DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of Korea on 12/29/23. It is noted that a certified copy of the KR10-2023-0196399 application has been retrieved by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carcasi et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0269177; hereafter ‘177).
Claim 1: ’177 is directed towards sensor integration into a coating track (title) comprising an edge bead removal (EBR) method (abstract & ¶ 52) comprising:
an operation of setting an X-axis coordinate and a Y-axis coordinate of an initial position of the edge bead removal nozzle, the X-axis coordinate having a non-zero value and the initial position being at a second position different from the first position (the EBR dispense nozzle has an initial position and the angle and position can be adjusted throughout the process, ¶ 56; see also ¶ 52-56; though ‘177 does not explicitly recite the claim language it does read on setting an initial value for both (X,Y) wherein X is non-zero and the second position different from the first position because any vector movement can be defined as in (x,y) coordinate system and it is arbitrary what the initial orientation is chosen such that a movement along the vector can have non-zero values of x & y);
an operation of moving the edge bead removal nozzle in an X-axis direction and a Y-axis direction across a surface of the substrate to move the edge bead removal nozzle from the first position to the initial position (the EBR dispense nozzle has an initial position and the angle and position can be adjusted throughout the process, ¶ 56; see also ¶ 52-56; though ‘177 does not explicitly recite the claim language it does read on setting an initial value for both (X,Y) wherein X is non-zero and the second position different from the first position because any vector movement can be defined as in (x,y) coordinate system and it is arbitrary what the initial orientation is chosen such that a movement along the vector can have non-zero values of x & y);
an operation of positioning, on an edge of a substrate, an edge bead removal nozzle supplying a removal liquid to remove a film formed on the substrate (see Figs. 3 & 7A-7C, abstract, and ¶s 52-56);
an operation of rotating the substrate while discharging the removal liquid from the edge bead removal nozzle (see ¶s 52-56).
‘177 does not teach the number of times the EBR nozzle is repositioned and thus does not explicitly teach “an operation of adjusting a region from which the film is removed by changing a value of the Y-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position.”
However, ‘177 does teach that it is performed as needed to obtain the desired result (¶ 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to repeat position multiple times as needed to obtain the desired edge bead removal and thus an operation of adjusting a region from which the film is removed by changing a value of the Y-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position because it is prima facie obvious to optimize the number of times of adjusting to obtain the desired result.
Claim 2: ‘177 further teaches an operation of moving the EBR nozzle to a preset default position (see Fig. 6, adjust process control, feedback adjust process recipe for next wafer, feed forward adjust future process recipe; in conjunction with ¶ 56 which teaches adjusting the EBR position, angle and scan rate which implies moving the EBR nozzle across the wafer and thus moving it back for the next wafer).
Claim 3: It is apparent that ‘177 teaches adjusting the region from which the film is moved according to the cosine value based on a value of the X-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position, and a value obtained by changing the value of the Y-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position (the nozzle is scanned and moved in a plane on a Cartesian coordinate system and it is arbitrary where on the plane the point is chosen and therefore it is apparent that ‘177’s movement and position can be defined as cos(X)).
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘177 in view of Hiatt et al. (US PG Pub 2004/0154530; hereafter ‘530).
Claim 12: ‘177 is directed towards a method of treating a substrate (title & abstract), the method comprising:
a coating operation of performing a coating process of forming a film on the rotating substrate (see Figs. 1-3, abstract, and ¶s 24 & 33); and
a conveying operation of conveying the substrate on which the coating process has been completed (the substrate is moved between modules; abstract & ¶s 7 & 96),
wherein the coating operation includes:
a liquid supply operation of supplying a first liquid to the rotating substrate to form the film on the substrate (Figs. 1-3 and ¶s 24, 26, & 33);
an edge bead removal (EBR) operation of supplying a second liquid to the rotating substrate to remove a portion of the film formed in an edge region of the substrate (Figs. 1-3 and ¶s 9, 24, & 52-56);
the edge bead removal operation includes:
an operation of positioning, at a first position on an edge of a substrate, an edge bead removal nozzle supplying a removal liquid to remove a film formed on the substrate (see Figs. 3 & 7A-7C, abstract, and ¶s 52-56);
an operation of setting an X-axis coordinate and a Y-axis coordinate of an initial position of the edge bead removal nozzle, the X-axis coordinate having a non-zero value and the initial position being at a second position different from the first position (the EBR dispense nozzle has an initial position and the angle and position can be adjusted throughout the process, ¶ 56; see also ¶ 52-56; though ‘177 does not explicitly recite the claim language it does read on setting an initial value for both (X,Y) wherein X is non-zero and the second position different from the first position because any vector movement can be defined as in (x,y) coordinate system and it is arbitrary what the initial orientation is chosen such that a movement along the vector can have non-zero values of x & y);
an operation of moving the edge bead removal nozzle in an X-axis direction and a Y-axis direction across a surface of the substrate to move the edge bead removal nozzle from the first position to the initial position (the EBR dispense nozzle has an initial position and the angle and position can be adjusted throughout the process, ¶ 56; see also ¶ 52-56; though ‘177 does not explicitly recite the claim language it does read on setting an initial value for both (X,Y) wherein X is non-zero and the second position different from the first position because any vector movement can be defined as in (x,y) coordinate system and it is arbitrary what the initial orientation is chosen such that a movement along the vector can have non-zero values of x & y); and
an operation of rotating the substrate while discharging the removal liquid from the edge bead removal nozzle (see ¶s 52-56).
‘177 does not teach the number of times the EBR nozzle is repositioned and thus does not explicitly teach “an operation of adjusting a region from which the film is removed by changing a value of the Y-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position.”
However, ‘177 does teach that it is performed as needed to obtain the desired result (¶ 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to repeat position multiple times as needed to obtain the desired edge bead removal and thus an operation of adjusting a region from which the film is removed by changing a value of the Y-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position because it is prima facie obvious to optimize the number of times of adjusting to obtain the desired result.
‘177 does not teach conveying to a conveyance robot.
However, ‘530, which is also directed towards spin coating processes (abstract) which can include both the coating process and the edge bead removal process (¶ 9) discloses that it is known in the art of a coating track (¶ 31) to use a robot to transfer the substrate between modules (¶ 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use a robot as the specific conveyance means for transferring the substrate between individual modules in the coating track of ‘177 because it is an art recognized means for transferring substrates between modules in a spin coating track and thus would have predictably been suitable as the particular conveyance means in the coating track of ‘177.
Claim 13: ‘177 further teaches an operation of moving the EBR nozzle to a preset default position (see Fig. 6, adjust process control, feedback adjust process recipe for next wafer, feed forward adjust future process recipe; in conjunction with ¶ 56 which teaches adjusting the EBR position, angle and scan rate which implies moving the EBR nozzle across the wafer and thus moving it back for the next wafer).
Claim 14: It is apparent that ‘177 teaches adjusting the region from which the film is moved according to the cosine value based on a value of the X-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position, and a value obtained by changing the value of the Y-axis coordinate, among the coordinates of the initial position (the nozzle is scanned and moved in a plane on a Cartesian coordinate system and it is arbitrary where on the plane the point is chosen and therefore it is apparent that ‘177’s movement and position can be defined as cos(X)).
Claim 15: The first liquid is a photoresist (¶ 33) and the second liquid a thinner (¶s 52-56).
Claim 16: ‘177 further teaches performing a heat treatment process on the substrate on which the coating process has been completed (see Fig. 2).
Claim 17: ‘177 teaches that the coater, the post apply back, and post expose back modules are separate modules in the coating track (see abstract and ¶s 5-8 50, & 96) and the combination teaches performing the transferring by the robot as discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to applicant’s argument that ‘177 only describes a post process adjustment of the EBR nozzle’s position and is completely silent with regard to “setting an X-axis coordinate and a Y-axis coordinate of an initial position of the edge bead removal nozzle as required”, the Office disagrees with applicant’s interpretation because if there is an initial position (the EBR nozzle exists and thus has a position) and if there is to be a future adjustment there inherently has to be an initial value for the position and thus it is set in the prior art.
In regards to applicant’s argument that ‘177 does not teach moving the EBR nozzle across the surface of the substrate in the X-axis and Y-axis directions; the Office does not find this argument convincing because as discussed above, ‘177 teaches a vector movement which can be defined as movement in the (x,y) space and it is arbitrary what the rotational orientation of the (x,y) space is considered and thus reads on the claimed limitation.
In regards to applicant’s argument that ‘177 does not teach that the movement is based on α=βcosθ, wherein α is the width of the edge region removed, β is the Y-axis movement, and θ is an angle based on the x & y vectors; the Office does not find this argument convincing because this is a trigonometrical relationship redefining a radial movement in cartesian coordinates and though ‘177 does not explicitly espouse the equation it is inherently present because there is a radial movement relative to the surface and thus the relation is present.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759