DETAILED ACTION
I. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al. (US Pub.: 2013/0191576) in view of Burger et al. (US Pub.: 2017/0147624) and Bhagavat et al. (US Pub.: 2020/0185367)
As per claim 1, Chiang teaches/suggests a storage architecture comprising: a plurality of memory devices (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 204; Fig. 4, ref. 204); a front-end (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 104A), and configured to perform communication with a host device (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 10A, 10B); and a plurality of back-end (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 200A and Fig. 4, ref. 200A) configured to perform communication with the front-end and control at least a part of the plurality of memory devices, the plurality of back-end coupled to each other in series based on a daisy chain scheme (e.g. associated with daisy chain architecture of Fig. 4, ref. 200A) (Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; and [0055]-[0058]).
Chiang does not teach the storage architecture comprising:
accelerator module being on a package substrate;
chip located on the package substrate; and
chips configured to perform communication with chip on the package substrate and operate with accelerator module, chips coupled accordingly.
Burger teaches/suggests an architecture comprising: accelerator module (e.g. module associated with hardware accelerator such as FPGA: [0020]; [0128]); chips configured to perform communication with chip and operate with accelerator module (e.g. by combining communication between front end processor ASIC and back end processor ASIC with Chiang’s front end and plurality of back ends, the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features: [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]) ([0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; and [0128]).
Bhagavat teaches/suggests an architecture comprising: being on a package substrate (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 140); chip (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 114, 116) located on the package substrate (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 140); and operating on the package substrate, chips coupled accordingly (Fig. 1-2; and [0019]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Burger’s chip interconnecting architecture and Bhagavat’s packaging architecture into Chiang’s storage architecture for the benefit of implementing a robust architecture that reduces compression time while maintaining compression quality (Burger, [0019]) and reducing warpage of encapsulated integrated circuit module (Bhagavat, [0029]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 2, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: wherein each of the plurality of back-end chips comprises: a back-end link configured to communicate with the front-end chip; and at least one sub back-end link configured to communicate with at least one another back-end chip among the plurality of back-end chips (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0058]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]).
.
As per claim 3, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 2 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: wherein the back-end link included in one of the plurality of back-end chips communicates with the front-end chip, and back-end links included in the rest of the plurality of back-end chips are not connected to the front-end chip (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0058]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]).
As per claim 4, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: wherein each of the plurality of back-end chips comprises: an operating buffer memory circuit configured to store data associated with data arithmetic by the plurality of accelerator memory devices (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0058]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]).
As per claim 5, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: a host interface configured to communicate with the host device; and a plurality of front-end links configured to communication with at least a part of the plurality of back-end chips, and wherein at least one of the plurality of front-end links is in a disabled state (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0060]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]).
As per claim 6, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: wherein the plurality of back-end chips is disposed to surround the front-end chip, and located between the front-end chip and the plurality of accelerator memory devices (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0060]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]), wherein it would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skilled the art to further implementing the above architecture.
As per claim 7, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: wherein the plurality of back-end chips is disposed to surround the front-end chip, and the plurality of accelerator memory devices is disposed to surround the plurality of back-end chips (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0060]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]), wherein it would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skilled the art to further implementing the above architecture.
As per claim 8, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 1 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture further comprising: an interconnect chip located on the package substrate, and configured to communicate with a back-end chip corresponding to a last node of a daisy chain formed by the plurality of back-end chips (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0060]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]), wherein it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skilled the art to further implementing the above claimed features.
As per claim 9, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 8 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: wherein the interconnect chip is electrically connected to at least one of a plurality of solder balls located on a lower surface of the package substrate (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0060]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]), wherein it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skilled the art to further implementing the above claimed features.
As per claim 10, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 9 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: wherein the plurality of accelerator memory devices is electrically disconnected from the plurality of solder balls (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0060]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]), wherein it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skilled the art to further implementing the above claimed features.
As per claim 11, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 8 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: wherein the interconnect chip is configured to communicate with another interconnect chip which is included in a semiconductor package located outside of the storage architecture (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0060]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]), wherein it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skilled the art to further implementing the above claimed features.
As per claim 12, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 8 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: wherein the interconnect chip is not directly connected to the plurality of accelerator memory devices (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0060]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]), wherein it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skilled the art to further implementing the above claimed features.
As per claim 16, Chiang teaches/suggests a storage architecture comprising: a front-end (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 104A), and configured to perform communication with a host device (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 10A, 10B); a plurality of back-end (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 200A and Fig. 4, ref. 200A) configured to perform communication with the front-end, and the plurality of back-end coupled to each other in series based on a daisy chain scheme (e.g. associated with daisy chain architecture of Fig. 4, ref. 200A); and a plurality of memory devices (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 204; Fig. 4, ref. 204) (Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0058]).
Chiang does not teach the storage architecture comprising:
chip located on a package substrate;
chips disposed on the package substrate and communicate with chip, and the chips operating accordingly; and
accelerator module located outside the package substrate, and operate with chips.
Burger teaches/suggests an architecture comprising: chips configured to perform communication with chip and operate with chips accordingly (e.g. by combining communication between front end processor ASIC and back end processor ASIC with Chiang’s front end and plurality of back ends, the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features: [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]); and accelerator module (e.g. module associated with hardware accelerator such as FPGA: [0020]; [0128]), and operate with chips (e.g. by combining communication between front end processor ASIC and back end processor ASIC with Chiang’s front end and plurality of back ends, the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features) ([0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; and [0128]).
Bhagavat teaches/suggests an architecture comprising: chip (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 114, 116) located on the package substrate (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 140); and module located outside the package substrate(e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 140) (Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Burger’s chip interconnecting architecture and Bhagavat’s packaging architecture into Chiang’s storage architecture for the benefit of implementing a robust architecture that reduces compression time while maintaining compression quality (Burger, [0019]) and reducing warpage of encapsulated integrated circuit module (Bhagavat, [0029]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
As per claim 17, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 16 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: wherein each of the plurality of back-end chips comprises: a first controller configured to control an operation of the back-end chip; a second controller configured to control at least a part of the plurality of accelerator memory devices; a first buffer memory circuit configured to store data according to an operation of the first controller; and a second buffer memory circuit configured to store data associated with data arithmetic by the plurality of accelerator memory devices in response to an operation of the second controller (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0058]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]), wherein it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skilled the art to further implementing the above claimed features.
As per claim 18, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 16 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: wherein the front-end chip comprises a first front-end link configured to communicate with at least one of the plurality of back-end chips and a second front-end link that is in a disabled state (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0058]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]), wherein it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skilled the art to further implementing the above claimed features.
As per claim 19, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 18 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: wherein one of the plurality of back-end chips comprises a back-end link connected to the front-end chip, and each of the rest of the plurality of back-end chips comprises a back-end link disconnected from the front-end chip (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0058]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]), wherein it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skilled the art to further implementing the above claimed features.
As per claim 20, Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 16 above, where Chiang, Burger, and Bhagavat teach/suggest the storage architecture further comprising: an interconnect chip located on the package substrate, and configured to communicate with a back-end chip corresponding to a last node of a daisy chain formed by the plurality of back-end chips (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0058]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; and Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]), wherein it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skilled the art to further implementing the above claimed features.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiang et al. (US Pub.: 2013/0191576) in view of Burger et al. (US Pub.: 2017/0147624), Bhagavat et al. (US Pub.: 2020/0185367), and Burnham (US Patent 6,597,232).
As per claim 13, Chiang teaches/suggests a storage architecture comprising: a plurality of memory devices (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 204; Fig. 4, ref. 204); a front-end (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 104A), and configured to perform communication with a host device (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 10A, 10B); and a plurality of back-end (e.g. associated with Fig. 1, ref. 200A and Fig. 4, ref. 200A) configured to communication with the front-end and control at least a part of the plurality of memory devices (Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0058]).
Chiang does not teach the storage architecture comprising:
accelerator module being on a package substrate;
chip located on the package substrate;
a bridge chip disposed on the package substrate and configured to communicate with the front-end chip; and
chips located on the package substrate, and configured to communicate with chip through the bridge chip and operate with accelerator module.
Burger teaches/suggests an architecture comprising: accelerator module (e.g. module associated with hardware accelerator such as FPGA: [0020]; [0128]); chips configured to perform communication with chip and operate with accelerator module (e.g. by combining communication between front end processor ASIC and back end processor ASIC with Chiang’s front end and plurality of back ends, the resulting combination of the references would further teach/suggest the above claimed features: [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]) ([0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; and [0128]).
Bhagavat teaches/suggests an architecture comprising: being on a package substrate (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 140); chip (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 114, 116) located on the package substrate (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 140) and configure to operate with chip (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 116, 114); chip disposed on the package substrate (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 140) and configured to operate with chip (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 114, 116); and located on the package substrate (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 140) and configured to operate with chip (Fig. 2); and located on the package substrate (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 140), and configured to operate with chip (Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]).
Burnham aches/suggests an architecture comprising: a bridge (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 240) communicate with the front-end (e.g. associated with Fig. 2, ref. 1801-18032); and configured to communicate through the bridge (Fig. 2; col. 4, l. 42 to col. 7, l. 60).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in this art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Burger’s chip interconnecting architecture, Bhagavat’s packaging architecture Burnham’s bridge architecture into Chiang’s storage architecture for the benefit of implementing a robust architecture that reduces compression time while maintaining compression quality (Burger, [0019]), reducing warpage of encapsulated integrated circuit module (Bhagavat, [0029]), increasing the operation bandwidth (Burnham, col. 5, ll. 43-45) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 13.
As per claim 14, Chiang, Burger, Bhagavat, and Burnham teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 13 above, where Chiang, Burger, Bhagavat, and Burnham teach/suggest the storage architecture comprising: wherein the bridge chip comprises: a first bridge link configured to communicate with the front-end chip; and a plurality of second bridge links configured to communicate with the plurality of back-end chips (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0058]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]; and Burnham, Fig. 2; col. 4, l. 42 to col. 7, l. 60), wherein it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skilled the art to further implementing the above claimed features.
As per claim 15, Chiang, Burger, Bhagavat, and Burnham teach/suggest all the claimed features of claim 13 above, where Chiang, Burger, Bhagavat, and Burnham teach/suggest the storage architecture further comprising: an interconnect chip configured to communicate with the bridge chip, and not directly connected to the plurality of back-end chips (Chiang, Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0028]-[0044]; [0055]-[0058]; Burger, [0020]-[0022]; [0035]-[0038]; [0045]-[0058]; [0128]; Bhagavat, Fig. 1-2; [0019]-[0024]; and Burnham, Fig. 2; col. 4, l. 42 to col. 7, l. 60), wherein it would have been an obvious to one of ordinary skilled the art to further implementing the above claimed features.
II. CLOSING COMMENTS
CONCLUSION
STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 1-20 have received a first action on the merits and are subject of a first action non-final.
DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
IMPORTANT NOTE
/CHUN KUAN LEE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181 March 17, 2026