DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) Form PTO-1449. The information disclosed therein was considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,119,062. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the later clearly dominate the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakurada (US 2016/0011970) in view of Lu (US 2020/0005878).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Sakurada discloses system comprising: a memory device comprising a plurality of memory cells each associated with a corresponding wordline of a plurality of wordlines of the memory device (See Figures 1-3); and a processing device (control unit, 24, 4), operatively coupled with the memory device, to perform operations comprising: determining, for a wordline of the plurality of wordlines, a respective value of a sensitivity metric that reflects a sensitivity of a threshold voltage of a memory cell associated with the wordline to a change in a threshold voltage of an adjacent memory cell (see paragraph 0056); determining, for the wordline, that the respective value of the sensitivity metric satisfies a threshold criterion (see Figure 13, s4); and performing, on a specified memory cell associated with the wordline, a compensatory operation (interference cancelling LLR table).
Sakurada fails to teach the compensatory operation is to adjust one or more voltages applied to the specified memory cell. However, such a technique was known in the art at the time of filing (see Lu, paragraph 0164 for example). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing modify Sakurada to include target word line voltage compensation techniques in response to neighbor vulnerabilities in order to increase read/write accuracy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 are provisionally objected to (pending Applicants’ successful overcoming of the ODP rejections above) as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2 (9 and 16) , the prior art fails to teach or reasonably disclose in combination all the features of the claim in combination with preceding claim limitations associating the wordline with a first wordline group, wherein the first wordline group comprises one or more wordlines, and wherein each wordline of the one or more wordlines is associated with a respective value of the sensitivity metric that satisfies the threshold criterion; and storing, on the memory device, a record referencing one or more wordlines associated with the first wordline group, wherein the record indicates, for each wordline in the first wordline group, a corresponding location on the memory device.
Regarding claim 7 (14 and 20), the prior art fails to teach or reasonably disclose in combination all the features of the claim in combination with preceding claim limitations determining a difference between the threshold voltage of the memory cell associated with the wordline corresponding to a first programming level of the threshold voltage of the adjacent memory cell and the threshold voltage of the memory cell associated with the wordline corresponding to a second programming level of the threshold voltage of the adjacent memory cell, wherein the first programming level is a maximum programming level and the second programming level is a minimum programming level of the adjacent memory cell.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824