DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-20 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Publication No.: US 2020/0322964 A1 to Wang et al. (Wang) as disclosed in the IDS, in view of Publication No.: Us 2018/0270038 A1 to Oteri et al. (Oteri).
As to Claim 1, Wang discloses an access point (AP), comprising:
a processing device operable to (‘in the example of Fig. 12, the exemplary computer system or wireless device includes a central processing unit (such as a processor or a CPU) 1201 for running software applications and optionally an operating system’, ¶ 0062):
receive, at the AP from a station (STA), information about an interference path between the STA and the AP (‘according to some embodiments, an AP (e.g., AP1) maintains an interference map indicating interference measured during transmissions from STAs in BSS2 to STAs in BSS1. For example, AP1 can request a report from its associated STAs indicating interference information from BSS2. AP1 can receive measurements from STAs in BSS1 indicating the interference information from BSS2. AP1 can also periodically receive reports from STAs in BSS1 in response to a request or AP1 can receive unsolicited reports from STAs in BSS1. AP2 also maintains an interference map indicating interference based on an observation of transmissions from STAs in BSS1 to STAs in BSS2’, ¶ 0045; see also ¶ 0036);
determine, at the AP, a transmission type based on the transmit power, wherein the transmission type comprise one or more of a spatial reuse transmission or a spatial nulling transmission (‘as depicted in the transmission sequence of Fig. 4, UL trigger frame 405 sent from AP1 to AP2 informs AP2 that the coordinating BSS is performing a UL transmission and indicates the intended STAs and allocated RUs for coordinated UL transmission. AP1 typically reserves some of the RU for AP2. AP2 can use the reserved RU for DL transmission to STAs which can be determined by uplink transmission of BSS1. AP1 receives UL transmissions 410 from STAs in BSS1. AP2 then selects STAs which are not interfered by BSS1 UL transmission (spatial re-use with BSS1 UL) for DL transmission 415 in BSS2. In this way BSS1 uplink transmission does not interfere with receiving STAs in BSS2. When AP2 transmits frame 415, it nulls toward AP1’, ¶ 0046; see also ¶ 0043); and
a transceiver (Fig. 12, ‘a communication or network interface 408 includes a plurality of transceivers and allows the computer system 1212 to communicate with other computer systems, networks, or devices via an electronic communications network, including wired and/or wireless communication and including an Intranet or the Internet (e.g., 802.11 wireless standard). According to embodiments of the present invention, the communication or network interface 1208 can operate multiple transceivers simultaneously’, ¶ 0063) operable to:
transmit, from the AP to the STA, a transmission based on the transmission type (‘as depicted in the transmission sequence of Fig. 4, UL trigger frame 405 sent from AP1 to AP2 informs AP2 that the coordinating BSS is performing a UL transmission and indicates the intended STAs and allocated RUs for coordinated UL transmission. AP1 typically reserves some of the RU for AP2. AP2 can use the reserved RU for DL transmission to STAs which can be determined by uplink transmission of BSS1. AP1 receives UL transmissions 410 from STAs in BSS1. AP2 then selects STAs which are not interfered by BSS1 UL transmission (spatial re-use with BSS1 UL) for DL transmission 415 in BSS2. In this way BSS1 uplink transmission does not interfere with receiving STAs in BSS2. When AP2 transmits frame 415, it nulls toward AP1’, ¶ 0046).
Wang does not expressly disclose select, at the AP, a transmit power based on the information about the interference path between the STA and the AP.
However, Oteri discloses select, at the AP, a transmit power based on the information about the interference path between the STA and the AP (‘the STA may estimate the interference channel, for example, based on a received interference signal. The STA may send the channel IDs of the primary and secondary channels, the CCA, TPC, interference channel CSI, and/or other information to the AP in the STA's own BSS. The STA may send the information through a non-overlapping secondary channel. The AP in the STA's own BSS may use the feedback information to select appropriate transmit power’, ¶ 0102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘select, at the AP, a transmit power based on the information about the interference path between the STA and the AP’ as disclosed by Oteri into Wang so as to effectively improve performance of WLAN deployment, Oteri ¶ 0004.
As to Claim 3, Wang further discloses wherein the information about the interference path between the STA and the AP comprises information used for spatial nulling (‘AP2 then selects STAs which are not interfered by BSS1 UL transmission (spatial re-use with BSS1 UL) for DL transmission 415 in BSS2. In this way BSS1 uplink transmission does not interfere with receiving STAs in BSS2. When AP2 transmits frame 415, it nulls toward AP1’, ¶ 0046; see also ¶ 0043).
5. Claims 2, 4, 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as disclosed in the IDS, in view of Oteri and further in view of Publication No.: US 2020/0077273 A1 to Cherian et al. (Cherian) as disclosed in the IDS.
As to Claim 2, Wang in view of Oteri do not expressly disclose wherein the information about the interference path between the STA and the AP comprises one or more of a required transit power back-off for simultaneous transmission or a maximum acceptable transmit power of the AP.
However, Cherian discloses wherein the information about the interference path between the STA and the AP comprises one or more of a required transit power back-off for simultaneous transmission or a maximum acceptable transmit power of the AP (‘in some examples, the criterion for coordinated reuse includes a maximum allowed transmit power for the set of access points and is based on an SIR of the first access point to serve the STA at a modulation and coding scheme (MCS)’, ¶ 0237; see also ¶s 0231-0232).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘select, at the AP, a transmit power based on the information about the interference path between the STA and the AP’ as disclosed by Cherian into Wang in view of Oteri so as to effectively improve spatial reuse for WLAN networks, Cherian ¶ 0007.
As to Claim 4, Wang in view of Oteri do not expressly disclose receive, at the AP from an additional station (STA), additional information about an additional interference path between the additional STA and the AP; selecting, at the AP, the transmit power to be a minimum transmit power based on: the information about the interference path between the STA and the AP, and the additional information about the interference path between the additional STA and the AP.
However, Cherian discloses receive, at the AP from an additional station (STA), additional information about an additional interference path between the additional STA and the AP (‘based on the information provided in spatial reuse response frame 520-a, the AP 105-a may determine one or more reuse criteria, including a maximum transmit power of the AP 105-b to support coordinated reuse with acceptable interference between BSSs of the AP 105-a and the AP 105-b, as detailed with reference to Equations (1) and (2)’, ¶ 0151);
selecting, at the AP, the transmit power to be a minimum transmit power based on: the information about the interference path between the STA and the AP (‘based on the determination, the AP 105-a may then select from the one or more un-managed APs 105 for synchronous DL transmission in the TXOP. For example, the AP 105-a may determine that the reported minimum transmit power of the AP 105-b to service at least the STA 115-b exceeds the calculated maximum transmit power for acceptable interference’, ¶ 0145), and
the additional information about the interference path between the additional STA and the AP (‘the spatial reuse response frame 520-a may include the measured CTS response of each of the one or more STAs 115 that are served by the AP 105-a. The spatial reuse response frame 520-a may further include a minimum DL transmit power to serve the one or more STAs 115 that are served by the un-managed AP 105-b as part of a BSS. Further, in some examples, the spatial reuse response frame 520-a may include BSR or BQR information’, ¶ 0150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘receive, at the AP from an additional station (STA), additional information about an additional interference path between the additional STA and the AP; selecting, at the AP, the transmit power to be a minimum transmit power based on: the information about the interference path between the STA and the AP, and the additional information about the interference path between the additional STA and the AP’ as disclosed by Cherian into Wang in view of Oteri so as to effectively improve spatial reuse for WLAN networks, Cherian ¶ 0007.
As to Claim 5, Wang in view of Oteri do not expressly disclose compute the minimum transmit power based on a preamble of the transmission received from one or more of the STA or the additional STA; or compute the minimum transmit power based on the minimum transmit power for the STA and the additional STA.
However, Cherian discloses compute the minimum transmit power based on a preamble of the transmission received from one or more of the STA or the additional STA; or compute the minimum transmit power based on the minimum transmit power for the STA and the additional STA (‘the AP 105-a may evaluate the expected minimum transmit power of the one or more un-managed APs 105 that reported, as received in the spatial reuse response frame, and determine if the reported transmit power satisfies the determined maximum allowed transmit power, as indicated above. Based on the determination, the AP 105-a may then select from the one or more un-managed APs 105 for synchronous DL transmission in the TXOP. For example, the AP 105-a may determine that the reported minimum transmit power of the AP 105-b to service at least the STA 115-b exceeds the calculated maximum transmit power for acceptable interference’, ¶ 0145).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘compute the minimum transmit power based on a preamble of the transmission received from one or more of the STA or the additional STA; or compute the minimum transmit power based on the minimum transmit power for the STA and the additional STA’ as disclosed by Cherian into Wang in view of Oteri so as to effectively improve spatial reuse for WLAN networks, Cherian ¶ 0007.
As to Claim 9, Wang in view of Oteri do not expressly disclose select, at the AP, one or more of: a modulation and coding scheme, or a number of spatial streams.
However, Cherian discloses select, at the AP, one or more of: a modulation and coding scheme, or a number of spatial streams (‘the AP 105-a may be configured with a signal-to-interference ratio (SIR) to serve the STAs 115 (for example, STA 115-a) of the BSS associated with the AP 105-a using a desired modulation and coding scheme (MCS). Based on the configured SIR value, the AP 105-a may determine the maximum allowed transmit power for each of the un-managed APs 105 included in the polling procedure’, ¶ 0145).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘select, at the AP, one or more of: a modulation and coding scheme, or a number of spatial streams’ as disclosed by Cherian into Wang in view of Oteri so as to effectively improve spatial reuse for WLAN networks, Cherian ¶ 0007.
6. Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as disclosed in the IDS, in view of Oteri and further in view of Publication No.: US 2021/0014695 A1 to Minotani et al. (Minotani) as disclosed in the IDS.
As to Claim 6, Wang in view of Oteri do not expressly disclose compute, at the AP, an expected signal quality for spatial re-use transmission, wherein the transceiver is operable to transmit the spatial re-use transmission when the expected signal quality for the signal re-use transmission is greater than a threshold.
However, Minotani discloses compute, at the AP, an expected signal quality for spatial re-use transmission (Fig. 4, ‘radio communication apparatus 100 determines a transmission resource for the SR signal based on radio quality information from radio communication apparatus 200, which is the SR responder, and transmits the SR signal within a predetermined period’, ¶ 0057; see also ¶s 0186-0190), wherein the transceiver is operable to transmit the spatial re-use transmission when the expected signal quality for the signal re-use transmission is greater than a threshold (‘further, in case of (3), SR transmission resource controller 107 determines whether or not the interference level is lower than a predetermined threshold, and when the interference level is lower than the threshold, SR transmission resource controller 107 may determine that the SR signal can be received in the SR responder. In case of (4), SR transmission resource controller 107 determines whether or not SINR is greater than a predetermined threshold, and when SINR is greater than the threshold, SR transmission resource controller 107 may determine that the SR signal can be received in the SR responder’, ¶ 0116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘compute, at the AP, an expected signal quality for spatial re-use transmission, wherein the transceiver is operable to transmit the spatial re-use transmission when the expected signal quality for the signal re-use transmission is greater than a threshold’ as disclosed by Minotani into Wang in view of Oteri so as to effectively mitigate interference in wireless communication system, Minotani ¶ 0014.
As to Claim 8, Wang in view of Oteri do not expressly disclose compute, at the AP, a noise and interference threshold; and send, from the AP to the STA, the noise and interference threshold.
However, Minotani discloses compute, at the AP, a noise and interference threshold (‘specifically, SR transmission resource controller 301 calculates transmission power for the SR signal (corresponding to allowable power to be described, hereinafter, i.e., transmission power calculated from SRP), using an SRP [dBm] included in a trigger frame inputted from decoder 104 and an RSSI (RSSItrigger frame) of a trigger frame inputted from received power measurer 102’, ¶ 0186); and send, from the AP to the STA, the noise and interference threshold (‘further, in case of (3), SR transmission resource controller 107 determines whether or not the interference level is lower than a predetermined threshold, and when the interference level is lower than the threshold, SR transmission resource controller 107 may determine that the SR signal can be received in the SR responder. In case of (4), SR transmission resource controller 107 determines whether or not SINR is greater than a predetermined threshold, and when SINR is greater than the threshold, SR transmission resource controller 107 may determine that the SR signal can be received in the SR responder’, ¶ 0116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘compute, at the AP, a noise and interference threshold; and send, from the AP to the STA, the noise and interference threshold’ as disclosed by Minotani into Wang in view of Oteri so as to effectively mitigate interference in wireless communication system, Minotani ¶ 0014.
Conclusion
/GBEMILEKE J ONAMUTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463