DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 3 appears to have a typo in “3. The first device of claim 1, wherein the first device is caused to: receive, form the second device,”, where “form” appears that it should be “from”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bao et al (US 20220279313 A1; hereinafter “Bao”).
Regarding claim 1, Bao discloses a first device (see Bao, fig. 4 400), comprising: at least one processor (see Bao, fig. 4 410); and at least one memory storing instructions that (see Bao, fig. 4 411), when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first device to:
receive, from a second device (see Bao, fig. 7 Server 400 step 724 ) a first request for a sidelink positioning measurement (see Bao, fig. 7 Server 400 step 724, ¶[0120] “….For example, the request may include an indication of a quantity of PRS instances and/or one or more transmission pattern parameters (e.g., time offset, frequency offset, symbol offset, comb number, frequency layer, etc.).”, further see ¶[0093] ) that is based on a plurality of sidelink positioning measurement samples or a plurality of sidelink positioning reference signal resources (see Bao, fig. 7 Server 400 step 724, ¶[0120] “….For example, the request may include an indication of a quantity of PRS instances and/or one or more transmission pattern parameters (e.g., time offset, frequency offset, symbol offset, comb number, frequency layer, etc.).”, further see ¶[0093] );
transmit, to a third device (see Bao, fig. 7 TRP 534 step 728 SL PRS req), a second request for a plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted on the plurality of sidelink positioning reference signal resources that is used to combine the plurality of sidelink positioning measurement sample (see Bao, fig. 7 TRP 534 step 728 SL PRS req, ¶[0109] “….Any of the SL PRS-related data requests 722, 724, 726 may include a trigger for positioning for the target UE 510 and thus an implicit request for SL PRS-related data, or and/or may include an explicit request for SL PRS-related data. An explicit request for SL PRS-related data may be generic, requesting SL PRS-related data for any other UE or for the anchor UE 520 explicitly without specifying any requested SL PRS-related data values. An explicit request for SL PRS-related data may include one or more requested SL PRS assistance data values (e.g., QCL values such as antenna port and/or beam(s)), or expected RSTD and uncertainty, and/or one or more SL PRS configuration data values (e.g., a quantity of further PRS instances to be transmitted, one or more transmission schedule values (e.g., frequency layer, comb number, time offset, frequency offset, etc.)). …”, further see ¶[0120, 093]);
obtain the plurality of sidelink positioning measurement samples based on the plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals received from the third device (see Bao, fig. 7 step 764, ¶[0120, 093]); and
determine the sidelink positioning measurement based on the plurality of sidelink positioning measurement samples (see Bao, fig. 7 step 790, ¶[0120, 093]).
Regarding claim 12, the limitations have been addressed in the cited sections of the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the limitations have been addressed in the cited sections of the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Bao discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the first device is caused to: receive, from the third device, sidelink control information indicating that a sidelink positioning reference signal scheduled by the sidelink control information is associated with a previous sidelink positioning reference signal resource and a transmitting antenna reference point (see Bao, ¶[0093]).
Regarding claim 8, Bao discloses, the first device of claim 1, wherein the first device is caused to: determine the plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals is transmitted by the third device using at least one of: a same radio frequency chain, a same beam, a same transmission power, or a same antenna port, based on an association indicated by the sidelink control information (see Bao, ¶0102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao.
Regarding claim 2, the first device of claim 1, wherein the first device is caused to: transmit, to the second device (see Bafo, fig. 7 obvious over Bao), Bao doesn’t specifically disclose a measurement report indicating the sidelink positioning measurement, however Bao discloses a cellular communication system. It was well known prior to the effective filing date of the instant application that wireless devices within a wireless system are able to send reports to other wireless devices. Further, the TRP in fig. 7 serves the anchor UE and regularly is in communication with it, therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date to have Bao transmit a measurement report indicating the sidelink positioning measurement thereby providing location services if the UE cannot determine location.
Claim 7, 9-11, 14-16, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao further in view of Manolakos et al (US 20240244567 A1: hereinafter “Manolakos”).
Regarding claim 7, the first device of claim 1, wherein the first device is caused to: Bao fails to specifically disclose receive, from the third device, sidelink control information indicating at least one of: sidelink positioning reference signal resource identity information for a previous sidelink positioning reference signal, a timestamp for the previous sidelink positioning reference signal, or transmitting antenna reference point information for the previous sidelink positioning reference signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos discloses receive, from the third device, sidelink control information indicating at least one of: sidelink positioning reference signal resource identity information for a previous sidelink positioning reference signal, a timestamp for the previous sidelink positioning reference signal, or transmitting antenna reference point information for the previous sidelink positioning reference signal (see Manolakos, fig. 5 and 9)
Given that Bao is disclosing sending SL related data during SL positioning in wireless network, and given that Manolakos further discusses exchanging SL positioning information during SL positioning it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bao with the process of Manolakos thereby improving efficiency and reducing latency (see Manolakos, ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 9, the first device of claim 1, wherein the first device is caused to: Bao fails to disclose determine the number of the at least one sidelink positioning reference signal that is used for the sidelink positioning measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos discloses disclose determine the number of the at least one sidelink positioning reference signal that is used for the sidelink positioning measurement (see Manolakos, fig. 9).
See motivation to combine applied in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 10, the first device of claim 1, Bao fails to specifically discloses wherein the measurement report further comprises at least one of a sidelink positioning type related to the sidelink positioning measurement, identity information associated with the plurality of sidelink positioning reference signal resource, antenna reference point information associated with the plurality of sidelink positioning reference signal, the actual number of the sidelink positioning measurement samples used to determine the sidelink positioning measurement, or the number of the at least one sidelink positioning reference signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos discloses wherein the measurement report further comprises at least one of a sidelink positioning type related to the sidelink positioning measurement, identity information associated with the plurality of sidelink positioning reference signal resource, antenna reference point information associated with the plurality of sidelink positioning reference signal, the actual number of the sidelink positioning measurement samples used to determine the sidelink positioning measurement, or the number of the at least one sidelink positioning reference signal (see Manolakos, fig. 9, 5).
See motivation to combine applied in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 11, the first device of claim 1, Bao fails to specifically disclose wherein this first request further comprises a specific number of sidelink positioning measurement samples.
Manolakos discloses wherein this first request further comprises a specific number of sidelink positioning measurement samples (See Manolakos, fig. 9, 5).
See motivation to combine applied in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 14, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 10 and 7.
Regarding claim 16, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 18, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, the limitations have been addressed in the rejection of claim 7, 10, 11.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Bao et al (US 20220279313 A1; hereinafter “Bao”) further in view of Thomas et al (WO 2023180848 A1 hereinafter “Thomas”).
Regarding claim 20, the third device of claim 17, wherein the third device is caused to: Bao fails to disclose transmit, to the first device, information indicating at least one of: transmitting antenna reference point information for the plurality of sidelink positioning reference signal, or location information of a transmitting antenna reference point for the plurality of sidelink positioning reference signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Thomas discloses transmit, to the first device, information indicating at least one of: transmitting antenna reference point information for the plurality of sidelink positioning reference signal, or location information of a transmitting antenna reference point for the plurality of sidelink positioning reference signal (see Thomas, [0078] This functionality is enabled via the SL PRU 116 providing the known location to the configuration entity and/or positioning calculation entity. The known location information may comprise at least one of: 2D or 3D latitude and longitude information; height or altitude information; velocity estimates including (e.g., indication of mobility, such as high, medium or low); antenna and panel related location information and reference points including antenna panel locations including distributed antenna locations, antenna panel orientations or the like; SL Antenna reference points including any associated SL antenna reference point (ARP) IDs, which may be used to define the SL TRP location (in the x,y,z plane) and may be associated to the SL-PRS resources; or uncertainty and/or confidence intervals associated to the above know location information, which defines quality of the provided known location. Also fig. 20).
Given that Bao is disclosing sending SL related data during SL positioning in wireless network, and given that Thomas further discusses exchanging SL positioning information during SL positioning it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bao with the process of Thomas thereby improving positioning.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648