DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 07/23/2024. Claims 1 – 20 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “a housing of the fan” in lines 2-3, which should recite “the housing of the fan” for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “closing mechanism” and locking mechanism” in claim 1.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: Paragraphs 0028-0030 recite "the closing mechanism comprises an extension spring, an extension spring and a cable, or an elastic cable". Paragraphs 0027-0028 recite "the locking mechanism comprises a latch or an electric resistance element". Therefore, the Examiner interprets " closing mechanism" to be at least one of an extension spring, an extension spring and a cable, or an elastic cable" and "locking mechanism" to be at least one of a latch or an electric resistance element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seitz (European Patent Publication EP2816880B1, provided by Applicant on 10/02/2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Seitz shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6):
A device (anti-recirculation device, title) for use with a fan (FM), the device (anti-recirculation device, title) comprising:
a shaft (the shaft of SM, in which the curtain BL is wound about in the closed position, as illustrated in Figure 2) mounted at (the shaft of SM is mounted via RC to FG, as illustrated in Figure 6) opposite ends (the top and bottom ends of FM, as illustrated in Figure 5) via brackets (FG, as illustrated in Figure 6) to a housing (the housing of FM) of the fan (FM);
a curtain (BL) for blocking airflow (AF2) through the fan (FM) in a closed position (closed position illustrated in Figure 2), the curtain (BL) being wound onto (as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5) the shaft (the shaft of SM) in an open position (open position illustrated in Figure 1);
a closing mechanism (SM and BE/CH) for unwinding (as illustrated in Figure 6) the curtain (BL) to the closed position (closed position illustrated in Figure 2);
a locking mechanism (HK1) for locking (as described in Paragraphs 0050 and 0051, HK1 engages in TP1 in the open position of BL as illustrated in Figure 1, thus locking BL in the open position until FM is pulled and removed from the CH) the curtain (BL) in the open position (open position illustrated in Figure 1); and
in response to detection of malfunction (when an operator needs to replace FM due to malfunction or maintenance) of the fan (FM), the locking mechanism (HK1) is released (from TP1, as described in Paragraph 0050), and the closing mechanism (BE) unwinds (as illustrated in Figure 6) the curtain (BL) to the closed position (position illustrated in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Seitz shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6):
A frame (RC) having (as illustrated in Figure 6) the brackets (FG), the frame (RC) being attachable to (as illustrated in Figure 1) the housing (the housing of FM) of the fan (FM).
Regarding Claims 9 and 17, Seitz shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6):
The locking mechanism (HK1) comprises a latch (HK1 is a latch, as illustrated in Figure 3) which engages with a mating member (TP1) of the closing mechanism (SM and BE/CH) at the free end (the distal end of BL) of the curtain (BL) when the curtain (BL) is in the open position (position illustrated in Figure 1) and locks (as illustrated in Figure 1) the curtain (BL) in the open position (position illustrated in Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seitz (European Patent Publication EP2816880B1, provided by Applicant on 10/02/2024), as recited in Claims 1 and 2 above, in view of Tong-Viet (U.S. Patent No. 9,007,763).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Seitz shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6):
The closing mechanism (SM and BE/CH) comprises an extension spring (SM) and is attached to (as illustrated in Figure 6, BE is attached to the distal end) one end (the distal end) of the curtain (BL) and the other end (the end attached to SM) is attached to a fixed element (RC).
However, Seitz lacks showing the extension spring having one end attached to the curtain, the extension spring being loaded when the curtain is in the open position.
In the same field of cooling electronic equipment, Tong-Viet teaches (Figures 4, 5, and 8):
It is known in the cooling electronic equipment art for a curtain device (400) to have a closing mechanism (mechanism illustrated in Figure 8) comprising an extension spring (844) having one end attached to (“844 is coupled to the extremity of 410 by 842”, Col. 4, lines 35-38) the curtain (410) and the other end is attached to (as illustrated in Figure 8) a fixed element (841), wherein the extension spring (844) is loaded (as illustrated in Figure 8, as 410 is pulled upward, 844 is loaded) when the curtain (410) is in the open position.
Further, “one advantage is that less vertical space is used for the storage of the web [curtain]”, Col. 4, lines 50-51.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the extension spring taught by Tong- Viet for the extension spring shown by Seitz, to provide the advantage that less vertical space is required for storage of the curtain, since it has been held the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results, which in this case is raising and lowering the curtain.
Regarding Claim 4 and 13, Seitz shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6):
The closing mechanism (SM and BE/CH) comprises an extension spring (SM) and is attached to (as illustrated in Figure 6, BE is attached to the distal end) one end (the distal end) of the curtain (BL) and the other end (the end attached to SM) is attached to a fixed element (RC).
However, Seitz lacks showing the closing mechanism further comprises a cable, which links via a guiding element, the curtain and one end of the extension spring, the extension spring being loaded when the curtain is in the open position.
In the same field of cooling electronic equipment, Tong-Viet teaches (Figures 4, 5, and 8):
It is known in the cooling electronic equipment art for a curtain device (400) to have a closing mechanism (mechanism illustrated in Figure 8) comprising an extension spring (844) and a cable (842) linking (“844 is coupled to the extremity of 410 by 842”, Col. 4, lines 35-38), via a guiding element (743), the curtain (410) and one end (the right end, as illustrated in Figure 8) of the extension spring (844), wherein the other end (the left end, as illustrated in Figure 8) of the extension spring (844) is attached to a fixed element (841), wherein the extension spring (844) is loaded (as illustrated in Figure 8, as 410 is pulled upward, 844 is loaded) when the curtain (410) is in the open position.
Further, “one advantage is that less vertical space is used for the storage of the web [curtain]”, Col. 4, lines 50-51.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the extension spring and cable taught by Tong- Viet for the extension spring shown by Seitz, to provide the advantage that less vertical space is required for storage of the curtain, since it has been held the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results, which in this case is raising and lowering the curtain.
Regarding Claim 5 and 14, Seitz shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6):
The closing mechanism (SM and BE/CH) comprises an extension spring (SM) and is attached to (as illustrated in Figure 6, BE is attached to the distal end) one end (the distal end) of the curtain (BL) and the other end (the end attached to SM) is attached to a fixed element (RC).
However, Seitz lacks showing the extension spring is an elastic cable having one end attached to the curtain, the extension spring being loaded when the curtain is in the open position.
In the same field of cooling electronic equipment, Tong-Viet teaches (Figures 4, 5, and 8):
It is known in the cooling electronic equipment art for a curtain device (400) to have a closing mechanism (mechanism illustrated in Figure 8) comprising an elastic cable (844, “844 may comprise an elastic member”. Col. 4, lines 35-36) having one end attached to (“844 is coupled to the extremity of 410 by 842”, Col. 4, lines 35-38) the curtain (410) and the other end is attached to (as illustrated in Figure 8) a fixed element (841), wherein the elastic cable (844) is loaded (as illustrated in Figure 8, as 410 is pulled upward, 844 is loaded) when the curtain (410) is in the open position.
Further, “one advantage is that less vertical space is used for the storage of the web [curtain]”, Col. 4, lines 50-51.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the elastic cable taught by Tong- Viet for the extension spring shown by Seitz, to provide the advantage that less vertical space is required for storage of the curtain, since it has been held the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results, which in this case is raising and lowering the curtain.
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Tong-Viet teaches (Figures 4, 5, and 8):
The elastic cable (844) goes via at least one guiding element (743).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Seitz shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6):
The closing mechanism (SM and BE/CH) comprises an extension spring (SM) and is attached to (as illustrated in Figure 6, BE is attached to the distal end) one end (the distal end) of the curtain (BL) and the other end (the end attached to SM) is attached to a fixed element (RC).
However, Seitz lacks showing the extension spring is cable having one end attached to the curtain and the other end attached to a spool, wherein the spool comprises a winding member and the winding member is loaded when the curtain is in the open position.
In the same field of cooling electronic equipment, Tong-Viet teaches (Figures 4, 5, and 8):
It is known in the cooling electronic equipment art for a curtain device (400) to have a closing mechanism (mechanism illustrated in Figure 8) comprising a cable (842) having one end attached to (as illustrated in Figure 8) the curtain (410) and the other end is attached to (as illustrated in Figure 8) a spool (841), wherein the spool (841) comprises a winding member (844) and the winding member (844) is loaded (as illustrated in Figure 8, as 410 is pulled upward, 844 is loaded) when the curtain (410) is in the open position.
Further, “one advantage is that less vertical space is used for the storage of the web [curtain]”, Col. 4, lines 50-51.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the cable and spool taught by Tong- Viet for the extension spring shown by Seitz, to provide the advantage that less vertical space is required for storage of the curtain, since it has been held the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results, which in this case is raising and lowering the curtain.
Regarding Claim 8, Tong-Viet teaches (Figures 4, 5, and 8):
The guiding element (743) comprises a pulley (as described in Col. 4, lines 61-64, an electric motor can be used to actuate 743; accordingly, since 743 transmits a force to lift the curtain, 743 is a pulley).
Regarding Claim 20, Seitz shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6):
The locking mechanism (HK1) comprises a latch (HK1 is a latch, as illustrated in Figure 3) which engages with a mating member (TP1) of the closing mechanism (SM and BE/CH) at the free end (the distal end of BL) of the curtain (BL) when the curtain (BL) is in the open position (position illustrated in Figure 1) and locks (as illustrated in Figure 1) the curtain (BL) in the open position (position illustrated in Figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 10 and 18, Seitz shows the claimed invention except the locking mechanism comprises electric resistance element, the electric resistance element being operative to increase its temperature when connected to an electric current source in response to detection of malfunction of the fan and melt the latch.
Modifying Seitz accordingly teaches away from the principle operation of Seitz.
Regarding Claims 11 and 19, Seitz shows the claimed invention except the latch comprises an electromechanical latch.
Modifying Seitz accordingly teaches away from the principle operation of Seitz.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided in the Notice of References Cited.
The following prior art teaches related curtain systems:
Eggenberger et al. (U.S Patent No. 11,970,904): see Figures 1B and 1C
Chan et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0162904): see Figure 5
/DANA K TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762