DETAILED ACTION
NOTICE OF PRE-AIA OR AIA STATUS
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This action is in response to the Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed on 4/22/2026. Applicant amended claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 11, 13, 15, 16 and 19; canceled claims 3 and 14; and added claims 21 and 22. Claims 1, 2, 4-13 and 15-22 are pending and are examined below.
RESPONSE TO REMARKS AND ARGUMENTS
In regards to the objection to the specification, Applicant’s amendments filed on 4/22/2026 obviate said objection – accordingly, the objection to the specification is withdrawn.
In regards to the claim interpretation under § 112(f), Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 4/22/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the claim interpretation under § 112(f) is withdrawn.
In regards to the claim rejections under §§ 112(a),(b), Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 4/22/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the claim rejections under §§ 112(a),(b) are withdrawn.
In regards to the claim rejections under § 103, Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed on 4/22/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a rotational mechanism for rotation” in claim 22
The corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function at least includes:
Rotational mechanism: “hydraulic or pneumatic cylinder” (¶ 37.)
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
CLAIM REJECTIONS—35 U.S.C § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hagen et al. (US20220305923A1; “Hagen”)
As to independent claim 11, Hagen discloses: a method of charging a work machine, comprising:
attaching a charging coupler to the work machine, the charging coupler being in electrical communication with a work machine chargeable battery system and configured to attach a work tool to the work machine when the charging coupler is de-coupled from a charging unit of a charging station (“A work tool coupler is carried by the work vehicle and configured to selectively interconnect the work vehicle with a coupler receiver of a selected one of a plurality of different work tools. A vehicle side electrical connector is carried by the work tool coupler and configured to transfer electrical power to the electrical power storage system to charge the electrical power storage system.” ¶ 4. “The work tool coupler 114 is configured to selectively interconnect the work vehicle 100 with a coupler receiver 128 of a selected one of a plurality of different work tools 109 such as the bucket 109 shown in FIG. 2.” ¶ 25. “The vehicle side electrical connector 132 is schematically shown in FIG. 1 and is carried by the work tool coupler 114 and configured to transfer electrical power to the electrical power storage system 126 to charge the electrical power storage system 126.” ¶ 27. See also FIGS. 1-2.);
driving the work machine to the charging station, the charging station having the charging unit, the charging unit electrically tethered to the charging station (“By incorporating the electrical connections to the electrical power storage system 126 into the work tool coupler 114 the operator can drive up to the external charging station 136, engage the work tool coupler 114 with the coupler receiver 134 of the external charging station 136, and then lock the external charging station 136 to the work tool coupler 114 using either manual or powered latches 124.” ¶ 41.);
coupling the charging coupler to the charging unit (“[W]hen the work tool coupler 114 is interconnected with the coupler receiver 134 of the external charging station 136 the vehicle side electrical connector provides electrical power from the external charging station 136 to the electrical power storage system 126.” ¶ 27.);
establishing an electrical interface between the charging coupler and the charging unit (“[W]hen the work tool coupler 114 is interconnected with the coupler receiver 134 of the external charging station 136 the vehicle side electrical connector provides electrical power from the external charging station 136 to the electrical power storage system 126.” ¶ 27.);
transferring electrical charge from the charging unit to the work machine chargeable battery system via the electrical interface between the charging coupler and the charging unit (“The vehicle side electrical connector 132 is schematically shown in FIG. 1 and is carried by the work tool coupler 114 and configured to transfer electrical power to the electrical power storage system 126 to charge the electrical power storage system 126.” ¶ 27.).
CLAIM REJECTIONS—35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, 13, and 18-20 is/are rejected under § 103 as being unpatentable over Hagen et al. (US20220305923A1; “Hagen”) in view of Matsushita et al. (US20240109445A1; “Matsushita”).
As to independent claim 1, Hagen discloses a system comprising:
a work machine having a chargeable battery system and a charging coupler in electrical communication with the chargeable battery system (“An electrical power storage system, schematically indicated as 126 in FIG. 1, is carried by the work vehicle frame 106 and is connected to the electric drive motors 107 to provide electrical power to the electric drive motors. Electrical power storage system 126 may include at least one rechargeable battery 127.” ¶ 24. “The vehicle side electrical connector 132 is schematically shown in FIG. 1 and is carried by the work tool coupler 114 and configured to transfer electrical power to the electrical power storage system 126 to charge the electrical power storage system 126.” ¶ 27. See also FIG. 1.);
the charging coupler configured to receive an electrical charge transfer from the charging unit (“The vehicle side electrical connector 132 is schematically shown in FIG. 1 and is carried by the work tool coupler 114 and configured to transfer electrical power to the electrical power storage system 126 to charge the electrical power storage system 126.” ¶ 27.); and
the chargeable battery system configured to receive the electrical charge transfer via the charging coupler (“The vehicle side electrical connector 132 is schematically shown in FIG. 1 and is carried by the work tool coupler 114 and configured to transfer electrical power to the electrical power storage system 126 to charge the electrical power storage system 126.” ¶ 27.),
wherein the charging coupler is further configured to attach a work tool to the work machine when the charging coupler is de-coupled from the charging unit (“A work tool coupler is carried by the work vehicle and configured to selectively interconnect the work vehicle with a coupler receiver of a selected one of a plurality of different work tools. A vehicle side electrical connector is carried by the work tool coupler and configured to transfer electrical power to the electrical power storage system to charge the electrical power storage system.” ¶ 4. “The work tool coupler 114 is configured to selectively interconnect the work vehicle 100 with a coupler receiver 128 of a selected one of a plurality of different work tools 109 such as the bucket 109 shown in FIG. 2.” ¶ 25. “The vehicle side electrical connector 132 is schematically shown in FIG. 1 and is carried by the work tool coupler 114 and configured to transfer electrical power to the electrical power storage system 126 to charge the electrical power storage system 126.” ¶ 27. See also FIGS. 1-2.).
Hagen fails to explicitly disclose the work machine configured to:
autonomously drive to a charging unit, and
autonomously couple the charging coupler with the charging unit.
Nevertheless, Matsushita teaches:
autonomously drive to a charging unit (“The work machine controller 24 controls the autonomous work machine 1 to move to the charging station 2.” ¶ 27.), and
autonomously couple the charging coupler with the charging unit (“When the autonomous work machine 1 reaches the charging station 2, the battery 14 is charged by wireless power transfer from the power receiver unit 21 [i.e., charging coupler] and the power transmitter unit 31 [i.e., a component of charging station 2, which is a charging unit].” ¶ 29 and FIG. 4; see also ¶ 30. Note: The coupling between the power receiver unit and the power transmitter unit is necessarily performed automatically as the work vehicle has autonomously navigated such that charging may commence.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hagen to include the features of: autonomously drive to a charging unit, and autonomously couple the charging coupler with the charging unit, as taught by Matsushita, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful “to improve a degree of freedom in an approach direction of an autonomous work machine to a charging station.” (Matsushita, ¶ 4.) Indeed, a skilled artisan would have recognized that Matsushita’s teachings are useful for reducing operator burden and enabling unattended charging operations – such aligns with Hagen’s intended purpose of reducing operator burden for charging a work vehicle.
As to independent claim 19, Hagen discloses a system comprising:
a charging station having a charging unit coupler operative to attach to a work machine for providing electrical charge to a work machine electrical system (“[W]hen the work tool coupler 114 is interconnected with the coupler receiver 134 of the external charging station 136 the vehicle side electrical connector provides electrical power from the external charging station 136 to the electrical power storage system 126.” ¶ 27.);
the work machine having a charging coupler operative to:
mate with the charging unit coupler for establishing an electrical interface between the charging unit coupler and the charging coupler (“[W]hen the work tool coupler 114 is interconnected with the coupler receiver 134 of the external charging station 136 the vehicle side electrical connector provides electrical power from the external charging station 136 to the electrical power storage system 126.” ¶ 27.), and
attach a work tool to the work machine when the charging coupler is de-coupled from the charging unit (“A work tool coupler is carried by the work vehicle and configured to selectively interconnect the work vehicle with a coupler receiver of a selected one of a plurality of different work tools. A vehicle side electrical connector is carried by the work tool coupler and configured to transfer electrical power to the electrical power storage system to charge the electrical power storage system.” ¶ 4. “The work tool coupler 114 is configured to selectively interconnect the work vehicle 100 with a coupler receiver 128 of a selected one of a plurality of different work tools 109 such as the bucket 109 shown in FIG. 2.” ¶ 25. “The vehicle side electrical connector 132 is schematically shown in FIG. 1 and is carried by the work tool coupler 114 and configured to transfer electrical power to the electrical power storage system 126 to charge the electrical power storage system 126.” ¶ 27. See also FIGS. 1-2.).
the charging station configured to transfer electrical charge to the work machine electrical system via the electrical interface when the charging coupler is mated with the charging unit coupler (“[W]hen the work tool coupler 114 is interconnected with the coupler receiver 134 of the external charging station 136 the vehicle side electrical connector provides electrical power from the external charging station 136 to the electrical power storage system 126.” ¶ 27.).
Hagen fails to explicitly disclose the work machine configured to:
autonomously drive to a charging unit, and
autonomously mate the the charging coupler with the charging unit coupler.
Nevertheless, Matsushita teaches:
autonomously drive to a charging unit (“The work machine controller 24 controls the autonomous work machine 1 to move to the charging station 2.” ¶ 27.), and
autonomously couple the charging coupler with the charging unit (“When the autonomous work machine 1 reaches the charging station 2, the battery 14 is charged by wireless power transfer from the power receiver unit 21 [i.e., charging coupler] and the power transmitter unit 31 [i.e., a component of charging station 2, which is a charging unit].” ¶ 29 and FIG. 4; see also ¶ 30. Note: The coupling between the power receiver unit and the power transmitter unit is necessarily performed automatically as the work vehicle has autonomously navigated such that charging may commence.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hagen to include the features of: autonomously drive to a charging unit, and autonomously couple the charging coupler with the charging unit, as taught by Matsushita, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful “to improve a degree of freedom in an approach direction of an autonomous work machine to a charging station.” (Matsushita, ¶ 4.) Indeed, a skilled artisan would have recognized that Matsushita’s teachings are useful for reducing operator burden and enabling unattended charging operations – such aligns with Hagen’s intended purpose of reducing operator burden for charging a work vehicle.
As to claims 2 and 13, Hagen fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the work machine is configured to autonomously drive to the charging unit based at least in part on geolocation information
Nevertheless, Matsushita teaches: wherein the work machine is configured to autonomously drive to the charging unit based at least in part on geolocation information (“The autonomous work machine 1 includes a position sensor 25 …. [T]he position sensor 25 may include a receiver such as a GPS (Global Positioning System). The position sensor 25 may detect coordinates indicating the position of the autonomous work machine 1 and coordinates indicating the position of the charging station 2.” ¶ 26.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hagen to include the feature of: wherein the work machine is configured to autonomously drive to the charging unit based at least in part on geolocation information, as taught by Matsushita, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful “to improve a degree of freedom in an approach direction of an autonomous work machine to a charging station.” (Matsushita, ¶ 4.) Indeed, a skilled artisan would have recognized that Matsushita’s teachings are useful for reducing operator burden and enabling unattended charging operations – such aligns with Hagen’s intended purpose of reducing operator burden for charging a work vehicle.
As to claim 7, Hagen discloses: wherein the charging coupler is configured to receive an electrical charge transfer from the charging unit via an electrical interface between the charging coupler and the charging unit (“[W]hen the work tool coupler 114 is interconnected with the coupler receiver 134 of the external charging station 136 the vehicle side electrical connector provides electrical power from the external charging station 136 to the electrical power storage system 126.” ¶ 27.).
As to claim 9, Hagen fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the electrical interface includes an inductive electrical interface between an electrical receiver coil disposed on the charging coupler and an electrical transmitter coil disposed on the charging unit, where the electrical transmitter coil engages the electrical receiver coil when the charging coupler is coupled with the charging unit.
Nevertheless, Matsushita teaches: wherein the electrical interface includes an inductive electrical interface between an electrical receiver coil disposed on the charging coupler and an electrical transmitter coil disposed on the charging unit, where the electrical transmitter coil engages the electrical receiver coil when the charging coupler is coupled with the charging unit (“The power transmitter unit 31 includes a power-transmitting coil 32.” ¶ 22. “The power receiver unit 21 includes a power-receiving coil 22 …. The power-receiving coil 22 is magnetically coupled with the power-transmitting coil 32 and receives the electric power from the power-transmitting coil 32 by electromagnetic induction method …. The power-receiving control circuit 23 converts the electric power generated by the power-receiving coil 22 into the electric power for charging the battery 14 and supplies the electric power to the battery 14. The battery 14 is thereby charged.” ¶ 23. See also FIG. 4.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hagen to include the feature of: wherein the electrical interface includes an inductive electrical interface between an electrical receiver coil disposed on the charging coupler and an electrical transmitter coil disposed on the charging unit, where the electrical transmitter coil engages the electrical receiver coil when the charging coupler is coupled with the charging unit, as taught by Matsushita, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is well-known for conducting inductive electrical charging. In fact, Hagen suggests performing “inductive power transfer” at ¶ 29 — Matsushita explicitly provides the claimed structure for doing so.
As to claim 10, Hagen discloses: wherein the work machine includes a material moving vehicle (“Work vehicle 100 is illustrated as a skid steer loader” - ¶ 16 and FIG. 1.).
As to claim 18, Hagen discloses: wherein establishing an electrical interface between the charging coupler and the charging unit includes establishing an electrical charge interface between a first electrical contact disposed on the charging coupler and a second electrical contact disposed on the charging unit, and engaging the first electrical contact with the second electrical contact when the charging coupler is coupled with the charging unit (“[T]he vehicle side electrical connector 132 and the charging station side electrical connector 138 are galvanic power transfer connectors 132 b and 138 b. Galvanic power transfer connectors are those providing physical engagement of electrical conductors such as plug in type connections.” ¶ 30.).
As to claim 20, Hagen discloses: wherein the electrical interface includes an electrical charge interface between a first electrical contact disposed on the charging coupler and a second electrical contact disposed on the charging unit coupler, where the first electrical contact engages the second electrical contact when the charging coupler is mated with the charging unit coupler (“[T]he vehicle side electrical connector 132 and the charging station side electrical connector 138 are galvanic power transfer connectors 132 b and 138 b. Galvanic power transfer connectors are those providing physical engagement of electrical conductors such as plug in type connections.” ¶ 30.).
Hagen fails to explicitly disclose performing the foregoing when the charging coupler is autonomously mated with the charging unit coupler.
Nevertheless, Matsushita teaches: autonomously mate the charging coupler with the charging unit (“When the autonomous work machine 1 reaches the charging station 2, the battery 14 is charged by wireless power transfer from the power receiver unit 21 [i.e., charging coupler] and the power transmitter unit 31 [i.e., a component of charging station 2, which is a charging unit].” ¶ 29 and FIG. 4; see also ¶ 30. Note: The coupling between the power receiver unit and the power transmitter unit is necessarily performed automatically as the work vehicle has autonomously navigated such that charging may commence.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hagen to include the feature of: autonomously mate the charging coupler with the charging unit, as taught by Matsushita, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful “to improve a degree of freedom in an approach direction of an autonomous work machine to a charging station.” (Matsushita, ¶ 4.) Indeed, a skilled artisan would have recognized that Matsushita’s teachings are useful for reducing operator burden and enabling unattended charging operations – such aligns with Hagen’s intended purpose of reducing operator burden for charging a work vehicle.
Claim 4 is rejected under § 103 as being unpatentable over Hagen in view of Matsushita as applied to claim 2 — further in view of Wang et al. (US20200387165A1; “Wang”).
As to claim 4, the combination of Hagen and Matsushita fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the distance-to-object information is received via a charging coupler light detection and ranging (LIDAR) emitter operative to determine a distance from the charging coupler to the charging unit.
Nevertheless, Wang teaches: receiving distance information via a LIDAR emitter operative to determine a distance from the charging coupler to the charging unit (“The autonomous mobile robot may include a laser distance sensor to detect the distance between the autonomous mobile robot and the charging station.” ¶ 18.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hagen and Matsushita to include the feature of: receiving distance-to-object information via a LIDAR emitter operative to determine a distance from the charging coupler to the charging unit, as taught by Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful for accurately detecting the distance to a charging station. (See Wang, ¶ 18.)
Claims 5, 6 and 22 are rejected under § 103 as being unpatentable over Hagen in view of Matsushita as applied to claim 2 — further in view of Lindhe et al. (US20160298970A1; “Lindhe”).
As to claim 5, the combination of Hagen and Matsushita fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the work machine is configured to autonomously couple the charging coupler with the charging unit by aligning the charging coupler with the charging unit based at least in part on locating one or more fiducials disposed on the charging unit.
Nevertheless, Lindhe teaches: wherein a work machine is configured to autonomously couple a charging coupler with a charging unit by aligning the charging coupler with the charging unit based at least in part on locating one or more fiducials disposed on the charging unit (“FIG. 1f illustrates a specific unique charging station marker 40, comprising two reflective elements 42 in the form of stripes. Since the robotic cleaning device 2 is configured to remember and store the position of the charging station 6, which in the example of FIG. 1a is located in the office 64, the unique charging station marker 40 is … also configured to show and guide the robotic cleaning device 2 into the charging station 6.” ¶ 103 and FIG. 1f. “The unique charging station marker 40 may be positioned … directly on the charging station 6.” ¶ 104. Note: The unique charging station marker analogizes to a fiducial because it serves as a point of reference for an autonomous work machine.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hagen and Matsushita to include the feature of: wherein a work machine is configured to autonomously couple a charging coupler with a charging unit by aligning the charging coupler with the charging unit based at least in part on locating one or more fiducials disposed on the charging unit, as taught by Lindhe, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful for accurately aligning a work machine with a charging station. (See Lindhe, ¶¶ 103-104.)
As to claim 6, the combination of Hagen and Matsushita fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the charging coupler includes a fiducial detector configured to locate the one or more fiducials disposed on the charging unit by projecting light and detecting reflected light from the one or more fiducials.
Nevertheless, Lindhe teaches: wherein the charging coupler includes a fiducial detector configured to locate the one or more fiducials disposed on the charging unit by projecting light and detecting reflected light from the one or more fiducials (“FIG. 1f illustrates a specific unique charging station marker 40, comprising two reflective elements 42 in the form of stripes. Since the robotic cleaning device 2 is configured to remember and store the position of the charging station 6, which in the example of FIG. 1a is located in the office 64, the unique charging station marker 40 is … also configured to show and guide the robotic cleaning device 2 into the charging station 6.” ¶ 103 and FIG. 1f. “The unique charging station marker 40 may be positioned … directly on the charging station 6.” ¶ 104. Note: The unique charging station marker analogizes to a fiducial because it serves as a point of reference for an autonomous work machine.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hagen and Matsushita to include the feature of: wherein the charging coupler includes a fiducial detector configured to locate the one or more fiducials disposed on the charging unit by projecting light and detecting reflected light from the one or more fiducials, as taught by Lindhe, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful for accurately aligning a work machine with a charging station. (See Lindhe, ¶¶ 103-104.)
As to claim 22, Hagen discloses: wherein the charging coupler comprises a rotational mechanism for rotating the charging coupler to align the charging coupler with the charging unit (“Work tool coupler 114 may also be tilted relative to boom 108 by tilt cylinders 118, controlled by hydraulic control valves such as 119. These hydraulic actuators 116, 118 allow the work tool 109 attached to work tool coupler 114 to perform a function, such as a bucket 109 which may be tilted upwards to gather material or downwards to dump material.” ¶ 19. “The vehicle side electrical connector 132 is arranged relative to the work tool coupler 114 such that mechanical interconnection of the work tool coupler 114 with a coupler receiver 134 of an external charging station 136 defines a translational alignment and a proximity of the vehicle side electrical connector 132 relative to a charging station side electrical connector 138 of the external charging station 136.” ¶ 27. Note: Here, the tilt cylinders 118 constitute a rotational mechanism as they constitute the mechanism by which the coupler rotates. Continuing, as the coupler carries the vehicle side connector 132 and is aligned with the coupler receiver 134 of the external charging station 136, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the coupler would necessarily have to be rotated by the tilt cylinders to achieve the requisite alignment.).
Claim 8 is rejected under § 103 as being unpatentable over Hagen in view of Matsushita as applied to claim 2 — further in view of Boecker et al. (US20220016989A1; “Boecker”).
As to claim 8, combination of Hagen and Matsushita fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the electrical interface includes an electrical charging adapter deployable from the charging coupler for electrical connection with an electrical charging adapter receiver of the charging unit.
Nevertheless, Boecker teaches: wherein an electrical interface includes an electrical charging adapter deployable from the charging coupler for electrical connection with an electrical charging adapter receiver of the charging unit (“At 1104, the … process 1100 may … include lowering an interface activation surface associated with the autonomous vehicle relative to a support surface on which the autonomous vehicle is supported, such that the interface activation surface contacts the coupler activation surface of the charge coupler …. [T]he autonomous vehicle may include a charging box including one or more interface electrical contacts electrically coupled to the one or more batteries and an interface activation surface facing the support surface on which the autonomous vehicle is supported, and the process 1100 may include, at 1104, lowering the interface activation surface relative to the support surface.” ¶ 105 and FIG. 11. See also FIG. 1, and see also ¶ 108 which explains that the foregoing process indeed is for the purpose of “electrically coupling the one or more batteries of the autonomous vehicle to the electrical power source.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hagen and Matsushita to include the feature of: wherein an electrical interface includes an electrical charging adapter deployable from the charging coupler for electrical connection with an electrical charging adapter receiver of the charging unit, as taught by Boecker, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful for charging a work vehicle in an optimal fashion. Indeed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that it is known in the art that electrical vehicles typically charge via inductive methods (e.g., as in Matsushita) or via a physical adapter (e.g., as in Boecker). Hence, with a reasonable expectation of success one of ordinary skill in the art would have yielded the predictable result of configuring Matsushita’s work vehicle to charge through Boecker’s physical adapter as such would merely constitute the selection of one conventional charging method over the other to arrive at the same end result of charging the battery system of the work vehicle.
Claims 12 and 17 is rejected under § 103 as being unpatentable over Hagen in view of Boecker.
As to claim 12, Hagen fails to explicitly disclose: after transferring electrical charge from the charging unit to the work machine chargeable battery system, de-coupling the charging coupler from the charging unit.
Nevertheless, Boecker teaches: after transferring electrical charge from the charging unit to the work machine chargeable battery system, de-coupling the charging coupler from the charging unit (“[T]he charging system 104 may be configured to determine termination of charging …. Under such circumstances, the charging system 104 may cause decoupling of the interface electrical contacts 112 of the charging box 106 from the coupler electrical contacts 116 of the charge coupler 108.” ¶ 83.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hagen to include the feature of: after transferring electrical charge from the charging unit to the work machine chargeable battery system, de-coupling the charging coupler from the charging unit, as taught by Boecker, with a reasonable expectation of success because (1) this feature is useful for ensuring that a work machine is able to leave a charging station once it is fully charged; and (2) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the ordinary successful operation of Matsushita would necessarily require that the work machine is able to decouple from the charging unit as otherwise the work machine would not be able to leave from the charging – in this sense, Boecker merely provides the explicit teaching that such is known in the art.
As to claim 17, Hagen fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the electrical interface includes an electrical charging adapter deployable from the charging coupler for electrical connection with an electrical charging adapter receiver of the charging unit.
Nevertheless, Boecker teaches: wherein an electrical interface includes an electrical charging adapter deployable from the charging coupler for electrical connection with an electrical charging adapter receiver of the charging unit (“At 1104, the … process 1100 may … include lowering an interface activation surface associated with the autonomous vehicle relative to a support surface on which the autonomous vehicle is supported, such that the interface activation surface contacts the coupler activation surface of the charge coupler …. [T]he autonomous vehicle may include a charging box including one or more interface electrical contacts electrically coupled to the one or more batteries and an interface activation surface facing the support surface on which the autonomous vehicle is supported, and the process 1100 may include, at 1104, lowering the interface activation surface relative to the support surface.” ¶ 105 and FIG. 11. See also FIG. 1, and see also ¶ 108 which explains that the foregoing process indeed is for the purpose of “electrically coupling the one or more batteries of the autonomous vehicle to the electrical power source.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hagen to include the feature of: wherein an electrical interface includes an electrical charging adapter deployable from the charging coupler for electrical connection with an electrical charging adapter receiver of the charging unit, as taught by Boecker, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful for charging a work vehicle in an optimal fashion. Indeed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that it is known in the art that electrical vehicles typically charge via inductive methods (e.g., as in Hagen) or via a physical adapter (e.g., as in Boecker). Hence, with a reasonable expectation of success one of ordinary skill in the art would have yielded the predictable result of configuring Matsushita’s work vehicle to charge through Boecker’s physical adapter as such would merely constitute the selection of one conventional charging method over the other to arrive at the same end result of charging the battery system of the work vehicle.
Claim 15 is rejected under § 103 as being unpatentable over Hagen in view of Wang.
As to claim 15, Hagen fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the distance-to-object information is received via a charging coupler light detection and ranging (LIDAR) emitter operative to determine a distance from the charging coupler to the charging unit.
Nevertheless, Wang teaches: receiving distance information via a LIDAR emitter operative to determine a distance from the charging coupler to the charging unit (“The autonomous mobile robot may include a laser distance sensor to detect the distance between the autonomous mobile robot and the charging station.” ¶ 18.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hagen to include the feature of: receiving distance-to-object information via a LIDAR emitter operative to determine a distance from the charging coupler to the charging unit, as taught by Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful for accurately detecting the distance to a charging station. (See Wang, ¶ 18.)
Claim 16 is rejected under § 103 as being unpatentable over Hagen in view of Lindhe and in view of Diaz et al. (US20060245898A1; “Diaz”)
As to claim 16, Hagen fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the work machine is configured to autonomously couple the charging coupler with the charging unit by aligning the charging coupler with the charging unit based at least in part on locating one or more fiducials disposed on the charging unit.
Nevertheless, Lindhe teaches: wherein a work machine is configured to autonomously couple a charging coupler with a charging unit by aligning the charging coupler with the charging unit based at least in part on locating one or more fiducials disposed on the charging unit (“FIG. 1f illustrates a specific unique charging station marker 40, comprising two reflective elements 42 in the form of stripes. Since the robotic cleaning device 2 is configured to remember and store the position of the charging station 6, which in the example of FIG. 1a is located in the office 64, the unique charging station marker 40 is … also configured to show and guide the robotic cleaning device 2 into the charging station 6.” ¶ 103 and FIG. 1f. “The unique charging station marker 40 may be positioned … directly on the charging station 6.” ¶ 104. Note: The unique charging station marker analogizes to a fiducial because it serves as a point of reference for an autonomous work machine.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hagen to include the feature of: wherein a work machine is configured to autonomously couple a charging coupler with a charging unit by aligning the charging coupler with the charging unit based at least in part on locating one or more fiducials disposed on the charging unit, as taught by Lindhe, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful for accurately aligning a work machine with a charging station. (See Lindhe, ¶¶ 103-104.)
The combination of Hagen and Lindhe fails to explicitly disclose: engaging a charging unit coupling hook of the charging unit with a work tool coupler rod of the charging coupler, the work tool coupler rod further configured to engage a work tool coupling hook of the work tool.
Nevertheless, Diaz teaches: engaging a coupling hook with a work tool coupler rod of the charging coupler, the work tool coupler rod further configured to engage a work tool coupling hook of the work tool (“Now referring to FIG. 4, work tool 80 can be seen alongside and unattached to coupler 10. As depicted, work tool 80 comprises hook 120 and engagement piece 121. Hook 120 is configured to pivotally hinge on first pin 40, as further depicted in FIG. 5. Engagement piece 121 is configured to fit within slot 24. Piece 121 comprises aperture 122. When piece 121 inserted into slot 24, aperture 122 is substantially co-axial with first and second coupler 10 apertures 22 and 23. Insertion of piece 121 into slot 24 enables actuator 60 to positively engage work tool 80.” ¶ 24.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hagen and Lindhe to include the feature of: engaging a coupling hook with a work tool coupler rod of the charging coupler, the work tool coupler rod further configured to engage a work tool coupling hook of the work tool, as taught by Diaz, to yield the claim limitation at issue with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful “to couple and uncouple a variety of work tools or implements to a linkage arrangement of a work vehicle.” (Diaz, ¶ 1.)
While Diaz is not directed towards a charging station comprising the coupling hook, it would have been obvious to modify Hagen with Diaz’s hook-rod structure because (1) Hagen contemplates connecting a charging unit coupling hook (134a, 134b, FIG. 3) to a work tool coupler, and (2) such a modification would predictably be useful for achieving Hagen’s overall purpose of providing a dual-purpose coupler which can attach to work tools and a charging unit since such a modification would use a same connection mechanism for both a charging unit and a work tool.
Claim 21 is rejected under § 103 as being unpatentable over Hagen in view of Matsushita as applied to claim 1 — further in view of Diaz.
As to claim 21, the combination of Hagen and Matsushita fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the charging coupler comprises a work tool coupler rod configured to engage a work tool coupling hook of the work tool.
Nevertheless, Diaz teaches: wherein the charging coupler comprises a work tool coupler rod configured to engage a work tool coupling hook of the work tool (“Now referring to FIG. 4, work tool 80 can be seen alongside and unattached to coupler 10. As depicted, work tool 80 comprises hook 120 and engagement piece 121. Hook 120 is configured to pivotally hinge on first pin 40, as further depicted in FIG. 5. Engagement piece 121 is configured to fit within slot 24. Piece 121 comprises aperture 122. When piece 121 inserted into slot 24, aperture 122 is substantially co-axial with first and second coupler 10 apertures 22 and 23. Insertion of piece 121 into slot 24 enables actuator 60 to positively engage work tool 80.” ¶ 24.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Hagen and Matsushita to include the feature of: wherein the charging coupler comprises a work tool coupler rod configured to engage a work tool coupling hook of the work tool, as taught by Diaz, with a reasonable expectation of success because this feature is useful “to couple and uncouple a variety of work tools or implements to a linkage arrangement of a work vehicle.” (Diaz, ¶ 1.)
CONCLUSION
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, this action is final. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fadey S. Jabr, can be reached on (571) 272-1516. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M.C.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668