DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I, claim 1 - 6 in the reply filed on 07/22/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20200176405 A1, “Wu”) in view of Hayashi (US 20120189818 A1, “Hayashi”)
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses (Fig. 1G) a packaging substrate, comprising: a core layer (CDL); and an upper layer (BL1) disposed on the core layer, wherein the core layer comprises a glass core (para [0014]) comprising a first face and a second face facing each other, wherein the upper layer comprises: a first distribution layer (112A) formed on the core layer; and a dummy layer (116) formed on the first distribution layer, wherein the dummy layer comprises a material having a lower Coefficient of Thermal Expansion (CTE) than a CTE of an insulating material of the first distribution layer.
Wu is silent on wherein the dummy layer comprises a material having a lower Coefficient of Thermal Expansion (CTE) than a CTE of an insulating material of the first distribution layer.
However, Hayashi discloses (Fig. 1) wherein the dummy layer (11b) comprises a material having a lower Coefficient of Thermal Expansion (CTE) than a CTE of an insulating material of the first distribution layer (See para [0067] – [0069]).
Wu and Hayashi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of packaging substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wu to incorporate the teachings of Hayashi and provide wherein the dummy layer (11b) comprises a material having a lower Coefficient of Thermal Expansion (CTE) than a CTE of an insulating material of the first distribution layer (See para [0067] – [0069]). Doing so would provide reduced thermal stress and warpage (para [0048]).
Regarding claim 2, Wu in view of Hayashi discloses the packaging substrate of claim 1, further comprising: a second distribution layer (RDL1) formed on the dummy layer, wherein the dummy layer is disposed between the first distribution layer and the second distribution layer and is in direct contact with the first distribution layer (See Fig. 1G).
Regarding claim 3, Wu in view of Hayashi discloses the packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein Wu further discloses when a difference (absolute value) between a CTE of the glass core (3.2 ppm/k, para [0014]) and Hayashi discloses a CTE (20 ppm/K to 50 ppm/k para [0067]) of the first distribution layer is D_C, and a difference (absolute value) between the CTE of the first distribution layer and a CTE of the dummy layer (0 ppm/K to 10 ppm/k para [0069]) is D_D, and the D_D is smaller than the D_C (D_D = 20 ppm/k – 10 ppm/k = 10 ppm/k, D_C = 20 ppm/k – 3.2 ppm/k = 16.8 ppm/k, D_D is smaller than D_C).
Regarding claim 4, Wu in view of Hayashi discloses the packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein Hayashi further discloses the dummy layer comprises 80 wt% or more of an inorganic material (See para [0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Wu in view of Hayashi discloses the packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein Hayashi further disclose a CTE of the dummy layer
20
p
p
m
/
°
C
or less (See para [0051], [0069]).
Regarding claim 6, Wu in view of Hayashi discloses the packaging substrate of claim 1, wherein Wu further discloses the upper layer further comprises: a second distribution layer formed (RDL1) on the dummy layer; and a fine distribution layer (122) formed on the second distribution layer, wherein the second distribution layer comprises a first polymer resin (See para [0022]) and a first inorganic particle A, wherein the fine distribution layer comprises a second polymer resin B (See para [0022]) and a second inorganic particle B, and wherein an average size of the first inorganic particle is smaller than an average size of the second inorganic particle.
Hayashi further discloses that the size of the inorganic particles {(12), fig. 2 para [0045]} in layer (10b) is smaller than the size of the inorganic particles {(13a, 13b), fig. 2 para [0057]}. So, it would be obvious for a person skilled in the art to select the particle size, if required, such that the average particle size in the first inorganic particle is smaller than the average particle size in the fine layer without doing an inventive step.
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847