Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 9/11/2024, 11/5/2024 and 12/12/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (US 2020/0154467) in view of Wang et al. (US 2021/0153188).
Regarding claim 17, Gong discloses a method performed by a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with one or more network nodes (Gong, paragraph [0002], wireless communication between a UE and multiple cells), the method comprising:
receiving, from the one or more network nodes (Gong, paragraph [0002], wireless communication between a UE and multiple cells; paragraph [0006], UE receiving a configuration to monitor more than one PDCCH);
a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, configuration of a first group of one or more first control resource sets, CORESETs, having a first group index and a second group of one or more second control resource sets, CORESETs, having a second group index (Gong, paragraph [0006], UE receiving a configuration to monitor more than one PDCCH; paragraph [0010]-[0011], configuring an association between the at least one PDCCH and a CORESET group associated; paragraph [0020], configuring comprises configuring the UE with at least two different CORESETs; paragraph [0044], signaling includes at least one CORESET configuration and monitoring one or more PDCCHs in at least one CORESET based on the configuration; paragraph [0068], CORESETs may be split into non-overlapping CORESET sets, each CORESET set with specific index p; paragraph [0209], each PDCCH is associated with a specific CORESET group which is associated with a specific CORESET group index); and
a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, configuration of a plurality number of PUCCH resource sets, each PUCCH resource set including a plurality number of PUCCH resources (Gong, paragraph [0096], resource information pertaining to multiple PUCCH resources is configured; paragraph 0344], each PUCCH is transmitted in one or multiple slots [multiple slots is a set of a plurality number of resources]; PARAGARPH [0488], PUCCH resource is indicated in a DCI from the set of PUCCH resource configurations);
monitoring a first PDCCH in the first group over a first CORESET in the first group of one or more first CORESETs and a second PDCCH over a second CORESET different from the first CORESET and belonging to the second group of one or more second CORESETs (Gong, paragraph [0006], UE receiving a configuration to monitor more than one PDCCH; paragraph [0020], configuring comprises configuring the UE with at least two different CORESETs; paragraph [0044], signaling includes at least one CORESET configuration and monitoring one or more PDCCHs in at least one CORESET based on the configuration; paragraph [0068], each CORESET set with specific index p; paragraph [0209], each PDCCH is associated with a specific CORESET group which is associated with a specific CORESET group index, a first PDCCH is associated with a first CORESET group and a second PDCCH is associated with a second CORESET group);
receiving a first physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, scheduled by the first PDCCH and a second PDSCH scheduled by the second PDCCH (Gong, paragraph [0006], UE receiving a configuration to monitor more than on PDCCH for scheduling more than on PDSCH; paragraph [0084], receiving multiple respective PDSCHs; paragraph [0206], UE configured to monitor multiple PDCCHs, each PDCCH used to schedule a respective PDSCH); and
transmitting, to the one or more network nodes, a first Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest, HARQ, acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement, A/N, associated with the first PDSCH on a first PUCCH resource and a second HARQ A/N associated with the second PDSCH on a second PUCCH resource (Gong, Figs. 26A-G; paragraph [0044], signaling includes at least one CORESET configuration and monitoring one or more PDCCHs in at least one CORESET based on the configuration; paragraph [0068], each CORESET set with specific index p; paragraph [0096], resource information pertaining to multiple PUCCH resources is configured; paragraph [0164], PDCCH1 associated with PDSCH1, PUSCH1 and HARQ process 1, PDCCH2 associated with PDSCH2, PUSCH2 and HARQ process 2; paragraph [0209], each PDCCH is associated with a specific CORESET group which is associated with a specific CORESET group index, and each PDCCH is associated with a specific HARQ entity with specific HARQ index, identity for PDCCH can be associated with a CORESET group index and HARQ entity index; paragraph [0428], FIG. 26B are two PUCCH, PUCCH1 2615 for transmission of ACK/NACKs associated with the PDCCH1 2618A and/or PDSCH1 2619A and PUCCH2 2616 for transmission of ACK/NACKs associated with the PDCCH2 2618B and/or PDSCH2 2619B),
wherein the first group index is included in each of the one or more first CORESETs and the second group index is included in each of the one or more second CORESETs (Gong, paragraph [0068], each CORESET set with specific index p; paragraph [0209], each PDCCH is associated with a specific CORESET group which is associated with a specific CORESET group index, a first PDCCH is associated with a first CORESET group and a second PDCCH is associated with a second CORESET group).
Gong does not explicitly disclose wherein the first PUCCH resource is the same as the second PUCCH resource when the first group index is the same as the second group index; and wherein the first PUCCH resource is different from the second PUCCH resource when the first group index is different from the second group index.
Wang discloses wherein the first PUCCH resource is the same as the second PUCCH resource when the first group index is the same as the second group index (Wang, paragraph [0097]-[0098], CORESET-group-ID associated with each PUCCH configuration, each CORESET group configuration includes one field indicating a PUCCH configuration associated with the field; paragraph [0015], identifier of a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a CORESET group, identifier of a CORESET group associated with each PUCCH resource configuration; paragraph [0118], PUCCH configuration includes two PUCCH resource groups, each PUCCH resource group include one or more PUCCH resources, the two PUCCH resource groups are respectively associated with two CORESET groups); and
wherein the first PUCCH resource is different from the second PUCCH resource when the first group index is different from the second group index (Wang, paragraph [0097]-[0098], CORESET-group-ID associated with each PUCCH configuration, each CORESET group configuration includes one field indicating a PUCCH configuration associated with the field; paragraph [0015], identifier of a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a CORESET group, identifier of a CORESET group associated with each PUCCH resource configuration; paragraph [0118], PUCCH configuration includes two PUCCH resource groups, each PUCCH resource group include one or more PUCCH resources, the two PUCCH resource groups are respectively associated with two CORESET groups).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Wang into the system of Gong in order to avoid conflicts between PUCCH resources when multiple CORESET groups are present, thereby ensuring transmission reliability (Gong; ABSTRACT).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Gong and Wang, specifically Gong discloses wherein the first group index is different from the second group index (Gong, paragraph [0068], each CORESET set with specific index p).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Gong and Wang, specifically Gong discloses wherein the first group of one or more CORESETs is associated with at least one first Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, state and the second group of one or more CORESETs is associated with at least one second TCI state, the at least one first TCI state being different from the at least one second TCI state (Gong, paragraph [0011], CORESET group associated with a QCL association; paragraph [0015], QCL configuration index; paragraph [0038], transmission mode configuration; paragraph [0208], QCL configurations associated with at least one CORESET group; paragraph [0225], Transmission Mode configurations: TM1, TM2, TM3, TM4).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Gong and Wang, specifically Wang discloses wherein the first PUCCH resource is indicated by a first PUCCH resource indicator, PRI, included in the first PDCCH and the second PUCCH resource is indicated by a second PRI included in the second PDCCH (Wang, paragraph [0097]-[0098], CORESET-group-ID associated with each PUCCH configuration, each CORESET group configuration includes one field indicating a PUCCH configuration associated with the field; paragraph [0015], identifier of a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a CORESET group, identifier of a CORESET group associated with each PUCCH resource configuration; paragraph [0118], PUCCH configuration includes two PUCCH resource groups, each PUCCH resource group include one or more PUCCH resources, the two PUCCH resource groups are respectively associated with two CORESET groups; paragraph [0132], PUCCH resource indication field in the DCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Wang into the system of Gong in order to avoid conflicts between PUCCH resources when multiple CORESET groups are present, thereby ensuring transmission reliability (Gong; ABSTRACT).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Gong and Wang, specifically Wang discloses wherein the first PRI is different from the second PRI (Wang, paragraph [0097]-[0098], CORESET-group-ID associated with each PUCCH configuration, each CORESET group configuration includes one field indicating a PUCCH configuration associated with the field; paragraph [0015], identifier of a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a CORESET group, identifier of a CORESET group associated with each PUCCH resource configuration; paragraph [0118], PUCCH configuration includes two PUCCH resource groups, each PUCCH resource group include one or more PUCCH resources, the two PUCCH resource groups are respectively associated with two CORESET groups; paragraph [0132], PUCCH resource indication field in the DCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Wang into the system of Gong in order to avoid conflicts between PUCCH resources when multiple CORESET groups are present, thereby ensuring transmission reliability (Gong; ABSTRACT).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Gong and Wang, specifically Gong discloses wherein the first group index equals to the second group index (Gong, paragraph [0006], UE receiving a configuration to monitor more than on PDCCH; paragraph [0020], configuring comprises configurating the UE with at least two different CORESETs; paragraph [0044], signaling includes at least one CORESET configuration and monitoring one or more PDCCHs in at least one CORESET based on the configuration; paragraph [0068], each CORESET set with specific index p).
Regarding claim 23, Gong discloses a method performed by a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device, WD (Gong, paragraph [0002], wireless communication between a UE and multiple cells), the method comprising:
transmitting (Gong, paragraph [0002], wireless communication between a UE and multiple cells; paragraph [0006], UE receiving a configuration to monitor more than on PDCCH);
a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, configuration of a first group of one or more first control resource sets, CORESETs, having a first group index and a second group of one or more second control resource sets, CORESETs, having a second group index (Gong, paragraph [0006], UE receiving a configuration to monitor more than on PDCCH; paragraph [0010]-[0011], configuring an association between the at least one PDCCH and a CORESET group associated; paragraph [0020], configuring comprises configurating the UE with at least two different CORESETs; paragraph [0044], signaling includes at least one CORESET configuration and monitoring one or more PDCCHs in at least one CORESET based on the configuration; paragraph [0068], each CORESET set with specific index p; paragraph [0209], each PDCCH is associated with a specific CORESET group which is associated with a specific CORESET group index); and
a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, configuration of a plurality number of PUCCH resource sets, each PUCCH resource set including a plurality number of PUCCH resources (Gong, paragraph [0096], resource information pertaining to multiple PUCCH resources is configured; paragraph 0344], each PUCCH is transmitted in one or multiple slots [multiple slots is a set of a plurality number of resources]; PARAGARPH [0488], PUCCH resource is indicated in a DCI from the set of PUCCH resource configurations);
transmitting a first PDCCH in the first group of one or more first CORESETs and a second PDCCH over a second CORESET different from the first CORESET and belonging to the second group of one or more second CORESETs (Gong, paragraph [0006], UE receiving a configuration to monitor more than on PDCCH; paragraph [0020], configuring comprises configurating the UE with at least two different CORESETs; paragraph [0044], signaling includes at least one CORESET configuration and monitoring one or more PDCCHs in at least one CORESET based on the configuration; paragraph [0068], each CORESET set with specific index p; paragraph [0209], each PDCCH is associated with a specific CORESET group which is associated with a specific CORESET group index, a first PDCCH is associated with a first CORESET group and a second PDCCH is associated with a second CORESET group);
transmitting a first physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, scheduled by the first PDCCH and a second PDSCH scheduled by the second PDCCH (Gong, paragraph [0006], UE receiving a configuration to monitor more than on PDCCH for scheduling more than on PDSCH); and
receiving a first Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest, HARQ, acknowledgement/non-acknowledgement, A/N, associated with the first PDSCH on a first PUCCH resource and a second HARQ A/N associated with the second PDSCH on a second PUCCH resource (Gong, Fig. 5; Figs. 26A-G; paragraph [0044], signaling includes at least one CORESET configuration and monitoring one or more PDCCHs in at least one CORESET based on the configuration; paragraph [0068], each CORESET set with specific index p; paragraph [0096], resource information pertaining to multiple PUCCH resources is configured; paragraph [0164], PDCCH1 associated with PDSCH1, PUSCH1 and HARQ process 1, PDCCH2 associated with PDSCH2, PUSCH2 and HARQ process 2; paragraph [0209], each PDCCH is associated with a specific CORESET group which is associated with a specific CORESET group index, and each PDCCH is associated with a specific HARQ entity with specific HARQ index, identity for PDCCH can be associated with a CORESET group index and HARQ entity index; paragraph [0428], FIG. 26B are two PUCCH, PUCCH1 2615 for transmission of ACK/NACKs associated with the PDCCH1 2618A and/or PDSCH1 2619A and PUCCH2 2616 for transmission of ACK/NACKs associated with the PDCCH2 2618B and/or PDSCH2 2619B), and
wherein the first group index is included in each of the one or more first CORESETs and the second group index is included in each of the one or more second CORESETs (Gong, paragraph [0068], each CORESET set with specific index p; paragraph [0209], each PDCCH is associated with a specific CORESET group which is associated with a specific CORESET group index, a first PDCCH is associated with a first CORESET group and a second PDCCH is associated with a second CORESET group).
Gong does not explicitly disclose wherein the first PUCCH resource is the same as the second PUCCH resource when the first group index is the same as the second group index; and wherein the first PUCCH resource is different from the second PUCCH resource when the first group index is different from the second group index.
Wang discloses wherein the first PUCCH resource is the same as the second PUCCH resource when the first group index is the same as the second group index (Wang, paragraph [0097]-[0098], CORESET-group-ID associated with each PUCCH configuration, each CORESET group configuration includes one field indicating a PUCCH configuration associated with the field; paragraph [0015], identifier of a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a CORESET group, identifier of a CORESET group associated with each PUCCH resource configuration; paragraph [0118], PUCCH configuration includes two PUCCH resource groups, each PUCCH resource group include one or more PUCCH resources, the two PUCCH resource groups are respectively associated with two CORESET groups); and
wherein the first PUCCH resource is different from the second PUCCH resource when the first group index is different from the second group index (Wang, paragraph [0097]-[0098], CORESET-group-ID associated with each PUCCH configuration, each CORESET group configuration includes one field indicating a PUCCH configuration associated with the field; paragraph [0015], identifier of a PUCCH resource configuration associated with a CORESET group, identifier of a CORESET group associated with each PUCCH resource configuration; paragraph [0118], PUCCH configuration includes two PUCCH resource groups, each PUCCH resource group include one or more PUCCH resources, the two PUCCH resource groups are respectively associated with two CORESET groups).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Wang into the system of Gong in order to avoid conflicts between PUCCH resources when multiple CORESET groups are present, thereby ensuring transmission reliability (Gong; ABSTRACT).
Claim 24 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 18.
Claim 25 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 19.
Claim 26 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 20.
Claim 27 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as the combination of claims 17 and 23. Gong additionally discloses a computer-readable medium comprising code portions which when executed on one of: a processor of a wireless device or a processor of a network node (Gong, paragraph [0106], processor, computer-readable medium, instructions executed by the processor).
Claim 28 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 17. Gong additionally discloses comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry configured to cause the wireless device (Gong, paragraph [0106], processor, computer-readable medium, instructions executed by the processor).
Claim 29 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 18.
Claim 30 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 23. Gong additionally discloses comprising processing circuitry, the processing circuitry configured to cause the network node.
Claim 31 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KHOSHNEVISAN et al. (US 20200196346) discloses that the PRI alone is insufficient to determine the PUCCH resource (r_PUCCH) for HARQ-Acknowledgement transmission. Instead, r_PUCCH becomes a function of PRI, as well as the number of CCEs of the CORESET on which the DCI is received (which could be different if the two DCIs are received in different CORESETs or CORESET groups), and the index of the first CCE of the DCI reception (which could be different for the two DCIs even if they are in the same CORESET).
Kim et al. (US 20220052824) discloses that PDCCH detection for each TRP/panel may be configured/indicated to be performed in units of corresponding CORESET group and/or uplink control information (e.g., CSI, HARQ-A/N, SR) and/or uplink physical channel resources (e.g., PUCCH/PRACH/SRS resources) may be configured/indicated to be separated, and managed/controlled, and/or HARQ A/N (process/retransmission) for PDSCH/PUSCH scheduled for each TRP/panel may be managed in units of corresponding CORESET group.
/A.L.L/ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413