DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed on 9/10/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/10/2024 and 1/27/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,265,115. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,265,115
1. A method of transmitting control information from a user equipment (UE) in a communication network, the method comprising:
11. A host computer operable in a communication system, the host computer comprising: processing circuitry configured to provide user data; and a communication interface configured to initiate transmission of user data to a communication network for transmission to a user equipment, UE, wherein the UE comprises a radio interface and UE processing circuitry, the UE processing circuitry configured to: allow the UE to be configured with at least two configured collections of uplink, UL, resources to be used for transmitting control information to the communication network for various acknowledgement feedback modes of the communication network;
receiving (i) an assignment of radio resources to be used for receiving a downlink (DL) transmission from a base station and (ii) an acknowledgement resource indication (ARI) value that indicates which group of configured uplink (UL) resources from at least two groups of configured UL resources to be used by the UE for transmitting control information comprising acknowledgement information associated with the DL transmission;
receive an assignment of radio resources to be used for receiving a downlink, DL, transmission with the user data from a base station of the communication network; receive an acknowledgement resource indication, ARI, indicating one of the configured collections of UL resources to be used for transmitting control information associated with the DL transmission;
determining an operational mode of the communication network based on the ARI value; and
receive the user data from the host computer via the communication network by receiving the DL transmission; and
transmitting on a subset of the group of configured UL resources, to the base station, the control information comprising the acknowledgement feedback associated with the DL transmission.
transmit the control information to the base station on at least a subset of the indicated configured collection of UL resources, wherein the control information comprises acknowledgement information associated with the DL transmission, wherein the indicated configured collection of UL resources comprises a plurality of selectable UL resource sets, the plurality of selectable UL resource sets including a first UL resource set for use in a first acknowledgement feedback mode of the communication network and a second UL resource set for use in a second acknowledgement feedback mode of the communication network, wherein the control information is transmitted on one of the selectable UL resource sets which corresponds to a current acknowledgement feedback mode of the communication network, and wherein, in the indicated collection of UL resources, the first UL resource set comprises UL resources in addition to those of the second UL resource set.
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,265,115 substantially limits the same inventive concept. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim limitations of claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,265,115 to arrive at the claimed invention by omitting limitations to arrive at the claimed invention of using an ARI to determine radio resources and a mode of operation. One would be motivated to do so to broaden variation in scope that would yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 2-9 of the current application, claims 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,265,115 substantially limits the same inventive concept. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because they are of an obvious variation that would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. One would be motivated to do so to provide a broader variation in scope.
Regarding claim 10 of the current application, claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,265,115 substantially limits the same inventive concept. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim limitations of claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,265,115 to further limit feedback processes known in the art, such as hybrid automatic request (HARQ) as an obvious variation. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known technique in the field of endeavor that would yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 11-19 of the current application, claims 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,265,115 substantially limits the same inventive concept. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because they are of an obvious variation that would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art as noted with regards to the rejection of claims 1-9 as noted above. One would be motivated to do so to provide a broader variation in scope.
Regarding claim 20 of the current application, claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,265,115 substantially limits the same inventive concept. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim limitations of claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,265,115 to further limit feedback processes known in the art, such as hybrid automatic request (HARQ) as an obvious variation. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known technique in the field of endeavor that would yield predictable results.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-10 and 15-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,499. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,394,499
1. A method of transmitting control information from a user equipment (UE) in a communication network, the method comprising:
6. A method of transmitting control information to a communication network, the method being implemented in a user equipment, UE, the method comprising:
receiving (i) an assignment of radio resources to be used for receiving a downlink (DL) transmission from a base station and (ii) an acknowledgement resource indication (ARI) value that indicates which group of configured uplink (UL) resources from at least two groups of configured UL resources to be used by the UE for transmitting control information comprising acknowledgement information associated with the DL transmission;
receiving, via radio resource control signaling, a configuration of at least two collections of uplink (UL) resources to be used for transmitting control information to the communication network; receiving an assignment of radio resources to be used for receiving a downlink (DL) transmission from a base station of the communication network; receiving an acknowledgement resource indication (ARI) indicating one of the configured collections of UL resources to be used for transmitting control information associated with the DL transmission; and
determining an operational mode of the communication network based on the ARI value; and
the plurality of selectable UL resource sets including a first UL resource set for use in a first acknowledgement feedback mode of the communication network and a second UL resource set for use in a second acknowledgement feedback mode of the communication network, and wherein the control information associated with the DL transmission is transmitted on the one of the selectable UL resource sets which corresponds to the current acknowledgement feedback mode of the communication network, and wherein, in the indicated collection of UL resources, the second UL resource set comprises the UL resources of the first UL resource set and UL resources in addition to those of the first UL resource set.
transmitting on a subset of the group of configured UL resources, to the base station, the control information comprising the acknowledgement feedback associated with the DL transmission.
transmitting the control information associated with the DL transmission to the base station on at least a subset of the indicated collection of UL resources, wherein the control information associated with the DL transmission comprises acknowledgement information associated with the DL transmission, wherein the indicated collection of UL resources comprises a plurality of selectable UL resource sets,
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,499 substantially limits the same inventive concept. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim limitations of claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,499 to arrive at the claimed invention by omitting limitations to arrive at the claimed invention of using an ARI to determine radio resources and a mode of operation. One would be motivated to do so to broaden variation in scope that would yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 2-9 of the current application, claims 6-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,499 substantially limits the same inventive concept. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because they are of an obvious variation that would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. One would be motivated to do so to provide a broader variation in scope.
Regarding claim 10 of the current application, claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,499 substantially limits the same inventive concept. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim limitations of claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,499 to further limit feedback processes known in the art, such as hybrid automatic request (HARQ) as an obvious variation. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known technique in the field of endeavor that would yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 11-19 of the current application, claims 15-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,499 substantially limits the same inventive concept, as noted above with regards to claims 1-9 of the current application in view of claims 6-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,499. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because they are of an obvious variation that would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. One would be motivated to do so to provide a broader variation in scope.
Regarding claim 20 of the current application, claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,499 substantially limits the same inventive concept. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim limitations of claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,499 to further limit feedback processes known in the art, such as hybrid automatic request (HARQ) as an obvious variation. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known technique in the field of endeavor that would yield predictable results.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 7-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,711,173. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,711,173
1. A method of transmitting control information from a user equipment (UE) in a communication network, the method comprising:
1. A method of transmitting control information to a communication network, the method being implemented in a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving (i) an assignment of radio resources to be used for receiving a downlink (DL) transmission from a base station and (ii) an acknowledgement resource indication (ARI) value that indicates which group of configured uplink (UL) resources from at least two groups of configured UL resources to be used by the UE for transmitting control information comprising acknowledgement information associated with the DL transmission;
receiving, via radio resource control signaling, a configuration of at least two collections of uplink (UL) resources to be used for transmitting control information to the communication network; receiving an assignment of radio resources to be used for receiving a downlink (DL) transmission from a base station of the communication network; receiving an acknowledgement resource indication (ARI) indicating one of the configured collections of UL resources to be used for transmitting control information associated with the DL transmission; and
determining an operational mode of the communication network based on the ARI value; and
wherein the indicated collection of UL resources comprises a plurality of selectable UL resource sets, the plurality of selectable UL resource sets including a first UL resource set for use in a first acknowledgement feedback mode of the communication network and a second UL resource set for use in a second acknowledgement feedback mode of the communication network, and wherein the control information associated with the DL transmission is transmitted on the one of the selectable UL resource sets which corresponds to the current acknowledgement feedback mode of the communication network, wherein, in the indicated collection of UL resources, the second UL resource set comprises the UL resources of the first UL resource set and UL resources in addition to those of the first UL resource set.
transmitting on a subset of the group of configured UL resources, to the base station, the control information comprising the acknowledgement feedback associated with the DL transmission.
transmitting the control information associated with the DL transmission to the base station on at least a subset of the indicated collection of UL resources, wherein the control information associated with the DL transmission comprises acknowledgement information associated with the DL transmission, wherein the acknowledgement information is hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback,
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,711,173 substantially limits the same inventive concept. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim limitations of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,711,173to arrive at the claimed invention by omitting limitations to arrive at the claimed invention of using an ARI to determine radio resources and a mode of operation. One would be motivated to do so to broaden variation in scope that would yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 2-10 of the current application, claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,711,173 substantially limits the same inventive concept. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because they are of an obvious variation that would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. One would be motivated to do so to provide a broader variation in scope.
Regarding claims 11-20 of the current application, claims 7-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,711,173 substantially limits the same inventive concept, as noted above with regards to claims 1-10 of the current application in view of claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,711,173. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because they are of an obvious variation that would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. One would be motivated to do so to provide a broader variation in scope.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,247. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,231,247
1. A method of transmitting control information from a user equipment (UE) in a communication network, the method comprising:
1. A method implemented in a user equipment (UE) to transmit control information to a communication network, the method comprising:
receiving (i) an assignment of radio resources to be used for receiving a downlink (DL) transmission from a base station and (ii) an acknowledgement resource indication (ARI) value that indicates which group of configured uplink (UL) resources from at least two groups of configured UL resources to be used by the UE for transmitting control information comprising acknowledgement information associated with the DL transmission;
receiving, via radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a configuration of uplink (UL) resources to be used for transmitting control information to the communication network; receiving a downlink control information (DCI) message, the DCI message comprising an assignment of radio resources to be used for receiving a downlink (DL) transmission from a base station of the communication network, wherein the DCI message further comprises an acknowledgement resource indication (ARI) value that indicates, together with an acknowledgement feedback mode of the communication network, which of the configured UL resources to be used for transmitting control information comprising hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback associated with the DL transmission, and
determining an operational mode of the communication network based on the ARI value; and
wherein, for the ARI value received in the DCI message, the configured UL resources comprise a first UL resource set for use in a first acknowledgement feedback mode of the communication network and a second UL resource set for use in a second acknowledgement feedback mode of the communication network; and
transmitting on a subset of the group of configured UL resources, to the base station, the control information comprising the acknowledgement feedback associated with the DL transmission.
transmitting the control information comprising the HARQ feedback associated with the DL transmission to the base station on at least a subset of the UL resources indicated by the ARI value together with a current acknowledgement feedback mode of the communication network, wherein the second UL resource set comprises the UL resources of the first UL resource set and UL resources in addition to those of the first UL resource set.
Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,247 substantially limits the same inventive concept. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim limitations of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,247 to arrive at the claimed invention by omitting limitations to arrive at the claimed invention of using an ARI to determine radio resources and a mode of operation. One would be motivated to do so to broaden variation in scope that would yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 2-10 of the current application, claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,247 substantially limits the same inventive concept. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because they are of an obvious variation that would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. One would be motivated to do so to provide a broader variation in scope.
Regarding claims 11-20 of the current application, claims 7-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,247 substantially limits the same inventive concept, as noted above with regards to claims 1-10 of the current application in view of claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,247. Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because they are of an obvious variation that would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. One would be motivated to do so to provide a broader variation in scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,6,7,10,11,16,17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye et al. (WO 2018/031066)(Y1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Y1 teaches method of transmitting control information (i.e. DCI)[paragraph 0017] from a user equipment (UE)[refer Fig. 2; 212] in a communication network [refer Fig. 2], the method comprising:
receiving (i) an assignment of radio resources to be used for receiving a downlink (DL) transmission from a base station (resource allocations are provided in downlink control information, which can provide downlink assignment index (DAI))[paragraph 0017] and (ii) an acknowledgement resource indication (ARI) value that indicates which group of configured uplink (UL) resources (i.e. resources for shortened PUCCH (sPUCCH) or enhanced PUCCH (ePUCCH))[paragraph 0026] from at least two groups of configured UL resources (i.e. either sPUCCH or ePUCCH) to be used by the UE [paragraph 0025] for transmitting control information (i.e. UCI) comprising acknowledgement information associated with the DL transmission (i.e. HARQ-ACK feedback)[paragraph 0078];
determining an operational mode of the communication network based on the ARI value (the UE can use a set of sPUCCH / ePUCCH resources based on whether HARQ-ACK bundling is generated or supported, the UL transmission can be based on an acknowledgement resource indicator (ARI) in response to a HARQ-ACK bundling operation)[paragraph 0078]; and
transmitting on a subset of the group of configured UL resources (the UE can use a set of sPUCCH / ePUCCH resources based on whether HARQ-ACK bundling is generated or supported)[paragraph 0078], to the base station, the control information comprising the acknowledgement feedback associated with the DL transmission [paragraph 0078].
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Y1 teaches receiving the at least two groups of configured UL resources via radio resource control (RRC) signaling [paragraph 0067].
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Y1 teaches receiving the assignment of radio resources and the ARI value comprises receiving a downlink control information (DCI) message comprising the assignment of radio resources and the ARI value [paragraph 0026].
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Y1 teaches the acknowledgement feedback comprises at least one of automatic repeat request (ARQ) feedback and hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback [paragraph 0018].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,3,8,9,12,13,18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (WO 2018/031066)(Y1 hereafter) in view of Ren et al. (US Pub. 2015/0043433)(R1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Y1 fails to disclose the group of configured UL resources comprises at least a first set of configured UL resources and a second set of configured UL resources, and the second set of configured UL resources is a subset of the first set of configured UL resources.
R1 discloses that for HARQ feedback, eight resources are divided into four resource sets, each with two resources [paragraph 0019], a configuration can allow for different resource groups to share some of same resource sets, such as resource sets 1-4 being in resource group 1, and resource sets 3-6 being in resource group 2 (i.e. different size of resource sets) [paragraph 0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Y1 to incorporate the configuration of different resource groups with shared resource sets as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improved resource allocation that minimizes the amount of PUCCH resources while maintaining low resource collision [refer R1; paragraph 0006].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Y1 teaches the ARI value corresponds to at least the first set of configured UL resources for a first operational mode of the communication network and to the second set of configured UL resources for a second operational mode of the communication network (the UE can use a set of sPUCCH / ePUCCH resources based on whether HARQ-ACK bundling is generated or supported, the UL transmission can be based on an acknowledgement resource indicator (ARI) in response to a HARQ-ACK bundling operation)[paragraph 0078].
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Y1 teaches determining the operational mode of the communication network based on the ARI value comprises determining whether the first operational mode or the second operational mode applies to the DL transmission (i.e. whether HARQ-ACK bundling is supported)[paragraph 0078].
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Y1 teaches based on the operational mode, selecting configured UL resources to transmit the control information (the UE can use a set of sPUCCH / ePUCCH resources based on whether HARQ-ACK bundling is generated or supported, the UL transmission can be based on an acknowledgement resource indicator (ARI) in response to a HARQ-ACK bundling operation)[paragraph 0078].
However, Y1 fails to disclose the first set of configured UL resources and the second set of configured UL resources.
R1 discloses that for HARQ feedback, eight resources are divided into four resource sets, each with two resources [paragraph 0019], a configuration can allow for different resource groups to share some of same resource sets, such as resource sets 1-4 being in resource group 1, and resource sets 3-6 being in resource group 2 (i.e. different size of resource sets) [paragraph 0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Y1 to incorporate the configuration of different resource groups with shared resource sets as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improved resource allocation that minimizes the amount of PUCCH resources while maintaining low resource collision [refer R1; paragraph 0006].
Claims 4,5,14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Y1 in view of R1, as applied to claims 2 and 12, in further view of Chen et al. (US Pub. 2012/0236812)(C1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Y1 fails to disclose that the first operational mode and the second operational mode respectively represent a first acknowledgement feedback mode and a second acknowledgement feedback mode.
C1 discloses when the feedback mode of the ACK/NACK information is a bundling feedback mode, the common field is configured as the DAI command field; when the feedback mode of the ACK/NACK information is a multiplexing feedback mode, the common field is configured as the ARI command field [paragraph 0038].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Y1 to incorporate the indication of a feedback mode of ACK/NACK information using the ARI as taught by C1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means feedback that is backwards compatible with other systems [refer C1; paragraph 0008].
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Y1 fails to disclose the at least two groups of configured UL resources comprises at least two sets of selectable UL resources.
R1 discloses that for HARQ feedback, eight resources are divided into four resource sets, each with two resources [paragraph 0019], a configuration can allow for different resource groups to share some of same resource sets, such as resource sets 1-4 being in resource group 1, and resource sets 3-6 being in resource group 2 (i.e. different size of resource sets) [paragraph 0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Y1 to incorporate the configuration of different resource groups with shared resource sets as taught by R1. One would be motivated to do so to provide improved resource allocation that minimizes the amount of PUCCH resources while maintaining low resource collision [refer R1; paragraph 0006].
However, Y1 in view of R1, fails to disclose selectable UL resources that respectively correspond to a first acknowledgement feedback mode and a second acknowledgement feedback mode.
C1 discloses when the feedback mode of the ACK/NACK information is a bundling feedback mode, the common field is configured as the DAI command field; when the feedback mode of the ACK/NACK information is a multiplexing feedback mode, the common field is configured as the ARI command field [paragraph 0038], ACK channel resources can be assigned to particular PDSCH transmission of sending a corresponding PDCCH, a base station can assign a group of uplink ACK channel resources [paragraph 0077].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Y1 to incorporate the indication of a feedback mode of ACK/NACK information using the ARI as taught by C1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means feedback that is backwards compatible with other systems [refer C1; paragraph 0008].
Conclusion
Ryan Kavleski
/R. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412