Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “2054” has been used to designate both the system substrate and the pads in fig. 20G. Additionally, character “2018” has been used to designate both the current distribution layer and the leveling layers in fig. 20G. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Fig. 20E, character 2028 is illegible due to being overlapped with another number
Fig. 20F, character 20542 should read 2054
Fig. 20H, character 2058 should read 2018.
Fig. 20H, numbers present behind characters 2054, 2058, and 2016 are present and should be removed.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “providing ohmic contact” should read “providing an ohmic contact”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the plurality of pixelated micro devices " in 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-9 are also rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Iguchi et al. (US Patent Pub 20190385513 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Iguchi teaches a method of manufacturing a pixelated structure comprising:
providing a donor substrate comprising the plurality of pixelated micro devices (Figs 9 and 10, donor substrate 50 comprising a plurality of pixelated micro devices 31);
bonding a selective set of the pixelated micro devices from the donor substrate to a system substrate (Figs 17 and 18 teaches bonding a selective set of the pixelated micro devices 31 from the donor substrate 50 to a system substrate 45);
and patterning a bottom conductive layer of the pixelated micro devices after separating the donor substrate from the system substrate (Fig. 52 teaches the patterning of bottom conductive layer 52 by forming separation grooves 60 to isolate portions of 52 after the separation of the donor substrate from the system substrate 45).
Regarding Claim 2, Iguchi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein patterning the bottom conductive layer comprises at least one of: thinning the bottom conductive layer or making isolated patterns of the bottom conductive layer (Fig. 54 and 55 teaches reflective material 62 (formed of silicone resin, see paragraph 0172) isolating each portion of bottom conductive layer 52 from each other).
Regarding Claim 3, Iguchi teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising providing ohmic contact to the isolated patterns of the bottom conductive layer (Iguchi, Paragraphs 00144 and 00155 of Applicant’s instant specification teaches the conductive layers may be formed of a doped semiconductor material, and that the ohmic contact can be formed of a similar material (i.e the ohmic contact can be formed of a doped semiconductor material). Iguchi, paragraph 0189 teaches 33 can be formed of a doped semiconductor material. Therefore 33 can be an ohmic contact. Fig. 55 teaches providing an ohmic contact 33 to the isolated patterns of the bottom conductive layer 52.)
Regarding Claim 4, Iguchi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the ohmic contact is one of: a transparent material or opaque (Iguchi, paragraph 0189 teaches ohmic contact 33 can be transparent).
Regarding Claim 5, Iguchi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the ohmic contact is patterned in case the ohmic contact is opaque (Iguchi, paragraph 0189 teaches that if the ohmic contact 33 is formed of an opaque material (for example, a metallic electrode mesh), 33 will be patterned such that only the outer peripheral portions of the light emitting units 31 will be covered).
Regarding Claim 6, Iguchi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein providing ohmic contact to the isolated patterns of the bottom conductive layer comprises providing the ohmic contact inside the isolated patterns of the bottom conductive layer (Iguchi, fig. 55 teaches that portions of ohmic contact 33 are inside (the grooves of) each of the isolated patterns of the bottom conductive layer 52).
Regarding Claim 7, Iguchi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein providing ohmic contact to the patterned bottom conductive layer comprises providing the ohmic contact at the edge of the isolated patterns of the bottom conductive layer (Iguchi, fig. 55 teaches portions of ohmic contact 33 are at the edge of the isolated patterns of the bottom conductive layer 52).
Regarding claim 8, Iguchi teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising providing a patterned dielectric layer between the isolated patterns of the bottom conductive layer (Iguchi, fig. 55 teaches a patterned dielectric layer 62 between the isolated patterns of the bottom conductive layer 52).
Regarding Claim 9, Iguchi teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising providing a common electrode over the patterned bottom conductive layer (Iguchi, fig. 20 teaches a common electrode 33 over the patterned bottom conductive layer 52 (not labeled in fig. 20, but present and labeled in fig. 16)).
Cited Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See the attached form PTO-892 for the pertinent cited art.
Conclusion
/V.R.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/JOHN M PARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899