DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Communication part configured to communicate.., processing part configured to…, in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. More specifically, the limitation “to transmit a stop signal to the vehicles whose operation is being managed for ordering them to stop when receiving from the abnormal vehicle an abnormal communication incidence signal informing it that there has been abnormal communication different from the usual communications to the abnormal vehicle and to transmit the stop signal to only the abnormal vehicle when not receiving from the abnormal vehicle the abnormal communication incidence signal”. The conditions under which the signal should be transmitted to all vehicles, as opposed to targeting a single vehicle exhibiting abnormal behavior, are not clearly defined.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a method (i.e., a process). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claim 1 recites:
An operation management apparatus configured to manage the operation of a plurality of vehicles capable of autonomous driving, wherein the operation management apparatus comprises:
a communication part configured to be able to communicate with the vehicles; and a processing part, and wherein the processing part is configured:
to detect the presence of any abnormal vehicle exhibiting abnormal behavior from among the plurality of vehicles; and,
if detecting the presence of an abnormal vehicle, to transmit a stop signal to the vehicles whose operation is being managed for ordering them to stop when receiving from the abnormal vehicle an abnormal communication incidence signal informing it that there has been abnormal communication different from the usual communications to the abnormal vehicle and to transmit the stop signal to only the abnormal vehicle when not receiving from the abnormal vehicle the abnormal communication incidence signal.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. Specifically, the “detecting” step encompasses a user standing on a street or inside the vehicle and making observation, evaluation or judgement about the type of behavior of vehicles. For example, the user will be able to determine if the user is receiving an abnormal communication from a vehicle. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
An operation management apparatus configured to manage the operation of a plurality of vehicles capable of autonomous driving, wherein the operation management apparatus comprises:
a communication part configured to be able to communicate with the vehicles; and a processing part, and wherein the processing part is configured:
to detect the presence of any abnormal vehicle exhibiting abnormal behavior from among the plurality of vehicles; and,
if detecting the presence of an abnormal vehicle, to transmit a stop signal to the vehicles whose operation is being managed for ordering them to stop when receiving from the abnormal vehicle an abnormal communication incidence signal informing it that there has been abnormal communication different from the usual communications to the abnormal vehicle and to transmit the stop signal to only the abnormal vehicle when not receiving from the abnormal vehicle the abnormal communication incidence signal.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “transmit a stop signal ..” the examiner submits that these limitation is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of transmitting the data that results from the determining step), and amounts to mere post solution transmitting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract.
In addition, the additional elements in claim 1, “communication part”, “processing part ”, “operation management apparatus” are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic computer performing a generic computer function of determining the type of attack. This generic processor limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the Revised Guidance, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of “transmitting data..” amounts to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-3 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. More specifically, the limitations of transmitting a slow-go.. are additional elements that do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Independent claims 4 and 5 are also rejected using the same reasons and rationale used to reject claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1-5 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over APPEL (20220224700) in view of Kaneichi (US 20210192945 A1).
Regarding claim 1, APPEL discloses an operation management apparatus (FIG. 1, “fleet manager”) configured to manage the operation of a plurality of vehicles capable of autonomous driving (¶0028, “The fleet manager 160 is configured to manage processes and tasks related to a fleet of connected vehicles”), wherein the operation management apparatus comprises:
a communication part configured to be able to communicate with the vehicles (FIG. 1, “security agent 140”, ¶0023, “The security agent 140 is a network element configured to enable communications with the vehicle security manager 130 via the network 110”); and
a processing part (FIG. 2, Vehicle security manager 130 includes “processing circuitry 210”), and wherein the processing part is configured:
to detect the presence of any abnormal vehicle exhibiting abnormal behavior from among the plurality of vehicles (¶0035, “detect, in real-time, behavioral anomalies. The detected anomalies may include anomalies in individual vehicle behavior, in behavior of groupings of vehicles (e.g., a fleet or sub-fleet), or in behavior of a vehicle service interacting with vehicles (e.g., abnormal behavior”); and,
if detecting the presence of an abnormal vehicle,
to transmit a stop signal to the vehicles whose operation is being managed for ordering them to stop when receiving from the abnormal vehicle an abnormal communication incidence signal informing it that there has been abnormal communication different from the usual communications to the abnormal vehicle, to transmit the stop signal to only the abnormal vehicle when not receiving from the abnormal vehicle the abnormal communication incidence signal (¶0031, “Based on the vehicle data, the vehicle security manager 130 may be configured to determine at least one vehicle data abstraction. Each vehicle data abstraction is a representation of a portion of the vehicle data including only data utilized for anomaly detection” ¶0066, “ based on the second set of data and the normal behavior models, it is determined whether an anomaly is detected” ¶0067, “ The mitigation actions may be determined based on the anomaly…The mitigation actions may include actions for blocking one or more communications or types of communications with the anomaly-demonstrating connected vehicles… for ignoring one or more defined commands to those connected vehicles, for blocking one or more communications or types of communications with the anomaly-demonstrating connected vehicle service (e.g., communications sent to or received from the connected vehicle service)”. Examiner construes ¶0067 as blocking commands or communication from or to plurality of vehicles or to only the abnormal vehicle.”).
APPEL does not explicitly disclose, but Kaneichi teaches a stop signal to plurality of vehicles or one vehicle (¶0073, “management server 100 may transmit the notification command or the stop command to a plurality of autonomous vehicles 400. Moreover, the traffic management server 100 may transmit the notification command and the stop command to one autonomous vehicle 400.”).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the management apparatus disclosed in APPEL with the stopping signals taught in Kaneichi with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted a collision avoidance and coordinating safe driving.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over APPEL (20220224700) in view of Kaneichi (US 20210192945 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Mckinzie (US 20220176946 A1).
Regarding claim 2, APPEL does not explicitly disclose but, Mckinzie teaches wherein the processing part is further configured: to transmit a slow-go signal to all of the vehicles whose operation is being managed for ordering them to go slowly if the number of the vehicles transmitting the abnormal communication incidence signal is greater than or equal to a first threshold value and less than a second threshold value larger than the first threshold value; and to transmit the stop signal to all of the vehicles whose operation is being managed if the number of the vehicles transmitting the abnormal communication incidence signal is greater than or equal to the second threshold value (¶0006).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the management apparatus disclosed in APPEL with the slow down signals taught in Mckinzie with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted a collision avoidance and coordinating safe driving.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over APPEL (20220224700) in view of Kaneichi (US 20210192945 A1) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of SIM (US 20200324788 A1).
Regarding claim 3, APPEL does not explicitly disclose but, SIM teaches wherein the processing part is further configured to judge that the vehicle is an abnormal vehicle when detecting that the vehicle has departed from a preset running route based on position data of the vehicle received from the vehicle (¶0010, “The controller may determine whether the vehicle departs from a lane based on the image data and determine that the driving of the vehicle is abnormal when the vehicle departs from the lane.”).
Accordingly, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the management apparatus disclosed in APPEL with the detection of abnormal behavior based on the vehicle’s position taught in SIM with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have targeted a reduction of network threat.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, claims 4 and 5 are rejected using the same art and rationale used to reject claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ANDO (US 20200324788 A1) discloses NOVELTY - The vehicle control interface comprises a control unit (301) that is provided to execute. A first control command is acquired from the second computer including one of first data on designating acceleration or deceleration and second data on designating a travel track, and the first control command being data for controlling the vehicle platform. The first control command is converted into a second control command for the first computer. The second control command is transmitted to the first computer. The first control command is data that is not specific to the first computer provided in the vehicle, and the second control command is data that is specific to the first compute (abstract).
/REDHWAN K MAWARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667