DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2024, 06/16/2025 and 06/03/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn "a program applied to a system." A computer program, standing alone and untied to a statutory manufacture such as a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non statutory subject matter. A claim drawn to such a program applied to a system, a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation “non transitory” to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Maniouloux et al. (US 2018/0274591 A1, hereinafter "Maniouloux").
Regarding claim 1, Maniouloux discloses a vehicular device comprising:
a bearing rotatably supporting a wheel with respect to a vehicle body (wherein rolling
bearing 500 includes external member 501 and internal member 502 having respective
raceways 501c, 502c and rolling bodies disposed therebetween. In the motor vehicle wheel
application, external member 501 is stationary relative to a suspension element of the vehicle
and internal member 502 is rotary with the wheel ([0304]-[0305], Fig. 30)).
an annular detection target extending in a circumferential direction of the bearing
(wherein bearing 500 includes inductive sensor target 511 fastened to or directly
formed/machined in the bearing ring for which angular displacement is measured
([0306]-[0309]). Target 511 is formed as a side flange extending radially from the bearing
member and alternatively has the shape of an annular disk ([0310]-[0314], Fig. 30)).
a planar receiving coil extending in a direction intersecting an axial direction of the
bearing (wherein secondary winding 103 of transducer 110 is arranged in a planar annular
configuration facing the target, with the target rotating about an axis orthogonal to the plane of
the transducer ([0069]-[0075], Figs. 1A-1B));
the receiving coil being fixed to the vehicle body and provided at a position facing the
detection target in the axial direction (wherein the target is carried by the rotary bearing
member and moves relative to the transducer, the transducer being mounted opposite the
assembled target ([0282], [0304], [0306]-[0309], Fig. 30). In the motor vehicle wheel
embodiment, external member 501 is stationary relative to the vehicle suspension while internal member 502 is rotary with the wheel).
the receiving coil being provided so as not to contact the detection target (wherein the
target does not mechanically or electrically contact the transducer, thereby providing contactless measurement ([0060])).
an excitation coil to which an AC excitation voltage is supplied (wherein primary winding 101 produces an alternating electromagnetic field upon application of alternating excitation current Ip, for example, at an excitation frequency between 500 kHz and 50 MHz ([0060], [0074])).
wherein the detection target is provided to rotate with rotation of the wheel (wherein
internal member 502 is rotary with the wheel and target 511 is fastened firmly to, or directly
formed or machined in, the bearing ring whose angular displacement in rotation is measured
([0304], [0306]-[0309], Fig. 30)).
the detection target including at least one concavity recessed in the axial direction and at least one convexity protruding in the axial direction relative to the at least one concavity,
they at least one concavity and the at least one convexity being alternately provided in the
circumferential direction (wherein target 511 includes face 505 having base wall 509 and a
plurality of metal studs 507 projecting from base wall 509 toward the transducer, the studs
forming conductive patterns ([0316], Fig. 30). The projecting studs 507 correspond to the
recited convexities and the relatively recessed portions of base wall 509 between the projecting
studs correspond to the recited concavities. See also target 401 having studs 407 projecting
from planar base wall 309, with the top faces of studs 407 defining the conductive patterns
([0279]-[0281 ], Fig. 29)).
wherein a voltage is induced in the receiving coil by supplying the AC excitation voltage to the excitation coil (wherein the alternating electromagnetic field produced by primary winding 101 induces an alternating voltage/EMF at the terminals of secondary winding 103 ([0060], [0074])).
the induced voltage changing according to rotation of the detection target (wherein
displacement of the conductive pattern of the target relative to secondary winding 103 changes
the electromagnetic field distribution and produces corresponding variations in voltage Vat the
terminals of secondary winding 103 according to displacement of the target ([0074])).
and calculating a rotational speed of the wheel based on an output voltage signal from
the receiving coil (wherein the EMF induced at the terminals of the secondary winding is
analyzed and temporal variations in the EMF amplitude are used to estimate the speed of the
target relative to the transducer ([0061]). Target 511 is associated with the bearing member
rotating with the vehicle wheel ([0304], [0306]-[0309]), such that the determined rotational
speed corresponds to the rotational speed of the wheel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maniouloux et al. (US 2018/0274591 A1) in view of Joki et al. (US 2008/0144985 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Maniouloux discloses a motor serving as a driving power source of the vehicle (application of its angular measurement arrangement to rotary mechanical components, including an engine shaft, and further discloses implementation of the bearing/sensing arrangement in a motor vehicle ([0283] - [0285], [0304])).
Maniouloux does not expressly disclose wherein the motor includes a rotor including a magnet unit forming multiple magnetic poles with polarities alternating in a circumferential direction, and the parameter calculation section further calculates a rotational angle of
the rotor based on the output voltage signal from the receiving coil.
Joki discloses a rotating target wheel 12 having alternating magnetic poles in a magnetic encoder ring (wherein sensor 10 responds to passage of the alternating magnetic poles to produce an electrical signal corresponding to rotation of target wheel 12 and hub 4
([0024]). Joki further discloses target wheel 112 having circumferentially arranged discontinuities comprising alternating magnetic poles, which are detected by sensing element 192 during rotation ([0050])).
the parameter calculation section further calculating a rotational angle based on the output signal (Joki discloses that sensor 10 provides a voltage or current output and that the sensor output may contain separate information corresponding to rotational angle and speed ([0026]). Joki further recites a sensor configured to produce a signal representative of the rotational angle of the target (claim 20)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotational sensing arrangement of Maniouloux to employ the alternating magnetic pole arrangement and rotational angle determination taught by Joki, since Joki teaches that circumferentially alternating magnetic poles provide detectable rotational position information and that the resulting electrical sensor output can provide both rotational angle and speed information (Joki [0024], [0026], (0050]). Such modification would provide additional rotational position information in addition to the rotational speed information already obtained by Maniouloux.
Regarding claim 3, Maniouloux discloses in response to the excitation voltage being supplied to the excitation coil, the receiving coil outputs a voltage signal corresponding to at least one of a displacement of the detection target in the axial direction, a displacement of the detection target in a direction orthogonal to the axial direction, and a displacement of the detection target in a vehicle longitudinal direction (alternating excitation applied to primary
winding 101 for producing electromagnetic field B and an induced EMF/voltage Vat secondary
winding 103. Displacement of the target relative to secondary winding 103 changes the electromagnetic field and produces corresponding variations in voltage V at the terminals of secondary winding 103 ([0060]-[0061], [0074])).
Maniouloux does not expressly disclose "the parameter calculation section further calculates a load acting on the wheel based on the output voltage signal from the receiving coil."
Joki discloses a target carried by the rotating hub and a sensor carried by the housing and presented toward the target such that a gap exists therebetween, wherein the sensor monitors the size of the gap and detects changes therein (claim 1). Joki further discloses that lateral axially directed loads transmitted through the wheel end affect the size of the gap and the signal produced by the sensor (claims 1 and 3).
a displacement of the detection target in the axial direction (lateral axial loads transmitted through the wheel end produce displacement between the Wheel end components and corresponding changes in the gap between the target and sensor. Joki further discloses that the wheel end is configured such that lateral axial loads have the greatest effect on the gap and the signals produced by the sensor are primarily representative of the magnitude and direction of the lateral axial loads at the tire patch (claim 16). Joki further discloses sensing element 192 configured to measure and monitor the distance between sensing face 194 and reference surface 196 of target wheel 112 ([0049]-[0050])).
the parameter calculation section further calculating a load acting on the wheel
based on the output voltage signal from the receiving coil (sensor 10 provides a voltage or current output corresponding to the sensed condition ([0026]) and that the signals produced by the sensor are representative of the magnitude and direction of lateral axial loads acting at the tire patch. Joki also discloses that measurable deflections at sensors 10, 110 correspond to applied vertical and lateral tire loads ([0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify Maniouloux to calculate a load acting on the wheel based on the sensor output, as taught by Joki, in order to provide wheel load information from displacement of the target relative to the sensor, thereby permitting monitoring of loads acting on the vehicle wheel.
Regarding claim 4, Maniouloux discloses the vehicular device includes a motor serving as a driving power source of the vehicle, (Maniouloux discloses that the inductive angular displacement sensing arrangement may be applied to a metal part forming a portion of an engine shaft or reduction gearbox engine shaft ([0295]), and further discloses application of the sensing arrangement to a motor vehicle ([0304])).
in response to the excitation voltage being supplied to the excitation coil, the
receiving coil outputs a voltage signal corresponding to at least one of a displacement of
the detection target in the axial direction, a displacement of the detection target in a
direction orthogonal to the axial direction, and a displacement of the detection target in a
vehicle longitudinal direction," (alternating excitation applied to primary winding 101 and an induced EMF/voltage Vat secondary winding 103, wherein displacement of the target relative to secondary winding 103 changes the electromagnetic field and produces corresponding variations in the output voltage of secondary winding 103 ([0060]-[0061], [0074])).
Maniouloux does not expressly disclose that the parameter calculation section
calculates a load acting on a rotary shaft of the motor based on the output voltage signal
from the receiving coil.
Joki discloses a vehicle wheel end including a rotating hub carrying a target and a stationary housing carrying a sensor, wherein a gap exists between the target and sensor and the sensor monitors changes in the gap resulting from relative displacement of the target and sensor. The bearing transfers radial, vertical and lateral axial loads between the housing and hub, and the sensor is particularly responsive to lateral axially directed loads (claims 1-3).
Regarding displacement of the detection target in the axial direction (lateral forces acting parallel to rotational axis X produce displacement measurable by sensor 10, 110. Sensing element 192 measures the distance between the sensor and target, and the target wheel axial position affects the measured air gap ([0051]-[0053])).
Regarding determining a load based on the sensor output (deflections measured by sensors 10, 110 correspond to vertical and lateral tire loads and that the correlation between the measured deflections and load may be established empirically. The sensor thereby provides information concerning the magnitude of loads acting at the wheel end ([0053]-[0054])). Joki further discloses that the sensor signals are primarily representative of the magnitude and direction of lateral axial loads and that the monitored displacement may be used in connection with vehicle drive torque (claims 16, 24 and 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to use the displacement responsive output of the inductive
sensor of Maniouloux to determine a load from the measured displacement, as taught by
Joki, in order to monitor mechanical loading of the rotating vehicle component and provide load information useful for vehicle operation and control.
Regarding claim 11, Maniouloux discloses the bearing includes an outer ring member, an inner ring member, and a rolling element provided between the outer ring member and the inner ring member, the bearing rotatably supporting the wheel relative to a base fixed to the vehicle body (rolling bearing 500 including external member 501, internal member 502, and rolling bodies 503 disposed in a rolling space between members 501 and 502 to permit relative rotation about axis AX ([0300]-[0305], Fig. 30). In the motor vehicle wheel embodiment, external member 501 is stationary relative to a suspension element of the vehicle and internal member 502 is rotary with the wheel).
a first bearing member, that is one of the outer ring member and the inner ring member, is fixed to the wheel, and a second bearing member, that is the other of the
outer ring member and the inner ring member, is fixed to the base (external member 501 is stationary and secured to the vehicle side suspension structure while internal member 502 is rotary with the vehicle wheel ([0304])).
the detection target is provided so as to rotate integrally with the first bearing member (target 511 is fastened firmly to the bearing ring whose angular displacement is measured or is directly formed or machined in that bearing ring ([0306]-[0309]). Maniouloux further states that target 511 may be formed directly from and integral with a side face of the bearing ring and that target 511 is firmly fastened to or forms an integral part of the bearing ring ([0314]-[0317])).
Maniouloux does not expressly disclose, "the bearing, the detection target, and the excitation coil are provided in an inner space of a wheel unit configuring the wheel" and "the receiving coil is fixed to the base in the inner space" in the particular packaged arrangement recited.
Joki discloses the missing wheel unit mounting arrangement. Joki discloses a wheel end A including a housing fixed to a suspension upright, a hub supporting and rotating with road wheel C, a bearing between the housing and hub, a target carried by the rotating hub, and a sensor carried by the stationary housing and facing the target ([0004]-[0005], claims 1 and 16).
Regarding the receiving coil being fixed to the base in the inner space (sensor 110 fitted to stationary housing 102, with housing 102 firmly secured to suspension upright E. Bore 120 opens into the interior of housing 102, and the sensor extends into the interior toward target wheel 112 ([0038]-[0039], [0048]-[0050])). Joki further expressly provides that the sensor may be fixed to the housing while the axial position of target wheel 112 is adjusted to establish the desired air gap ([0052]).
Regarding the target and bearing being located in the wheel unit, Joki discloses wheel end B including housing 102, hub 104, bearing 106, sensor 110 and target wheel 112, with target wheel 112 fitted over an inner race of bearing 106 and presented toward the stationary sensor ([0038], [0049]-[0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to mount the transducer/receiving and excitation windings
of Maniouloux within the stationary wheel end structure opposite the rotating bearing
target, as taught by Joki, in order to provide a compact wheel end sensing assembly, maintain the sensor at a controlled spacing from the rotating target, and protect the sensing components within the wheel end housing.
Claims 5-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maniouloux et al. (US 2018/0274591 A1), Joki et al. (US 2008/0144985 A1) and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2018/0232964 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Maniouloux in view of Joki does not expressly disclose "a management section performing processing associated with maintenance and management of the vehicle based on the calculated load."
Chen in a relevant art teaches a vehicle monitoring system including vehicle computing device 104, service computing device 108, vehicle component 112, and sensors 114 that provide sensor data 116 for determining damage to the vehicle component. Chen uses the sensor data in a computational model/fatigue simulation to determine fatigue damage experienced by the vehicle component and provide predictive and preventive maintenance of automotive components ([0018]-[0021]).
a management section performing processing associated with maintenance
and management of the vehicle (Chen discloses monitoring program 154 and associated
computing devices that maintain accumulated damage information for a vehicle component and update the accumulated damage based on analysis results ([0039])).
the processing being performed based on the calculated load (processing sensor data including load components as inputs to fatigue simulation for determining damage to the vehicle component ([0042])). Chen further discloses suspension sensor data including suspension load data 306, which is processed for fatigue analysis and determination of a damage result ([0058]).
processing associated with maintenance and management of the vehicle
based on the calculated load (updating accumulated damage for the vehicle component based on the analysis result, comparing the accumulated damage with one or more damage thresholds, and, when the threshold is exceeded, communicating a warning indicating that the vehicle component should be replaced and/or repaired ([0055]-[0057])). Chen further
discloses providing an estimated number of miles remaining before maintenance of the
component is recommended and communicating vehicle component condition information to a fleet manager responsible for vehicle maintenance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to use the wheel load information obtained by the combined system of Maniouloux and Joki in the vehicle maintenance processing taught by Chen, in order to monitor load related damage of vehicle components and provide an indication when repair, replacement, or maintenance is appropriate.
Regarding claim 6, Maniouloux in view of Joki does not expressly disclose "as the processing associated with maintenance and management, the management section performs processing for calculating an accumulated stress acting on the wheel based on the calculated load, and processing for notifying information indicating that the vehicle should be maintained, based on the calculated accumulated stress."
Chen in a relevant art teaches processing for calculating an accumulated stress acting on the wheel based on the calculated load (receiving vehicle sensor data including load information and processing the load data to determine fatigue damage. The decomposed X and Y load components are provided to fatigue simulation program 162, which uses finite element model 176 to determine a damage result for each time interval ([0042])). Chen further discloses that finite element analysis uses load boundary information 910 to determine stress on the vehicle component, with stress information 904 being generated from the applied load and used in determining fatigue damage ([0088]).
Regarding the stress being accumulated (monitoring program 154
maintains accumulated damage for the vehicle component in accumulated damage database
168 and adds newly determined damage to the previously accumulated damage to determine
updated accumulated damage ([0039])). Chen further discloses adding together the individual
damage results determined for respective time windows to obtain the total damage for the
monitored time period ([0043]; see also [0083]).
processing for notifying information indicating that the vehicle should be
maintained, based on the calculated accumulated stress (Chen discloses comparing the
accumulated damage with one or more damage thresholds and, when the accumulated damage exceeds a threshold, sending a communication to the vehicle to provide a message, warning, or alert indicating that the vehicle component should be replaced and/or repaired ([0055]-[0057])). Chen further discloses that the communication may indicate an estimated number of miles remaining before maintenance of the component is recommended.
Chen's claims similarly recite determining a damage result from vehicle sensor data, adding the
damage result to previously determined accumulated damage, and sending a communication to the vehicle based on the updated accumulated damage (claim 1), including comparing the updated accumulated damage with a threshold before sending the communication (claim 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to use the wheel load information obtained by Maniouloux
in view of Joki in the fatigue monitoring and maintenance processing of Chen, including
accumulating load related stress/damage and providing a maintenance notification when
the accumulated value indicates that maintenance is appropriate, in order to identify
load related deterioration of a vehicle component and timely notify the operator of a need
for repair or maintenance.
Regarding claim 7, Maniouloux in view of Joki does not expressly disclose "as the processing associated with maintenance and management, the management section performs processing for determining whether the vehicle has a possible failure, based on the calculated load."
Chen in a relevant art teaches processing for determining whether the vehicle has a possible failure (monitoring vehicle component 112 using sensor data and determining a damage result indicative of fatigue damage to the vehicle component using damage lookup table 164 and/or fatigue simulation program 162. The received sensor data is processed to determine damage that has occurred to the vehicle component ([0034]-[0038])).
Regarding the determination being based on the calculated load (receiving suspension load information 132 and using the load information as sensor data for determining damage to the vehicle component ([0034]-[0038])). Chen further discloses decomposing the sensor data into X and Y load components and providing the load components to fatigue simulation program 162 to determine a damage result for the vehicle component ([0042]).
determining whether the vehicle has a possible failure based on the calculated load (determining fatigue damage from the load related sensor data and comparing accumulated damage with one or more damage thresholds to determine whether action should be taken. When a threshold is exceeded, a communication is sent indicating that damage has been detected, that the vehicle may be unsafe to operate, and/or that the vehicle component should be replaced or repaired ([0039]-[0041])). Chen further discloses comparing accumulated damage of the vehicle component with a damage threshold and, when the threshold is exceeded, notifying the vehicle operator of the damaged condition and that the component should be replaced and/or repaired ([0055]-[0057]). Chen's claims likewise recite determining a damage result indicative of fatigue damage to a vehicle component based on vehicle sensor data, and comparing updated accumulated damage with a damage threshold before sending a communication to the vehicle (claims 1 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to use the calculated wheel load information obtained by
Maniouloux in view of Joki in the vehicle monitoring system of Chen to determine
whether the vehicle or a component thereof has a possible failure, in order to identify
load related fatigue or damage and provide an indication of a potentially unsafe or
damaged vehicle component before failure.
Regarding claim 8, Maniouloux in view of Joki does not expressly disclose "as the processing associated with maintenance and management, the management section performs processing for calculating an accumulated stress acting on the wheel based on the calculated load, and processing for determining whether the vehicle or a component of the vehicle is reusable, based on the calculated accumulated stress."
Chen in a relevant art teaches processing for calculating an accumulated stress acting on the wheel based on the calculated load (using X and Y load components as inputs to fatigue simulation program 162 to determine damage resulting from loads acting on a vehicle component ([0042]). The individual damage results are added together to determine total fatigue damage for a time period, wherein the fatigue damage is calculated based on the X and Y loads measured by the vehicle sensors ([0042]-[0043])).
Chen further discloses monitoring program 154 adding the determined damage to accumulated damage already maintained for vehicle component 112 in accumulated damage database 168 to determine updated accumulated damage for the component ([0039], [0045]).
processing for determining whether the vehicle or a component of the vehicle is reusable, based on the calculated accumulated stress (comparing the updated accumulated damage with one or more damage thresholds. When the accumulated damage exceeds a threshold, the system determines that damage has been detected, that the vehicle may be unsafe to operate, and/or that vehicle component 112 should be replaced or repaired. When the accumulated damage is below the applicable threshold, the monitoring program may take no action ([0040]-[0041])). Chen further discloses determining a predicted remaining lifespan of the vehicle component based on the updated accumulated damage and providing that information to the vehicle or fleet manager ([0047]). Chen also discloses providing an estimated number of miles remaining before maintenance of the component is recommended ([0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the calculated wheel load information obtained by Maniouloux in view of Joki in the accumulated fatigue/damage processing of Chen and to determine whether the vehicle or component remains reusable based on the accumulated value, in order to determine the remaining useful life of a load bearing vehicle component and whether continued use, repair, or replacement is appropriate.
Regarding claim 9, Maniouloux in view of Joki does not expressly disclose in response to determining that the vehicle or the component of the vehicle is reusable, the management section performs processing for determining a reuse value of the vehicle or the component of the vehicle, based on the calculated accumulated stress.
Chen in a relevant art teaches in response to determining that the vehicle or the component of the vehicle is reusable (maintaining accumulated damage for vehicle component 112 and comparing the updated accumulated damage with one or more damage thresholds. When the accumulated damage is below a threshold, the monitoring program may take no action regarding repair/replacement, whereas exceeding the applicable threshold indicates that the vehicle may be unsafe to operate and/or that the component should be repaired or replaced ([0040]-[0041])).
determining a reuse value of the vehicle or the component of the vehicle,
based on the calculated accumulated stress (determining an updated accumulated damage value for vehicle component 112 by adding newly determined load related damage to the accumulated damage already maintained for the component ([0045]-[0047]). Based on the updated accumulated damage, the monitoring program may determine and communicate the predicted remaining lifespan of the vehicle component ([0047])). Chen further discloses determining an estimated number of miles remaining before maintenance of the component is recommended ([0057]). Thus, Chen determines a quantitative remaining use value for the vehicle component based on its accumulated load related fatigue/damage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to further use the accumulated load related damage information of the combined system to determine a remaining use value for a component determined to remain usable, as taught by Chen, in order to provide an indication of the component's remaining lifespan or remaining mileage before maintenance is required.
Regarding claim 10, Maniouloux in view of Joki does not expressly disclose "as the processing associated with maintenance and management, the management section performs processing for calculating an accumulated stress acting on the wheel based on the calculated load, and processing for determining time of replacing the component of the vehicle, based on the calculated accumulated stress."
Chen in a relevant art teaches processing for calculating an accumulated stress acting on the wheel based on the calculated load (using load boundary information in a finite element analysis to determine stress on a vehicle component. The resulting stress information is used by fatigue simulation program 162 to determine fatigue damage, wherein the stress information may be treated as a formula that takes load as input and provides damage as output ([0088]-[0091]). Chen further discloses monitoring program 154 maintaining accumulated damage for vehicle component 112 and determining updated accumulated damage by adding newly determined damage to the accumulated damage previously maintained for the vehicle component ([0039], [0045]-[0047])).
processing for determining time of replacing the component of the vehicle,
based on the calculated accumulated stress (comparing the updated accumulated damage with one or more damage thresholds. When the accumulated damage exceeds the applicable threshold, a communication is provided indicating that the vehicle component should be replaced or repaired ([0040], [0046])). Chen further discloses determining a predicted remaining lifespan of the vehicle component based on the updated accumulated damage and communicating that information to the vehicle or fleet manager ([0047]). Chen also discloses that, when accumulated damage exceeds the threshold, the computing device sends a notification to the vehicle operator to replace and/or repair the vehicle component ([0056]-[0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the calculated wheel load information obtained by Maniouloux in view of Joki in the accumulated fatigue/damage processing of Chen and to determine a time for replacement of a vehicle component based on the accumulated load related condition, in order to identify when the component has reached or is approaching a condition requiring replacement and thereby reduce the likelihood of component failure.
Regarding claim 12, the method recited is intrinsic to the apparatus recited in claim 1, as disclosed by Maniouloux et al. (US 2018/0274591 A1) as modified by Joki et al. (US 2008/0144985 A1) as the recited method steps will be performed during the normal operation of the apparatus, as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Maniouloux as modified by Joki further teaches processing for calculating a load acting on the wheel based on an output voltage signal from the receiving coil, Joki discloses that the sensor signal resulting from changes in the target/sensor gap is representative of the magnitude and direction of lateral axial loads acting at the tire patch, and that the correlation between measured displacement and load may be established empirically.
Maniouloux as modified by Joki does not explicitly teach "a computer" and the program causes the computer to perform ... processing associated with maintenance and management of the vehicle based on the calculated load.
However, Chen (US 2018/0232964 A1) is a relevant art further teaches vehicle computing device 104 and service computing devices 108 having processors executing monitoring and analysis programs for processing vehicle sensor data and determining fatigue damage of vehicle components. Chen expressly states that the processes may be implemented by computer executable instructions stored on computer readable media and executed by processors ([0048]-[0050]).
processing associated with maintenance and management of the vehicle
based on the calculated load (using vehicle sensor data, including load related data, to determine fatigue damage and provide predictive and preventive maintenance of automotive components ([0018]-[0021]). Chen further discloses monitoring accumulated damage, determining remaining lifespan, and providing warnings concerning repair, replacement, and maintenance of vehicle components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to program a computer associated with the Maniouloux/Joki wheel sensing arrangement to calculate wheel load from the displacement responsive sensor output and to perform vehicle maintenance and management processing based on the calculated load, as taught by Chen, in order to monitor load related condition of vehicle components and provide maintenance information before component failure.
Regarding claim 13, the structure recited is intrinsic to the method recited in claim 12, as disclosed by Maniouloux et al. (US 2018/0274591 A1) as modified by Joki et al. (US 2008/0144985 A1) as the recited structure will be used during the normal operation of the method, as discussed above with regard to claim 12. Maniouloux in view of Joki does not expressly disclose "a control device installed to the vehicle, and a server capable of communicating with the control device via a communication network," "processing for transmitting the calculated load to the server via the communication network," and "the server receives the load transmitted from the control device and performs processing associated with maintenance and management of the vehicle based on the received load."
However, Chen (US 2018/0232964 A1) in a relevant art further teaches a control device installed to the vehicle, and a server capable of communicating with the control device via a communication network (vehicle computing device 104 on board vehicle 102 communicating over network 106 with service computing devices 108 of service provider 110. Sensors 114 provide sensor data 116 to vehicle computing device 104 ([0021], Fig. 1)).
Regarding "the server," Chen expressly discloses that service computing devices 108 may comprise one or more servers, including server clusters, server farms, data centers, or cloud hosted computing services for monitoring vehicle components ([0032]). Regarding "communication network," Chen discloses network 106 including the Internet, LAN, cellular networks, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, and combinations thereof, through which vehicle computing device 104 communicates with service computing devices 108 ([0029]-[0031]).
Regarding "processing for transmitting the calculated load to the server via the communication network," Chen discloses vehicle application 130 transmitting sensor data from vehicle computing device 104 to service computing devices 108 over network 106, either periodically or by continual streaming ([0028]-[0031]). Regarding "the server receives the load transmitted from the control device and performs processing associated with maintenance and management of the vehicle based on the received load," Chen discloses service computing devices receiving vehicle sensor data over the network and using the data to determine fatigue damage of vehicle components and provide predictive and preventive maintenance ([0018]-[0021]). Chen further discloses monitoring accumulated damage and providing information concerning remaining lifespan, repair, replacement, and maintenance of the vehicle component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to provide the Maniouloux/Joki wheel sensing arrangement with the vehicle to server communication and remote vehicle component monitoring arrangement of Chen, whereby the calculated wheel load information is transmitted from the vehicle control device to a server for maintenance and management processing, in order to permit remote monitoring of load related vehicle component condition and provide predictive maintenance information.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shiba (US Patent 10648874) discloses Rotary Device.
/TAQI R NASIR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858