The amendment of December 15, 2025 has been received and entered. With the entry of the amendment, claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 1, 3-7, 11 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thompson et al (US 6372299) is withdrawn due to the amendments changing the scope of the claims of December 15, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-13, 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson et al (US 6372599) in view of EITHER Nagaraj et al (US 2005/0170200, hereinafter Nagaraj ‘200) OR Nagaraj et al (US 2013/0095344, hereinafter Nagaraj ‘344).
Claim 1, 4-6: Thompson teaches a method of forming a coated component (note column 1, lines 5-10, column 3, lines 25-50). The method includes forming a bondcoat on a surface of a substrate where the bondcoat comprises MCrAlX in the form of MCrAlY, where M can be Ni or Co, such as NiCrAlY (which gives the features desired by present claim 1, 4, 5, 6) (note as worded the bondcoat as claimed could be (a) the aluminum rich mixture with two components including the MCrAlY material that can be NiCrAlY, as described at column 1, lines 25-40 (note the bond coat alloy), column 4, line 35-40, column 4, line 55 to column 5, line 25, column 8, lines 35-50; or (b) the further metallic “bond coat” that may be applied over the aluminum-rich layer, which can also be an MCrAlY of where M is Ni or Co and specifically NiCrAlY, note column 6, line 40-68). Thereafter, a first heat treatment is performed on the bondcoat on the surface of the substrate (note when the bondcoat is considered (a) the aluminum rich layer, a heat treatment is provided after application, note column 6, line 20-30, column 9, lines 30-40, and when the bondcoat is considered (b) the further “bond coat” layer, a heat treatment can be provided after application, note column 7, lines 15-20, which could be in addition to or instead of the heat treatment of the aluminum rich layer, showing the heat treatment for the aluminum rich layer as discussed for (a) would be before the “bond coat” layer applied, column 9,lines 30-50). Thereafter a thermal barrier coating is formed on the bondcoat (note column 7, lines 20-45). The thermal barrier coating can be zirconia based and contain yttria (yttrium oxide) as a stabilizer, at least about 50% zirconia, and can be applied by plasma spraying (note column 7, lines 20-45). Thereafter, a second heat treatment is performed on the barrier coating on the bondcoat to form the coated component (note column 7, lines 45-55, since the heat treatment after the thermal barrier coating applied can be in addition to the earlier heat treatments, it is understood that there can be a heat treatment after the bondcoat applied as discussed above, and before the thermal barrier coating applied, and then a further heat treatment after the thermal barrier coating applied). Various substrates can be used including a turbine blade or combustor liner (note column 3, lines 40-50).
As to providing that the thermal barrier coating is formed as comprising an inner barrier coating layer and an outer barrier coating layer, and wherein the outer barrier coating layer has a higher content of yttria than the inner barrier coating layer, Thompson does not specifically describe using a two layer thermal barrier coating as claimed.
(A) Using Nagaraj ‘200: However, Nagaraj ‘200 describes providing a thermal barrier coating system that can be used for substrate components including combustor liners (note 0002, 0014). The coating system can include providing a bondcoat on a surface of the substrate, where the bondcoat comprises MCrAlX, where M is Ni or Co and X is Y (note 0005, 0016, figure 1). Over the bondcoat, a thermal barrier coating can be provided in the form of a multilayer coating, where the coating can be provided by plasma spraying (note figure 1, 0016). The thermal barrier coating is provided with an inner layer 20 formed from yttria stabilized zirconia, with desirably about 7-8 wt% yttria, and an outer layer 22 with at least 15 wt% yttria such about 18-20 wt% yttria (note figure 1, 0017, where therefore, the outer barrier coating has a higher content of yttria than the inner barrier coating). After the thermal barrier coating applied, the thermal barrier layer will be exposed to high temperatures (which would therefore treat with heat) (note 0020, 0008). The two layer thermal barrier coating allows for providing an inner coating that is compatible with use of the aluminum rich bond coat/scale developed thereon and with an outer layer that can withstand high temperatures, and withstands spallation (note 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thompson to provide the barrier coating as a two layer barrier coating as described by Nagaraj ‘200 with an inner barrier coating layer and an outer barrier coating layer, and wherein the outer barrier coating layer has a higher content of yttria than the inner barrier coating layer in order to provide an inner coating that is compatible with use of the aluminum rich bond coat/scale developed thereon and with an outer layer that can withstand high temperatures, and withstands spallation, since Thompson is providing components such as combustor liners with an MCrAlX type bond coating and a thermal barrier coating with yttria stabilized zirconia, and Nagaraj ‘200 teaches that when providing such components with such bondcoats, with a thermal barrier coating applied over the bond coat, it is desirable for the thermal barrier coating to be in the form of a two layer barrier coating with an inner barrier coating layer and an outer barrier coating layer, and wherein the outer barrier coating layer has a higher content of yttria than the inner barrier coating layer in order to provide an inner coating that is compatible with use of the aluminum rich bond coat/scale developed thereon and with an outer layer that can withstand high temperatures, and withstands spallation.
(A) Using Nagaraj ‘344: However, Nagaraj ‘344 describes providing a thermal barrier coating system that can be used for substrate components including turbine blades and combustor liners (note figure 1, 0019-0020). The coating system can include providing a bondcoat 12 on a surface of the substrate, where the bondcoat comprises MCrAlX, where M is Ni or Co and X is Y (note 0003, 0020, figure 1). Over the bondcoat, a thermal barrier coating can be provided in the form of a multilayer coating, where the coating can be provided by plasma spraying (note figure 1, 0021, 0025). The thermal barrier coating is provided with an inner layer 16 formed from yttria stabilized zirconia (YSZ), with desirably about 6-9 wt% yttria, and an outer layer 18 with about 25-75 wt% yttria such as about 38 wt% yttria (note figure 1, 0021-0023, 0004, where therefore, the outer barrier coating has a higher content of yttria than the inner barrier coating). After the thermal barrier coating applied, the thermal barrier layer will be heat treated (note 0028). The two layer thermal barrier coating allows withstanding thermal cycling when exposed to CMAS contaminants and give spallation resistance (note 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thompson to provide the barrier coating as a two layer barrier coating as described by Nagaraj ‘344 with an inner barrier coating layer and an outer barrier coating layer, and wherein the outer barrier coating layer has a higher content of yttria than the inner barrier coating layer in order to provide an inner coating that is withstands thermal cycling when exposed to CMAS contaminants and gives spallation resistance, since Thompson is providing components such as turbine blades and combustor liners with an MCrAlX type bond coating and a thermal barrier coating with yttria stabilized zirconia, and Nagaraj ‘344 teaches that when providing such components with such bondcoats, with a thermal barrier coating applied over the bond coat, it is desirable for the thermal barrier coating to be in the form of a two layer barrier coating with an inner barrier coating layer and an outer barrier coating layer, and wherein the outer barrier coating layer has a higher content of yttria than the inner barrier coating layer in order to provide an inner coating that is withstands thermal cycling when exposed to CMAS contaminants and gives spallation resistance.
Claim 2: As to the substrate thickness, Thompson further teaches a substrate thickness of less than about 0.25 cm (2500 microns) (note column 3, lines 45-50), which would give a range overlapping that claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to optimize from this range, giving a value in the claimed range. Note In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 3: In Thompson, the substrate can be a nickel based superalloy, for example (note column 3, lines 35-45, column 8, lines 35-40).
Claim 7: In Thompson, the bondcoat can be applied by spraying a plurality of particles comprising the MCrAlX onto the surface of the substrate (note for option (a) the aluminum-rich mixture with MCrAlX with the plasma spray of particles, for example, column 5,lines 35-50, column 8, lines 45-68, and for option (b) “bond coat” MCrAlY deposition in the same fashion as for option (a) can be provided, note column 6, lines 60-68, column 9, lines 40-45, so the same spraying of a plurality of particles understood to occur).
Claim 10: As to the bondcoat thickness, for option (a) aluminum rich layer, Thompson provides the thickness can be about 25 to about 400 microns (note column 5, lines 25-35, overlapping the claimed range, and for option (b) “bond coat” layer, the thickness can be about 50 to about 500 microns (note column 6, lines 45-6), also overlapping the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to optimize from this range (for either option), giving a value in the claimed range. Note In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claim 11: In Thompson, the first heat treatment temperature and time is described as ranges for the option (a) aluminum rich mixture and a range and time that can be the same as for option (a) for the option (b) “bond coat” deposition (note column 6, line 25-40, and column 7, lines 15-20), where an example first heat treatment temperature and time is described as 1080 degrees C, for four hours (note column 9, lines 35-40), in the claimed range. Alternatively, Thompson, the first heat treatment temperature is described as a range of about 925 to about 1260 degrees C and time of about 15 minutes to about 16 hours for the option (a) aluminum rich mixture and a temperature range and time range that can be the same as for option (a) for the option (b) “bond coat” deposition (note column 6, line 25-40, and column 7, lines 15-20), and these ranges overlap that claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to optimize from these ranges (for either option), giving values in the claimed range. Note In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Claims 12, 13: as to the pressure during first heat treatment, in Thompson, it is indicated that for heat treatment after option (a) aluminum rich mixture or option (b) “bond coat” layer, the conditions can be the same (note column 7, lines 15-20). It is indicated that the heat treatment can be under vacuum (note column 6, lines 20-30, column 9, lines 35-40). While a specific pressure is not given, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to optimize to provide a best condition of “vacuum” for the treatment, giving a pressure value in the claimed range. Note "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 15: As to the second heat treatment temperature and time, Thompson indicates that this temperature range can be about 980 to about 1260 degrees C for about 15 minutes to about 16 hours (note column 7, lines 45-55, overlapping the claimed range). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to optimize from these ranges, giving values in the claimed range. Note In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Additionally, when using Nagaraj ‘344 it describes heat treatment for the thermal barrier coating at 1080 degrees C for 4 hours (in the claimed range) (note 0028), further giving a suggested heat treatment in the claimed range.
Claim 16: As to the second heat treatment atmosphere, Thompson indicates that the second heat treatment can be under conditions usually similar to those described earlier (note column 7, lines 45-55), which as discussed for claims 12-13 above can be under vacuum. Thus, the use of vacuum conditions for the second heat treatment atmosphere would be suggested as well. While a specific pressure is not given, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to optimize to optimize to provide a best condition of “vacuum” for the treatment, giving a pressure value in the claimed range. Note "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Additionally, when using Nagaraj ‘344 it describes heat treatment for the thermal barrier coating in vacuum as well (note 0028).
Claim 19: In Thompson, the coated component can be a combustion liner, as a combustion liner substrate can be coated (note column 3, lines 40-45. Additionally, when using Nagaraj ‘200 it also indicates the component as a combustor liner (0014). Additionally, when using Nagaraj ‘344 it also indicates the component as a combustor liner (0019).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of EITHER Nagaraj ‘200 OR Nagaraj ‘344 as applied to claims 1-7, 10-13, 15-16 and 19 above, and further in view of Marumoto et al (US 5827606).
Claim 8: As to the specific bondcoat spraying conditions, Thompson provides that the spraying can be by plasma spraying, for example (note column 5, lines 40-50, column 6, lines 60-68). As to the bondcoat thickness, for option (a) aluminum rich layer, Thompson provides the thickness can be about 25 to about 400 microns (note column 5, lines 25-35, and for option (b) “bond coat” layer, the thickness can be about 50 to about 500 microns (note column 6, lines 45-6).
Marumoto describes how plasma spraying can be provided where coating sprayed on a substrate surface at a rate that forms a layer that is formed with a thickness 100 microns/second, in a series of passes (swings) (note column 26, lines 40-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thompson in view of EITHER Nagaraj ‘200 OR Nagaraj ‘344 to use passes of plasmas spraying and a thickness application of 100 microns/second for applying the bondcoat as suggested by Marumoto with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since Thompson indicates plasma spraying the bondcoat, and Marumoto indicates that such conditions are conventional for plasma spraying. Even if the thickness has to be 40 microns or greater per pass, it would have been obvious to optimize the number of passes to give the desired thickness, as the desired thickness and use of passes is known, and the total thickness would be acceptable regardless of the number of passes.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of EITHER Nagaraj ‘200 OR Nagaraj ‘344 as applied to claims 1-7, 10-13, 15-16 and 19 above, and further in view of Lindblom (US 4687678).
Claim 9: As to forming alumina during the spraying such that the bondcoat comprises alumina and the MCrAlX, Thompson provides that the spraying can be by plasma spraying, for example (note column 5, lines 40-50, column 6, lines 60-68).
Lindblom describes how it is desired to form MCrAlY coatings (where M can be Ni or Co) by plasma spraying powder under conditions to also provide oxidation of Al, for example, giving alumina in the coating along with MCrAlY (note claim 1), where this increases usable lifetime of coatings (note column 2, lines 55-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thompson in view of EITHER Nagaraj ‘200 OR Nagaraj ‘344 to provide forming alumina during the spraying such that the bondcoat comprises alumina and the MCrAlX as suggested by Lindblom with an expectation of providing a desirable longer lasting coating, since Thompson indicates plasma spraying the MCrAlY, and Lindblom teaches that it is desirable to from alumina during the plasma spraying such that the coating comprises alumina and the MCrAlX to increase coating lifetime.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of EITHER Nagaraj ‘200 OR Nagaraj ‘344 as applied to claims 1-7, 10-13, 15-16 and 19 above, and further in view of CN 108914043 (hereinafter ‘043) and as evidenced by Margolies et al (US 2011/0048017).
Claim 14: As to providing that the bondcoat has a first tensile bond strength before the first heat treatment and a second tensile bond strength after the first heat treatment, where the second tensile bond strength is at least twice the first tensile bond strength, Thompson provides that the spraying can be by plasma spraying, for example (note column 5, lines 40-50, column 6, lines 60-68).
‘043 teaches how MCrAlY coatings can be applied to a substrate by thermal spraying, and that vacuum heat treating the coating increases the bonding strength significantly (note pages 2-3, translation). It is indicated how testing can show the results with testing under ASTM C633 standard, where an example unheated coating has a bonding strength of 39.3 MPa, and Example 2 shows a first heat treating at 900 degrees C for one hour giving a bonding strength of 54.o MPa, and Example 3 shows a second heat treating at 1100 degrees C for 1 hour giving a bonding strength of 62.1 MPa (note pages 3-4, translation).
Margolies evidences how bonding strength of a bonding coat measured using an ASTM C633 standard (C633-01) measures tensile bond strength (note 0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thompson in view of EITHER Nagaraj ‘200 OR Nagaraj ‘344 to provide optimizing the heat treatment for the bondcoat to provide a desirable tensile bond strength as suggested by ‘043 as evidenced by Maroglies with an expectation of providing desirable bonding, since Thompson indicates to provide heat treatment at adjustable times and temperatures and ‘043 indicates how heat treatment of an applied MCrAlY coating helps increase bond strength, which strength would be evidenced by Margolies to be tensile strength or at least suggested to be this type of strength as the type shown to be measured for bond coats, where ‘043 further shows how changes in heating conditions adjust the resulting bond strength and its improvement from the non-heat treated state, and by providing such optimization, providing the second tensile bond strength of at least twice the first tensile bond strength would be expected. Note "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 17 and 20 are ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of EITHER Nagaraj ‘200 OR Nagaraj ‘344 as applied to claims 1-7, 10-13, 15-16 and 19 above, and further in view of Loringer (US 6573474).
Claim 17: As to after performing the second heat treatment, forming a plurality of internal passages coextending through the barrier coating, through the bondcoat, and through the substrate, Thompson provides that the coating system can be applied to a combustor liner, for example (note column 3, lines 40-50).
Loringer indicates how a combustor liner can be provided (note column 1, lines 5-10, column 2, line 60 to column 3, line 5). The process includes providing a substrate with a bond coat, that can be an NiCrAlY coating, and a thermal barrier coating on top of that (note column 3, lines 1-14 and 40-50). Thereafter, internal passages (cooling holes) are formed through the barrier coating, the NiCrAlY bond coating, and the substrate (note column 2, lines 60-65, column 3, line 10 to column 4, line 30, figures 1-2), where a plurality of holes would be provided (note column 1, lines 5-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thompson in view of EITHER Nagaraj ‘200 OR Nagaraj ‘344 to provide after performing the second heat treatment, forming a plurality of internal passages coextending through the barrier coating, through the bondcoat, and through the substrate as suggested by Loringer with an expectation of providing a desirable combustor liner for use, since Thompson can provide a thermal barrier and bond coated combustor liner coating, and Loringer indicates that when providing combustor liners, after forming the thermal barrier and bond coated liner, it would be conventional to provide after performing the second heat treatment, forming a plurality of internal passages coextending through the barrier coating, through the bondcoat, and through the substrate. As to specifically providing this after the second heat treatment as well, at the least this would be suggested with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, because heat treatment and the passage forming would be provided after the thermal barrier coat forming, with no limit as to which comes first, so predictably acceptable results expected if the second heat treatment performed before the passage forming.
Claim 20: As discussed for claims 1, 3 and 19 above, Thompson in view of EITHER Nagaraj ‘200 OR Nagaraj ‘344 suggests forming a combustion liner where a bondcoat is formed on the surface of a substrate where the bondcoat comprises MCrAlY and the substrate is a nickel based superalloy. Thereafter, as discussed for claims 1, 19, a first heat treatment would be provided to the bond coat on the surface of the substrate, and thereafter a barrier coating formed on the surface of the substrate, where the barrier coating comprises an inner barrier coting layer and an outer barrier coating layer and wherein the outer barrier coating layer has a higher content of yttria than the inner barrier coating layer, and thereafter a second heat treatment performed to the barrier coating on the bondcoat to form a combustion liner. As to the substrate thickness, Thompson further teaches a substrate thickness of less than about 0.25 cm (2500 microns) (note column 3, lines 45-50), which would give a range overlapping that claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to optimize from this range, giving a value in the claimed range. Note In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Note the discussion for claim 2 above. As to forming the internal passages as claimed, this would be suggested by Loringer as discussed for claim 17 above.
Claim 18 is ejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thompson in view of EITHER Nagaraj ‘200 OR Nagaraj ‘344 as applied to claims 1-7, 10-13, 15-16 and 19 above, and further in view of Nagaraj et al (US 5723078, hereinafter Nagaraj ‘078).
Claim 17: As to after performing the second heat treatment, brazing the coated component on a second component, Thompson provides that the coating system can be applied to a combustor liner, turbine blade, turbine nozzle guide blade for engine parts, for example (note column 3, lines 40-50).
Nagaraj ‘078 describes how gas turbine components are conventionally provided with bond coats of MCrAlY and ceramic thermal barrier coatings, where the coatings are applied by methods such as plasma spraying (note column 1, lines 15-55). It is further noted that to form the desired segment of a turbine engine, individual airfoils are typically coated with the thermal barrier coating and these airfoils brazed to bands to form the segment (note column 2, lines 35-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thompson in view of EITHER Nagaraj ‘200 OR Nagaraj ‘344 to provide after performing the second heat treatment, brazing the coated component on a second component as suggested by Nagaraj ‘078 with an expectation of providing a desirable combustor liner for use, since Thompson can provide a thermal barrier and bond coated engine part (component) such as turbine blades, etc. and Nagaraj ‘078 indicates how similarly coated turbine engine parts (components) can be brazed to another component (band) when forming a desired segment for a turbine engine, where as to specifically providing the brazing after the second heat treatment as well, at the least this would be suggested with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, because heat treatment and the brazing would be provided after the thermal barrier coat forming, with no limit as to which comes first, so predictably acceptable results expected if the second heat treatment performed before the brazing.
Feng et al (US 2014/0042128) also notes forming cooling holes/passages in a thermal barrier and bond coated component (note figure 1, 0016, 0019).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered.
Note the adjusting of the rejections with the new references of Nagaraj ‘200 OR Nagaraj ‘344 due to the amendments to the claims.
As to the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections, it is argued that Thompson and the other cited references do not provide the inner and outer barrier coating layer features now claimed. The Examiner notes these arguments, however, the new references to EITHER Nagaraj ‘200 OR Nagaraj ‘344 have been cited as to the suggestion to provide such claimed features as discussed in the rejections above. Therefore, the rejections above are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE A BAREFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718