DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/11/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-11 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the specification and claims have overcome each and every objection and 112 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 09/19/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 lines 2 and 5 recite the limitation “memory”. However, the originally filed specification fails to disclose the storage unit as “memory”. Therefore, “memory” is considered new matter.
Claims 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 10 lines 2-4 recite the limitation “a ratio of a number of magnetic poles of a rotor to a number of slots of a stator core (the number of magnetic poles of the rotor : the number of slots of the stator core)”. The use of parentheses in the claim introduces ambiguity as to the content of the claimed subject matter. It is unclear if the limitation in the parentheses is to be considered a limitation or not. For example, the claimed limitation could be “a ratio of a number of magnetic poles of a rotor to a number of slots of a stator core” or the limitation could be “the number of magnetic poles of the rotor : the number of slots of the stator core”. As such, the scope of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yajima (US 20250009446 A1) in view of Piccoli.
Regarding claim 1, Yajima discloses an actuator (see Fig. 3-7; 50) comprising: a motor (53); and a speed reducer (60) that reduces rotation of the motor, wherein the speed reducer has an efficiency of 60% or more (see paragraph [0062], wherein the forward driving efficiency of the high-efficiency planetary speed reducer 60 is, for example, 80%-90% or more), the actuator includes a control unit (20) that performs control. Yajima fails to disclose a control unit that performs control to feed forward cogging information for cancelling a cogging torque of the motor, and the cogging information is based on a relationship between the cogging torque and a rotational position of an output shaft of the actuator. However, Piccoli teaches a control unit (see page 3, column 1, first paragraph; wherein a controller is disclosed) that performs control to feed forward cogging information for cancelling a cogging torque of the motor (see page 3, column 1, first paragraph; wherein a controller can suppress the ripple simply by commanding a torque that subtracts the ripple torque from the desired torque), and the cogging information is based on a relationship between the cogging torque and a rotational position of an output shaft of the actuator (see page 3, column 1, first paragraph; wherein cogging torque is a function of position; see page 3, column 2, second paragraph; wherein cogging torque is visible from the mechanical state, i.e., position and speed of the rotor). Note that page 3, column 1, first paragraph of Piccoli reads “If the torque ripple for a given state of the motor is known, a controller can suppress the ripple simply by commanding a torque that subtracts the ripple torque from the desired torque. Cogging torque is a function of position, so a map of cogging versus position must first be generated. The large number of torque sources, combined with various non-linearities, make the torque ripple map generation challenging. Generating this waveform map is the crux of torque ripple suppression and can be estimated from a number of sources, including commanded position error and accelerations. These values must be measured or converted to units that are useful to the motor driver, typically voltage or current.” More specifically, Piccoli discloses generating a map of cogging versus position that can be estimated from a number of sources, e.g., an output shaft of an actuator.
Regarding claim 2, Yajima discloses the motor is a low-cogging motor (see paragraph [0064], wherein it is preferable that cogging torque of the motor 53 is low or there is no cogging torque) in which a multiplication of a cogging torque and a reduction ratio of the speed reducer is equal to or less than an output starting torque of the speed reducer (motor 53 is disclosed as having low or zero cogging torque, which when multiplied by a reduction ratio is substantially zero. A reduction gear having a starting torque that is zero is not possible in the real world, therefore the speed reducer has a starting torque which is a positive non-zero number. Since zero is less than a positive non-zero number, Yajima inherently discloses a low-cogging motor in which a multiplication of a cogging torque and a reduction ratio is equal to or less than an output starting torque of the speed reducer). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to provide the particular claimed cogging torque, reduction ratio and output starting torque, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). First, it is well known in the art that the cogging torque can be changed by rotor/stator skewing, rotor tooth notching, the design of the motor itself or by electronic compensation through drive electronics. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the cogging torque can be adjusted to fit the particular need of the motor, i.e., a result effective variable. Second, it is well known in the art that reduction ratios of speed reducers come in a wide variety and can be selected based on the need of application. Selecting a specific reduction ratio of a speed reducer, i.e., a result effective variable, only requires routine skill in the art. Third, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the starting torque of a speed reducer can vary widely based on many factors, such as materials, types of gears, lubrication, etc. As such, the starting torque of a speed reducer can be selected based on the need of the application and therefore is considered a result effective variable. The limitations of claim 2 which are not explicitly disclosed by Yajima in view of Piccoli are considered obvious, because one having ordinary skill in the art can select a motor and speed reducer with the desired cogging torque, reduction ratio and starting torque so that a multiplication of a cogging torque and a reduction ratio is equal to or less than an output starting torque of the speed reducer.
Regarding claim 9, Yajima discloses a detection unit (see Fig. 7, 70) that detects a force acting on an output shaft of the actuator (see paragraph [0063], wherein a torque sensor needs to be arranged on an output side in order to control load torque of the speed reducer); and the control unit (see Fig. 1, 20) that controls the actuator based on a detection result of the detection unit (see paragraph [0063], wherein a torque sensor needs to be arranged on an output side in order to control load torque of the speed reducer).
Regarding claim 11, Yajima discloses a memory (24). The combination of claim 1 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: a memory (Yajima, 24) configured to store the cogging information regarding the cogging torque of the motor, wherein the control unit performs control to suppress the cogging torque, based on the cogging information stored in the memory (see page 3, column 1, first paragraph; wherein a controller can suppress the ripple simply by commanding a torque that subtracts the ripple torque from the desired torque).
Claim 4-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yajima (US 20250009446 A1) in view of Piccoli and Moritani (US 20190160654 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Yajima discloses the actuator (50) drives a joint of a cooperative robot (see Fig. 16). Yajima fails to disclose an operation ratio of the actuator is 0% or more and 20% or less, the operation ratio of the actuator being a ratio of an operation time of the actuator to an operation time of the cooperative robot in which the actuator is incorporated. However, Moritani teaches an operation ratio of the actuator is 0% or more and 20% or less (see paragraph [0004], wherein an operation ratio is 20% ED or less is disclosed), the operation ratio of the actuator being a ratio of an operation time of the actuator to an operation time of the cooperative robot in which the actuator is incorporated (see paragraph [0045], wherein the operation ratio means a ratio of an operation time TJ of the gear motor 1 with respect to an operation time TR of the cooperating robot 100 into which the gear motor 1 is incorporated). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Yajima with an operation ratio of 20% ED or less, as taught by Moritani, to prevent overheating of the motor by allowing time to cool and to reduce the movement time of the robot which reduces the chance of contact with a human working alongside the robot.
Regarding claim 5, Yajima fails to disclose the motor is structured to suppress a cogging torque generated at an order lower than an order of a least common multiple of a number of magnetic poles and a number of slots of the motor. However, Moritani teaches the motor (see Fig. 2) is structured to suppress a cogging torque generated at an order lower than an order of a least common multiple of a number of magnetic poles and a number of slots of the motor (see Fig. 2, wherein 10 poles and 12 slots are disclosed). Note that 10 poles and 12 slots results in a fractional slot motor, and according to paragraph [0053] of the instant application, can suppress cogging of an order lower. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Yajima with the motor of Moritani, to provide a motor that is suitable for driving a joint portion of a cooperating robot (see paragraph [0012]; to provide a motor that has both weight saving and torque characteristics (see paragraph [0018]); to provide a motor that that has a smaller volume allowing for use in smaller robots (see paragraph [0024]); and to provide a motor that suppresses a decrease in durability (see paragraph [0025]). Additionally, note that ““[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004) “ and “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).” First, Applicant explicitly states in paragraph [0052] of the instant application that “the present inventor has found that backdrivability of an actuator can be improved by combining a motor having a configuration (hereinafter, sometimes referred to as a “reduction configuration”) for suppressing a cogging torque (hereinafter, sometimes simply referred to as “cogging”) of an order lower than an order of a least common multiple of the number of magnetic poles and the number of slots with a high-efficiency speed reducer”. In other words, Applicant has combined two known elements, i.e., a configuration for reducing cogging torque with a high-efficiency speed reducer, and is claiming a new function, i.e., increased backdrivability. As such, something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property. Second, the structural requirements of claim 4 are disclosed by the prior art, i.e., a motor with a configuration for suppressing cogging and a speed reducer with an efficiency of 60% or more, and therefore inherently “suppress a cogging torque of an order lower than an order of a least common multiple of the number of magnetic poles and the number of slots of the motor”.
Regarding claim 10, Yajima discloses the motor is a low-cogging motor (see paragraph [0064], wherein it is preferable that cogging torque of the motor 53 is low or there is no cogging torque). Yajima fails to disclose a ratio of a number of magnetic poles of a rotor to a number of slots of a stator core (the number of magnetic poles of the rotor : the number of slots of the stator core) is 5:6, 7:6, 8:9, 10:9 or 11:9. However, Moritani teaches a ratio of a number of magnetic poles of a rotor to a number of slots of a stator core (the number of magnetic poles of the rotor : the number of slots of the stator core) is 5:6, 7:6, 8:9, 10:9 or 11:9. (see Fig. 2, wherein 10 poles and 12 slots are disclosed, i.e., a simplified ratio of 5:6). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Yajima with the motor of Moritani, to provide a motor that is suitable for driving a joint portion of a cooperating robot (see paragraph [0012]); to provide a motor that has both weight saving and torque characteristics (see paragraph [0018]); to provide a motor that that has a smaller volume allowing for use in smaller robots (see paragraph [0024]); and to provide a motor that suppresses a decrease in durability (see paragraph [0025]).
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yajima (US 20250009446 A1) in view of Piccoli and Oka (US 20120080976 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Yajima fails to disclose the motor includes a split stator core, and at least one of an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface of the stator core includes a machined surface. However, Oka teaches the motor includes a split stator core (see Fig. 1), and at least one of an inner peripheral surface and an outer peripheral surface of the stator core includes a machined surface (see Fig. 10, wherein each split core 2 has an inner surface 4; see paragraph [0039], wherein insulating film 4 has already been machined). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Yajima with a split core having a machined surface, as taught by Oka, to provide manufacturing and costs benefits such as easier and more precise winding, reduced production costs, simplified repairs and greater design flexibility and being more compact; and to provide performance benefits such as higher efficiency, higher torque density, reduced heat, lower noise and vibration, and lower losses.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yajima (US 20250009446 A1) in view of Piccoli and Akasako (US 20150048706 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yajima fails to disclose the motor includes a rotor core which includes a plurality of magnet disposition surfaces on which magnets are disposed, the magnet disposition surfaces being provided in a circumferential direction of the rotor core, and each of the magnets is disposed closer to one side in the circumferential direction. However, Akasako teaches the motor includes a rotor core (see Fig. 1-2; 10) which includes a plurality of magnet disposition surfaces (16) on which magnets (12) are disposed, the magnet disposition surfaces being provided in a circumferential direction of the rotor core, and each of the magnets is disposed closer to one side in the circumferential direction (see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Yajima with a rotor core and magnets, as taught by Akasako, to provide a synchronous electric motor having a structure for reducing the cogging torque generated by the positioning error of the permanent magnet (see paragraph [0012]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections that were necessitated by an amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618