DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 11/06/2025 has been entered and considered. Upon entering claims 1-20 were pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/06/2025 have been fully considered, however they are not persuasive for following reasons:
Applicant argues that Xu has not been shown to teach or suggest "a partial-power DC-DC converter coupled between the AC-DC stage and the DC-DC stage" as recited in claim 1.
The examiner respectfully do not agree because Xu clearly discloses a partial-power DC-DC converter (fig. 5@ DC/DC converter 520) coupled between the AC-DC conversion stage (fig. 5@ AC/DC converter 130) and the DC-DC conversion stage (fig. 5@ DC/DC converter 160), (see figure 5).
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (Single-Phase AC-DC Converter With Dual-Output Rectifier, Dual-Input DC Transformer, and Voltage-Split/Sigma Principle; IDS) in view of Xu et al. (US 2019/0372465).
Regarding claim 1, Jia teaches a power converter arrangement (see figure 2) for converting an alternating current (AC) voltage into a direct current (DC) voltage, the power converter arrangement comprising: an AC-DC conversion stage (fig. 2@ AC-DC conversion stage DOR) being configured to convert an AC voltage into a first DC link voltage at a first DC link (fig. 2@ DC link voltage VL) and into a second DC link voltage (fig. 2@ DC link voltage VH) at a second DC link; a DC-DC conversion stage (fig. 2@ DC-DC conversion stage DI-DCX) connected to the AC-DC conversion stage (DOR), the DC-DC conversion stage (DI-DCX) being configured to provide the DC voltage based on the first DC link voltage and the second DC link voltage (see figure 2 and section II. PROPOSED SINGLE-PHASE AC-DC CONVERTER); and the AC-DC conversion stage and the DC-DC conversion stage being configured to exchange power between the first DC link and the second DC link (see pages 160-161; sections C. Operation Principle of the DI-DCX and D. Operation Principle of the DOR: using an AC-DC conversion stage comprising two distinct DC-links having different voltage levels and, depending on the phase angle of the input voltage sine wave, selecting the one that best matches the required output voltage levels).
However, Jia does not explicitly teach a partial-power DC-DC converter coupled between the AC-DC conversion stage and the DC-DC conversion stage.
Xu teaches a partial-power DC-DC converter (fig. 5@ DC/DC converter 520) coupled between the AC-DC conversion stage (fig. 5@ AC/DC converter 130) and the DC-DC conversion stage (fig. 5@ DC/DC converter 160), (see figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jia with the teachings of Xu by having a partial-power DC-DC converter coupled between the AC-DC conversion stage and the DC-DC conversion stage in order to allows for optimized component selection and operation, leading to lower power losses in the DC-DC conversion stage and optimal energy extraction from the source and stable voltage delivery to the load.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the AC-DC conversion stage and the DC-DC conversion stage is configured to regulate a value of the second DC link voltage so that an equivalent DC link voltage is proportional to a predetermined value of the DC voltage, wherein the equivalent DC link voltage corresponds to a half of a sum of a value of the first DC link voltage and the value of the second DC link voltage (see first column of page 160; Jia) and the partial-power DC-DC converter (520), (see figure 5; Xu).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches wherein the DC-DC conversion stage (DI-DCX) comprises a transformer (fig. 2@ transformer T) having a Turns Ratio; wherein the value of the DC voltage corresponds to the equivalent DC link voltage divided by the Turns Ratio of the transformer (see figure 2: transformer T and formula 9; Jia).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches wherein the DC-DC conversion stage (DI-DCX) comprises a Series Resonant Converter configured to operate at a fixed switching frequency equal to its resonant frequency (see figure 2 and first column of page 162; the DC-DC converter DI-DCX is a series resonant converter and the equivalent gain of the DI-DCX can be regarded as 1 since it operates around the resonant frequency; Jia).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches wherein the AC-DC conversion stage (DOR) comprises a first port for providing the first DC link voltage and a second port for providing the second DC link voltage; wherein the DC-DC conversion stage comprises a first port directly connected to the first port of the AC-DC conversion stage, and a second port directly connected to the second port of the AC-DC conversion stage (see figure 2; Jia).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches wherein the DC-DC conversion stage (DI-DCX) comprises a third port for providing the DC voltage, wherein the third port of the DC-DC conversion stage is galvanically isolated from the first port and the second port of the DC-DC conversion stage (see figure 2; Jia).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches wherein the DC-DC conversion stage (DI-DCX) is configured to process a power difference between a first average power and a second average power, the first average power being a power provided by the AC-DC conversion stage to one of the first or second ports of the AC-DC conversion stage, and the second average power being a power demanded by the DC-DC conversion stage from the respective port of the AC-DC conversion stage (see section C. Operation Principle of the DI-DCX of page 160 and sections B. Selections of the Capacitors and Inductor in the DOR and C. Design of the Dl-DCX of page 165; Jia); and the partial-power DC-DC converter (520), (see figure 5; Xu).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches wherein the DC-DC conversion stage (DI-DCX) comprises a first port connected to the first port of the AC-DC conversion stage (DOR) and the first port of the DC-DC conversion stage; and wherein the DC-DC conversion stage (DI-DCX) comprises a second port connected to the second port of the AC-DC conversion stage (DOR) and the second port of the DC-DC conversion stage (see figure 2; Jia); and the partial-power DC-DC converter (520), (see figure 5; Xu).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches comprising: a reference node providing a common reference potential, wherein the first port and the second port of the AC-DC conversion stage are coupled to the reference node; wherein the first port and the second port of the DC-DC conversion stage are coupled to the reference node (see figure 2; Jia); and the partial-power DC-DC converter (520), (see figure 5; Xu).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches a first capacitor (fig. 2@ CL) coupled between the first port of the AC-DC conversion stage (DOR) and the reference node, wherein the first DC link voltage corresponds to a voltage across the first capacitor (CL); and a second capacitor (fig. 2@ CH) coupled between the second port of the AC-DC conversion stage (DOR) and the reference node, wherein the second DC link voltage corresponds to a voltage across the second capacitor (CH), (see figure 2; Jia).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches a first capacitor (CL) coupled between the first port and the second port of the AC-DC conversion stage (DOR), wherein the first DC link voltage corresponds to a voltage across the first capacitor (CL); and a second capacitor (CH) coupled between the second port of the AC-DC conversion stage (DOR) and the reference node, wherein the second DC link voltage corresponds to a voltage across the second capacitor (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches wherein the DC-DC conversion stage (DI-DCX) comprises: a full-bridge inverter, the full-bridge inverter comprising a first inverter leg connected between the first port of the AC-DC conversion stage and the reference node, and a second inverter leg connected between the second port of the AC-DC conversion stage and the reference node (see figure 2, full-bridge inverter comprising the switches Sp1-Sp4).
Regarding claim 13, Jia teaches an automotive battery charging device (see figure 2 and first column of page 158: electric vehicle charging) comprising a power converter arrangement for converting an alternating current (AC) voltage into a direct current (DC) voltage, the power converter arrangement comprising: an AC-DC conversion stage (fig. 2@ AC-DC conversion stage DOR) being configured to convert an AC voltage into a first DC link voltage (fig. 2@ DC link voltage VL) at a first DC link and into a second DC link voltage (fig. 2@ DC link voltage VH) at a second DC link; a DC-DC conversion stage (fig. 2@ DC-DC conversion stage DI-DCX) connected to the AC-DC conversion stage (DOR), the DC-DC conversion stage (DI-DCX) being configured to provide the DC voltage based on the first DC link voltage and the second DC link voltage (see figure 2 and section II. PROPOSED SINGLE-PHASE AC-DC CONVERTER); and the AC-DC conversion stage and the DC-DC conversion stage being configured to exchange power between the first DC link and the second DC link (see pages 160-161; sections C. Operation Principle of the DI-DCX and D. Operation Principle of the DOR: using an AC-DC conversion stage comprising two distinct DC-links having different voltage levels and, depending on the phase angle of the input voltage sine wave, selecting the one that best matches the required output voltage levels).
However, Jia does not explicitly teach a partial-power DC-DC converter coupled between the AC-DC conversion stage and the DC-DC conversion stage.
Xu teaches a partial-power DC-DC converter (fig. 5@ DC/DC converter 520) coupled between the AC-DC conversion stage (fig. 5@ AC/DC converter 130) and the DC-DC conversion stage (fig. 5@ DC/DC converter 160), (see figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jia with the teachings of Xu by having a partial-power DC-DC converter coupled between the AC-DC conversion stage and the DC-DC conversion stage in order to allows for optimized component selection and operation, leading to lower power losses in the DC-DC conversion stage and optimal energy extraction from the source and stable voltage delivery to the load.
Regarding claim 14, Jia teaches a method for converting an alternating current (AC) voltage into a direct current (DC) voltage, the method comprising: converting an AC voltage into a first DC link voltage (fig. 2@ DC link voltage VL) at a first DC link and into a second DC link voltage (fig. 2@ DC link voltage VH) at a second DC link, by an AC-DC conversion stage (fig. 2@ AC-DC conversion stage DOR); providing a DC voltage, by a DC-DC conversion stage (fig. 2@ DC-DC conversion stage DI-DCX), based on the first DC link voltage and the second DC link voltage (see figure 2 and section II. PROPOSED SINGLE-PHASE AC-DC CONVERTER); and exchanging power between the first DC link and the second DC link by the AC-DC conversion stage and the DC-DC conversion stage (see pages 160-161; sections C. Operation Principle of the DI-DCX and D. Operation Principle of the DOR: using an AC-DC conversion stage comprising two distinct DC-links having different voltage levels and, depending on the phase angle of the input voltage sine wave, selecting the one that best matches the required output voltage levels).
However, Jia does not explicitly teaches a partial-power DC-DC converter, coupled between the AC-DC conversion stage and the DC-DC conversion stage.
Xu teaches a partial-power DC-DC converter (fig. 5@ DC/DC converter 520) coupled between the AC-DC conversion stage (fig. 5@ AC/DC converter 130) and the DC-DC conversion stage (fig. 5@ DC/DC converter 160), (see figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Jia with the teachings of Xu by having a partial-power DC-DC converter coupled between the AC-DC conversion stage and the DC-DC conversion stage in order to allows for optimized component selection and operation, leading to lower power losses in the DC-DC conversion stage and optimal energy extraction from the source and stable voltage delivery to the load.
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches further comprising, regulating a value of the second DC link voltage so that an equivalent DC link voltage is proportional to a predetermined value of the DC voltage by the AC-DC conversion stage and the DC-DC conversion stage, wherein the equivalent DC link voltage corresponds to a half of a sum of a value of the first DC link voltage and the value of the second DC link voltage (see first column of page 160; Jia) and the partial-power DC-DC converter (520), (see figure 5; Xu).
Regarding claim 16, the combination teaches further comprising, dividing the value of the DC voltage corresponds to the equivalent DC link voltage by a Turns Ratio of a transformer (fig. 2@ transformer T), wherein the DC-DC conversion stage (DI-DCX) comprises the transformer having the Turns Ratio (see figure 2: transformer T and formula 9; Jia).
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches further comprising, operating at a fixed switching frequency equal by a Series Resonant Converter to its resonant frequency which consists of the DC-DC conversion stage (DI-DCX), (see figure 2 and first column of page 162; the DC-DC converter DI-DCX is a series resonant converter and the equivalent gain of the DI-DCX can be regarded as 1 since it operates around the resonant frequency; Jia).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches further comprising, providing the first DC link voltage by a first port and providing the second DC link voltage by a second port; wherein the AC-DC (DOR) conversion stage comprises the first port and the second port; wherein the DC-DC conversion (DI-DCX)stage comprises a first port directly connected to the first port of the AC-DC conversion stage, and a second port directly connected to the second port of the AC-DC conversion stage (see figure 2; Jia).
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches further comprising, providing the DC voltage is provided by a third port which consists of the DC-DC conversion stage (DI-DCX), wherein the third port of the DC-DC conversion stage is galvanically isolated from the first port and the second port of the DC-DC conversion stage (see figure 2; Jia).
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches further comprising, processing a power difference between a first average power and a second average power by the DC-DC conversion stage (DI-DCX), the first average power being a power provided by the AC-DC conversion stage to one of the first or second ports of the AC-DC conversion stage, and the second average power being a power demanded by the DC-DC conversion stage from the respective port of the AC-DC conversion stage (see section C. Operation Principle of the DI-DCX of page 160 and sections B. Selections of the Capacitors and Inductor in the DOR and C. Design of the Dl-DCX of page 165; Jia); and the partial-power DC-DC converter (520), (see figure 5; Xu).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XUAN LY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836