DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 9/10/2024. Claims 1-19 are
pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHATURVEDI et al. (US 2025/0176036 Al, hereinafter “Chaturvedi”) in view of CHANG et al. (US 2026/0173002 Al, hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 1, Chaturvedi discloses:
A device comprising (UE of a multi-TRP system for managing multiple TRPs during RACH procedure in a communication network, Chaturvedi: Fig. 4, [0077]):
at least one processor (UE includes a memory, a processor, Chaturvedi: Fig. 4, [0077]); and
at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the least one processor, to cause the device to at least (UE includes a memory, a processor. The memory is configured to store instructions to be executed by the processor, Chaturvedi: Fig. 4, [0077]-[0078]):
receive, from a network node before having a radio resource control connection to the network node, a system information block comprising multi-transceiver point capability information for the network node, wherein the multi transceiver point capability information indicates whether the network node supports multiple transceiver point operation in a cell (the node informs the UE about the multi TRP system through the SI where the node can broadcast a list of TRP ID(s) indicating support or the presence of the multiple TRPs. the node broadcasts the presence of the multi TRP system along with the characteristics of the multi TRP system through SIB1, Chaturvedi: [0124]-[0125]);
select the cell for initial access, in dependence upon the multi-transceiver point capability information indicating that the network node supports multiple transceiver point operation for the cell, and the cell satisfying a cell selection criterion for initial access (UE determining the first TRP of the plurality of TRPs serving in the downlink or the uplink, for transmission of the Random Access Preamble. The UE also determines the first TRP out of the multiple serving beams or in the multi-TRPs, which is serving in either the downlink or the uplink for transmitting the Msg1 to the node. when the UE wants to initiate the RACH procedure, then the UE should be aware of the presence of the multi TRP serving in the DL or the UL and the UE needs to determine the uplink beam or the TRP where it can perform the RACH procedure. UE decides whether the UE needs to send the RACH Msg1 on only one or more than one best beam or the best TRP(s) in the UL. the selection of the uplink TRP is performed by the UE based on threshold criteria. The threshold criteria can be configured by node as a minimum SSB/CSI-RS RSRP threshold criteria or as the pat loss evaluation for each serving TRP, Chaturvedi: [0104], [0118], [0123], [0128], [0130]);
signal to the network node, in dependence upon said selection, before having a radio resource control connection to the network node, an interest in connecting to the network node using multiple transceiver points (At step 1208, the UE proceeds to identify the best beam or the TRP in the UL. Further, at step 1210, the method includes the UE identifying all the availablebeams which meet the minimum SSB/CSI-RS RSRP threshold criteria, Chaturvedi: Fig. 12, [0135]);
Chaturvedi does not explicitly disclose:
receive from the network node, before having a radio resource control connection to the network node, a measurement configuration for performing reception quality measurements separately for at least two transceiver points;
perform configured reception quality measurements separately for the at least two transceiver points in dependence upon the received measurement configuration, and
transmit at least a measurement report, to the network node, in dependence upon the configured reception quality measurements for the at least two transceiver points, wherein the measurement report indicates reception quality measurements separately for the at least two transceiver points.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches:
receive from the network node, before having a radio resource control connection to the network node, a measurement configuration for performing reception quality measurements separately for at least two transceiver points (TRP 1 may request measurement from the terminal. the terminal may perform measurement by receiving SSBs from neighbor TRPs. RACH-less procedure, TRP 1 and the terminal may perform beam measurement between the terminal and SSB. TRP 1 may instruct the terminal to transmit uplink beamformed SRSs to TRPs including TRP 1 using designated scheduled resources, Chang: Fig. 20, [0197], [0218]-[0219]);
perform configured reception quality measurements separately for the at least two transceiver points in dependence upon the received measurement configuration (terminal may perform SSB beam measurement on beam for TRP of TRP 1 and TRP 2. the terminal may perform measurement by receiving SSBs from neighbor TRPs, Chang: [0191], [0214], [0234]), and
transmit at least a measurement report, to the network node, in dependence upon the configured reception quality measurements for the at least two transceiver points, wherein the measurement report indicates reception quality measurements separately for the at least two transceiver points (TRP 1 may receive the measurement report from the terminal. the terminal may report SSB-based measurement results for neighbor TRPs to TRP 1 through RRC signaling, the measurement report may include a first SSB index (i.e. the best SSB index), a second SSB index (i.e. the second best SSB index), a third SSB index, Chang: Fig. 20, [0197]-[0198], [0281], [0305]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chaturvedi in view of Chang in order to further modify receiving a measurement configuration and performing reception quality measurements separately for at least two transceiver points and transmitting at least a measurement report, to the network node from the teachings of Chang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improving link quality and reducing co-channel interference with neighbor terminals/TRPs/cells (Chang: [0586], [0695]).
Regarding claim 2, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
The device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device at least to (UE includes a memory, a processor, Chaturvedi: Fig. 4, [0077]):
select the cell for initial access, that supports multiple transceiver point operation and satisfies the cell selection criterion for initial access (UE determining the first TRP of the plurality of TRPs serving in the downlink or the uplink, for transmission of the Random Access Preamble. The UE also determines the first TRP out of the multiple serving beams or in the multi-TRPs, which is serving in either the downlink or the uplink for transmitting the Msg1 to the node. when the UE wants to initiate the RACH procedure, then the UE should be aware of the presence of the multi TRP serving in the DL or the UL and the UE needs to determine the uplink beam or the TRP where it can perform the RACH procedure. UE decides whether the UE needs to send the RACH Msg1 on only one or more than one best beam or the best TRP(s) in the UL. the selection of the uplink TRP is performed by the UE based on threshold criteria. The threshold criteria can be configured by node as a minimum SSB/CSI-RS RSRP threshold criteria or as the path loss evaluation for each serving TRP, Chaturvedi: [0110], [0118], [0123], [0128], [0130]), and
prevent selection of a cell for initial access, that does not support multiple transceiver point operation in dependence upon received multi-transceiver point capability information associated with the cell (the UE determines whether the node broadcasts the presence of the multi TRP system through a new information element (IE), Chaturvedi: Fig. 10, [0127]).
Regarding claim 3, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
The device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the system information block is SIBl (the node broadcasts the presence of the multi TRP system along with the characteristics of the multi TRP system through SIB1, Chaturvedi: [0125]).
Regarding claim 4, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
The device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the multi-transceiver point capability information is comprised, at least, within a channel measurements resource of a system information block and/or wherein the multi-transceiver point capability information is comprised, at least, within a single/multi -downlink control information of a system information block (The list of the multi TRPs can be shared in any SI or the RRC or any layer 2 message like through Media Access Control (MAC) control element or can also be part of layer 1 message which is based on Downlink Control Information (DCI). the Reserved bits in the DL DCI 1_0 format is used to indicate multiple TRP scheduling in the DL, Chaturvedi: [0126], [0144], [0148], [0157]).
Regarding claim 5, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
The device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device at least to (UE includes a memory, a processor, Chaturvedi: Fig. 4, [0077]):
select the cell that supports multiple transceiver point operation and best satisfies the cell selection criterion for initial access (The UE also determines the first TRP out of the multiple serving beams or in the multi-TRPs, which is serving in either the downlink or the uplink for transmitting the Msg1 to the node. the selection of the uplink TRP is performed by the UE based on threshold criteria. The threshold criteria can be configured by node as a minimum SSB/CSI-RS RSRP threshold criteria or as the path loss evaluation for each serving TRP, Chaturvedi: [0104], [0118], [0123], [0128], [0130]).
Regarding claim 6, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
The device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the selection criterion is based on received power at the device for multiple transceiver points of the cell and/or received quality at the device for multiple transceiver points of the cell (UE (100) selecting the first TRP based on a threshold criteria. The threshold criteria is a minimum Synchronization Signal Block (SSB), a minimum Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold criteria and a path loss evaluation for each TRP of the multiple TRPs, Chaturvedi: [0084], [0130], [0135]).
Regarding claim 7, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
The device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device at least to (UE includes a memory, a processor, Chaturvedi: Fig. 4, [0077]):
signal to the network node, during a random-access procedure and/or a connection setup procedure, that the device has an interest in connecting to the network node using multiple transceiver points (At step 1208, the UE proceeds to identify the best beam or the TRP in the UL. Further, at step 1210, the method includes the UE identifying all the available beams which meet the minimum SSB/CSI-RS RSRP threshold criteria, Chaturvedi: Fig. 12, [0135]).
Regarding claim 8, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
The device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device at least to (UE includes a memory, a processor, Chaturvedi: Fig. 4, [0077]):
signal to the network node using a beam measurement report, that the device has an interest in connecting to the network node using multiple transceiver points (UE sends physical random access channel (PRACH) (Msg1) in uplink of the multiple TRP system for initial access requests to a node. UE determines the best beam during initial cell selection and uses the determined best beam for the PRACH transmission as well as monitoring on the same for corresponding Msg2 in DL, Chaturvedi: Fig. 3, [0070], [0135]).
Regarding claim 9, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Chaturvedi does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the measurement report indicates reception quality measurements separately for the at least two transceiver points.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches:
wherein the measurement report indicates reception quality measurements separately for the at least two transceiver points (TRP 1 may receive the measurement report from the terminal. the terminal may report SSB-based measurement results for neighbor TRPs to TRP 1 through RRC signaling, the measurement report may include a first SSB index (i.e. the best SSB index), a second SSB index (i.e. the second best SSB index), a third SSB index, Chang: Fig. 20, [0197]-[0198], [0281], [0305]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chaturvedi in view of Chang in order to further modify the measurement report which indicates reception quality measurements separately for the at least two transceiver points from the teachings of Chang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improving link quality and reducing co-channel interference with neighbor terminals/TRPs/cells (Chang: [0586], [0695]).
Regarding claim 10, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
The device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device at least to (UE includes a memory, a processor, Chaturvedi: Fig. 4, [0077]):
Chaturvedi does not explicitly disclose:
perform configured reception quality measurements separately and simultaneously for the at least two transceiver points in dependence upon the received measurement configuration;
transmit at least a measurement report, to the network node, in dependence upon the configured simultaneous reception quality measurements for the at least two transceiver point, wherein the measurement report indicates reception quality measurements separately for the at least two transceiver points wherein the reception quality measurements indicate reception quality that can be received simultaneously from the at least two transceiver points.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches:
perform configured reception quality measurements separately and simultaneously for the at least two transceiver points in dependence upon the received measurement configuration (terminal may perform SSB beam measurement on beam for TRP of TRP 1 and TRP 2. the terminal may perform measurement by receiving SSBs from neighbor TRPs, Chang: [0191], [0214], [0234]);
transmit at least a measurement report, to the network node, in dependence upon the configured simultaneous reception quality measurements for the at least two transceiver point, wherein the measurement report indicates reception quality measurements separately for the at least two transceiver points wherein the reception quality measurements indicate reception quality that can be received simultaneously from the at least two transceiver points (a user equipment (UE) (i.e. terminal) and a plurality of transmission and reception points (TRPs) may transmit and receive signals simultaneously or sequentially. TRP 1 may receive the measurement report from the terminal. the terminal may report SSB-based measurement results for neighbor TRPs to TRP 1 through RRC signaling, the measurement report may include a first SSB index (i.e. the best SSB index), a second SSB index (i.e. the second best SSB index), a third SSB index, Chang: Fig. 20, [0108], [0197]-[0198], [0281], [0305]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chaturvedi in view of Chang in order to further modify performing configured reception quality measurements separately and simultaneously for the at least two transceiver points and transmitting at least a measurement report in dependence upon the configured simultaneous reception quality measurements from the teachings of Chang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improving link quality and reducing co-channel interference with neighbor terminals/TRPs/cells (Chang: [0586], [0695]).
Regarding claim 11, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
The device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device at least to (UE includes a memory, a processor, Chaturvedi: Fig. 4, [0077]):
initiate the initial access to the network node, by transmitting a random access message to the network node to the network node (the UE sends physical random access channel (PRACH) (Msg1) in uplink of the multiple TRP system for initial access requests to a node, Chaturvedi: Fig. 3, [0070], [0135]), and
terminate the initial access to the network node, by transmitting to the network node, a first beam report or a first channel state information report after receiving a contention resolution message and/or a radio resource control connection setup message (The messages manager is configured to monitor the reception of the contention resolution message using the fifth TRP and receive the contention resolution message on a sixth TRP. The messages manager is configured to process a received PDSCH and stop the monitoring of the multiple TRPs. the node shall also inform the UE (100) about dedicated TRPID(s) either via RRC signalling or layer2 control element or layer! signalling i.e. DCI, to perform the CFRA. The UE processes the successfully received PDSCH (and stop monitoring all other DL TRPs), Chaturvedi: [0088], [0114]-[0115], [0136], [0162]).
Regarding claim 12, Chaturvedi discloses:
receive, from a network node before being connected to the network node, broadcast system information comprising multi-transceiver point capability information for the network node (the node informs the UE about the multi TRP system through the SI where the node can broadcast a list of TRP ID(s) indicating support or the presence of the multiple TRPs. the node broadcasts the presence of the multi TRP system along with the characteristics of the multi TRP system through SIB1, Chaturvedi: [0124]-[0125]); and
determine whether to perform an access to the network node, in dependence upon the multi-transceiver point capability information (UE determining the first TRP of the plurality of TRPs serving in the downlink or the uplink, for transmission of the Random Access Preamble. The UE also determines the first TRP out of the multiple serving beams or in the multi-TRPs, which is serving in either the downlink or the uplink for transmitting the Msg1 to the node. when the UE wants to initiate the RACH procedure, then the UE should be aware of the presence of the multi TRP serving in the DL or the UL and the UE needs to determine the uplink beam or the TRP where it can perform the RACH procedure. UE decides whether the UE needs to send the RACH Msg1 on only one or more than one best beam or the best TRP(s) in the UL. the selection of the uplink TRP is performed by the UE based on threshold criteria. The threshold criteria can be configured by node as a minimum SSB/CSI-RS RSRP threshold criteria or as the pat loss evaluation for each serving TRP, Chaturvedi: [0104], [0118], [0123], [0128], [0130]);
Chaturvedi does not explicitly disclose:
A device comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the least one processor, to cause the device to at least:
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches:
A device comprising (transmission apparatus based on multiple TRPs in a communication system, as a terminal, Chang: [0024]):
at least one processor (may comprise a processor, Chang: [0024]); and
at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the least one processor, to cause the device to at least (processor may further cause the terminal to perform receiving an establishment instruction for the second communication link, Chang: [0024]-[0025]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chaturvedi in view of Chang in order to further modify a device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that when executed by the least one processor from the teachings of Chang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improving link quality and reducing co-channel interference with neighbor terminals/TRPs/cells (Chang: [0586], [0695]).
Regarding claim 13, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
The device as claimed in claim 12, wherein the broadcast system information is mandatory minimum system information (the node broadcasts the presence of the multi TRP system along with the characteristics of the multi TRP system through SIB1, Chaturvedi: [0125]).
Regarding claim 14, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
The device as claimed in claim 12, wherein the broadcast system information is a system information block (SIB) (the plurality of TRPs is detected by the at least one UE, using at least one of existing system information (SI), a new SI, a layer3 (L3) signalling broadcast message, a layer1 (L1) message or a layer2 (L2) message, Chaturvedi: [0013], [0082], [0127]).
Regarding claim 15, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
The device as claimed in claim 12, wherein the multi-transceiver point capability information indicates whether the network node supports multiple transceiver point operation in a cell (the UE determines the multi TRP serving system in the DL or the UL. in the cell free or the multi TRP system, the UE can be served by the multiple TRPs (forming a single serving cell) in the DL or the UL at the same time. the node informs the UE about the multi TRP system through the SI where the node can broadcast a list of TRP ID(s) indicating support or the presence of the multiple TRPs. the node broadcasts the presence of the multi TRP system along with the characteristics of the multi TRP system through SIB1, Chaturvedi: Fig. 7, [0122]-[0125]).
Regarding claim 16, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device at least to (UE includes a memory, a processor. The memory is configured to store instructionsto be executed by the processor, Chaturvedi: Fig. 4, [0077]-[0078]):
select a cell for access, in dependence upon the multi-transceiver point capability information indicating that the network node supports multiple transceiver point operation for the cell, and the cell satisfying a cell selection criterion for access (The UE also determines the first TRP out of the multiple serving beams or in the multi-TRPs, which is serving in either the downlink or the uplink for transmitting the Msg1 to the node. the selection of the uplink TRP is performed by the UE based on threshold criteria. The threshold criteria can be configured by node as a minimum SSB/CSI-RS RSRP threshold criteria or as the path loss evaluation for each serving TRP, Chaturvedi: [0104], [0118], [0123], [0128], [0130]).
Regarding claim 17, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device at least to (UE includes a memory, a processor. The memory is configured to store instructionsto be executed by the processor, Chaturvedi: Fig. 4, [0077]-[0078]):
signal to a network node, before being connected to the network node that the device has an interest in connecting to the network node using multiple transceiver points (At step 1208, the UE proceeds to identify the best beam or the TRP in the UL. Further, at step 1210, the method includes the UE identifying all the available beams which meet the minimum SSB/CSI-RS RSRP threshold criteria, Chaturvedi: Fig. 12, [0135]).
Regarding claim 18, Chaturvedi in view of Chang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Chaturvedi further discloses:
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the device at least to (UE includes a memory, a processor. The memory is configured to store instructionsto be executed by the processor, Chaturvedi: Fig. 4, [0077]-[0078]):
Chaturvedi does not explicitly disclose:
receive from the network node, before being connected to the network node, a measurement configuration for performing reception quality measurements separately for at least two transceiver points;
perform configured reception quality measurements separately for the at least two transceiver points in dependence upon the received measurement configuration, and
transmit at least a measurement report, to the network node, in dependence upon the configured reception quality measurements for the at least two transceiver points.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches:
receive from the network node, before being connected to the network node, a measurement configuration for performing reception quality measurements separately for at least two transceiver points (TRP 1 may request measurement from the terminal. the terminal may perform measurement by receiving SSBs from neighbor TRPs. RACH-less procedure, TRP 1 and the terminal may perform beam measurement between the terminal and SSB. TRP 1 may instruct the terminal to transmit uplink beamformed SRSs to TRPs including TRP 1 using designated scheduled resources, Chang: Fig. 20, [0197], [0218]-[0219]);
perform configured reception quality measurements separately for the at least two transceiver points in dependence upon the received measurement configuration (terminal may perform SSB beam measurement on beam for TRP of TRP 1 and TRP 2. the terminal may perform measurement by receiving SSBs from neighbor TRPs, Chang: [0191], [0214], [0234]), and
transmit at least a measurement report, to the network node, in dependence upon the configured reception quality measurements for the at least two transceiver points (TRP 1 may receive the measurement report from the terminal. the terminal may report SSB-based measurement results for neighbor TRPs to TRP 1 through RRC signaling, the measurement report may include a first SSB index (i.e. the best SSB index), a second SSB index (i.e. the second best SSB index), a third SSB index, Chang: Fig. 20, [0197]-[0198], [0281], [0305]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chaturvedi in view of Chang in order to further modify receiving a measurement configuration and performing reception quality measurements and transmitting a measurement report to the network node from the teachings of Chang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improving link quality and reducing co-channel interference with neighbor terminals/TRPs/cells (Chang: [0586], [0695]).
Regarding claim 19, Chaturvedi discloses:
A network node comprising at least one processor (The node includes a memory, a processor, Chaturvedi: Fig. 5, [0096]); and
at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the least one processor, to cause the network node to at least (UE includes a memory, a processor. The memory is configured to store instructions to be executed by the processor, Chaturvedi: Fig. 5, [0096]-[0097]):
broadcast, before having a radio resource control connection to a device, a system information block comprising multi-transceiver point capability information for the network node, wherein the multi-transceiver point capability information indicates whether the network node supports multiple multiple transceiver point operation in a cell (the node informs the UE about the multi TRP system through the SI where the node can broadcast a list of TRP ID(s) indicating support or the presence of the multiple TRPs. the node broadcasts the presence of the multi TRP system along with the characteristics of the multi TRP system through SIB1, Chaturvedi: [0124]-[0125]); and
receive signaling, before having a radio resource control connection to the device, indicating that the device has an interest in connecting to the network node using multiple transceiver points (At step 1208, the UE proceeds to identify the best beam or the TRP in the UL. Further, at step 1210, the method includes the UE identifying all the available beams which meet the minimum SSB/CSI-RS RSRP threshold criteria, Chaturvedi: Fig. 12, [0135]);
Chaturvedi does not explicitly disclose:
transmit, before having a radio resource control connection to the device, a measurement configuration for device performance of reception quality measurements separately for at least two transceiver points;
receive at least a measurement report, from the device, in dependence upon the measurement configuration, wherein the measurement report indicates reception quality measurements separately for the at least two transceiver points.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches:
transmit, before having a radio resource control connection to the device, a measurement configuration for device performance of reception quality measurements separately for at least two transceiver points (TRP 1 may request measurement from the terminal. the terminal may perform measurement by receiving SSBs from neighbor TRPs. RACH-less procedure, TRP 1 and the terminal may perform beam measurement between the terminal and SSB. TRP 1 may instruct the terminal to transmit uplink beamformed SRSs to TRPs including TRP 1 using designated scheduled resources, Chang: Fig. 20, [0197], [0218]-[0219]);
receive at least a measurement report, from the device, in dependence upon the measurement configuration, wherein the measurement report indicates reception quality measurements separately for the at least two transceiver points (TRP 1 may receive the measurement report from the terminal. the terminal may report SSB-based measurement results for neighbor TRPs to TRP 1 through RRC signaling, the measurement report may include a first SSB index (i.e. the best SSB index), a second SSB index (i.e. the second best SSB index), a third SSB index, Chang: Fig. 20, [0197]-[0198], [0281], [0305]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chaturvedi in view of Chang in order to further modify transmitting a measurement configuration and receiving a measurement report from the device from the teachings of Chang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is possible to improving link quality and reducing co-channel interference with neighbor terminals/TRPs/cells (Chang: [0586], [0695]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
GUO et al. (US-20260020073-A1); See Fig. 13, [0136], [0150], [0173].
AGIWAL et al. (US-20230180334-A1); See Fig. 6, [0061]-[0065].
Venugopal et al. (US-20240305343-A1); See Fig. 8, [0108]-[0119].
Bai et al. (US-20220141881-A1); See Fig. 13, [0143]-[0146].
Matsumura et al. (US-20260190151-A1); [0066]-[0076].
directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM ET.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467