DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHEN (CN 102777002 A)
Claim 1: Chen teaches a composite plate which is equivalent to the claimed “construction panel” comprising a base material layer, a wood veneer layer, a panel layer and a surface layer (Chen, para. 0008). Chen teaches the base material layer being a magnesium oxide plate, and the base plate comprises a first surface and a second surface, each surface is uniformly coated with adhesive (Chen, para. 00090, thus the base material layer or magnesium oxide plate of Chen is equivalent to the claimed third layer of “panel of fire-retardant material”. The coating adhesive is glue and is adhered to the magnesium oxide layer by hot pressing (Chen, para. 0021 and 0027), thus the coating adhesive layer is equivalent to the claimed second layer of “hot-melt material”; and accordingly, the wood veneer layer of Chen is equivalent to the claimed first layer of “panel substrate”.
Claims 2-3: As stated in claim 1, the wood veneer layer of Chen is equivalent to the claimed substrate, and as wood veneer is formed by particle board or engineered wood or a mix of composite and real wood, the wood veneer is a fiber composite.
Claim 4: The base material layer of Chen, which is equivalent to the claimed “fire-retardant layer” as stated in claim 1 above, comprises magnesium oxide (Chen, para. 0009), which is the claimed retardant material.
Claims 10-12: See claims 1-3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Bado (US-2024/0278456).
Claim 5: Chen teaches the claimed construction board as discussed above. Chen uses magnesium oxide instead of magnesium oxychloride as the fire-retardant agent. Bado teaches transforming magnesium hydroxide inside wood into magnesium oxychloride as magnesium oxychloride not only provide fire-resistance but also moisture resistance (Bado, para. 0036). In light of Bado’s teaching, the POSITA would have found it obvious to incorporate magnesium oxychloride (MOC) as the fire-retardant material into the construction panels of Chen.
Claim 6: Claim 6 is a product claim; therefore, how the layer is attached is not given any patentable weight absence of showing the process limitation as claimed would have resulted in a product different from the product taught by the prior art.
Claim 7: Chen teaches a surface layer as discussed in claim 1 above, the surface layer comprises a melamine dipping paper (Chen, para. 013), and thus the surface layer is equivalent to the claimed paper layer finishing.
Claim 8: Chen teaches the surface layer is provided with patterns (Chen, para. 0013) which is essentially wallpaper.
Claim 9: Chen teaches the composite board be used in “building decoration field” and thus the surface layer which comprises of paper (see claim 7 above) could be used as ceiling paper.
Claim 13: Chen teaches the composite board be used in “building decoration field” and thus the surface layer, which comprises of natural wood (Chen, para. 0013) could be used as floor covering.
/HOA (Holly) LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788