DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Amendment filed June 17, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 1 and 20 are independent.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on April 22, 2026. This IDS has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 4 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Applicant’s Figure 4 is identical to U.S. 2022/0180933 Figure 3.
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (U.S. 2022/0180941).
Regarding independent claim 1, Choi discloses a memory device (Fig. 1), comprising:
memory cells (Fig. 3: MCs) arranged as an array of memory strings (Fig. 3: CSs);
word lines (Fig. 3: WLs) coupled to the memory cells (Fig. 3: MCs); and
a peripheral circuit (Fig. 3: 120-150) coupled to the word lines (Fig. 3: WLs) and configured to:
perform a first read operation (Fig. 17: 1st Read) comprising a first pre-read phase (Fig. 17: Bit Line Precharge), a first read phase (Fig. 17: Evaluation), and a first post-read phase (Fig. 17: Sensing); and
perform a second read operation (Fig. 17: 2nd Read) comprising a second pre-read phase (Fig. 17: Bit Line Precharge), a second read phase (Fig. 17: Evaluation), and a second post-read phase (Fig. 17: Sensing).
As discussed above, Choi’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “a first time duration of the first pre-read phase is larger than a second time duration time of the second pre-read phase.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Choi’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the limitations with respect to claim 1.
As discussed above, Choi’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “ramping up selected word line from a ground voltage to a first pass voltage, and after a first time period, ramping down the selected word line from the first pass voltage to the ground voltage.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Choi’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the limitations with respect to claim 2.
As discussed above, Choi’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “ramping up the selected word line from the ground voltage to the first pass voltage, and after a second time period, ramping down the selected word line from the first pass voltage to the ground voltage, wherein the first time period is larger than the second time period.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Choi’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the limitations with respect to claim 3.
As discussed above, Choi’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the first time period is at least two times of the second time period.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Choi’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses the limitations with respect to claim 4.
As discussed above, Choi’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the first time period is about two times to five times of the second time period.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Choi’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses the limitations with respect to claim 2.
As discussed above, Choi’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the first time period is in a range from about 5 µs to 50 µs.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Choi’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses the limitations with respect to claim 2.
Furthermore, Choi discloses a bottom select line and a top select line.
As discussed above, Choi’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “ramping up a bottom select line and a top select line in unselected memory string from the ground voltage to a second pass voltage, and after the first time period, ramping down the bottom select line and the top select line in the unselected memory string from the second pass voltage to the ground voltage.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Choi’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses the limitations with respect to claim 1.
As discussed above, Choi’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “the first read operation is a first time read operation after recovering from an idle state or after a power being turned on after a power-off state, and the second read operation is a non-first time read operation after recovering from an idle state or after a power being turned on after a power-off state.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Choi’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses the limitations with respect to claim 2.
As discussed above, Choi’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “wherein the first time duration of the first pre-read phase is at least two times of a third time duration of the first post-read phase.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Choi’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses the limitations with respect to claim 9.
As discussed above, Choi’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “ramping up selected word line from the ground voltage to a third pass voltage, and after a third time period, ramping down the selected word line from the third pass voltage to the ground voltage, wherein the first time period is at least two times of the third time period.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Choi’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Regarding independent claim 20, Choi discloses a memory system (Fig. 23), comprising:
a memory device (Fig. 1: 100), comprising:
memory cells (Fig. 3: MCs) arranged as an array of memory strings (Fig. 3: CSs);
word lines (Fig. 3: WLs) coupled to the memory cells (Fig. 3: MCs); and
a peripheral circuit (Fig. 3: 120-150) coupled to the word lines (Fig. 3: WLs) and configured to:
perform a first read operation (Fig. 17: 1st Read) comprising a first pre-read phase (Fig. 17: Bit Line Precharge), a first read phase (Fig. 17: Evaluation), and a first post-read phase (Fig. 17: Sensing); and
perform a second read operation (Fig. 17: 2nd Read) comprising a second pre-read phase (Fig. 17: Bit Line Precharge), a second read phase (Fig. 17: Evaluation), and a second post-read phase (Fig. 17: Sensing); and
a memory controller (Fig. 23: 2200), coupled to the memory device (Fig. 1: 100).
As discussed above, Choi’s memory device is substantially identical in structure to the claimed “memory device,” where the differences reside only in the remaining limitations relating to function of “a first time duration of the first pre-read phase is larger than a second time duration time of the second pre-read phase.”
The MPEP explains that examiners are to presume claimed functions are inherent when the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to the claimed apparatus. See esp. MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims – When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identically to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent). Choi’s memory device appears to be identical to applicant’s device, and thus the prior art apparatus is substantially identical to claimed apparatus, for which the claimed functions are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
This presumption is rebuttable by applicant either (1) showing the prior art device and claimed device are not the same or (2) proving prior art device is incapable of performing the claimed functions. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971); see MPEP 2112.01(I)(quoting In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709 for “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the application and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.”). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I). Applicant is also reminded that claim limitations directed to the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II) (“Manner of Operating the Device Does Not Differentiate Apparatus Claim from the Prior Art”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to independent claim 11, there is no teaching or suggestion in the prior art of record to provide the recited step of performing a second read operation comprising a second pre-read phase, a second read phase, and a second post-read phase, wherein a first time duration of the first pre-read phase is larger than a second time duration time of the second pre-read phase, in combination with the other limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to drawing objection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding drawing objection of Figure 4, Applicant asserts that Figure 4 should not be labeled “Prior Art” because the claims recites the memory array structure shown in Figure 4 configured to perform novel operation and the structure of Figure 4 is not to be viewed in isolation, but rather in context with the remainder of the disclosure in which the subject matter of Figure 4 is included in the novelty of the claimed memory device and memory system, see Applicant’s Remarks page 8. This particular remark is not considered persuasive.
The requirement to designate Figure 4 as “Prior Art” is based on the subject matter actually illustrated in the figure, rather than on whether the claims, when considered as a whole, may recite patentable operations involving the illustrated apparatus. The fact that the present claims recite the illustrated apparatus as being “configured to” perform allegedly novel operations does not, by itself, render the preexisting structure shown in the figure new. Likewise, discussing the old structure in the context of additional disclosure does not change the character of the structure actually depicted. Any novelty arising from the claimed configuration or operations may be considered when determining the patentability of the claims, but it does not establish that the unchanged apparatus illustrated in Figure 4 is itself new.
Accordingly, because Figure 4, viewed on its face, illustrates only previously known subject matter, the requirement that the figure be designated by a legend such as “Prior Art” is maintained.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claims 1-10 and 20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-10 and 20, Applicant asserts that apparatus claims 1-10 and 20 discloses identical limitations of the allowable subject matter of the method claims 11-19 and therefore the rejection of claims 1-10 and 20 should be withdrawn, see Applicant’s Remarks pages 8-9. This particular remark is not considered persuasive.
The allowance of the method claims does not establish the patentability of the apparatus claims. Although the apparatus claims may recite language similar to the allowed method claims, the patentability of an apparatus is determined by its claimed structure, not by the particular manner in which the apparatus is operated or used. The prior art discloses the same apparatus structure recited in the rejected claims. Accordingly, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identically to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent, see 2112.01(I). Furthermore, Applicant is reminded that the manner of operating do not distinguish an apparatus claim from the prior art apparatus. MPEP 2114(II).
Applicant has not identified any structural limitation in the apparatus claims that distinguishes the claimed apparatus from the prior art, nor provided evidence showing that the prior art apparatus is incapable of performing the claimed function.
For the above reasons, the previously applied rejection is considered proper and maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alfredo Bermudez Lozada/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825