DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-25 are objected to because of the following issues:
Claim 1 recites “A method performed by a sharing access point (AP) to initiate a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT), the method comprising: transmitting a backhaul data PPDU that includes data intended for a station (STA) to a shared AP via a backhaul link; …”. There are two “a shared AP” that are cited and it is not clear if they are same (then the second “a shared AP” should be “the shared AP) or not.
Independent claim 17 is objected because it has the same problem as claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHITRAKAR (US 20220209825 A1) in view of Huang (CN 109714092 A).
For claim 1, CHITRAKAR discloses a method performed by a sharing access point (AP) to initiate a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) (FIG. 27 in view of “[0091] … for transmit diversity join transmissions (also known as non-coherent joint transmissions) in order to prevent unintentional beamforming, … the transmit antenna (transmit chains) of different APs participating in the joint transmission to a Target STA using the same spatial stream. …”), the method comprising:
transmitting a backhaul data PPDU that includes data intended for a station (STA) to a shared AP via a backhaul link (FIG. 2C, “master AP” 270 transmitting being the “shared AP” and some of PPDUs intended for STA2 284 through slave APs 280 and 284 via backhaul link 290 in view of “[0091] In addition, the Joint Transmission PHY Layer Info field specifies the additional PHY parameters to be used for encoding of the JT PPDU. For example, for transmit diversity join transmissions (also known as non-coherent joint transmissions) in order to prevent unintentional beamforming, it is desirable that different Cyclic Shift Diversity (CSD) values are used for the transmit antenna (transmit chains) of different APs participating in the joint transmission to a Target STA using the same spatial stream …” and “[0063] In one or more example embodiments, Joint Transmission takes place in two phases: Distribution of JT data to Slave APs and Joint Transmission to the Target STA. [0064] In the first phase (Distribution of Joint Transmission Data to Slave APs), the data to be jointly transmitted is distributed to the participating Slave APs prior to the actual joint transmission over the AP to AP link, such as link 290 in FIG. 2C. The distribution may take place over the wireless backhaul link between the APs … [067] … Typically, for normal transmissions (e.g., non-joint transmissions), the upper layer (e.g., IP layer) passes the data payload (e.g., IP packets) to be transmitted to the MAC layer which performs the MAC layer processing, such as pre-pending the MAC headers, adding FCS, MAC padding if required, etc. to create the MPDU (MAC Protocol Data Unit) 300. If protection is enabled, the data payload may be further subjected to encryption procedure which results in the addition of the CCMP Header field and the MIC fields to the MAC frame body. The MPDU is then passed down to the PHY layer for PHY layer processing such as pre-pending the PHY preamble, applying PHY encodings, adding PHY padding etc. to create the PPDU (PHY Protocol Data Unit) and finally transmitting the PPDU out on the air.”); and
transmitting a NCJT sounding trigger frame to the shared AP via the backhaul link to cause the shared AP to participate in the NCJT (“[0051] One example embodiment is an access point (AP) that includes a receiver, which, in operation, receives a Joint Transmission (JT) Trigger frame from another AP that indicates MAC protocol data units (MPDUs) to be jointly transmitted to a communication apparatus; …”),
wherein the NCJT involves a plurality of APs, including the shared AP, transmitting NCJT PPDUs that include the data intended for the STA to the STA at different times (FIG. 2C in view of “[0105] The transmissions to different Slave APs may not be synchronized in time in wired or mixed backhaul scenario and may happen at the same time or at different times.”).
Independent claim 17 is rejected because it is a method performed in the same system as the method of claim 1 regarding receiving (instead of transmitting in claim 1) process and has the same subject matter as claim 1.
As to claim 2, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 1, CHITRAKAR further discloses: wherein the plurality of APs includes the sharing AP (FIG. 2C shows sharing/slave APs 290), wherein the method further comprises: transmitting a NCJT PPDU that includes the data intended for the STA to the STA (FIG. 2C in view of [0091], [0043]-[0067] shows NCJT PPDUs transmitting to STA1 284).
As to claim 3, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 2, CHITRAKAR further discloses: determining a modulation coding scheme (MCS) value based on a channel quality of a link between the sharing AP and the STA (“[0047] … The data rate that the AP can provide for the wireless link to an associated STA depends on the MCS (modulation and coding scheme) used for the link, which in turn depends on the SINR (signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio) of each STA. Typically higher MCS can be achieved at higher SINR, while only a low MCS may be possible at low levels of SINR. …”).
As to claim 4, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 3, CHITRAKAR further discloses: wherein the NCJT sounding trigger frame does not indicate the MCS value, wherein the backhaul data PPDU and the NCJT PPDU are transmitted using a MCS corresponding to the MCS value (“[0047] … The data rate that the AP can provide for the wireless link to an associated STA depends on the MCS (modulation and coding scheme) used for the link, which in turn depends on the SINR (signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio) of each STA. Typically higher MCS can be achieved at higher SINR, while only a low MCS may be possible at low levels of SINR. …”; note that the trigger frame does not indicate that a MCS value is required and the MCS for the link is used if there is no MCS included).
As to claim 5, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 3, CHITRAKAR further discloses: determining a backhaul MCS value based on a channel quality of the backhaul link, wherein the NCJT sounding trigger frame does not indicate the MCS value, wherein the backhaul data PPDU is transmitted using a MCS corresponding to the backhaul MCS value and the NCJT PPDU is transmitted using a MCS corresponding to the MCS value that was determined based on the channel quality of the link between the sharing AP and the STA (“[0047] … The data rate that the AP can provide for the wireless link to an associated STA depends on the MCS (modulation and coding scheme) used for the link, which in turn depends on the SINR (signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio) of each STA. Typically higher MCS can be achieved at higher SINR, while only a low MCS may be possible at low levels of SINR. …”; note that SINR value is an indication of channel quality of the link).
As to claim 6, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 3, CHITRAKAR further discloses: wherein the NCJT sounding trigger frame indicates the MCS value, wherein the NCJT PPDU is transmitted using a MCS corresponding to the MCS value (“[0153] … the JT Trigger frame that initiates the joint re-transmission may specify more robust transmission modes (lower MCS etc.) or a different PHY encoding may be specified (e.g., if HARQ retransmission is used)”).
As to claim 7, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 2, CHITRAKAR further discloses: determining a first modulation and coding scheme (MCS) value based on a channel quality of a first link between the shared AP and the STA, wherein the NCJT sounding trigger frame indicates the first MCS value (applying the teaching of “[0153] … the JT Trigger frame that initiates the joint re-transmission may specify more robust transmission modes (lower MCS etc.) or a different PHY encoding may be specified (e.g., if HARQ retransmission is used)” to the link between the shared AP and the STA of FIG. 2C).
As to claim 8, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 7, CHITRAKAR further discloses: wherein the NCJT PPDU is transmitted using a first MCS corresponding to the first MCS value (“[0153] … the JT Trigger frame that initiates the joint re-transmission may specify more robust transmission modes (lower MCS etc.) or a different PHY encoding may be specified (e.g., if HARQ retransmission is used)”).
As to claim 9, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 7, CHITRAKAR further discloses: determining a second MCS value based on a channel quality of a second link between the sharing AP and the STA, wherein the NCJT PPDU is transmitted using a second MCS corresponding to the second MCS value (FIG. 2C shows at least two links 292 between the sharing AP and the STA, each link has different MCS associated with the link as disclosed by [0153]).
As to claim 10, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 2, CHITRAKAR further discloses: receiving a NCJT acknowledgement (ACK) frame from the STA that acknowledges that the STA received the data intended for the STA (FIGs. 1-35 and the associated text, such as FIG. 28 showing APs receives ACK from Target STA when it receives JT PPDU; or “[0087] … If the reception is successful, the Target STA proceeds to transmit the acknowledgement frame (ACK or Block Ack) to the AP whose MAC Address appears in the TA address (Address 2) field.”).
As to claim 11, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 2, CHITRAKAR further discloses: responsive to receiving the NCJT ACK frame, transmitting a NCJT ACK frame to the shared AP (FIGs. 1-35 and the associated text, such as “[0087] … If the reception is successful, the Target STA proceeds to transmit the acknowledgement frame (ACK or Block Ack) to the AP whose MAC Address appears in the TA address (Address 2) field.”).
As to claim 12, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 2, CHITRAKAR further discloses: while the shared AP transmits a NCJT PPDU to the STA, transmitting a non-NCJT PPDU to a different STA that is in a same basic service set (BSS) as the sharing AP (FIGs. 1-35 and the associated text, such as FIG. 28 showing APs receives ACK from Target STA when it receives JT PPDU; or “[0087] … If the reception is successful, the Target STA proceeds to transmit the acknowledgement frame (ACK or Block Ack) to the AP whose MAC Address appears in the TA address (Address 2) field.” and “[0087] … If the reception is successful, the Target STA proceeds to transmit the acknowledgement frame (ACK or Block Ack) to the AP whose MAC Address appears in the TA address (Address 2) field.”).
As to claim 13, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 1, CHITRAKAR further discloses: wherein the plurality of APs further includes a second shared AP in addition to the first-mentioned shared AP, wherein the backhaul data PPDU and the NCJT sounding trigger frame are also transmitted to the second shared AP via a second backhaul link (FIGs. 1-35 and the associated text, such as FIG. 2B in view of the parent claim).
As to claim 14, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 13, CHITRAKAR further discloses: determining a backhaul modulation coding scheme (MCS) value based on a channel quality of a link between the sharing AP and the first-mentioned shared AP, wherein the NCJT sounding trigger frame does not indicate the MCS value, wherein the backhaul data PPDU is transmitted to the first-mentioned shared AP and the second shared AP using a MCS corresponding to the backhaul MCS value (FIGs. 1-35 and the associated text, such “[0047] … The data rate that the AP can provide for the wireless link to an associated STA depends on the MCS (modulation and coding scheme) used for the link, which in turn depends on the SINR (signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio) of each STA. Typically higher MCS can be achieved at higher SINR, while only a low MCS may be possible at low levels of SINR. …” in view of the parent claim).
As to claim 15, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 13, CHITRAKAR further discloses: determining a modulation coding scheme (MCS) value based on a channel quality of a link between the first-mentioned shared AP and the STA, wherein the NCJT sounding trigger frame indicates the MCS value.
As to claim 16, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 13, CHITRAKAR further discloses: while the first-mentioned shared AP or the second shared AP transmits a NCJT PPDU to the STA, transmitting a non-NCJT PPDU to a different STA that is in a same basic service set (BSS) as the sharing AP.
(“[0091] In addition, the Joint Transmission PHY Layer Info field specifies the additional PHY parameters to be used for encoding of the JT PPDU. For example, for transmit diversity join transmissions (also known as non-coherent joint transmissions) in order to prevent unintentional beamforming, it is desirable that different Cyclic Shift Diversity (CSD) values are used for the transmit antenna (transmit chains) of different APs participating in the joint transmission to a Target STA using the same spatial stream …”)
As to claim 18, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 17, CHITRAKAR further discloses: determining a modulation coding scheme (MCS) used by the sharing AP to transmit the backhaul data PPDU, wherein the NCJT PPDU is transmitted using the MCS.
As to claim 19, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 17, CHITRAKAR further discloses: obtaining a modulation coding scheme (MCS) value from the NCJT sounding trigger frame, wherein the NCJT PPDU is transmitted using a MCS corresponding to the MCS value obtained from the NCJT sounding trigger frame.
As to claim 20, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 17, CHITRAKAR further discloses: determining a modulation coding scheme (MCS) to use for transmitting the NCJT PPDU based on a channel quality of a link between the shared AP and the STA, wherein the NCJT PPDU is transmitted using the MCS.
As to claim 21, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 17, CHITRAKAR further discloses: while one of the plurality of APs other than the shared AP transmits a NCJT PPDU to the STA, transmitting a non-NCJT PPDU to a different STA that is in a same basic service set (BSS) as the shared AP.
As to claim 22, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 17, CHITRAKAR further discloses: receiving a NCJT acknowledgment (ACK) frame from the STA that acknowledges that the STA received the data intended for the STA.
As to claim 23, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 22, CHITRAKAR further discloses: responsive to receiving the NCJT ACK frame, transmitting a NCJT ACK frame that acknowledges that the STA received the data intended for the STA to one or more of the plurality of APs.
As to claim 24, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 17, CHITRAKAR further discloses: receiving a NCJT acknowledgment (ACK) frame from one of the plurality of APs that acknowledges that the STA received the data intended for the STA.
As to claim 20, CHITRAKAR discloses claim 17, CHITRAKAR further discloses: wherein the plurality of APs includes the sharing AP.
Conclusion
/JIANYE WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462