DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
rotation buff in claim 2, disclosed as a rotating roll/roller 6 in Fig. 5 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment filed March 24, 2026 has rendered the 112 rejection in the previous office action moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizu et al. (JP 4754960) in view of Shi et al. (US 10601012).
As to claim 1, Ishizu discloses an electrode group disassembly device/method (Abstract). Ishizu discloses that the method comprises of: separating an outermost separator P4 of the separators from the active material layer at a boundary face with the active material layer by serially moving an extension point along the boundary face to extend the outermost separator; peeling the outermost separator, which has been separated from the active material layer P3, P1 in the separation step, from the active material layer; and disassembling a stacked state of the electrode body in each partial electrode including the active material layer from which the outermost separator has been peeled off in peeling (Fig. 1 below).
Ishizu discloses that all of the layers of the stack may be separated simultaneously from one another fails to specifically teach or disclose whether the outermost separator may be separated from the other layers before separating the rest of the layers of the stack. It is the position of the Examiner that this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since this would amount to the selection of performing process steps which is steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). Here, the expected result would be to separate the layers from the stack in a desired order so that they are separated from one another.
As to claim 3, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Ishizu fails to specifically teach or disclose whether the separator comprises of an extruded resin film. Shi discloses a method of making a battery separator (Abstract). Shi discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to use an extruded resin film for a separator in a lithium ion battery. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the extruded resin film separator of Shi in the method taught by Ishizu because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional separator for use in a lithium ion battery. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
The method of the above references as combined would peel and separate the separator in a direction perpendicular to the extrusion direction of the resin film prior to separation since the extrusion direction is limited to the plane of the film prior to separation.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizu et al. (JP 4754960) in view of Uematsu et al. (US 20150162584).
As to claim 4, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Ishizu makes no mention that the separation step occurs in a water use state. Ishizu fails to specifically teach or disclose that the separation/peeling occurs in an inert atmosphere/environment. It is the position of the Examiner that operating in an inert environment is known and conventional in the art and would have been obvious at the time of filing to use in the method of Ishizu. Uematsu discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to remove a separator from a battery in an inert atmosphere (¶94). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the inert environment of Uematsu in the method taught by Ishizu because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional environment for removing a separator from a battery/electrode stack. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizu et al. (JP 4754960) and Shi et al. (US 10601012) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Uematsu et al. (US 20150162584).
As to claim 7, the method of claim 3 is taught as seen above. Claim 7 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-6 and 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, the closest prior art of Ishizu et al. (JP 4754960) discloses in Fig. 1 that the clamp rollers (rotation buff) 3, 4 (pressing on the electrode laminate and therefore the outermost separator layer) rotate while in a relatively stationary position, but fail to teach or disclose that the rollers may move in a cross direction relative to the lengthwise direction of the laminate as required of separator in claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner will address only those arguments pertinent to the rejection above.
Applicant argues on pages 6-7 that the prior art of Ishizu fails to teach or disclose that the outermost separator is separated prior to separation from the other layers of the electrode body as recited in claim 1. This argument is not persuasive since, as seen in the rejection above, it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art since this would amount to the selection of performing process steps which is steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). Here, the expected result would be to separate the layers from the stack in a desired order so that they are separated from one another.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/ Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745