DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation of “lithographically dividing the intermediate layer formed in Step 2 into domains, and
each of the domains has a size from 1*1 mm2 to 1000*1000 mm2” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogihara et al. (U.S. 2010/0320445 A1, hereinafter refer to Ogihara).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogihara et al. (U.S. 2010/0320445 A1, hereinafter refer to Ogihara) in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art, (U.S. 2024/0429347 A1, hereinafter refer to AAPA) and El-Ghoroury (U.S. 2019/0333455 A1, hereinafter refer to El-Ghoroury).
Regarding Claim 1: Ogihara discloses a red, green, and blue (RGB) full-color InGaN-based light-emitting diode (LED) (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown below, ¶ [0133], and ¶ [0140]),
wherein: a substrate material (101) is covered with a lattice-matched two-dimensional (2D) material (111) ultra-thin layer on a surface of the substrate material (101) as an intermediate layer (111) (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown above),
an InGaN-based material (114) epitaxial layer is grown on the lattice-matched 2D material ultra-thin layer (111) (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown above),
the lattice-matched 2D material ultra-thin layer (111) is formed by a single material or formed by stacking more than one material (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown above),
in the InGaN-based material epitaxial layer (111), each light-emitting layer of RGB LED quantum wells is epitaxial grown at a metalorganic chemical vapour deposition (MOCVD) temperature above 800℃ (note: patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production) (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown above, ¶ 0004], ¶ [0010], and ¶ [0061]).
Ogihara is silent upon explicitly disclosing the epitaxial grown temperature wherein epitaxial grown at a metalorganic chemical vapour deposition (MOCVD) temperature above 800℃.
For support see AAPA, which teaches wherein in the InGaN-based material epitaxial layer (111), each light-emitting layer of RGB LED quantum wells is epitaxial grown at a metalorganic chemical vapour deposition (MOCVD) temperature above 800℃ (see AAPA, Figs.1 and 3 as shown below, ¶ [0003], and ¶ [0011]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ogihara and AAPA to enable the Ogihara’s InGaN-based material epitaxial layer, each light-emitting layer of RGB LED quantum wells to be epitaxial grown at a metalorganic chemical vapour deposition (MOCVD) temperature above 800℃ as taught by AAPA in order to obtain red, green and blue (RGB) three primary color light-emitting diodes for micro-LED displays (Displays) device.
The combination of Ogihara and AAPA teaches a closer metalorganic chemical vapour deposition (MOCVD) temperature ranges as shown above; hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of making semiconductor devices to determine the workable or optimal value for the metalorganic chemical vapour deposition (MOCVD) temperature ranges through routine experimentation and optimization to obtain optimal or desired device performance because the metalorganic chemical vapour deposition (MOCVD) temperature ranges is a result-effective variable and there is no evidence indicating that it is critical or produces any unexpected results and it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable within given prior art conditions by routine experimentation. See MPEP § 2144.05
The combination of Ogihara and AAPA is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein each full width at half maximum (FWHM) of light-emitting wavelength characteristics of RGB LED components is less than 50 nm.
For support see El-Ghoroury, which teaches wherein each full width at half maximum (FWHM) of light-emitting wavelength characteristics of RGB LED components is less than 50 nm (see El-Ghoroury, ¶ [0002] and ¶ [0090]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ogihara, AAPA, and El-Ghoroury to recognize that the combination of Ogihara and AAPA light emitting diode (LED) necessary to result at least each full width at half maximum (FWHM) of light-emitting wavelength characteristics of RGB LED components less than 50 nm as taught by El-Ghoroury in order to obtain a monolithic semiconductor multicolor solid state light micro pixel emitters.
Regarding Claim 2: Ogihara as modified teaches a red, green, and blue (RGB) full-color InGaN-based light-emitting diode (LED) as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Ogihara, AAPA, and El-Ghoroury further teaches wherein a 2D material of the lattice-matched 2D material ultra-thin layer (111) is hexagonal boron nitride (hBN), graphene, hBNC, WS2, WSe2, MoS2 or MoSe2 (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown above and ¶ [0056]).
Regarding Claim 4: Ogihara as modified teaches a red, green, and blue (RGB) full-color InGaN-based light-emitting diode (LED) as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Ogihara, AAPA, and El-Ghoroury further teaches wherein: the lattice-matched 2D material ultra-thin layer (111) is a composite layer structure (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown above),
a top layer of the composite layer structure is made of a 2D material (111a) that matches an InGaN lattice of the InGaN-based material epitaxial layer (114) (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown above), and
a bottom layer of the composite layer structure is made of a 2D material (111c) with a barrier effect (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown above).
Regarding Claim 5: Ogihara as modified teaches a red, green, and blue (RGB) full-color InGaN-based light-emitting diode (LED) as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Ogihara, AAPA, and El-Ghoroury further teaches wherein the substrate (101) material is sapphire, zinc oxide (ZnO), monocrystalline silicon (Si), SiC, GaN, ceramic or glass (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown above and ¶ [0094]).
Regarding Claim 7: Ogihara as modified teaches a red, green, and blue (RGB) full-color InGaN-based light-emitting diode (LED) as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Ogihara, AAPA, and El-Ghoroury further teaches wherein epitaxial steps for the InGaN-based material epitaxial layer (114) and the substrate material (101) are as follows:
Step 1, performing epitaxial growth grade polishing on the substrate material (101), and preparing for subsequent manufacturing procedures through a pre-treatment (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown above and ¶ [0060] and see Ogihara admitted prior art, Japanese Laid-Open Patent Publication No. 2009-62247, page.4);
Step 2, covering a lattice-matched 2D material (111) on the surface of the substrate material (101) as the intermediate layer for (111) an epitaxial InGaN material of the InGaN-based material epitaxial layer (114) by using van der Waals epitaxy or quasi-van der Waals epitaxy technology (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown below, ¶ [0056], ¶ [0133], and ¶ [0140]); and
Step 3, growing an epitaxial layer of InGaN-based material (114) on the intermediate layer (111) using the van der Waals epitaxy or the quasi-van der Waals epitaxy technology (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown below, ¶ [0056], ¶ [0133], and ¶ [0140]),
wherein: in the InGaN-based material epitaxial layer (111) (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown below, ¶ [0056], ¶ [0133], and ¶ [0140]),
each light-emitting layer of RGB LED quantum wells is epitaxial grown at the MOCVD temperature above 800℃ for achieving each FWHM of the light-emitting wavelength characteristics of the RGB LED components being less than 50 nm (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown above, ¶ 0004], ¶ [0010], and ¶ [0061], see AAPA, Figs.1 and 3 as shown above, ¶ [0003], and ¶ [0011], and see El-Ghoroury, ¶ [0002] and ¶ [0090]).
Claim(s) 3, 6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogihara et al. (U.S. 2010/0320445 A1, hereinafter refer to Ogihara), Applicant Admitted Prior Art, (U.S. 2024/0429347 A1, hereinafter refer to AAPA), and El-Ghoroury (U.S. 2019/0333455 A1, hereinafter refer to El-Ghoroury) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Ryou et al. (U.S. 2019/0198313 A1, hereinafter refer to Ryou).
Regarding Claim 3: Ogihara as modified teaches a red, green, and blue (RGB) full-color InGaN-based light-emitting diode (LED) as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Ogihara, AAPA, and El-Ghoroury is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the lattice-matched 2D material ultra-thin layer has a thickness that ranges from 0.5 nm to 1000 nm.
For support see Ryou, which teaches wherein the lattice-matched 2D material ultra-thin layer (908) has a thickness that ranges from 0.5 nm to 1000 nm (0.1 nm to 10 nm) (see Ryou, Fig.9 as shown below, ¶ [0028], and ¶ [0056]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ogihara, AAPA, El-Ghoroury, and Ryou to enable the known thickness ranges of the lattice-matched 2D material ultra-thin layer as taught by Ryou in order to achieve the flexible material heterostructure with single crystalline properties in active device region.
Regarding Claim 6: Ogihara as modified teaches a red, green, and blue (RGB) full-color InGaN-based light-emitting diode (LED) as applied to claim 1 above. The combination of Ogihara, AAPA, and El-Ghoroury is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein: a metal catalytic layer is added between the substrate material and the intermediate layer, the metal catalytic layer has a total thickness that ranges from 0.5 nm to 3000 nm, and the metal catalytic layer comprises Fe, Co, Ni, Au, Ag, Cu, W, Mo, Ru, or Pt.
For support see Ryou, which teaches wherein: a metal catalytic layer (906) is added between the substrate material (902/904) and the intermediate layer (908), the metal catalytic layer (906) has a total thickness that ranges from 0.5 nm to 3000 nm (1 nm to about 1 mm), and the metal catalytic layer (906) comprises Fe, Co, Ni, Au, Ag, Cu, W, Mo, Ru, or Pt (see Ryou, Fig.9 as shown above, ¶ [0036], and ¶ [0056]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ogihara, AAPA, El-Ghoroury, and Ryou to enable metal catalytic layer between the substrate material and the intermediate layer as taught by Ryou in order to enable direct growth of graphene via chemical vapor deposition (CVD) on the thin film catalyst that eliminates the graphene transferring steps.
Regarding Claim 8: Ogihara as modified teaches a red, green, and blue (RGB) full-color InGaN-based light-emitting diode (LED) as applied to claim 7 above. The combination of Ogihara, AAPA, and El-Ghoroury further teaches wherein: in Step 2, a single layer or a composite layer 2D material (111) is covered on the surface of the substrate material (101) (see Ogihara, Figs.13B and 23B as shown above).
The combination of Ogihara, AAPA, and El-Ghoroury is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a total thickness of the single layer or the composite layer 2D material ranges from 0.5 nm to 1000 nm.
For support see Ryou, which teaches wherein a total thickness of the single layer or the composite layer 2D material (908) ranges from 0.5 nm to 1000 nm (0.1 nm to 10 nm) (see Ryou, Fig.9 as shown above, ¶ [0028], and ¶ [0056]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ogihara, AAPA, El-Ghoroury, and Ryou to enable the known thickness ranges of the lattice-matched 2D material ultra-thin layer as taught by Ryou in order to achieve the flexible material heterostructure with single crystalline properties in active device region.
Regarding Claim 9: Ogihara as modified teaches a red, green, and blue (RGB) full-color InGaN-based light-emitting diode (LED) as applied to claim 7 above. The combination of Ogihara, AAPA, and El-Ghoroury is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein: between Step 1 and Step 2, the method comprises adding a metal catalytic layer,
a total thickness of the metal catalytic layer ranges from 0.5 nm to 3000 nm, and
the metal catalytic layer is grown or deposited on the surface of the substrate material before Step 2.
For support see Ryou, which teaches wherein: between Step 1 and Step 2, the method comprises adding a metal catalytic layer (906) (see Ryou, Fig.9 as shown above, ¶ [0036], and ¶ [0056]),
a total thickness of the metal catalytic layer (906) ranges from 0.5 nm to 3000 nm (1 nm to about 1 mm) (see Ryou, Fig.9 as shown above, ¶ [0036], and ¶ [0056]), and
the metal catalytic layer (906) is grown or deposited on the surface of the substrate material (902/904) before Step 2 (see Ryou, Fig.9 as shown above, ¶ [0036], and ¶ [0056]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ogihara, AAPA, El-Ghoroury, and Ryou to enable metal catalytic layer between the substrate material and the intermediate layer as taught by Ryou in order to enable direct growth of graphene via chemical vapor deposition (CVD) on the thin film catalyst that eliminates the graphene transferring steps.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogihara et al. (U.S. 2010/0320445 A1, hereinafter refer to Ogihara), Applicant Admitted Prior Art, (U.S. 2024/0429347 A1, hereinafter refer to AAPA), and El-Ghoroury (U.S. 2019/0333455 A1, hereinafter refer to El-Ghoroury) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (U.S. 2011/0300338 A1, hereinafter refer to Shin).
Regarding Claim 10: Ogihara as modified teaches a red, green, and blue (RGB) full-color InGaN-based light-emitting diode (LED) as applied to claim 7 above. The combination of Ogihara, AAPA, and El-Ghoroury is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein: between Step 2 and Step 3, the method comprises lithographically dividing the intermediate layer formed in Step 2 into domains, and
each of the domains has a size from 1*1 mm2 to 1000*1000 mm2.
For support see Shin, which teaches wherein: between Step 2 and Step 3, the method comprises lithographically dividing the intermediate layer (graphene) formed in Step 2 into domains (see Shin, Fig.1 as shown below, ¶ [0011], ¶ [0039], and ¶ [0040]), and
each of the domains has a size from 1*1 mm2 to 1000*1000 mm2 (see Shin, Fig.1 as shown below, ¶ [0011], ¶ [0039], and ¶ [0040]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ogihara, AAPA, El-Ghoroury, and Shin to enable patterning the Ogihara intermediate layer as taought by Shin in order to obtain a plurality of patterned intermediate layer on the substrate material.
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812