February 26, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Specification
On page 1 of the specification, under “CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS”, Applicant needs to insert - - now U.S. Patent No. 12,109,926 B2 - -, after “This application is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/337,814, filed on June 20, 2023,”
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 8, and claim 19, line 10, the phrase “wherein each of side surfaces of the groove” is awkward language. Applicant should probably define that the groove - - has a pair of opposing side surfaces - - or - - a first side surface and a second side surface - - or similar language so that in claim 1 line 8, and claim 19, line 10, Applicant can use - - wherein each of the side surfaces of the groove - -. : In claim 8, line 4, it appears the word “that” should be - - than - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-9, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,926 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the same subject matter of claims 1-9 and 19-20 is claimed in claims 1-2, 4-9, and 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,109,926 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilardi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0044940 A1).
As for claim 1, Gilardi teaches a seat, comprising:
a pad 7 having a groove 71 which opens on a surface side, having a width and a depth, and extending in a prescribed direction;
a skin material covering 8 the surface side of the pad in a thickness direction thereof, and
a skin locking clip 2 embedded in the pad and configured to tuck in a prescribed linear portion of the skin material,
wherein each of side surfaces of the groove near a bottom thereof has an inclined surface directed to an inside in the width direction toward the bottom so as to be connected to a surface of the skin locking clip but does not teach that a color of the skin locking clip is different from a color of the pad. The color of the skin locking clip is nothing more than design choice since it has no significance on the functionality of the locking clip. And the locking clip disclosed by Gilardi is certainly capable of being arranged at a crossing portion crossing in which a first groove crosses a second groove.
As for claim 12, Gilardi teaches that the inclined surface is connected to an intermediate portion of the surface of the skin locking clip so that an inner portion of the surface thereof in the width direction is exposed.
As for claim 4, Gilardi teaches that the skin locking clip 2 comprises a base plate 20 embedded in the pad 7, and a pair of locking pieces 21,22 extending toward a surface side from the base plate and opposed to each other in a width direction of the groove,
wherein each of the pair of locking pieces includes a wall body erected on the base plate, a locking claw extending from a tip portion of the wall body toward an inside in the width direction so as to lock the linear portion, and a guide portion extending from the tip portion of the wall body toward an outside in the width direction,
wherein the inclined surface is connected to the guide portion.
As for claim 5, Gilardi teaches that the skin locking clip comprises a base plate embedded in the pad, and a pair of locking pieces extending toward a surface side from the base plate and opposed to each other in a width direction of the groove,
wherein each of the pair of locking pieces includes a wall body erected on the base plate, and a locking claw extending from a tip portion of the wall body toward an inside in the width direction so as to lock the linear portion,
wherein the locking claw is partially embedded in the pad.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilardi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0044940 A1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform the method steps as recited as this would be the normal and logical manner of assembling the device as taught by the reference discussed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Rodney B White/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636