcripts based on the meeting data received during the meeting. Examiner interprets “the generated transcript” to be text copied.
Claim 20. Rajamani teaches wherein the optical character recognition is performed during the video conference or after the video conference has ended. [0046] the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to generate, in real time, a transcript based on the meeting data…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may perform optical character recognition (OCR) on the video content to generate the transcript…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to perform OCR on the content shared via the screen sharing feature to generate the transcript… During the meeting, the meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to generate multiple transcripts based on the meeting data received during the meeting. Examiner interprets “the generated transcript” to be text copied.
Claim(s) 3, 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0367801 A1 to Rajamani et al., hereinafter, “Rajamani” in view of US 2020/0065604 A1 to Liang et al., hereinafter, “Liang” and in further view of US 2018/0027206 A1 to Li et al., hereinafter, “Li”.
Claim 3. Rajamani teaches wherein performing the optical character recognition to configure the text content for copying comprises: [0046] the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to generate, in real time, a transcript based on the meeting data…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may perform optical character recognition (OCR) on the video content to generate the transcript…the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to perform OCR on the content shared via the screen sharing feature to generate the transcript… Examiner interprets “the generated transcript” to be text copied.
[0065] generates the meeting data 404 that includes text obtained from presentation content (by performing OCR). Examiner interprets “text obtained” to be for copy.
performing the optical character recognition while the text content is output for display at the computing device; [0028] the computing device 104a may generate the meeting data during the meeting
[0046] the first meeting data monitoring unit 208 may be configured to perform OCR on the content shared via the screen sharing feature to generate the transcript
Rajamani fails to explicitly teach a user instruction to copy the text content after the optical character recognition is performed. Li, in the field of inputting notes/information to an object in image data, teaches and receiving a user instruction to copy the text content after the optical character recognition is performed. Li [0417] after the terminal device performs character recognition (such as OCR recognition) to the displayed image, the user may perform edit operations such as cut, copy, paste and erase. The terminal device performs corresponding edit processing to the content according to the edit operation of the user.
Rajamani is in the field of analyzing data from a video conference. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajamani with the teachings of Li [0007] to provide a solution to meet the requirement of people for taking note and facilitate user to check the note having been made.
Claim 12. Li teaches wherein the optical character recognition is performed based on or prior to a user instruction to copy the text content. Li [0417] after the terminal device performs character recognition (such as OCR recognition) to the displayed image, the user may perform edit operations such as cut, copy, paste and erase. The terminal device performs corresponding edit processing to the content according to the edit operation of the user.
Rajamani is in the field of analyzing data from a video conference. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajamani with the teachings of Li [0007] to provide a solution to meet the requirement of people for taking note and facilitate user to check the note having been made.
Claim 17. Li teaches wherein the optical character recognition is performed prior to a receipt of a user instruction to copy the text content. Li [0417] after the terminal device performs character recognition (such as OCR recognition) to the displayed image, the user may perform edit operations such as cut, copy, paste and erase. The terminal device performs corresponding edit processing to the content according to the edit operation of the user.
Rajamani is in the field of analyzing data from a video conference. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajamani with the teachings of Li [0007] to provide a solution to meet the requirement of people for taking note and facilitate user to check the note having been made.
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0367801 A1 to Rajamani et al., hereinafter, “Rajamani” in view of US 2020/0065604 A1 to Liang et al., hereinafter, “Liang” and in further view of US 2013/0046935 A1 to Ramanathan.
Claim 6. Rajamani fails to explicitly teach copying the text content to the destination associated with the computing device. Ramanathan, in the field of shared copy cache for networked devices, teaches wherein copying the text content to the destination associated with the computing device comprises: [0004] a copy cache feature that can be shared across networked devices, FIG. 1
writing the text content to a cache at the computing device; [0004] content added to copy cache through a "copy", a "like", or similar command through one device, FIG. 1
and copying the text content to the destination from the cache. [0022] Server 108 may communicate with other computing devices associated with the user such as laptop computer 114 or mobile device 120 (e.g., a smart phone) over one or more networks 112. Server 108 may push copy cache data from copy cache 110 to copy caches 116 and 122 on laptop computer 114 and mobile device 120, respectively., FIG. 1
Rajamani is in the field of analyzing data from a video conference. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajamani with the teachings of Ramanathan [0004] to allow seamless movement of copy cache content across devices.
Claim 10. Ramanathan teaches wherein the destination is a file stored at or a software service accessed using the computing device. [0021] content may be "copied" or similarly stored in copy cache 104 through an application 106 executed on desktop computer 102
Rajamani is in the field of analyzing data from a video conference. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Rajamani with the teachings of Ramanathan [0004] to allow seamless movement of copy cache content across devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2010/0241432 A1 to Michaelis
Michaelis [0050] Upon commencement (understood to be during a video conference) of an exemplary video conference, one or more of the video-enabled participants are monitored and one or more of visually presented information and electronic documents is recognized. As the conference proceeds(understood to be during a video conference), one or more of video camera 15 and web camera 12 are monitored, to determine whether visually presented information is being presented (understood to be text content shared)… visually presented information recognition module 130 cooperates with one or more of the OCR recognition module 140… the visually presented information recognition module 130 can cooperate with the OCR recognition module 140 to determine what has been written (understood to be performing optical character recognition on the text)
Michaelis [0004] Optical character recognition techniques can read text that is being written on whiteboards
/DELOMIA L GILLIARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2661