DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant argues that Guterman merely discloses whether a specific header has been overwritten and fails to disclose the claimed limitation that “the overwrite status information indicates whether all of the at least two data areas corresponding to the first address are used or only a part of the at least two data areas corresponding to the first address is used.” However, the rejection does not rely on Guterman merely for identifying whether a single header has been overwritten. Rather, Guterman is relied upon for teaching controller-maintained mapping metadata and overwrite-related status information associated with multiple physical data areas corresponding to a logical address. Specifically, Guterman discloses maintaining logical-to-physical mapping information in controller-managed tables (e.g., see Guterman, col. 10, ll. 25-31). Guterman further discloses that overwrite-related header information is maintained in mapping tables within the controller rather than in overwritten memory locations themselves. See Guterman, col. 11, ll. 3-6 and FIG. 8, disclosing “Header Flags” stored in the directory/mapping table. Additionally, Guterman explains that: “status information that the legacy host expect[s] to update on the header of a sector is instead maintained and updated in a table stored with the non-legacy memory device’s controller.” See col. 4, ll. 31-34. Guterman also explains that this arrangement is used because: “the non-legacy memory device does not support partial overwrites of previously written bytes or sectors.” See col. 4, ll. 34-37. Thus, Guterman teaches maintaining overwrite and validity information for multiple physical data areas associated with a logical address in controller-maintained mapping structures. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that such overwrite/validity tracking inherently indicates whether all associated data areas remain valid/used or whether only a subset of those associated areas remains valid/used after overwrite operations invalidate prior versions.
Applicant’s argument improperly attacks Guterman individually, whereas the rejection is based on the combination of Hahn and Guterman. Hahn teaches multi-host accessibility mapping and namespace reservation structures in which different memory areas are selectively accessible by different hosts. See Hahn, Abstract and FIG. 3. For example, Hahn discloses: “Shared NS4”, “Private NS1”, “Private NS2”, and “Private NS3” as memory areas having different accessibility relationships with multiple hosts. See FIG. 3.
Hahn further teaches: “receiving a mapping that restricts access to portions of the memory to specific ones of the plurality of hosts.” See Abstract1, ll. 63-65. Accordingly, Hahn teaches the claimed shared/accessibility mapping structure, while Guterman teaches maintaining overwrite-status metadata and usage/validity information in controller-managed mapping tables associated with multiple physical data areas corresponding to logical addresses.
Applicant further argues that the references fail to disclose whether “all” or “only part” of the data areas are used. However, the claim does not require an explicit field literally stating “all used” or “partially used.” Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed overwrite status information reasonably encompasses metadata indicating the validity/usage condition of multiple corresponding data areas, including whether some mapped areas have been invalidated/overwritten while others remain active. Guterman’s overwrite tracking and mapping-table validity structures reasonably teach or at least suggest such functionality.
Applicant’s argument regarding lack of articulated reasoning is likewise unpersuasive. The Office Action provided sufficient rationale for combining the references, namely, incorporating Guterman’s overwrite-status metadata into Hahn’s shared/private namespace mapping architecture to improve consistency management, overwrite tracking, and validity management for multi-host logical mappings. Such modification merely applies known overwrite-management techniques to a known namespace reservation environment and would have yielded predictable results, consistent with KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Accordingly, the combination of Hahn and Guterman continues to teach or render obvious:
“the overwrite status information indicates whether all of the at least two data areas corresponding to the first address are used or only a part of the at least two data areas corresponding to the first address is used.”
Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained. Independent claims 15 and 18, which recite commensurate limitations, are rejected for substantially the same reasons. Claims 2-14, 16-17, and 19-20 fall with their respective independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn et al (US 10,558,376 B2) and further in view of Guterman et al (US 7,739,472 B2).
Claim 1: Hahn et al teach a memory system comprising (see Abstract; Fig. 1):
one or more memory devices, each memory device including a first memory area (e.g. Shared namespace- fig. 3) and a second memory area (e.g. private namespace- fig. 3; col. 7, lines13-17, describing namespace allocation), wherein a number of host devices that are accessible to the first memory area is equal to or greater than a number of host devices that are accessible to the second memory area (Shared namespace → accessible by multiple hosts and Private namespace → accessible by only one host- Col. 6, lines 17-21);
and a controller configured to, upon receiving a first command for a first address included in the first memory area, control an operation according to the first command based on an indirect mapping table that includes (e.g. Hahn et al teach a controller that receives commands from hosts targeting addresses within namespaces and uses a logical-to-physical translation mechanism (host-ID-to-namespace mapping and LBA→PBA mapping) to control access operations. The namespace mapping table and logical-address translation structure together form an indirect mapping table, Figs. 2–4): shared status information indicating a shared status of the first address to indicate whether the first address is a memory area that is shared by a plurality of host devices or dedicated to a specific host device (e.g. Hahn et al explicitly teach metadata indicating whether a namespace is shared or private, and whether a given region/address is accessible by multiple hosts or dedicated to a single host. Col. 6, lines 17-43 discussing namespace attributes and host-access permissions); accessibility status information indicating whether a specific host device is accessible to the first address (e.g. discloses that each namespace contains host-access permissions, stored in metadata, indicating which specific host(s) may access that namespace or address range- col. 7, lines 13-67, controlling access per host-ID ).
Not explicitly taught by Hahn et al is “overwrite status information indicating usage statuses of at least two data areas corresponding to the first address to indicate whether data in the at least two data areas is overwritten data, wherein the overwrite status information indicates whether all of the at least two data areas corresponding to the first address are used or only a part of the at least two data areas corresponding to the first address is used.”
However, Guterman et al teach controller-maintained overwrite-status metadata and mapping information associated with multiple physical data areas corresponding to logical addresses. Specifically, Guterman teaches, in Figures 6A-8:
logical-to-physical mapping structures,
Header flags,
overwrite-related metadata,
and controller-maintained status information stored in mapping tables.
Guterman teaches: “status information that the legacy host expect[s] to update on the header of a sector is instead maintained and updated in a table stored with the non-legacy memory device’s controller.” See col. 4, ll. 31-34. Guterman further teaches: “the non-legacy memory device does not support partial overwrites of previously written bytes or sectors.” See col. 4, ll. 34-37. Guterman additionally teaches maintaining logical-to-physical mapping information in controller-managed tables (e.g., see Guterman, col. 10, ll. 25-31) and that overwrite-related header information is maintained in mapping tables within the controller rather than in overwritten memory locations themselves. See Guterman, col. 11, ll. 3-6 and FIG. 8, disclosing “Header Flags” stored in the directory/mapping table. Furthermore, Guterman explains that: “status information that the legacy host expect[s] to update on the header of a sector is instead maintained and updated in a table stored with the non-legacy memory device’s controller.” See col. 4, ll. 31-34.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the overwrite-status metadata and mapping-table management techniques of Guterman into the namespace accessibility mapping system of Hahn in order to improve overwrite tracking, consistency management, validity management, and logical-to-physical mapping control in a multi-host shared namespace environment. The modification merely combines known controller-managed overwrite-status tracking techniques with known namespace accessibility mapping techniques to yield predictable results, consistent with KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
As per claim 15, the claimed features are rejected similarly to claim 1 above. Hahn teaches shared status and accessibility status and Guterman teaches overwrite status (see claim 1 for motivation).
As per claim 18, the claimed features are rejected similarly to claim 1 above. Hahn teaches shared status; accessibility status and a controller verifying metadata before operation. Guterman teaches overwrite status info in mapping table and a controller checking this metadata before executing read/write (see claim 1 for motivation).
Claim 2: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the memory system according to claim 1, but fail to teach that upon receiving a read command as the first command, the controller checks the overwrite status information for the first address, and upon determination that the overwrite status information corresponds to a first overwrite status value, performs a read operation on a first data area of the at least two data areas corresponding to the first address. However, Hahn et al teach that the controller receives read commands and consults mapping information before reading data (e.g. Figs. 2-4, namespace read path). And Guterman et al teach that upon receiving a read command, the controller checks overwrite-status bits for a logical address and if the overwrite bit indicates “first” (e.g., valid), the controller reads from the first physical data area associated with the logical address (e.g. Figs. 5-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Guterman’s overwrite-status read-selection logic in Hahn et al to improve version tracking and ensure the most recent valid data is read.
Claim 3: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the memory system according to claim 2, but fail to teach that the controller: checks request status information according to the first command upon determination that the overwrite status information corresponds to a second overwrite status value; performs a read operation on the first data area upon determination that the request status information corresponds to a first request status value; and performs a read operation on a second data area of the at least two data areas corresponding to the first address upon determination that the request status information corresponds to a second request status value. However, Hahn et al teach Controller receives commands and may use metadata to control access and Guterman et al teach that when overwrite-status indicates “second version,” the controller may check request-type/status information (e.g., read-modify-write, sequential read, cached read). Based on this status, the controller chooses which physical copy to read (e.g. col. 10, lines 49-67; col 11, lines 1-42). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that using request-status metadata to decide which physical version to read is well-known in SSD firmware to optimize access behavior.
Claim 4: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the memory system according to claim 3, wherein a point in time at which data is written to the first data area precedes a point in time at which data is written to the second data area (e.g. Guterman et al expressly teach multi-version data structures where first physical version is written at time T1 and second (newer) physical version is written at time T2 > T1, col. 7, lines 35-67).
Claim 5: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the memory system according to claim 1, wherein upon receiving a write command as the first command, in a case that the write command is a first write command for the first address, the controller performs a write operation on a first data area of the at least two data areas corresponding to the first address, and sets the overwrite status information for the first address to a first overwrite status value (e.g. Guterman teaches that on first write to an address, controller writes to the first data area and sets overwrite bits to a defined value indicating first version or valid- col. 10, lines 40-67).
Claim 6: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the memory system according to claim 5, wherein in a case that the write command is a write command for the first address subsequent to the first write command, the controller: performs a write operation on a second data area corresponding to the first address; and sets the overwrite status information for the first address to a second overwrite status value (e.g. (e.g. Guterman teaches that a second write goes to a second physical location and mapping entry is updated to show new overwrite-status value- Fig. 5A).
Claim 7: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the memory system according to claim 6, wherein an auxiliary data area corresponding to the first address has a size that is smaller than at least one of a size of the first data area or a size of the second data area (e.g. Guterman et al describe auxiliary/temporary metadata or buffer areas used during copy or update operations. These auxiliary areas often have smaller size than primary data blocks (e.g. col. 11, lines 1-26).
Claim 8: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the memory system according to claim 7, wherein the controller: performs a write operation on the auxiliary data area according to the first command; copies data from the second data area to the first data area; and copies data from the auxiliary data area to the second data area (e.g. Guterman: multi-step update process, Figs. 5-7).
Claim 9: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the memory system according to claim 1, wherein upon receiving a read command as the first command, the controller checks the accessibility status information for the first address, and in a case that a host device that transmits the first command is accessible to the first address, the controller performs a read operation on a data area corresponding to the first address, and in a case that the host device that transmits the first command is not accessible to the first address, the controller provides the host device with a result value of performing a bit operation using a preset value and a preset operator on data stored in the data area corresponding to the first address (e.g. Hahan: host-access permissions per namespace; controller checking if requesting host is permitted; returning host-specific results if unauthorized (error or masked data) col. 7, lines 13-67 & Guterman: discusses data masking and returning modified/placeholder values under certain restricted states or metadata conditions (e.g., invalid version, stale copy, col. 12, lines 10-30; col 13, lines 1-30).
Claim 10: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the memory system according to claim 1, wherein upon receiving a write command as the first command, the controller checks the accessibility status information for the first address, and in a case that a host device that transmits the first command is accessible to the first address, the controller performs a write operation on a data area corresponding to the first address, and in a case that the host device that transmits the first command is not accessible to the first address, the controller returns an error value to the host device (e.g. Hahn teaches per-host access permissions and return of error/status values when host attempts disallowed writes – col. 6-7).
Claim 11: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the memory system according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the shared status information for the first address is a first shared status value and a host device that transmits the first command is accessible to the first address according to the accessibility status information for the first address, the controller performs an operation according to the first command (e.g. Hahn: Shared vs private namespace status; host-access checks and performing operations only when both conditions pass – col. 4-7).
Claim 12: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the memory system according to claim 1, wherein upon receiving a second command for a second address included in the second memory area, the controller controls an operation according to the second command, and a data area of the at least two data areas corresponding to the second address is allocated to a host device that transmits the second command (e.g. Hahn: Second memory area = private namespace and when host accesses private namespace, the data area is allocated solely to that host, col. 5–7).
Claim 13: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the memory system according to claim 12, wherein the shared status information for the first address included in the first memory area is set to a first shared status value, and the shared status information for the second address included in the second memory area is set to a second shared status value (e.g. Hahn teaches: Shared namespace = first value; private namespace = second value, col. 4–7).
Claim 14: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the memory system according to claim 13, wherein the accessibility status information for the second address is set as inaccessible to the second address for a host device other than the host device that transmits the second command (e.g. Hahn teaches that private namespace access rules explicitly disallow access by other hosts, col. 5–7).
As per claim 16, the claim repeats claim 1’s metadata structure. Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach: shared status; accessibility status and overwrite status.
As per claim 17, a number of host devices accessible to the first memory area is equal to or greater than a number of host devices accessible to the second memory area is taught by Hahn: Shared namespace (multiple hosts) and private namespace (one host).
As per claim 18, the claimed limitations are rejected similarly to claim 1 above. Furthermore, Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach that a controller stores indirect mapping table including shared, accessibility, overwrite info; and control circuit checks all three before operation. For instance Hahn teaches shared status, accessibility status and a controller verifying metadata before operation. And Guterman et al teach overwrite-status info in mapping table and a controller checking this metadata before executing read/write.
Claim 19: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach the controller according to claim 18, wherein the control circuit performs, in a case that the overwrite status information corresponds to a first overwrite status value, an operation according to the command on a first data area corresponding to the address (e.g. col. 8-11, Guterman).
Claim 20: Hahn et al and Guterman et al teach controller according to claim 19, wherein the controller: in a case that the overwrite status information corresponds to a second overwrite status value, checks request status information according to the command; in a case that the request status information corresponds to a first request status value, performs an operation according to the command on the first data area; and in a case that the request status information corresponds to a second request status value, performs an operation according to the command on a second data area corresponding to the address (e.g. col. 10–12; Guterman).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GUERRIER MERANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111 05/04/2026