DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, and further, Species I (FIG. 2K, claims 1-10, and 12-15) in the reply filed on 9/16/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 11, and 21-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/16/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: element 155E. See, for example, paragraph [0031] of the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the base layer" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In lines 1-3 of claim 2, the applicant states “wherein the exposed portion of the base layer is a first edge of the base semiconductor layer and a second edge of the base semiconductor layer,”; however, it is unclear how the applicant is defining the term “edge” since it appears the “first edge” and “second edge” are actually the same “edge.” Appropriate clarification and/or correction are required. The same applies to claim 3, which also contains the term “edge.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In view of the 112 rejection above, claim(s) 1 thru 5, 7 thru 10, and 13 thru 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by More et al. US 2022/0392894 A2. More discloses (see, for example, FIG. 2H) a semiconductor structure comprising: a channel layer 120 disposed over a substrate 105; a source/drain 150 adjacent to the channel layer 120’, wherein the source/drain 150 includes: a base semiconductor layer 105P’ having a first composition, wherein the base semiconductor layer 105P’ is disposed in the substrate 105, an insulator layer 148’disposed on the base semiconductor layer 105P’, wherein the insulator layer 148’ includes at least one break (i.e. corner region between the insulator layer 148’ and the structure 152) therein that exposes a portion of the base semiconductor layer 105P’, a first semiconductor layer 154A having a second composition, wherein the first semiconductor layer 154A is disposed on the channel layer 120’ and the exposed portion of the base semiconductor layer 105P’, and a second semiconductor layer 156A having a third composition, wherein the second semiconductor layer 156A is disposed on the insulator layer 148’ and the first semiconductor layer 154A and further wherein the third composition, the second composition, and the first composition are different. In paragraph [0013], and [0047], More discloses the third composition of the second semiconductor layer 156A, second composition of the first semiconductor layer 154A, and the first composition of the base semiconductor layer 105P’ being different with other materials, concentrations, and/or dopants. Also see FIG. 4C, which shows another embodiment that also discloses the above limitations.
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, FIG. 2H, and 4C wherein More discloses the
exposed portion of the base layer being a first edge of the base semiconductor layer 105P’ and a second edge of the base semiconductor layer 105P’, wherein the insulator layer 148’ covers a center of the base semiconductor layer 105P’ that extends from the first edge to the second edge. The right side of the insulator 148’ approximately covers the center of the exposed portion of the base semiconductor layer 105P’. Also see the 112 rejection above.
Regarding claim 3, see, for example, FIG. 2H, and 4C wherein More discloses the exposed portion of the base semiconductor layer 105P being a center of the base semiconductor layer that extends from a first edge of the base semiconductor layer 105P and a second edge of the base semiconductor layer 105P, wherein the insulator layer 148’ covers the first edge and the second edge of the base semiconductor layer 105P. Also see the 112 rejection above.
Regarding claim 4, see, for example, paragraph [0013], and [0047] wherein More discloses the base semiconductor layer includes an undoped semiconductor material; the first semiconductor layer includes a first doped semiconductor material; and the second semiconductor layer includes a second doped semiconductor material.
Regarding claim 5, see, for example, paragraph [0047] wherein More discloses the first doped semiconductor material and the second doped semiconductor material each include silicon and germanium; and a first germanium concentration in the first doped semiconductor material is less a second germanium concentration in the second doped semiconductor material.
Regarding claim 7, see, for example, paragraph [0029] wherein More discloses the insulator layer includes metal and oxygen, nitrogen, carbon, or combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, FIG. 2H, and 4C wherein More discloses the base semiconductor layer 105P’ and the insulator layer 148’ being disposed below the channel layer 120’.
Regarding claim 9, see, for example, FIG. 4C wherein More discloses a device structure comprising: a source/drain structure 150 that includes: an undoped epitaxial layer 152 disposed in a semiconductor mesa 105P’; an insulator layer 148’ disposed on a top surface of the undoped epitaxial layer 152, wherein the insulator layer 148’ covers a first portion (i.e. left border side of the undoped epitaxial layer 152) of the top surface of the undoped epitaxial layer 152; and a doped epitaxial layer 154/156 disposed on the insulator layer 148’and the top surface of the undoped epitaxial layer 152, wherein the doped epitaxial layer 154/156 covers a second portion of the top surface of the undoped epitaxial layer.
Regarding claim 10, see, for example, FIG. 4C wherein More discloses the top surface of the undoped epitaxial layer 152 being recessed.
Regarding claim 13, see, for example, FIG. 4C wherein More discloses the first portion being edge portions of the top surface, and the second portion being a center portion of the top surface.
Regarding claim 14, see, for example, FIG. 4C wherein More discloses the insulator layer 148’ being disposed at least partially above a top surface of the semiconductor mesa.
Regarding claim 15, see, for example, FIG. 4C wherein More discloses the doped epitaxial layer includes a first doped epitaxial layer 154 and a second doped epitaxial layer 156, wherein the first doped epitaxial layer 154 being disposed between the second doped epitaxial layer 156 and the second portion of the top surface of the undoped epitaxial layer 152.
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 12 thru 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by More US 2023/0299138 A1.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
More discloses (see, for example, FIG. 5C) a device structure comprising: a source/drain structure 402 that includes: an undoped epitaxial layer 502 disposed in a semiconductor mesa 318; an insulator layer 524 disposed on a top surface of the undoped epitaxial layer 502, wherein the insulator layer 524 covers a first portion of the top surface of the undoped epitaxial layer 502; and a doped epitaxial layer 514a disposed on the insulator layer 524 and the top surface of the undoped epitaxial layer 502, wherein the doped epitaxial layer 514a covers a second portion of the top surface of the undoped epitaxial layer.
Regarding claim 10, see, for example, FIG. 5C wherein More discloses the top surface of the undoped epitaxial layer 502 being recessed.
Regarding claim 12, see, for example, FIG. 5C wherein More discloses the first portion being a center portion of the top surface, and the second portion is edge portions of the top surface.
Regarding claim 13, see, for example, FIG. 5C wherein More discloses the first portion being edge portions of the top surface, and the second portion being a center portion of the top surface.
Regarding claim 14, see, for example, FIG. 5C wherein More discloses the insulator layer 524 being disposed at least partially above a top surface of the semiconductor mesa 318.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More et al. US 2022/0392894 A1 as applied to claims 1-5, 7-9, and 12-15 above, and further in view of Chu et al. US 2022/0069135 A1. More does not disclose the insulator layer includes metal and oxygen, nitrogen, carbon, or combinations thereof. However, Chu discloses (see, for example, FIG. 13A) a semiconductor structure 200 comprising an insulator layer 234. In paragraph [0025], Chu discloses the insulator layer includes materials such as metal oxides. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have the insulator layer includes metal and oxygen, nitrogen, carbon, or combinations thereof in order to have a material that adequately separates the channel layers, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
October 28, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815