Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 11-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McPherson et al. (US Patent 11,036,560) in view of Marrelli et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0134589), in view of Gasser et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0391845), and further in view of Bedadala et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0329993).
As to claim 1, McPherson teaches the system for monitoring extract, transform, and load (ETL) jobs, the system comprising:
one or more memories (see McPherson 14:37-57); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (see McPherson 14:37-57), configured to:
generate, for one or more ETL jobs, ETL job metrics (see McPherson 9:41-64. Job metrics may be analyzed. As noted in 9:55-64, jobs may be ETL jobs. ETL jobs are further described in 5:62-6:17),
wherein the one or more ETL jobs include constituent tasks to extract data from a data source, transform the data into a target format, and load the data in the target format into a data sink (see McPherson 5:62-6:17. McPherson shows performing ETL jobs that extract data, transform data, and store the data), and
wherein the ETL job metrics include status information … associated with each of the constituent tasks (see McPherson 9:41-64. Job status information, such as whether the job is “running,” “paused,” “error/failure,” or “cancelled,” may be maintained),
wherein the status information indicates whether each constituent task has a queued status, a running status, a completed status, or a failed status (see McPherson 9:41-64), and
…
identify an anomaly associated with at least one ETL job, among the one or more ETL jobs, based on the ETL job metrics (see McPherson 9:41-64. Job failures may be identified)
…
invoke a messaging service to generate one or more notifications associated with the ETL job metrics (see 9:41-64. A service may access the task state or receive push notifications when changes to the task occur. This is an “alert” based on a potential failure that includes information indicating that a failure occurred)
…
McPherson does not teach:
wherein the ETL job metrics include … timing information, and data volume information associated with each of the constituent tasks, the data volume information indicating a quantity of data to be extracted, transformed, and loaded or a quantity of data that has been extracted, transformed, and loaded for the one or more ETL jobs;
wherein the timing information indicates one or more of a queue time, an execution time, a start time, or a completion time for each constituent task;
identify an anomaly associated with at least one ETL job, among the one or more ETL jobs, based on the ETL job metrics, wherein the anomaly is identified based at least in part on the data volume information associated with the at least one ETL job deviating from historical trends related to changes over time in the data volume information associated with the at least one ETL job or the constituent tasks associated with the at least one ETL job;
invoke a messaging service to generate one or more notifications associated with the ETL job metrics via a workspace accessible to one or more client devices, wherein the one or more notifications include information related to the anomaly and a set of remediation actions corresponding to the anomaly; and
automatically remediate the anomaly by causing the ETL system to
allocate additional processing resources to the at least one ETL job identified as anomalous,
reboot or restart one or more devices in an environment associated with the ETL system that are implicated in the anomaly, and
adjusting scheduling of subsequent ETL jobs to prioritize execution of the at least one ETL job or constituent task identified as anomalous.
Marrelli teaches:
wherein the ETL job metrics include status information, timing information, and data volume information associated with each of the constituent tasks (see Marrelli paragraphs [0096] and [0099]-[0100], which show status information, timing information, and data volume information associated with ETL jobs. Notably, Figure 8 and paragraph [0100] describe a task table that includes the details of various tasks. As described in paragraph [0100], task fields in the task table may include identifiers such as “Extract Source Data,” “Transform Data,” and “Load Data.” This shows that the status of each constituent task of an ETL is tracked. Additionally, the metadata shown in Figure 8 includes metrics such as status information (“% Complete,” etc.), timing information (“Run Date/Time,” “Duration,” etc.) and data volume information (“Data Element,” “Data Type,” “Source,” etc.);
the data volume information indicating a quantity of data to be extracted, transformed, and loaded or a quantity of data that has been extracted, transformed, and loaded for the one or more ETL jobs (see Marrelli paragraph [0103]. Marrelli tracks, in point (iv) of paragraph [0103], staging area record counts from one cycle to another. Because Marrelli is tracking a quantity of records in a staging area, Marrelli teaches data volume information of a quantity of data records);
wherein the timing information indicates one or more of a queue time, an execution time, a start time, or a completion time for each constituent task (see Marrelli paragraph [0099]);
identify an anomaly associated with at least one ETL job, among the one or more ETL jobs, based on the ETL job metrics, wherein the anomaly is identified based at least in part on the data volume information associated with the at least one ETL job deviating from historical trends related to changes over time in the data volume information associated with the at least one ETL job or the constituent tasks associated with the at least one ETL job (see paragraph [0103]. Applicant’s specification gives an example of “trend” as “increases or decreases in the number of data records being processed,” Applicant’s specification, paragraph [0013]. Paragraph [0103] of Marrelli shows this by producing an alert when there is a significant difference in record counts from one cycle to another);
invoke a messaging service to generate one or more notifications associated with the ETL job metrics via a workspace accessible to one or more client devices, wherein the one or more notifications include information related to the anomaly and a set of remediation actions corresponding to the anomaly (see Marrelli paragraphs [0064]-[0068]. Paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describe a way of tracking incomplete and defect statuses. Paragraph [0068] describes a user interface dashboard to present status information regarding any defects (anomalies) to a user. Paragraph [0072] indicates that the system of Marrelli provides a user the ability to perform contingency actions if an object or activity is delayed or defective. Paragraph [0093] indicates that priority of defects are conveyed to a user);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified McPherson by the teachings of Marrelli because both references are directed towards managing ETL jobs and because Marrelli merely provides additional data and displays with which to measure the status of jobs in McPherson. This will give an administrator more information and control when considering the status of ETL jobs.
Gasser teaches:
automatically remediate the anomaly by causing the ETL system to
allocate additional processing resources to the at least one ETL job identified as anomalous (see Gasser paragraphs [0059]-[0060]. Gasser shows in paragraph [0059] to recognize an error (an anomaly) during execution of a job and subsequently restarting that job. Gasser shows that additional processing resources may be allocated to the job by “reducing one or both of the minimum execution slice size and/or the maximum execution slice size.” As noted in paragraph [0060], a worker node in Gasser recognizes that an insufficiency of resources is a cause of the error and corrects this by modifying the execution slice size), and
adjusting scheduling of subsequent ETL jobs to prioritize execution of the at least one ETL job or constituent task identified as anomalous (see paragraphs [0057] and [0083]. Jobs may be split such that portions of jobs that are dependent upon a failed job need to wait until the failed job is executed. Thus, subsequent ETL jobs are scheduled to be executed after the completion of restarted failed jobs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified McPherson by the teachings of Gasser because both references are directed towards managing ETL jobs and because Gasser merely provides ways to efficiently manage resources in response to errors. This improve performance of a system that executes ETL jobs, as noted in Gasser paragraphs [0059]-[0061].
Bedadala teaches:
reboot or restart one or more devices in an environment associated with the ETL system that are implicated in the anomaly (see Bedadala paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0089]. A user may instruct the system to restart a media agent in response to a failed job. The system may learn this preference and perform such a restart automatically as a result of a failed job. As noted in paragraph [0089], Media Agents may comprise hardware capabilities) and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified McPherson by the teachings of Bedadala because both references are directed towards managing database jobs and because Bedadala merely provides another way to learn user preferences regarding how to automatically recover from a failed job.
As to claim 2, McPherson teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the anomaly is further identified based at least in part on the status information indicating that the at least one ETL job has failed (see McPherson 9:41-64).
As to claim 3, McPherson as modified by Marrelli teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the anomaly is further identified based at least in part on the status information indicating that the at least one ETL job is queued and the timing information associated with the at least one ETL job indicating a queue time that satisfies a threshold (see Marrelli paragraph [0089]).
As to claim 4, McPherson as modified by Marrelli teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the anomaly is further identified based at least in part on the data volume information indicating that the at least one ETL job is associated with a quantity of data that satisfies a threshold (see Marrelli paragraph [0089] and [0103]. Alerts may be sent based on an amount of data).
As to claim 5, McPherson as modified by Marrelli teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the ETL job metrics further include historical trends relating further to changes over time in the timing information associated with the at least one ETL job or the constituent tasks associated with the at least one ETL job (see Marrelli paragraph [0103]. Data may be tracked week to week and from one cycle to another).
As to claim 6, McPherson as modified by Marrelli teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the anomaly is further identified based at least in part on the timing information associated with the at least one ETL job or the constituent tasks associated with the at least one ETL job deviating from the historical trends (see Marrelli paragraph [0103]. Historic job data is tracked. Deviations may be identified. It is noted that Marrelli also shows periods of time that are tracked, and thus timing information).
As to claim 7, McPherson as modified by Marrelli teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the ETL job metrics include granular metrics for the one or more ETL jobs, an overall job set that includes the one or more ETL jobs, the constituent tasks associated with the one or more ETL jobs, and one or more ETL jobs nested within an ETL job (see Marrelli paragraphs [0084]-[0085]. Job dependencies may be tracked).
As to claim 9, McPherson as modified teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
obtain authenticated access to one or more of the ETL system, the data sink, or a data analytics service using one or more credentials obtained from a secure credential device (see McPherson 12:42-46. Permission credentials may be needed to execute jobs).
As to claim 11, McPherson teaches a method for monitoring extract, transform, and load (ETL) jobs, comprising:
generating, by a monitoring device, ETL job metrics for one or more ETL jobs including a set of constituent tasks (see 5:62-6:17 and 9:41-64 and the rejection of claim 1),
wherein the ETL job metrics include status information (see 5:62-6:17 and 9:41-64 and the rejection of claim 1) …
…
identifying an anomaly (see McPherson 9:41-64 and the rejection of claim 1) …
invoking, by the monitoring device, a messaging service to generate one or more notifications associated with the ETL job metrics (see McPherson 9:41-64 and the rejection of claim 1)
…
McPherson does not teach:
wherein the ETL job metrics include status information, timing information, and data volume information corresponding to the set constituent tasks,
the data volume information indicating a quantity of data to be extracted, transformed, and loaded or a quantity of data that has been extracted, transformed, and loaded for the one or more ETL jobs;
identifying an anomaly based at least in part on the data volume information associated with at least one ETL job, among the one or more ETL jobs, deviating from corresponding historical trends;
invoking, by the monitoring device, a messaging service to generate one or more notifications associated with the ETL job metrics via a workspace accessible to one or more client devices, wherein the one or more notifications include information related to the anomaly and a set of remediation actions corresponding to the anomaly; and
executing the set of remediation actions to
allocate additional processing resources to the at least one ETL job identified as anomalous,
reboot or restart one or more devices in an environment associated with the ETL system that are implicated in the anomaly, and
adjusting scheduling of subsequent ETL jobs to prioritize execution of the at least one ETL job or constituent task identified as anomalous.
Marrelli teaches:
wherein the ETL job metrics include status information, timing information, and data volume information corresponding to the set constituent tasks (see Marrelli paragraphs [0096] and [0099]-[0100] and the rejection of claim 1),
the data volume information indicating a quantity of data to be extracted, transformed, and loaded or a quantity of data that has been extracted, transformed, and loaded for the one or more ETL jobs (see Marrelli paragraph [0103] and the rejection of claim 1);
identifying an anomaly based at least in part on the data volume information associated with at least one ETL job, among the one or more ETL jobs, deviating from corresponding historical trends (see Marrelli paragraph [0103] and the rejection of claim 1);
invoking, by the monitoring device, a messaging service to generate one or more notifications associated with the ETL job metrics via a workspace accessible to one or more client devices, wherein the one or more notifications include information related to the anomaly and a set of remediation actions corresponding to the anomaly (see Marrelli paragraphs [0064]-[0068]. Paragraphs [0064]-[0065] describe a way of tracking incomplete and defect statuses. Paragraph [0068] describes a user interface dashboard to present status information regarding any defects (anomalies) to a user. Paragraph [0072] indicates that the system of Marrelli provides a user the ability to perform contingency actions if an object or activity is delayed or defective. Paragraph [0093] indicates that priority of defects are conveyed to a user);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified McPherson by the teachings of Marrelli because both references are directed towards managing ETL jobs and because Marrelli merely provides additional data and displays with which to measure the status of jobs in McPherson. This will give an administrator more information and control when considering the status of ETL jobs.
Gasser teaches:
automatically remediate the anomaly by causing the ETL system to
allocate additional processing resources to the at least one ETL job identified as anomalous (see Gasser paragraphs [0059]-[0060]. Gasser shows in paragraph [0059] to recognize an error (an anomaly) during execution of a job and subsequently restarting that job. Gasser shows that additional processing resources may be allocated to the job by “reducing one or both of the minimum execution slice size and/or the maximum execution slice size.” As noted in paragraph [0060], a worker node in Gasser recognizes that an insufficiency of resources is a cause of the error and corrects this by modifying the execution slice size), and
adjusting scheduling of subsequent ETL jobs to prioritize execution of the at least one ETL job or constituent task identified as anomalous (see paragraphs [0057] and [0083]. Jobs may be split such that portions of jobs that are dependent upon a failed job need to wait until the failed job is executed. Thus, subsequent ETL jobs are scheduled to be executed after the completion of restarted failed jobs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified McPherson by the teachings of Gasser because both references are directed towards managing ETL jobs and because Gasser merely provides ways to efficiently manage resources in response to errors. This improve performance of a system that executes ETL jobs, as noted in Gasser paragraphs [0059]-[0061].
Bedadala teaches:
reboot or restart one or more devices in an environment associated with the ETL system that are implicated in the anomaly (see Bedadala paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0089]. A user may instruct the system to restart a media agent in response to a failed job. The system may learn this preference and perform such a restart automatically as a result of a failed job. As noted in paragraph [0089], Media Agents may comprise hardware capabilities) and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified McPherson by the teachings of Bedadala because both references are directed towards managing database jobs and because Bedadala merely provides another way to learn user preferences regarding how to automatically recover from a failed job.
As to claim 12, McPherson as modified teaches the method of claim 11, wherein:
the status information indicates whether each constituent task has a queued status, a running status, a completed status, or a failed status (see Marrelli Figure 8 and paragraphs [0099]-[0100]), and
the timing information indicates one or more of a queue time, an execution time, a start time, or a completion time for each constituent task (see Marrelli Figure 8 and paragraphs [0099]-[0100]).
As to claim 13, McPherson as modified teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the one or more notifications indicate that the status information for a constituent task, of the set of constituent tasks, has changed (see McPherson 9:41-64).
As to claim 14, McPherson as modified by Marrelli teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the one or more notifications indicate that the queue time or the execution time for a constituent task, of the set of constituent tasks, having the queued status or the running status satisfies a threshold(see Marrelli paragraph [0089])).
As to claim 15, McPherson as modified by Marrelli teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the one or more notifications include at least one notification that is published based on the quantity of data records associated with a constituent task, of the set of constituent tasks, satisfying a threshold (see Marrelli paragraph [0089] and [0103]. Alerts may be sent based on an amount of data).
As to claim 16, McPherson as modified teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising:
generating, by the monitoring device, graphical user interface data configured to provide a visualization of the ETL job metrics on one or more dashboards, wherein the one or more dashboards display graphical representations of the status information, the timing information, and the data volume information (see Marrelli paragraphs [0064]-[0068], [0072], and [0093] for a user interface).
As to claim 17, McPherson teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to:
obtain information related to one or more extract, transform, and load (ETL) jobs scheduled in an ETL system (see McPherson 5:62-6:17 and 9:41-64),
wherein the one or more ETL jobs each include constituent tasks to extract data from a data source, transform the data into a target format, and load the data in the target format into a data sink (see McPherson 5:62-6:17 and 9:41-64 and the rejection of claim 1);
generate ETL job metrics that include status information, … associated with the constituent tasks (see McPherson 9:41-64 and the rejection of claim 1),
…
invoke a messaging service to generate one or more notifications associated with the ETL job metrics via a workspace, wherein the one or more notifications include information related to an anomaly associated with at least one ETL job, among the one or more ETL jobs (see 9:41-64)
…
McPherson does not clearly teach:
generate ETL job metrics that include status information, timing information, and data volume information associated with the constituent tasks, the data volume information indicating a quantity of data to be extracted, transformed, and loaded or a quantity of data that has been extracted, transformed, and loaded for the one or more ETL jobs;
invoke a messaging service to generate one or more notifications associated with the ETL job metrics via a workspace, wherein the one or more notifications include information related to an anomaly associated with at least one ETL job, among the one or more ETL jobs and a set of remediation actions corresponding to the anomaly;
automatically remediate the anomaly by causing the ETL system to
allocate additional processing resources to the at least one ETL job identified as anomalous,
reboot or restart one or more devices in an environment associated with the ETL system that are implicated in the anomaly, and
adjust scheduling of subsequent ETL jobs to prioritize execution of the at least one ETL job or constituent task identified as anomalous.
Marrelli teaches:
generate ETL job metrics that include status information, timing information, and data volume information associated with the constituent tasks, the data volume information indicating a quantity of data to be extracted, transformed, and loaded or a quantity of data that has been extracted, transformed, and loaded for the one or more ETL jobs (see Marrelli paragraphs [0096] and [0099]-[0100] and the rejection of claim 1);
invoke a messaging service to generate one or more notifications associated with the ETL job metrics via a workspace, wherein the one or more notifications include information related to an anomaly associated with at least one ETL job, among the one or more ETL jobs and a set of remediation actions corresponding to the anomaly (see Marrelli paragraphs [0064]-[0068], [0072], and [0093] and the rejection of claim 1);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified McPherson by the teachings of Marrelli because both references are directed towards managing ETL jobs and because Marrelli merely provides additional data and displays with which to measure the status of jobs in McPherson. This will give an administrator more information and control when considering the status of ETL jobs.
Gasser teaches:
automatically remediate the anomaly by causing the ETL system to
allocate additional processing resources to the at least one ETL job identified as anomalous (see Gasser paragraphs [0059]-[0060] and the rejection of claim 1), and
adjust scheduling of subsequent ETL jobs to prioritize execution of the at least one ETL job or constituent task identified as anomalous (see Gasser paragraphs [0057] and [0083] and the rejection of claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified McPherson by the teachings of Gasser because both references are directed towards managing ETL jobs and because Gasser merely provides ways to efficiently manage resources in response to errors. This improve performance of a system that executes ETL jobs, as noted in Gasser paragraphs [0059]-[0061].
Bedadala teaches:
reboot or restart one or more devices in an environment associated with the ETL system that are implicated in the anomaly (see Bedadala paragraphs [0030]-[0031] and [0089]. A user may instruct the system to restart a media agent in response to a failed job. The system may learn this preference and perform such a restart automatically as a result of a failed job. As noted in paragraph [0089], Media Agents may comprise hardware capabilities) and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified McPherson by the teachings of Bedadala because both references are directed towards managing database jobs and because Bedadala merely provides another way to learn user preferences regarding how to automatically recover from a failed job.
As to claim 18, McPherson as modified by Marrelli teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the workspace is accessible to one or more client devices, and wherein the one or more notifications includes information indicating one or more of:
the status information for a constituent task, of the constituent tasks, has changed, or a queue time or an execution time for a constituent task, of the constituent tasks, satisfies a threshold (see Marrelli paragraphs [0058]-[0063], [0072], and [0093] for a user interface).
As to claim 19, McPherson as modified by Marrelli teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein to invoke the messaging service, the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to: invoke the messaging service to publish, to the workspace, a notification, of the one or more notifications, based on the quantity of data associated with a constituent task, of the constituent tasks, satisfying a threshold (see Marrelli paragraph [0103] for sending an alert based on an amount of records and paragraphs [0064]-[0068] for a user interface).
As to claim 21, McPherson teaches the system of claim 1, wherein automatically remediating the anomaly comprises, in response to identifying the anomaly, executing the at least one ETL job using the allocated additional processing resources and according to the adjusted scheduling (see McPherson paragraphs [0059]-[0060]. McPherson shows “restarting the job at a later time.” This is executing the job according to an adjusted scheduling. McPherson also shows that the adjustment of the resources is enough to mitigate and prevent the error caused by the insufficiency of resources. Thus, the additionally allocated resources are useful in resolving the anomaly).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McPherson et al. (US Patent 11,036,560) in view of Marrelli et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2015/0134589), in view of Gasser et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0391845), in view of Bedadala et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2018/0329993), and further in view of Bradham et al. (US Pre-Grant Publication 2019/0057137).
As to claim 10, McPherson as modified by Gasser teaches the system of claim 1,
…
wherein [a] downstream ETL job or the downstream constituent task depends on at least one of:
an ETL job, of the at least one ETL job, that has failed or stalled, or a constituent task, of the constituent tasks, that has failed or stalled (see Gasser paragraphs [0057] and [0083]).
McPherson as modified does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
automatically remediate the anomaly by further causing the ETL system to one or more of:
requeue or cancel a downstream ETL job, or
requeue or cancel a constituent task,
Bradham teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
automatically remediate the anomaly by further causing the ETL system (see Bradham paragraph [0071]) to one or more of:
requeue or cancel a downstream ETL job, or
requeue or cancel a constituent task (see Bradham paragraph [0071]. Jobs may be cancelled),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified McPherson by the teachings of Bradham because both references are directed towards managing ETL jobs and because the teachings of Bradham would expand upon the teachings of McPherson in handling a failure of a job. This will give an administrator of Bradham more options when choosing how to track, manage, and correct job failures.
As to claim 20, McPherson as modified by Marrelli teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the device to:
identify the anomaly based at least in part on the data volume information associated with the at least one ETL job deviating from corresponding historical trends (see Marrelli paragraph [0103]), and
McPherson does not explicitly teach:
wherein the set of remediation actions include causing the ETL system to at least one of:
requeue or cancel a constituent task, requeue or cancel a downstream ETL job, or requeue or cancel a downstream constituent task.
Bradham teaches:
wherein the set of remediation actions include causing the ETL system to at least one of:
requeue or cancel a constituent task (see Bradham paragraph [0071]), requeue or cancel a downstream ETL job, or requeue or cancel a downstream constituent task.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest filing date of the invention to have modified McPherson by the teachings of Bradham because both references are directed towards managing ETL jobs and because the teachings of Bradham would expand upon the teachings of McPherson in handling a failure of a job. This will give an administrator of Bradham more options when choosing how to track, manage, and correct job failures.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHARLES D ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2152