DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 12/29/23. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0196399 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected apparatus, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/13/25.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-3 & 12-17 in the reply filed on 11/13/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the apparatus comprises a controller configured to perform the same process as claimed in claim 1 and therefore cannot be used for a material different process.
The argument has been found convincing.
However, the restriction is still proper because the processes of claims 1 & 12 can be performed by a materially different apparatus. For example, the coating process can be performed in a separate coating apparatus and transferred to an edge bead removal apparatus to perform the process as claimed instead of in the same apparatus.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carcasi et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0269177; hereafter ‘177).
Claim 1: ’177 is directed towards sensor integration into a coating track (title) comprising an edge bead removal (EBR) method (abstract & ¶ 52) comprising:
an operation of positioning, on an edge of a substrate, an edge bead removal nozzle supplying a removal liquid to remove a film formed on the substrate (see Figs. 3 & 7A-7C, abstract, and ¶s 52-56);
an operation of rotating the substrate while discharging the removal liquid from the edge bead removal nozzle (see ¶s 52-56); and
an operation of adjusting a region from which the film is removed by changing a value of the Y-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position (‘177 teaches using the sensors for adjusting the position of the EBR nozzle and thus reads on adjusting the region by changing a value of the Y-axis given that movement in the plane reads on changing a value of the Y-axis; see ¶ 56).
Claim 2: ‘177 further teaches an operation of moving the EBR nozzle to a preset default position (see Fig. 6, adjust process control, feedback adjust process recipe for next wafer, feed forward adjust future process recipe; in conjunction with ¶ 56 which teaches adjusting the EBR position, angle and scan rate which implies moving the EBR nozzle across the wafer and thus moving it back for the next wafer).
Claim 3: It is apparent that ‘177 teaches adjusting the region from which the film is moved according to the cosine value based on a value of the X-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position, and a value obtained by changing the value of the Y-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position (the nozzle is scanned and moved in a plane on a Cartesian coordinate system and it is arbitrary where on the plane the point is chosen and therefore it is apparent that ‘177’s movement and position can be defined as cos(X)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘177 in view of Hiatt et al. (US PG Pub 2004/0154530; hereafter ‘530).
Claim 12: ‘177 is directed towards a method of treating a substrate (title & abstract), the method comprising:
a coating operation of performing a coating process of forming a film on the rotating substrate (see Figs. 1-3, abstract, and ¶s 24 & 33); and
a conveying operation of conveying the substrate on which the coating process has been completed (the substrate is moved between modules; abstract & ¶s 7 & 96),
wherein the coating operation includes:
a liquid supply operation of supplying a first liquid to the rotating substrate to form the film on the substrate (Figs. 1-3 and ¶s 24, 26, & 33);
an edge bead removal (EBR) operation of supplying a second liquid to the rotating substrate to remove a portion of the film formed in an edge region of the substrate (Figs. 1-3 and ¶s 9, 24, & 52-56);
the edge bead removal operation includes:
an operation of positioning, on an edge of a substrate, an edge bead removal nozzle supplying a removal liquid to remove a film formed on the substrate (see Figs. 3 & 7A-7C, abstract, and ¶s 52-56);
an operation of setting an X-axis coordinate and a Y-axis coordinate of an initial position of the edge bead removal nozzle (process control recipe is present at the beginning of the operation which includes the position of the EBR nozzle and thus the (x,y) coordinates; see Figs. 1-3 & 6 and ¶s 52-56);
an operation of rotating the substrate while discharging the removal liquid from the edge bead removal nozzle (see ¶s 52-56); and
an operation of adjusting a region from which the film is removed by changing a value of the Y-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position (‘177 teaches using the sensors for adjusting the position of the EBR nozzle and thus reads on adjusting the region by changing a value of the Y-axis given that movement in the plan reads on changing a value of the Y-axis; see ¶ 56).
‘177 does not teach conveying to a conveyance robot.
However, ‘530, which is also directed towards spin coating processes (abstract) which can include both the coating process and the edge bead removal process (¶ 9) discloses that it is known in the art of a coating track (¶ 31) to use a robot to transfer the substrate between modules (¶ 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a robot as the specific conveyance means for transferring the substrate between individual modules in the coating track of ‘177 because it is an art recognized means for transferring substrates between modules in a spin coating track and thus would have predictably been suitable as the particular conveyance means in the coating track of ‘177.
Claim 13: ‘177 further teaches an operation of moving the EBR nozzle to a preset default position (see Fig. 6, adjust process control, feedback adjust process recipe for next wafer, feed forward adjust future process recipe; in conjunction with ¶ 56 which teaches adjusting the EBR position, angle and scan rate which implies moving the EBR nozzle across the wafer and thus moving it back for the next wafer).
Claim 14: It is apparent that ‘177 teaches adjusting the region from which the film is moved according to the cosine value based on a value of the X-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position, and a value obtained by changing the value of the Y-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position (the nozzle is scanned and moved in a plane on a Cartesian coordinate system and it is arbitrary where on the plane the point is chosen and therefore it is apparent that ‘177’s movement and position can be defined as cos(X)).
Claim 15: The first liquid is a photoresist (¶ 33) and the second liquid a thinner (¶s 52-56).
Claim 16: ‘177 further teaches performing a heat treatment process on the substrate on which the coating process has been completed (see Fig. 2).
Claim 17: ‘177 teaches that the coater, the post apply back, and post expose back modules are separate modules in the coating track (see abstract and ¶s 5-8 50, & 96) and the combination teaches performing the transferring by the robot as discussed above.
Conclusion
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759