DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 10/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 36-56 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/15/2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 25-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12115583B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while claim 1 of U.S Patent 12115583B2 is a claim that is narrower in scope, with limitations of a fast curing adhesive and a mechanical feature, as well as a “connection by a wall” rather than a surface, instant claim 25 is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of U.S Patent 12115583B2, as claim 1 of U.S Patent 12115583B2 maps onto the all the claimed features of the instant claim 25, such as a “first portion configured to connect to a second part via a first connection, wherein the first connection comprises a second adhesive; and a feature co-printed with the first portion and configured to provide a second connection between the first portion and second part” and the limitations as pertaining to the first portion, first connection, and second part, as well as a first adhesive. Thus, claim 1 of U.S Patent 12115583B2 is narrower in scope than instant claim 25, and meets the broader limitations of instant claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-30, 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Twelves (U.S PG Pub 20180290423A1), Levine (U.S PG Pub 2018022019A1), and Woleader (U.S PG Pub 20140241790A1).
Regarding claims 25-27, Twelves, is drawn to the art of bonding polymer components that are additively manufactured [0005] wherein the components have mating features designed to fit into each other and further an adhesive to form a mechanical lock [0005-0006]. Twelves discloses a first component (32) with a first mechanical feature (36) that extends beyond and overlaps a second portion (38) of the second part (34) such that a first side not facing in the first direction contacts a first adhesive prior to the first portion being fixed to the second part via the first connection [0020 & 0022-0027]. Twelves also discloses the first connection being a tongue and groove connection (Figures 1a-1b, 4c, 5c). Twelves also discloses a mechanical feature comprising bars and wherein the bar is arranged within an opening and further wherein the adhesive flows between the bars (see annotated figure 3C below). Twelves has not explicitly disclosed the second connection being separated from the first connection by a surface. Twelves also has not disclosed the first and second adhesive being used wherein the first adhesive constitutes a second connection and the second adhesive constitutes a first connection. The above limitations are known, however, from Woleader and Levine, respectively.
Woleader, drawn also to the art of joining two parts using an adhesive (Abstract), discloses a wall (212) between the first (190) and second part (196) [0051 & 0054] (Figures 2 & 10). Woleader discloses that the wall (212) divides the bondline length (306) [0051] i.e. provides a division between the connection between the first and second part.
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the connection of Twelves, with the surface providing a division between connections, as disclosed by Woleader, to arrive at the instant invention, in order to be able to control the flow of adhesive within the bondline during the bonding process [0005].
Regarding the first connection comprising a second adhesive and the second connection comprising a first adhesive, the use of an adhesive in a secondary connection, is known in the art for a secondary connection to comprise an adhesive as disclosed by Levine. Levine is drawn also to the art of connecting a first and second substructure (Abstract), wherein the first (12) and second substructures (40) can be AM manufactured parts (Figure 6; [0017 & 0022]). Levine discloses a primary connection comprising a first adhesive (first adhesive of Levine 42 – interpreted in this instance as the second adhesive of instant application) and a secondary connection comprising a second adhesive (44) (second adhesive of Levine interpreted as the first adhesive of instant application), used to join or connect the two substructures (Figures 4 & 5). Levine further discloses that the two adhesives can be different [0022], and further discloses that the adhesives can be hot-melt (i.e. heat curable) or UV curing adhesives [0022-0023 & 0018]. Thus, Levine has disclosed a secondary connection comprising a first adhesive (second adhesive 44 of Levine) and a primary connection comprising an adhesive (first adhesive 42 of Levine), and has further disclosed that these adhesives can be different, and thus having different rates of curing (i.e. one adhesive being faster curing than the other). Thus, Levine discloses that two different adhesives (two different connections comprising adhesives) can be used to connect a first and second part. Further, Levine has disclosed that such a connection method may decrease overall time and cost to attach substructures (Abstract) and further is one which allows for rapid or convenient assembly of parts [0005].
Levine has disclosed adhesives that are hot-melt materials, as Levine has disclosed the adhesives can be heat curing [0023 & 0018], and has disclosed these adhesives being used in a secondary connection as first adhesive (second adhesive 44 of Levine), and further that the adhesive is applied between the first and second part (figures 4 & 5 of Levine). Levine has already disclosed the secondary connection comprising a first adhesive (second adhesive 44 of Levine) and the adhesive being applied between the first and second part and being a UV curable adhesive [figures 4 & 5; [0023 & 0018]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the structure of Twelves, with the secondary connection comprising a hot-melt and/or UV curing adhesive (second adhesive 44 of Levine), as disclosed by Levine, to arrive at the instant invention, in order to obtain a more rapid or convenient assembly of parts [0005], and to decrease overall time and cost to attach substructures (Abstract).
Regarding claims 28-30, Twelves discloses a first component with a first mechanical feature that extends beyond and overlaps a second portion of the second part such that a first side not facing in the first direction contacts a first adhesive prior to the first portion being fixed to the second part via the first connection [0020 & 0022-0027]. Twelves also discloses the first connection being a tongue and groove connection (Figures 1a-1b, 4c, 5c). The tongue and groove connection of Twelves is interpreted as the first feature (36) configured to mate with a second feature (38) of the second part (34).
Regarding claim 32, Twelves suggests implicitly that the first feature is removable, as Twelves discloses that the undercut features (i.e. first and second features) can be grown directly on the polymer components (i.e. first and second part) [0018-0019], while also mentioning that the undercut features can be added to the polymer components [0018], and wherein the components are manufactured by normal additive manufacturing processes and wherein the undercut features are manufactured by 3D printing or additive manufacturing [0022].
Thus, Twelves has disclosed implicitly that the features can be removable, as being able to be grown directly onto the polymer components and also added to the polymer components, would suggest removability, in the instance where the undercut features are added to the polymer components. Regardless, the courts have held that making a part separable i.e. removable, is a matter of obviousness to an ordinarily skilled artisan, in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.04 V(C)).
Regarding claims 33-35, Twelves also discloses a mechanical feature comprising bars and wherein the bar is arranged within an opening and further wherein the adhesive flows between the bars (see annotated figure 3C below).
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Twelves (U.S PG Pub 20180290423A1), Levine (U.S PG Pub 2018022019A1), Woleader (U.S PG Pub 20140241790A1), and Syvret (U.S PG Pub 20140212637A1).
Regarding claim 31, Twelves and Levine have not explicitly disclosed a second adhesive being used, wherein the first adhesive is faster curing than the second adhesive.
Syvret, drawn also to the art of forming a bonded structure (Abstract), discloses bonding two substrates (14 & 16) (Figures 2a-2c), with a fast curing adhesive (18) and a slow curing adhesive (12) in between the substrates [0034]. Syvret further discloses that applying a fast curing adhesive and a slow curing adhesive allows the bonded structure to be moved quickly to a next station in the production line [0007]. In short, the application of a fast curing adhesive and a slow curing adhesive allows the bonded structure to be accurately and quickly bonded, which allows the structure to be moved to a next station in a production line, without the slow-curing adhesive (majority of the applied adhesive) fully curing [0007]. Syvret further discloses (Figure 3), a primary connection, which is the slow acting adhesive (adhesive 30), and a retention element comprising a secondary connection (mechanical fasteners and fast curing adhesive) which is distinct from the primary connection, and comprises a first adhesive (the fast curing adhesive) (Figure 3) [0035-0037].
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the structure of Twelves and Levine, with the use of a first and second adhesive, wherein the first adhesive is faster curing than the second adhesive, in order to be able to achieve accurate and fast bonding and to be able to move the bonded structure quickly to a next station in the production, without the majority of the adhesive (i.e. second adhesive) being fully cured [0007].
Conclusion
/ABHISHEK A PATWARDHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746