DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 02/27/2026 has been entered. Applicant amended claims 1-7 in the amendment. Claims 8-9 are newly added
Claims 1-9 remain pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9 filed on 02/27/2026 have been considered but they are deemed to be moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokunaga et al. (US 2021/0258186 A1), hereinafter Tokunaga, in view of Khazanov et al. (US 2017/0070959 A1), hereinafter Khazanov, in view of Laroia et al. (US 2004/0029622 A1), hereinafter Laroia, and further in view of Sugitachi (US 2014/0075177 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tokunaga discloses
An electronic control device (electronic control devices/ECUs 1, FIG. 1), which is mounted on a vehicle ([0017]: a communication system 10 shown in FIG. 1 includes a plurality of electronic control devices (hereinafter referred to as “ECUs”) 1a, 1b, 1c, 1d (hereinafter, also referred to collectively as ECU 1 when individual ECUs are not distinguished) mounted on a vehicle), as a slave communication device, comprising:
at least one slave transceiver ([0025]: transceiver 4) configured to perform a communication with a master communication device (ECUs)([0017]: the plurality of ECUs 1 are connected to a communication bus 9 to constitute an in-vehicle network, and perform mutual communication according to a CAN protocol via the communication bus 9); and
a slave controller ([0026]: microcontroller 2) configured to switch between two of multiple modes including a first mode, a second mode, and a third mode ([0018]: each ECU 1 has, i.e., operates in, a plurality of states including a normal state in which communication processing is executed and a sleep state in which communication processing is stopped to reduce power consumption), thereby operating in one of the multiple modes,
wherein the slave controller:
operates in the first mode (normal state) to perform a process associated with the communication in a case where the communication is being performed with the master communication device by the at least one slave transceiver ([0018]: each ECU 1 has, i.e., operates in, a plurality of states including a normal state in which communication processing is executed and a sleep state in which communication processing is stopped to reduce power consumption; & [0020]: (i) a normal state (awake), with a clock circuit operating; transition into the normal state when power is started; and/or transition into the normal state when a sleep condition is not satisfied);
switches to the second mode (sleep state) in a case where no communication is performed in the first mode ([0018]: each ECU 1 has, i.e., operates in, a plurality of states including a normal state in which communication processing is executed and a sleep state in which communication processing is stopped to reduce power consumption; & [0022]: (iii) a sleep permitted state, that transitions to a sleep state after a lapse of time);
switches to the third mode ([0022]: (iii) a sleep permitted state) in a case where a state in which no communication is performed in the second mode continues for a first predetermined period of time ([0019]: the predetermined sleep condition is set for each ECU 1, such as when an accessory switch is turned off and a predetermined time or more has elapsed; & [0023]: (iv) a sleep state: transition into the sleep state when power supply to the microcontroller is lost; the clock circuit may be turned OFF in the sleep state; and a sub clock may remain ON (or be turned ON) in the sleep state); and
stops at least a part of the process associated with the communication in the third mode ([0018]: a sleep state in which communication processing is stopped to reduce power consumption).
Tokunaga do not explicitly disclose
the at least one transceiver:
switches between two of multiple states including a normal state in which a predetermined function of the at least one slave transceiver is in an operation state and a sleep state in which the predetermined function of the at least one slave transceiver is in a stopped state, thereby operating in one of the multiple states; and
switches to the sleep state in a case where the at least one transceiver detects a communication disabled state, in which the communication with the communication device is disabled, in a state where the controller is operating in the third mode.
However, Khazanov discloses
the at least one transceiver:
switches between two of multiple states including a normal state in which a predetermined function of the at least one slave transceiver is in an operation state and a sleep state in which the predetermined function of the at least one slave transceiver is in a stopped state, thereby operating in one of the multiple states ([0026]: when operating in the low-power/”sleep” mode, the main transceiver 203 and the device electronic processor 211 are both either disabled or operating in a reduced-power state limiting or preventing the wireless device 201 from providing its full functionality; in turn, the device electronic processor 211 generates a signal to activate the main transceiver 203; once activated, the wireless device 201 is capable of its full functional operation including two-way communication with the wireless router 111); and
switches to the sleep state in a state where the controller is operating in the third mode ([0026]: when operating in the low-power/”sleep” mode, the main transceiver 203 and the device electronic processor 211 are both either disabled or operating in a reduced-power state limiting or preventing the wireless device 201 from providing its full functionality).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of Khazanov to Tokunaga, because Tokunaga discloses each node operates in a plurality of states ([0018]) and Khazanov further suggests when operating in sleep mode, transceiver and processor are both operating in a reduced-power state ([0026]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Khazanov in the Tokunaga system in order to save resources.
Tokunaga and Khazanov do not explicitly disclose
receives, in the normal state, detection signals repeatedly transmitted from the master communication device and transmits, to the master communication device, response signals in response to the detection signals.
However, Laroia discloses
receives, in the normal state, detection signals repeatedly transmitted from the master communication device and transmits, to the master communication device, response signals in response to the detection signals ([0021]: during the on state, the base station and mobile node exchange timing control signals using one or more dedicated control channels allowing the mobile node to periodically adjust its transmission timing, e.g., symbol timing, to take into consideration changes in distance and other factors which might cause the transmitted signals to drift timing from the base station’s perspective, with the signals transmitted by other mobile nodes); and
switches to the sleep state in a case where the at least one slave transceiver detects a communication disabled state ([0077]: the mobile node 14 can transition into the sleep state 408, e.g., in response to user input, a period of inactivity, or a signal from the base station 12, from any of the other supported states; a period of inactivity corresponds to a communication disabled state, in which transmission of the detection signals from the master communication device is not performed for a second predetermined period of time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of Laroia to Tokunaga and Khazanov, because Tokunaga and Khazanov disclose a node operates in sleep state (Tokunaga: [0018]) and Laroia further suggests exchange signals between devices ([0021]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Laroia in the Tokunaga and Khazanov system in order to provide informative system
Tokunaga, Khazanov, and Laroia do not explicitly disclose
switches to the sleep state in a case where the at least one slave transceiver detects a communication disabled state, in which transmission of the detection signals from the master communication device is not performed for a second predetermined period of time.
However, Sugitachi discloses
switches to the sleep state in a case where the at least one slave transceiver detects a communication disabled state, in which transmission of the detection signals from the master communication device is not performed for a second predetermined period of time ([0005]: if the node switches to the sleep mode automatically upon detection that the master station stops communication for a predetermined continuous time period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of Sugitachi to Tokunaga, Khazanov, and Laroia, because Tokunaga, Khazanov, Laroia disclose a node operates in sleep state (Tokunaga: [0018]) and Sugitachi further suggests switch to sleep mode automatically upon detection that the master station stops communication for a predetermined continuous time period ([0005]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Sugitachi in the Tokunaga, Khazanov, and Laroia system in order to save resources.
Regarding claim 5, Tokunaga, Khazanov, Laroia, and Sugitachi disclose the electronic control device as described in claim 1. Tokunaga further discloses
A control system comprising a plurality of the electronic control devices according to claim 1, wherein
the plurality of the electronic control devices are configured to function as nodes of an in-vehicle network of the vehicle ([0017]: a communication system 10 shown in FIG. 1 includes a plurality of electronic control devices (hereinafter referred to as “ECUs”) 1a, 1b, 1c, 1d (hereinafter, also referred to collectively as ECU 1 when individual ECUs are not distinguished) mounted on a vehicle),
each of the plurality of the electronic control devices is configured to communicate with an adjacent one of the plurality of the electronic control devices within the in-vehicle network (FIG. 1 & [0017]: the plurality of ECUs 1 are connected to a communication bus 9 to constitute an in-vehicle network, and perform mutual communication according to a CAN protocol via the communication bus 9), and
the adjacent one of the plurality of the electronic control devices corresponds to the master communication device ([0017]: the plurality of ECUs 1 are connected to a communication bus 9 to constitute an in-vehicle network, and perform mutual communication according to a CAN protocol via the communication bus 9; that is, in the communication system 10, each of the plurality of ECUs 1 functions as a node, that is, serves a communication device).
Regarding claims 3, 6 and 7, the limitations of claims 3, 6 and 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Claim(s) 2, 4, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokunaga in view of Khazanov, in view of Laroia, in view of Sugitachi, and further in view of Oh (US 2008/0039154 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Tokunaga, Khazanov, Laroia, and Sugitachi disclose the electronic control device as described in claim 1. Tokunaga, Khazanov, Laroia, and Sugitachi further disclose
detects that the master communication device is in the communication disabled state and then switches to the sleep state in a case where the response to the sleep signal is not received for a third predetermined period of time from the master communication device (Tokunaga: [0018]: each ECU 1 has, i.e., operates in, a plurality of states including a normal state in which communication processing is executed and a sleep state in which communication processing is stopped to reduce power consumption; & Khazanov: [0026]: when operating in the low-power/”sleep” mode, the main transceiver 203 and the device electronic processor 211 are both either disabled or operating in a reduced-power state limiting or preventing the wireless device 201 from providing its full functionality; & Sugitachi: [0005]: the node switches to the sleep mode automatically upon detection that the master station stops communication for a predetermined continuous time period).
Tokunaga, Khazanov, Laroia, and Sugitachi do not explicitly disclose
transmits a sleep signal to the master communication device to notify the master communication device that the at least one slave transceiver is going to switch to the sleep state in a case where the slave controller is operating in the third mode;
switches to the sleep state in a case where a response to the sleep signal is received from the master communication device.
However, Oh discloses
transmits a sleep signal to the master communication device to notify the master communication device that the at least one slave transceiver is going to switch to the sleep state ([0021]: maintain the communication unit in a sleep mode if the mode-setting value is a first mode value (negative), and perform control such that the communication unit is switched to a normal mode if the mode-setting value is a second mode value (positive)) in a case where the slave controller is operating in the third mode ([0055]: if a communication service is not used, the terminal 100 transmits a sleep request message MOB_SLP-REQ to the base station 110 through the RF transceiver unit 122 in order to switch the portable Internet unit 120 of the terminal 100 to the sleep mode);
switches to the sleep state in a case where a response to the sleep signal is received from the master communication device ([0056]: the base station 110 determines whether to approve the transmitted sleep request message MOB_SLP-REQ and transmits a sleep response message MOB_SLP-RSP to the terminal 110 in order to switch the portable Internet unit 120 to the sleep mode; & [0057]: in response thereto, the terminal 100 switches the portable Internet unit 120 to the sleep mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the feature of Oh to Tokunaga, Khazanov, Laroia, and Sugitachi, because Tokunaga, Khazanov, Laroia, and Sugitachi disclose a node operates in sleep state (Tokunaga: [0018]) and Oh further suggests switch to sleep mode after receiving sleep response message ([0056]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Oh in the Tokunaga, Khazanov, Laroia, and Sugitachi system in order to ensure synchronized communication.
Regarding claims 4, 8 and 9, the limitations of claims 4, 8 and 9 are rejected in the analysis of claim 2 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gollnick et al. (US 7,826,818 B2). If the node does not receive a message within a second timed interval, the node switches from the active state to the low power state; and if the node receives a message within the second timed interval, the node remains in the active state for at least a third timed interval different from the second timed interval.
Kawamoto (US 2009/0063879 A1). In the ready-to-receive state S203, the receiving node sends a ready-to-receive signal S301 and waits for a predetermined time to receive an acknowledging signal or ACK signal S302; if no ACK signal S302 is received within the predetermined time in the ready-to-receive state S203, the receiving node makes a transition S207 directly to the sleep state S201 (0025-0026]).
Oyama et al. (US 2014/0075228 A1). Terminal device receives sleep response may transition to the sleep state for the predetermined period of time contained in a response ([0049]).
Sasaki et al. (US 2014/0047255 A1). Each ECU transitions its own communication controller and transceiver to power-saving mode, thereby transitioning from a “normal state” to a “power-saving state”, to suppress power consumption of the overall system ([0007]).
Aoki (US 2010/0195557 A1). Child node transitions into the sleep state after confirming successful reception of the data frame by parent node by receiving the ACK ([0068]).
Taniuchi et al. (US 2010/0142426 A1). When wireless terminal is switched to the power-saving mode, the controller transmits a power-saving request message to the wireless base station; the data processor of the wireless base station receives the power-saving request message and updates the table so that the mode of the wireless terminal from which the power-saving request message is transmitted is switched to the power-saving mode, and then transmits a power-saving response message to the wireless terminal; the controller of the wireless terminal receives the power-saving response message and switches its mode to the power-saving mode.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Kaylee Huang
03/13/2026
/KAYLEE J HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447