Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 09/06/2024, 05/27/2025 and 04/10/2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (WO 2022050762) in view of Woo (US 20200267839-A1).
Pertaining to claim 1, Lee discloses An electronic device (300, see fig. 3) comprising: a first housing (301, see fig. 3); a second housing (303, see fig. 3) slidably coupled to the first housing (301) in a first direction; a flexible display (310, see fig. 3) expanding in the first direction or contracting in a direction opposite to the first direction, based on a slide-in state or slide-out state of the second housing (303); a first printed circuit board (370, see fig. 3) disposed on the first housing (301); a second printed circuit board (where carrying antenna module 330) disposed on the second housing (303); and a first flexible printed circuit board (350, see fig. 3) and connecting the first printed circuit board (see paragraph [0077]) and the second printed circuit board, and folded or unfolded (see fig. 3) based on slide-in or slide-out of the second housing; wherein the first flexible printed circuit board (350) includes a rigid region (the FPCB is has rigid portions, these portions are not bent and are implicitly rigid) connected to the first printed circuit board (370) and the second printed circuit board (where carrying antenna module 330) and a flexible region folded based on the slide-in state of the second housing (303, see paragraph [0080]), the first printed circuit board (370) and the second printed circuit board (where carrying antenna module 330) and a flexible region folded based on the slide-in state of the second housing (303), and wherein the first flexible printed circuit board (350) is configured to transmit an RF signal.
But, Lee does not explicitly teach two separate flexible printed circuit boards.
However, Woo teaches two separate flexible printed circuit boards (F1 and F2, see paragraph [0104, see lines 1-2), one flexible printed circuit board for carrying a conductive path for an RF signal from an RF transceiver for receiving communication (see paragraph [0110]) and second flexible printed circuit board for power wiring (see paragraph [0130]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide two separate flexible printed circuit boards, one flexible printed circuit board for carrying a conductive path for an RF signal from an RF transceiver for receiving communication and second flexible printed circuit board for power wiring in the device of Lee based on the teachings of Woo in order to prevents electromagnetic interference (EMI) and electrical noise from the power lines from corrupting the sensitive, low-level RF communication signals and better thermal.
Pertaining to claim 2, Lee as modified by Woo further discloses, wherein the first flexible printed circuit board or the second flexible printed circuit board includes a shielding film (see paragraph [0129], see fig. 12, S3).
Pertaining to claim 3, Lee discloses, wherein the flexible region of the first flexible printed circuit board and the flexible region of the second flexible printed circuit board is perpendicular to a surface of the first printed circuit board facing the flexible display (802, see fig. 9).
Pertaining to claim 4, Lee discloses, wherein the first housing (301) includes a first sidewall (the side wall 301) disposed along a side surface of the first housing (301) facing the second housing (303), wherein the second housing (303) includes a second sidewall (the side wall of 303) disposed along a side surface of the second housing (303) facing the first sidewall, and wherein the flexible region (350) is disposed between the first sidewall and the second sidewall (see figs. 4-5).
Pertaining to claim 5, Lee discloses wherein a distance between the first sidewall and the second sidewall, in a first state in which the second housing (303) is movable in the first direction among the first direction and a second direction opposite to the first direction is narrower than a distance between the first sidewall and the second sidewall, in a second state in which the second housing (303) is movable in the second direction, (see paragraph [0081]).
Pertaining to claim 6, Lee as modified by Woo further discloses, wherein the rigid region of the first flexible printed circuit board ((350) includes a rigid region (the FPCB is has rigid portions (804, 805, see fig. 8, these portions are not bent and are implicitly rigid of Lee) and the rigid region of the second flexible printed circuit board is fixed by a slit disposed at the first sidewall ( F2, see paragraph [0104, see lines 1-2 of Woo).
Pertaining to claim 7, Lee discloses, wherein the flexible region (flexible region of 350, see fig.3) includes a curved surface (350 portion has curved surface, see fig. 3) and planar surface extending in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction (see fig. 3) at both ends of the curved surface (see fig. 3), in a first state in which the second housing (303, see paragraph [0081]) is movable in the first direction among the first direction and a second direction (see fig. 3) opposite to the first direction.
But lee does not explicitly teach wherein the curved surface is convex in the first direction from a planar surface among the planar surfaces closer to the second housing.
However, it would have been on obvious matter of design choice to arranged in a curved surface is convex in the first direction from a planar surface among the planar surfaces closer to the second housing, since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Pertaining to claim 8, Lee discloses, wherein the rigid region includes a first rigid region (the FPCB is has rigid portions, these portions are not bent and are implicitly rigid) connected to the first printed circuit board (370) and a second rigid region connected to the second printed circuit board (where carrying antenna module 330), and wherein a planar surface among the planar surfaces in contact with the first sidewall of the first housing (301) extends from the first rigid region along the first sidewall, in the first state and wherein a planar surface among the planar surfaces in contact with the second sidewall of the second housing (the second sidewall of 303) extends from the second rigid region along the second sidewall (see fig. 3).
Pertaining to claim 9, Lee discloses, wherein the first housing (301) includes a first sidewall disposed along a side surface of the first housing (301) facing the second housing (303), wherein the second housing (303) includes a second sidewall disposed along a side surface of the second housing (303) facing the first sidewall (see fig. 3), and wherein the second housing (303) further includes a seating portion recessed in the first direction with respect to the second sidewall of the second housing (303) facing the first sidewall of the first housing (301), and wherein the curved surface is seated on the seating portion when the electronic device is in the first state (see fig. 9).
Pertaining to claim 10, Lee discloses, wherein the second flexible printed circuit board (see paragraph [0107]) is configured to transmit data or a control signal from at least one processor disposed on the first printed circuit board to an electronic component disposed on the second printed circuit board, (provide two separate flexible printed circuit boards, one flexible printed circuit board for carrying a conductive path for an RF signal from an RF transceiver for receiving communication and second flexible printed circuit board for power wiring).
Pertaining to claim 11, Lee discloses, wherein the first printed circuit board includes a first conductive pad/terminal connected to the second flexible printed circuit board (F2), wherein the second printed circuit board includes a second conductive pad connected to the second flexible printed circuit board and a third conductive pad connected to the first flexible printed circuit board (F1), wherein the second flexible printed circuit board (F2) includes a first connector coupled to the first conductive pad/terminal and a second connector coupled to the second conductive pad, and wherein the first flexible printed circuit board includes a third connector coupled to the third conductive pad (see paragraph [0107] – [0108]).
Pertaining to claim 18, Lee discloses, wherein the rigid region the (FPCB is has rigid portions, these portions are not bent and are implicitly rigid) includes a plurality of conductive vias/terminals connecting conductive layers in the first flexible printed circuit board (350) or the second flexible printed circuit board, wherein the flexible region is deformed to correspond to a groove formed in the first housing (301) or the second housing (303).
7. Claim12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (WO 2022050762) in view of Woo (US 20200267839-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Steffen (WO 2019223860).
Pertaining to claim 12, Lee discloses all claimed limitations except a third printed circuit board disposed in the first housing, wherein the first printed circuit board includes a transmission line electrically connected to the third printed circuit board.
However, Steffen teaches a third printed circuit board disposed in the first housing, wherein the first printed circuit board includes a transmission line electrically connected to the third printed circuit board, (see paragraph [0059]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a third printed circuit board disposed in the first housing, wherein the first printed circuit board includes a transmission line electrically connected to the third printed circuit board in the device of Lee based on the teachings of Stefen in order to, the system ensures a highly stabilized, controlled-impedance path. This drastically reduces signal degradation, reflection, and insertion losses at high frequencies or high data rates.
Pertaining to claim 13, Lee as modified by Woo further discloses, wherein the first printed circuit board (370 of Lee) includes a first board, a second board (where carrying antenna module 330 of Lee) having a step difference from the first board, and a connection board connecting the first board and the second board (see paragraph [0075] and [0078] of Woo), wherein the first board is connected to the first flexible printed circuit board, and wherein the second board is connected to the second flexible printed circuit board (see paragraph [0101] of Woo).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 14, the specific limitations of "a battery disposed in the first housing; an actuator disposed in the first housing; a pinion gear coupled to a rotation shaft of the actuator; and a rack gear disposed in the second housing and including a plurality of teeth engaged with the pinion gear," in combination with the remaining elements, are not taught or adequately suggested by the prior art of record. Claim 15-17 depend from claim 14 and is therefore allowed for the same reasons.
9. Claims 19-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a pinion gear including a plurality of teeth engaged with the rack gear; an actuator configured to rotate the pinion gear and disposed in the first housing; a first printed circuit board electrically connected to the actuator and disposed in the first housing; wherein the first flexible printed circuit board overlaps the flexible printed circuit board, when looking at the first housing from the side of the first housing , wherein each of a flexible region of the first flexible printed circuit board and a flexible region of the second flexible printed circuit board is disposed perpendicular to one surface of the first printed circuit board.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. (US 2021/0251071 A1).
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847