DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11-12, & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayotte et al. (US 9177931) [Hereinafter Ayotte].
Regarding claim 1, Ayotte teaches A structure comprising:
a metal bump [fig. 7, 655/410] containing structure having a substantially flat top surface and located on top of a substrate [fig. 7, substrate not shown, para 30],
the metal bump containing structure comprises a metal bump [fig. 7, solder bump 655, para 34] having a curved top surface [para 34; wherein details the bump 655 correlates to bump 500 depicted in fig. 5 which has a curved top surface. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the would understand the bump 655 could be depicted as bump 500 with a curved top surface], and
a first metal liner [fig. 7, liner 410, para 29] located along an outermost sidewall [fig. 7] and present at least partially on the curved top surface of the metal bump [fig. 6/7; 500/655].
Ayotte fails to explicitly disclose in fig. 6/7 the bump 655 having a curved top surface.
However, Ayotte teaches in para 34 the solder bump 655 is depicted as solder bump 500 in fig. 5.
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the metal bump may comprise a curved top surface as depicted in the metal bump of fig. 5 to support stress distribution versus flat edges which a known for concentrating mechanical stress, thereby enhancing the reliability of the structure.
Regarding claim 7, Ayotte teaches The structure of Claim 1, further comprising
an adhesion layer located between the metal bump containing structure and the substrate [para 23/25 “layer 600 is formed on a semiconductor substrate (not shown) and includes insulating material, such as Ajinomoto build-up film (ABF) . . . First metal layer 600 is formed by applying insulating material, such as an Ajinomoto build-up film (ABF), to the surface of, for example, a semiconductor substrate . . . ” ; wherein ABF possesses strong adhesive and bonding properties.]
Regarding claim 11, Ayotte teaches The structure of Claim 1,
wherein the first metal liner (fig. 7, 410) is present entirely along the curved top surface of the metal bump (fig. 6/7 500/655, para 27; wherein the metal bump 500 illustrates a curved top surface).
Regarding claim 12, Ayotte teaches The structure of Claim 1,
wherein the first metal liner (fig. 7, 410) is present partially along the curved top surface of the metal bump (fig. 6/7 500/655, para 27; wherein the metal bump 500 illustrates a curved top surface).
Regarding claim 14 Ayotto teaches The structure of Claim 1,
wherein the metal bump (fig. 6/7, 655/410) containing structure is joined to solder [para 21, “the C4 solder bump and conductive material, such as aluminum, nickel, and tin tungsten alloy, is deposited therein to form pad 310.”] or to another metal bump containing structure.
Claim(s) 2-3 & 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayotte as applied to claims 1, 7, 11-12, & 14 and further in view of Ryu et al. (US 2016/0027747) [Hereinafter Ryu].
Regarding claim 2, Ayotte teaches The structure of Claim 1,
wherein the metal bump (fig. 6/7 500/655) is disposed on a seed layer [fig. 7, pad 650, para 33].
the metal bump is composed of a second metal (500/655, para 29/33).
While Ayotte notes the layer 650 (seed layer) is composed of a conductive material [para 33].
Ayotte is silent regarding the seed layer being composed of a metal.
Therefore Ayotte to explicitly disclose the metal seed layer is composed of a first metal.
However Ryu teaches the metal seed layer [fig. 2B, UBM seed layer 140, para 27 is composed of a first metal [para 27].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the seed layer to be composed of a metal to prevent under-bump corrosion thereby enhancing the reliability of the device.
Regarding claim 3, Ayotte/Ryu teaches The structure of Claim 2,
wherein the first metal [Ryu, fig. 2B, 140, para 27; wherein metal is copper] is compositionally a same metal as the second metal [Ryu, fig. 2B. 161, para 81; wherein portion 161 of bump 160 comprises copper].
Regarding claim 5, Ayotte/Ryu teaches The structure of Claim 2,
wherein the metal seed layer (Ryu, fig. 2B, 140) has a width that is larger than a width of the metal bump (Ryu, fig. 2B, 161).
Regarding claim 6, Ayotte/Ryu teaches The structure of Claim 2,
wherein the metal seed layer (Ryu, fig. 4, 240) has a same width as the metal bump (Ryu, fig. 4, 260).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayotte & Ryu as applied to claims 2-3 & 5-6 and further in view of Kim (US 2024/0079359).
Regarding claim 4, Ayotte/Ryu teaches The structure of Claim 2.
Ayotte/Ryu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first metal is compositionally different from the second metal.
Kim teaches wherein the first metal is compositionally different from the second metal. [Kim, fig. 1A, para 22 discloses the bumps 130a to comprise Tin and the seed layer 143 contains Ti].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the metal bump to comprise Tin for a low melting point for reflow to avoid damaging circuitry underneath and for the seed layer to comprise titanium for superior adhesion and a diffusion barrier for the Tin metal bump thereby enhancing the reliability of the device.
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayotte as applied to claims 1, 7, 11-12, & 14 and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2016/0225729).
Regarding claim 8, Ayotte teaches The structure of Claim 1,
wherein the metal bump (fig. 7, 655) is composed of a second metal (fig. 7, para 26; solder) and the first metal liner is composed of a third metal (fig. 7, liner 410, para 22).
Ayotte fails to explicitly disclose the second metal is compositionally the same as the third metal.
Chen teaches the second metal [fig. 3, metal bump 160, para 17] is compositionally the same as the third metal [fig. 3, metal 130, para 13; wherein the metal liner 130 is made of copper].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the liner and metal bump to comprise the same copper material to eliminate potential corrosion and intermetallic stress while also maximizing electrical and thermal conductivity due to copper having exceptional conductivity.
Regarding claim 9, Ayotte teaches The structure of Claim 1,
wherein the metal bump (fig. 7, 655) is composed of a second metal (fig. 7, para 26; solder) and the first metal liner is composed of a third metal (fig. 7, liner 410, para 22).
Ayotte fails to explicitly disclose the second metal is compositionally different than the third metal.
Chen teaches the second metal (fig. 3, 160, para 17; copper bump] is compositionally different than the third metal (fig. 3, 130, para 13; wherein the liner is aluminum copper).
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the metal bump to comprise copper and the liner layer to comprise aluminum copper to provide passivation and oxidation control thereby preventing damage to the metal bump.
Regarding claim 10 Ayotte teaches The structure of Claim 1.
Ayotte fails to explicitly disclose a second metal liner located on the first metal liner.
Chen teaches a second metal liner [fig. 3, UBM 150, para 16; “the under bump metallization 150 is formed of a composite layer including a titanium layer and a copper layer over the titanium layer.”; wherein the titanium layer is a liner layer] located on the first metal liner (fig. 3, 130).
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the structure to comprise a second liner layer to separate the functional roles of the liner layer. The titanium layer to function as the adhesion/barrier layer and the copper layer to provide a high conductive layer to enhance bonding and connectivity of the device thereby enhancing the performance of the structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 13, Ayotte teaches the structure of Claim 1.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose at least one other metal bump containing structure having a substantially flat top surface and located on top of the substrate,
the at least one other metal bump containing structure comprises
another metal bump having a curved top surface, and
another first metal liner located along an outermost sidewall and present at least partially on the curved top surface of the least one other metal bump containing structure,
wherein the at least one other metal bump containing structure is spaced apart from the metal bump containing structure, and
the substantially flat top surface of the at least one other metal bump containing structure is coplanar with the substantially flat top surface of the metal bump containing structure.
Thereby claim 13 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, Lin (US 8803337) teaches A method comprising:
forming a metal seed layer [fig. 2, metal insertion layer 26, para 25] on a substrate [fig. 2, substrate 10, para 14];
plating a metal bump [fig. 2, solder joint portion 28, para 27] on the metal seed layer fig. 3, 46),
the metal bump (fig. 2, 28) having a curved top surface (fig. 2); and
plating a first metal liner on an outermost sidewall and at least partially on the curved top surface of the metal bump.
The prior art of record fails to explicitly disclose wherein the plating of the first metal liner is performed in a plating solution and in the presence of a plate fixture that is in contact with, or close proximity to, the metal bump.
Thereby claim 15 contains allowable subject matter in light of the additional limitations recited therein.
Claims 16-20 are allowable based upon their dependency on claim 15.
Conclusion
/FELIX B ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812