DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 11 and 18 (and their dependents) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The claims recite “the event log data” without antecedent basis. (It appears claim 4 may be intended to depend from claim 3, etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 12, 15, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al., US 9,992,523.
Claims 1 and 8 and 15. Chen teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
A coupled memory and processor to implement instructions [Fig. 7, col. 15] for:
receiving a first set of content items for potential acquisition [candidate set, Figs. 2-4, cols. 3-4, 51-7];
simulating, by at least one computer processor, an impact to a second set of content items when adding a potential subset of content items of the first set of content items to the second set of content items [diversity and relevance impact of candidate items to the recommended set are recursively calculated (simulated), Fig. 2-4, col. 4, 1-54; cols. 10-11, ll. 62-42]; and
selecting for acquisition a recommended subset of content items selected from the first set of content items based on at least one of an expected streaming time for the potential subset of content items or an expected reach for the potential subset of content items [set of recommendations is generated, including the candidates of subset Y that maximizes relevance (i.e. reach). Reach can be reasonably construed to mean the likelihood of a user selecting a particular content item, which in Chen is termed “relevance,” Figs. 4, 5, col. 4, 1-54; cols. 10-11, ll. 62-42; col. 11, 45-56].
2 and 9 and 16. Chen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the impact is based on an impact function value that is estimated for the potential subset of content items [Fig. 3 shows a relevancy (impact) function is maximized to select a subset of recommendations, Figs. 2-4, col. 4, 1-54; cols. 10-11, ll. 62-42].
5 and 12 and 19. Chen teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the second set of content items are one or more content items that are currently available to the content recommendation system [cols. 13-14, ll. 20-20].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, 4, 6, 10, 11, 13, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as cited above in view of Martin et al., US 2009/0222392.
3 (from 2) and 10 and 17. Chen is silent on estimating based on event log data. Martin teaches a method further comprising: estimating the impact function value based on an impact function and event log data of a content recommendation system for the second set of content items [user taste is determined using playcounts (event log data), Figs. 1-3, paras. 46, 47, 55]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the references, using event log data such as Martin’s playcounts as a reliable indicator of a particular user’s taste since the users themselves generate the data by actually viewing content.
4 and 11 and 18. Martin teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the event log data includes data about a viewing history of the second set of content items by a group of users over a period of time [e.g. views in a recent period of time are included, paras. 55, 56; also note that a period of time is inherent to any past viewing history; Figs. 1, 2, paras. 46, 47, 55].
6 and 13 and 20. The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein estimating the impact function comprises:
determining, for each user of a community of users that can access the content recommendation system, a respective probability for display to the user each content item of the potential subset of content items using the content recommendation system [playcounts are a proxy for user preference or display probability, Figs. 1-3, paras. 46, 47, 55];
determining a respective user-specific impact function value for each user based on the respective probability for display for each content item [recommendations are generated for each user based on respective tastes]; and
determining the impact function value for the potential subset of content items by aggregating the respective user-specific impact function value determined for each user of the community of users [aggregator 312, Fig. 3, paras. 58, 79].
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as cited above in view of Lin et al., US 2015/0347416.
7 (from 1) and 14. Chen is silent on targeting recommendations based on demographics. Lin teaches as system further comprising:
estimating an impact function value associated with a user demographics bucket for the recommended subset of content items [preference calculation (analogous to impact function) is made based on demographics, paras. 61, 62]; and
determining to distribute the recommended subset of content items to users of the user demographics bucket [recommended content is distributed, paras. 61-63].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lin, basing the recommendations on demographics in order to target particular viewers or groups when viewing history is not available. Demographics can predict preferences based on overall audience data rather than relying on individual viewing history.
The above references are silent on distribution of content after purchase. Official notice is taken that it was conventional and well-known in the content distribution art to require a subscription or purchase of content individually or per subscription in order to receive content from a provider (i.e. content is only distributed after purchase). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to distribute recommended items only after purchase, in order to obtain revenue in the content distribution business model.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY R NEWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2424