Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DIRECT POWER MODULE COOLING WITH A PLURALITY OF FRAME BODIES AND A COOLANT DISCHARGED DIRECTLY ON A BUS BAR ASSEMBLY.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the at least one first jet orifice configured to receive coolant at a first end of the at least one first jet orifice and discharge the coolant at a second end opposite the first end”, to avoid antecedent issues, the claim limitations should be changed to read “the at least one first jet orifice configured to receive a coolant at a first end of the at least one first jet orifice and discharge the coolant at a second end opposite the first end”.
Claim 4 recites “discharge the coolant at a second end opposite the first end”, to avoid 112 issue and indefiniteness due to unclear issues, the claim limitations should be changed to read “discharge the coolant at a second end opposite the first end of the at least one second jet orifice”.
Claim 7 recites “at least one die of the first plurality of dies that is configured increase heat transfer efficiency between the coolant and the first bus bar and increase heat spreading”, to avoid confusion and for clarity, the claim limitations should be changed to read “at least one die of the first plurality of dies that is configured to increase heat transfer efficiency between the coolant and the first bus bar and increase heat spreading”.
Claim 14 recites “wherein the first jet orifice is configured to discharge coolant from the outlet directly onto the first bus bar so as to reduce an operating temperature of the first bus bar”, to avoid antecedent issues, the claim limitations should be changed to read “wherein the first jet orifice is configured to discharge a coolant from the outlet directly onto the first bus bar so as to reduce an operating temperature of the first bus bar”.
Claim 20 recites “directing coolant to a first end of the at least one first jet orifice”, to avoid antecedent issues, the claim limitations should be changed to read “directing a coolant to a first end of the at least one first jet orifice”.
Claim 2-13 are also objected to since they depend on Claim 1 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Claim 15-19 are also objected to since they depend on Claim 14 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recite “wherein the at least one of the upper and lower frame bodies including at least one first jet orifice is the upper frame body”, Claim 4 is rendered indefinite as it is unclear what the claim limitation is trying to claim,.
Claim 16-18 recites “large opening”, the term “large” in claim 16-18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “large” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There are no parameter, quantitative information or specification information in the what dimension or measurement of the opening needs to be for the opening to be considered “large” and the distinct feature or characteristic for the “large” opening relative to other openings of the power module assembly.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the at least one of the upper and lower frame bodies including at least one first jet orifice”, this claim limitations is previously recited in Claim 1, lines 3-4 and would be considered duplication of claim limitation and the claim limitation is not further limiting than what is recited in Claim 1, the Examiner suggest changing the Claim to read “furthercomprising a first vapor outlet”
Claim 4 recites “wherein the at least one of the upper and lower frame bodies including at least one first jet orifice”, this claim limitations is previously recited in Claim 1, lines 3-4 and would be considered duplication of claim limitation and the claim limitation is not further limiting than what is recited in Claim 1, the Examiner notes the claim limitations is unclear as to what the Applicant is trying to claim and is unable to provide a suggestion for amending the claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 14-16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by MORENO et al. (US 2022/0225546 - hereinafter, "Moreno").
With respect to Claim 1, Moreno teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
A power module assembly (100), comprising
a frame assembly (105, see Figure 1) including
an upper frame body (portion of frame assembly (105) where 115a is attached, see Figure 1) and a lower frame body (portion of frame assembly (105) where 115b is attached, see Figure 1) coupled to the upper frame body (portion of frame assembly (105) where 115a is attached, see Figure 1),
at least one of the upper and lower frame bodies (see Figure 2) including at least one first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A) formed therethrough,
the at least one first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A) configured to receive a coolant (fluid) at a first end (end of 130a where 135 is located, see Figure 6A) of the at least one first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A) and discharge the coolant (fluid) at a second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A) opposite the first end (end of 130a where 135 is located, see Figure 6A),
the upper and lower frame bodies (see Figure 2) at least partially defining a chamber (see Figure 2, internal cavity wherein 110+125+130 reside) therebetween, and
a bus bar assembly (110a+110b) arranged in the chamber (see Figure 2, internal cavity wherein 110+125+130 reside) and including a first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)) arranged adjacent to the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A) of the at least one first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A),
wherein the at least one first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A) is configured to discharge the coolant (fluid, in paragraph [0005], “a manifold positioned within the housing, wherein the power electronics module includes a first side and a second side, the manifold is configured to direct the fluid to contact the first side and the second side, and the fluid is configured to contact the power electronics module and the electrical connection inside the housing”) directly onto the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)) so as to reduce an operating temperature (in paragraph [0063], “The electrical connections 110 may contact the fluid directly, to allow for heat removal from the electrical connections 110 to the fluid”) of the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)).
With respect to Claim 2, Moreno further teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
wherein the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)) extends at least partially away from the chamber (see Figure 2, internal cavity wherein 110+125+130 reside) and is exposed to an outside environment (see Figure 1) such that at least a portion of the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)) is configured to electrically connect to an external electronic device (in paragraph [0055], “The substantially cylindrical electrical connections 110b may be bolted, welded, screwed, soldered, sintered, or glued to the power electronics module 125 and may provide an electrical connection to the motor of the vehicle”).
With respect to Claim 3, Moreno further teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
further comprising a first vapor outlet (115b) formed as an opening (140b) therein, and
wherein a first portion of the coolant (fluid) is configured to flow from the at least one first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A), over and around the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)), transfer heat from the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)) to the coolant (fluid), and subsequently flow away from the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)) and the at least one of the upper and lower frame bodies (see Figure 1) via the first vapor outlet (115b).
With respect to Claim 4, Moreno further teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
wherein the at least one of the upper and lower frame bodies (see Figure 2) including at least one first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A) is the upper frame body (see Figure 2), and
wherein the lower frame body (portion of frame assembly (105) where 115b is attached, see Figure 1) includes at least one second jet orifice (150 of (130b), see Figure 6A) configured to receive the coolant (fluid) at a first end (end of 130b where 135 is located, see Figure 6A) of the at least one second jet orifice (150 of (130b), see Figure 6A) and discharge the coolant (fluid) at a second end (distal end of 130b opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A) opposite the first end (end of 130b where 135 is located, see Figure 6A) of the at least one second jet orifice (150 of (130b), see Figure 6A).
With respect to Claim 5, Moreno further teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
wherein the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)) is arranged adjacent (nearby) to the second end (distal end of 130b opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A) of the at least one second jet orifice (150 of (130b), see Figure 6A), and
wherein the at least one second jet orifice (150 of (130b), see Figure 6A) is configured to discharge the coolant (fluid) directly onto the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)) at a second location (surface of first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end) that faces (150) of (130b)) different than a first location (surface of first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end) that faces (150) of (130a)) at which the at least one first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A) is configured to discharge the coolant (fluid).
With respect to Claim 6, Moreno further teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
wherein the bus bar assembly (110) further includes a second bus bar (110a) arranged adjacent (nearby) to the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)), and
wherein the at least one second jet orifice (150 of (130b), see Figure 6A) is configured to discharge the coolant (coolant) directly onto the second bus bar (110a) so as to reduce an operating temperature (in paragraph [0063], “The electrical connections 110 may contact the fluid directly, to allow for heat removal from the electrical connections 110 to the fluid”) of the second bus bar (110a).
With respect to Claim 7, Moreno further teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
wherein the bus bar assembly (110) further includes a second bus bar (110a) arranged adjacent (nearby) to the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)), and
wherein the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)) is a DC + bus bar (110b, in paragraph [0055], “The substantially planar electrical connections 110b may be direct current (DC) or alternating current (AC) connections”) and the second bus bar (110a) is an output bus bar (in paragraph [0056], “In some embodiments, the electrical connections 110 may connect the power electronics module 125 to other parts of the vehicle which require power, such as the air conditioning system, navigation system, radio/sound system, or a display system and to the vehicle's battery and/or capacitor. The electrical connections 110 may be made with a substantially conductive material, so as to transfer electricity (i.e., energy) to other parts of the vehicle”),
wherein the DC + bus bar (110b) includes a first plurality of dies (125, in paragraph [0003], “The power electronics module (or semiconductor power module) is the key power electronics component in most hybrid and electric vehicles. Examples of power electronics modules include insulated-gate bipolar transistors modules (IGBT modules), diodes, or metal-oxide semiconductor field effect transistors modules (MOSFET modules). The power electronics module, found in the inverter, distributes energy throughout the hybrid or electric vehicle”) arranged on an upper surface of the DC + bus bar (110b), and
wherein the bus bar assembly (110) further includes at least one thermally conductive block (120, in paragraph [0052], “A molding 120 extends through the thickness 107 and contact at least a portion of the power electronics module 125 inside the housing 105. At least one electrical connection 110a extends through the molding 120 and contacts at least a portion of the power electronics module 125” and in paragraph [0054], “In some embodiments, the molding 120 may contact both sides of the power electronics module 125. In some embodiments, the molding 120 may encompass the power electronics module 125 (i.e., contact all sides of the power electronics module 125) as shown in FIG. 4A.” and in paragraph [00], “In some embodiments, the molding 120 may be made of a substantially dielectric or insulative material, such as plastic, ceramic, fiberglass, composite, epoxy, rubber, or a mixture thereof.”) arranged above and soldered to at least one die (at least one die (125) of the plurality of dies (125)) of the first plurality of dies (125) that is configured to increase heat transfer efficiency between the coolant (fluid) and the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)) and increase heat spreading.
With respect to Claim 8, Moreno further teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
wherein the at least one thermally conductive block (120) includes at least one surface enhancement including one or more of extended surfaces (see Figure 4A, thermally conductive block (120) is elongated providing extended surfaces comparable to the surface area of at least one die (125)), porous coatings, or increased surface roughness in order to increase heat transfer efficiency between the coolant (fluid) and the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)).
With respect to Claim 9, Moreno further teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
wherein at least one of an upper surface (surface of first bus bar (110b) that faces (130a) and the orifice (150) of (130a)) of the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)) or a lower surface (surface of first bus bar (110b) that faces (130b) and the orifice (150) of (130b)) of the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)) opposite the upper surface (surface of first bus bar (110b) that faces (130a) and the orifice (150) of (130a)) is arranged adjacent to and faces the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)) of the at least one first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A), and
wherein the at least one of an upper surface (surface of first bus bar (110b) that faces (130a) and the orifice (150) of (130a)) or the lower surface includes at least one surface enhancement including one or more of extended surfaces (the cylindrical connection of (110b) increases the surface area of the first bus bar (110b)), porous coatings, or increased surface roughness in order to increase heat transfer efficiency between the coolant (fluid) and the first bus bar (a (110b) located at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A)).
With respect to Claim 10, Moreno further teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
wherein the lower frame body (portion of frame assembly (105) where 115b is attached, see Figure 1) includes a bottom surface (the bottom wall wherein first bus bar (110b) extends through, see Figure 1 and 7A) and bottom walls (the four walls that extend from the bottom surface (the bottom wall wherein first bus bar (110b) extends through), see Figure 1 and 7A) extending around a perimeter of the bottom surface (the bottom wall wherein first bus bar (110b) extends through, see Figure 1 and 7A).
With respect to Claim 14, Moreno teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
A power module assembly (100), comprising
a frame assembly (105) including a first frame body (portion of frame assembly (105) where 115a is attached, see Figure 1) including a first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A) formed therethrough and a second frame body (portion of frame assembly (105) where 115b is attached, see Figure 1) coupled to the first frame body (portion of frame assembly (105) where 115a is attached, see Figure 1); and
a bus bar assembly (110) arranged at least partially within the second frame body (portion of frame assembly (105) where 115b is attached, see Figure 1) and including a first bus bar (110b) arranged adjacent to an outlet (150) of the first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A),
wherein the first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A) is configured to discharge coolant (fluid) from the outlet (150) directly onto the first bus bar (110b) so as to reduce an operating temperature (in paragraph [0063], “The electrical connections 110 may contact the fluid directly, to allow for heat removal from the electrical connections 110 to the fluid”) of the first bus bar (110b).
With respect to Claim 15, Moreno further teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
wherein the first bus bar (110b) extends at least partially away from the second frame body (portion of frame assembly (105) where 115b is attached, see Figure 1) and is exposed to an outside environment such that at least a portion of the first bus bar (110b) is configured to electrically connect to an external electronic device (in paragraph [0055], “The substantially cylindrical electrical connections 110b may be bolted, welded, screwed, soldered, sintered, or glued to the power electronics module 125 and may provide an electrical connection to the motor of the vehicle”).
With respect to Claim 16, Moreno further teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
wherein the second frame body (portion of frame assembly (105) where 115b is attached, see Figure 1) defines a large opening (see Figure 2, internal cavity wherein 110+125+130 reside) within which the bus bar assembly (110) is housed.
With respect to Claim 18, Moreno further teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
wherein the first bus bar (110b) is arranged entirely within the large opening (see Figure 2, internal cavity wherein 110+125+130 reside), and
wherein the bus bar assembly (110) further includes a second bus bar (110a) arranged adjacent to the first bus bar (110b) and arranged entirely within the large opening (see Figure 2, internal cavity wherein 110+125+130 reside), and
wherein the bus bar assembly (110, in paragraph [0055], “In some embodiments, the electrical connections 110 may include a substantially planar electrical connection 110a (i.e., a busbar) and/or a substantially cylindrical electrical connection 110b”) further includes a first bus bar extension (cylindrical connection of (110b)) coupled to and extending away from the first bus bar (110b, see Figure 4A) and a second bus bar extension (planar connection of (110a)) coupled to and extending away from the second bus bar (110a, see Figure 4A).
With respect to Claim 20, Moreno teaches (in Figure 1-6B)
A method, comprising
coupling a lower frame body (portion of frame assembly (105) where 115b is attached, see Figure 1) to an upper frame body (portion of frame assembly (105) where 115a is attached, see Figure 1) to form a frame assembly (105), the upper and lower frame bodies (see Figure 1-2) at least partially defining a chamber (see Figure 2, internal cavity wherein 110+125+130 reside) therebetween, forming at least one first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A) through at least one of the upper and lower frame bodies (see Figure 1-2),
directing coolant (fluid) to a first end (end of 130a where 135 is located, see Figure 6A) of the at least one first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A), arranging a bus bar assembly (110) in the chamber (see Figure 2, internal cavity wherein 110+125+130 reside), the bus bar assembly (110) including a first bus bar (110b) arranged adjacent to a second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A) of the at least one first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A) opposite the first end (end of 130a where 135 is located, see Figure 6A), and
discharging the coolant (fluid) at the second end (distal end of 130a opposite of where 135 is located, see Figure 6A) of the at least one first jet orifice (150 of (130a), see Figure 6A) directly onto the first bus bar (110b) so as to reduce an operating temperature (in paragraph [0063], “The electrical connections 110 may contact the fluid directly, to allow for heat removal from the electrical connections 110 to the fluid”) of the first bus bar (110b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to Claim 11-13, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent Claim 11 and at least in part because Claim 11 recites
“wherein the upper frame body includes an upper surface and upper walls extending around a perimeter of the upper surface, wherein the upper walls, the upper surface, the bottom walls, and the bottom surface define the chamber within which the bus bar assembly is arranged, and wherein the at least one first jet orifice and the first vapor outlet extend through the upper surface”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of Claim 11 are believed to render said Claim 11 and all claims dependent therefrom (Claims 12-13) patentable over the art of record.
While Moreno teaches many of the limitations of Claim 11 as the above rejection of Claim 10, neither Moreno nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of Claim 11.
With respect to Claim 17, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent Claim 17 and at least in part because Claim 17 recites
“wherein the frame assembly further includes a third frame body, and wherein the first frame body and the third frame body are arranged on opposing sides of the second frame body so as to enclose the large opening and define a chamber therewithin”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of Claim 17 are believed to render said Claim 17 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
While Moreno teaches many of the limitations of Claim 17 as the above rejection of Claim 16, neither Moreno nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of Claim 17.
With respect to Claim 19, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent Claim 19 and at least in part because Claim 19 recites
“wherein at least a portion of the first bus bar extension extends through a first wall of the second frame body, and wherein at least a portion of the second bus bar extension extends through a second wall of the second frame body opposite the first wall”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of Claim 19 are believed to render said Claim 19 and all claims dependent therefrom patentable over the art of record.
While Moreno teaches many of the limitations of Claim 19 as the above rejection of Claim 18, neither Moreno nor any other art of record – either alone or in combination – teach or suggest the above-mentioned limitations of Claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0420901 to Kapusta et al. which teaches an apparatus for connecting an electronic component to a conductor. A housing includes at least one slot and defines at least one component chamber for carrying the electronic component. A liquid coolant can pass through the housing. A pair of conductive members extends from the housing through the at least one slot and can be releasably inserted into a channel defined in a support assembly.
US 2022/0230938 to Coppola et al., which teaches a vascular jet cooling system for use with a planar power module and a coolant supply includes a manifold housing and one or more jet impingement plates. The manifold housing is constructed of a dielectric polymer molding material, and defines a coolant inlet port configured to fluidly connect to the coolant supply, an internal cavity in fluid communication with the coolant inlet port and containing the power module, and a coolant outlet port in fluid communication with the internal cavity. The jet impingement plate(s) is arranged in the internal cavity. Openings of the plates direct coolant passing through the coolant inlet port onto a respective major surface of the power module. A power module assembly includes a planar power module and the vascular jet cooling system.
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841