DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the microreactors mentioned (see spec., page 4, para. [0019]-[0021]), but not shown or referenced (details not shown) for proper understanding of the invention;
As to claims 1-20, the phrase (see claims 1, 8, 15), “A three-phase power converter, the three-phase power converter comprising: a converter circuit coupleable to an alternator, the converter circuit to couple to the alternator:
a first voltage at a first amplitude and a first phase; a second voltage at a second amplitude and a second phase; and a third voltage at a third amplitude and a third phase are not shown and referenced in applicants relative figs. 3A thru 7C).
the converter circuit comprising a combiner circuit, the combiner circuit comprising: a plurality of alternator gate drivers; and a plurality of grid gate drivers;
a high voltage DC link coupled to the plurality of alternator gate drivers and the plurality of grid gate drivers; and
a control circuit to: receive the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases from the alternator; control the plurality of alternator gate drivers and the plurality of grid gate drivers to combine the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases; and output an output voltage at an amplitude and a phase based on the combination of the first, second, and third voltages are not clear as the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases are not shown. How the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases are combined are not shown.
The combiner circuit 136 is shown in fig.7B, but not clear what the combine circuit 136 is? and how the combine circuit 136 combine the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases.
Therefore, the claimed subject-matter must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: As to claims 1-20, the phrase (see claims 1, 8, 15 and spec., page 7, para’s [0034]-[0035], page 11, [0058]), “A three-phase power converter, the three-phase power converter comprising: a converter circuit coupleable to an alternator, the converter circuit to couple to the alternator:
a first voltage at a first amplitude and a first phase; a second voltage at a second amplitude and a second phase; and a third voltage at a third amplitude and a third phase; (not shown and referenced in applicants relative figs. 3A thru 7C).
the converter circuit comprising a combiner circuit, the combiner circuit comprising: a plurality of alternator gate drivers; and a plurality of grid gate drivers;
a high voltage DC link coupled to the plurality of alternator gate drivers and the plurality of grid gate drivers; and
a control circuit to: receive the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases from the alternator; control the plurality of alternator gate drivers and the plurality of grid gate drivers to combine the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases; and output an output voltage at an amplitude and a phase based on the combination of the first, second, and third voltages are not clear as the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases are not shown. How the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases are combined are not shown.
The combiner circuit 136 is shown in fig.7B (see spec., pge 9, para. [0044], page 13, para’s [0068]-[0070]), but not clear as to what is the combine circuit 136? and how the combiner circuit 136 combine the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1-20, the phrase (see claims 1, 8, 15 and spec., page 7, para’s [0034]-[0035], page 11, [0058]), “A three-phase power converter, the three-phase power converter comprising: a converter circuit coupleable to an alternator, the converter circuit to couple to the alternator:
a first voltage at a first amplitude and a first phase; a second voltage at a second amplitude and a second phase; and a third voltage at a third amplitude and a third phase are not shown and referenced in applicants relative figs. 3A thru 7C).
the converter circuit comprising a combiner circuit, the combiner circuit comprising: a plurality of alternator gate drivers; and a plurality of grid gate drivers;
a high voltage DC link coupled to the plurality of alternator gate drivers and the plurality of grid gate drivers; and
a control circuit to: receive the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases from the alternator; control the plurality of alternator gate drivers and the plurality of grid gate drivers to combine the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases; and output an output voltage at an amplitude and a phase based on the combination of the first, second, and third voltages are not clear as the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases are not shown. How the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases are combined are not shown and referenced.
The combiner circuit 136 is shown in fig.7B (see spec., pge 9, para. [0044], page 13, para’s [0068]-[0070]), but not clear as to what is the combiner circuit 136? and how the combiner circuit 136 combine the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases.
As to claims 1-20, an alternator 120 (fig.1) is mentioned, however alternator 120 is also shown as a motor (fig.3A, 6A-6B) and therefore not clear.
Appropriate correction and clarifications are required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Oka et al. (Pub.No.: US 2012/0033472 A1 and Oka hereinafter).
As to claim 13, A three-phase power converter, the three-phase power converter comprising:
a first pair of converters coupled to an alternator; a second pair of converters coupled to the alternator; and a third pair of converters coupled to the alternator;
wherein each pair of converters is to control a phase of three phase power based on an input voltage at a phase and an amplitude received at each converter of the pairs of converters.
(As to claim 13, Oka teaches (figs.1-12, para’s [0005], [0006], [0007]-[0008]) A three-phase power converter system 200/300 (figs.2, 3, 4-5), the three-phase power converter system 200/300 comprising:
a first pair of converters [201-1]/301-1 (incudes a set of three phase rectifiers and inverters on each motor phase, see para. [0022], [0023],[0024], [0025], [0028] figs.2-3, 5) coupled to an alternator [alternating current AC motor 102/303] (para. [0001], figs.2, 3-5); a second pair of converters 201-2/301-2 (figs.2, 3-5) coupled to the alternator [AC motor 102/303]); and a third pair of converters 201-3/301-3 coupled to the alternator [AC motor 102/303];
wherein each pair of converters [201-1/301-1 or 201-2/301-2 or 201-3/301-3] (figs.2, 3-5) is to control a phase of three phase power (via three phase power source 101/302, see figs.2, 3-4, 5-7, para’s [0040], [0043]) based on an input voltage (figs.2/3,5-7) at a phase and an amplitude Vu1/Vv1/Vw1 (Oaka teaches (see fig.2/5, para. [0022]) three phases of source 101 voltage with three different phase shifts) received at each converter of the pairs of converters [201-1/301-1 or 201-2/301-2 or 201-3/301-3]).
As to claim 14, The three-phase power converter of claim 13, wherein each of the first pair, the second pair, and the third pair of converters comprise a first converter circuit and a second converter circuit.
(As to claim 14, Oka teaches (figs.1-12, para’s [0005], [0006], [0007]-[0008]) A three-phase power converter system 200/300 (figs.2, 3, 4-5), wherein each of the first pair 201-1,/301-1 the second pair 201-2/301-2, and the third pair of converters 201-3/301-3 comprise a first converter circuit [rectifier circuit 310/310-1] and a second converter circuit [inverter circuit 311/311-1] (see figs2/3,5, para. [0022]).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claims 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 1, the prior art of record(s) (closest prior art Oka et al., Pub.No.: US 2012/0033472 A1) teaches (figs.1-12, para’s [0005], [0006], [0007]-[0008]) A three-phase power converter system 200/300 (figs.2, 3, 4-5), the three-phase power converter system 200/300 comprising:
a converter circuit 201-1/201-2/201-3 (fig.2) or a converter circuit 301-1/301-2/301-3 (figs.3-7) connected to an alternating current AC motor 102/303 (figs.2/3-5):
a first voltage at a first amplitude Vu1 and a first phase; a second voltage at a second amplitude Vv1 and a second phase; and a third voltage at a third amplitude Vw1 and a third phase (figs.2/5, (Oaka teaches (see fig.2/5, para. [0022]) three phases of source 101 voltage with three different phase shifts));
Oka teaches the converter circuit comprising a combiner circuit 501 outputs dc voltage Vdc based on input dc voltages (via X1-Y1, X2, Y2, Z2, Y2, fig.5, para’s [0029]-[0030]); and output (via C1, C2, C3) an output voltage at an amplitude [Vu1*/Vv1*/Vw1* or Vu2*, Vv2*, Vw*] (figs.5, 7) and a phase (voltages are phase shifted, see para. [0022]) based on the combination of dc voltages Vdc (fig.5, para. [0042]-[0043]). Oaka et al. teaches regeneration capability (para. [0001]).
However, As to claim 1, Oka et al., fails to teach the combiner circuit comprising: a plurality of alternator gate drivers; and a plurality of grid gate drivers; a high voltage DC link coupled to the plurality of alternator gate drivers and the plurality of grid gate drivers; and a control circuit to: receive the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases from the alternator; control the plurality of alternator gate drivers and the plurality of grid gate drivers to combine the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases.
Claims 2-7 depend on allowable claim 1.
As to claim 8, the prior art of record(s) (closest prior art Oka et al., Pub.No.: US 2012/0033472 A1) teaches (figs.1-12, para’s [0005], [0006], [0007]-[0008]) A three-phase power converter system 200/300 (figs.2, 3, 4-5), the three-phase power converter system 200/300 comprising:
a converter circuit 201-1/201-2/201-3 (fig.2) or a converter circuit 301-1/301-2/301-3 (figs.3-7) connected to an alternating current AC motor 102/303 (figs.2/3-5):
a first voltage at a first amplitude Vu1 and a first phase; a second voltage at a second amplitude Vv1 and a second phase; and a third voltage at a third amplitude Vw1 and a third phase (figs.2/5, (Oaka teaches (see fig.2/5, para. [0022]) three phases of source 101 voltage with three different phase shifts));
Oka teaches the said converter circuit (figs.2/3-5) comprising a combiner circuit 501(fig.5) outputs dc voltage Vdc based on input dc voltages (via X1-Y1, X2, Y2, Z2, Y2, fig.5, para’s [0029]-[0030]); and output (via C1, C2, C3) an output voltage at an amplitude [Vu1*/Vv1*/Vw1* or Vu2*, Vv2*, Vw*] (figs.5, 7) and a phase (voltages are phase shifted, see para. [0022]) based on the combination of dc voltages Vdc (fig.5, para. [0042]-[0043]). Oaka et al. teaches regeneration capability (para. [0001]).
However, as to claim 8, Oka et al., fails to teach the combiner circuit comprising: a plurality of alternator gate drivers; and a plurality of grid gate drivers; a high voltage DC link coupled to the plurality of alternator gate drivers and the plurality of grid gate drivers; and control the plurality of alternator gate drivers and the plurality of grid gate drivers of the combiner circuit to form the first, second, and third voltages at the first, second, and third amplitudes and phases based on the first input voltage at the first amplitude and the first phase.
Claims 9-12 depend on allowable claim 8.
As to claim 15, the prior art of record(s) (closest prior art Oka et al., Pub.No.: US 2012/0033472 A1) fails to teach a combiner circuit comprising: a plurality of alternator gate drivers; and a plurality of grid gate drivers; and a control circuit to control the plurality of alternator gate drivers and the plurality of grid gate drivers.
Dependent claims 16-20 depend on allowable claim 15.
However, formal requirements outstanding (see objection to drawings and specification and 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection of claims 1-20 needs to be corrected and clarified) in response to this office action.
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: a) HOWARD (US Pub.No.: US 2023/0246574 A1) teaches (figs.1-11, abstract, para. [0001]) SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR PROVIDING GRID FORMING CONTROL and teaches combining three-phase power output of induction generator 102 (via bus 104) and output of converter 106 (via bus 110) t0 provide combined three-phase power to the grid 124 (para’s [0042] thru [0046]).
b) Hildebrandt et al. (Pub.No.: US 2019/0260299 A1) teaches (figs.1-10, abstract) an operating circuit 10 and a method of controlling (via controller 16, fig.2-3. 10) and inputting voltages UM1, UM2, Um3 (figs.1, 5, para’s [0035] thru [0038] & [0047]-[0049]) to a synchronous machine/motor 11 using a converter circuit 15 (via phase conductors L1, L2, 3) based on three phase voltages UL1, UL2, Ul3 provided via power supply/grid network 12. Fig.10 shows plural converter pairs 24a, 24b including thyristor switches 20-21 and 22-23 coupled to the synchronous machine/motor 11.
c) Besselmann et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0044576 A1) teaches current source converters and method of switching converter for an electric drive system (figs.1-4, para. [0001]).
d) Li (Pub.No.: US 2023/0261561 A1) teaches (figs.1-6B, abstract) mitigation of harmonic disturbances in a power converter.
Applicant’s arguments
Applicant’s arguments dated 09/04/2025 amending para’s [0004]-[0005] of specification is acknowledged.
Conclusion
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2837